7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S21 | S21+ | S21 Ultra 5G - V1, Exynos 2100 | Available in stores

Max2006
post Jan 17 2021, 08:44 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Jan 17 2021, 08:39 PM)
I think if they (Samsung and Qualcomm) is not so ambitious and push for such high clockrates, it should still be mitigable and marginally better than SD865.
May be they will u-turn and decide to downclock (through software) in order to overcome the overheat issue. Still got 2 weeks to decide before the phone release globally. LOL
Max2006
post Jan 17 2021, 09:24 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Jan 17 2021, 08:49 PM)
gg samsung really upcar this time liao, embargo lifted next week, no eyes to see

might as well buy s20 series SD version, or s20 fe 5g
I have searched for S20 SD version up and down. So difficult to find a new one. Most of them are used phones.

As for S20fe, you will have 50-50 chance to get one that may have touch screen issue.

haiya. not much choices left for us ........
Max2006
post Jan 17 2021, 09:58 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Zellwong @ Jan 17 2021, 09:46 PM)
Gg i was looking forward for the s21, now i need to go back to s20fe 5g eith 50/50, but so far in forum i saw no one complain on the screen issue yet
It's totally depends on how the owners use the phone. Most of them won't notice it in daily usage and simple tasks. Until they play game, then GG.com.

It's definitely not a rumor. I watched some reviews. Some did mention the S20fe touch screen is not as responsive as Samsung flagships. They even advise that it's not recommended for heavy task users and gamers.

I know some users in here said they seldom encounter such issue. But I definitely won't take the risk to buy a phone that may or may not have touch screen defects out of factory. Don't like to use my money to gamble.
Max2006
post Jan 17 2021, 10:15 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Jan 17 2021, 10:08 PM)
Actually no need to be so afraid of getting a problematic S20 FE. Test the screen once received it, if got problem, claim for warranty lo.

My unit (S20 FE 5G) was one of the lucky ones, no touch screen issues at all.
The problem is Samsung won't acknowledge this as a hardware issue. They will tell you it's software problem and ask you wait for next update.

Here's the proof to show that Samsung see this as software issue.

https://www.sammobile.com/news/another-upda...reen-stability/

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 17 2021, 11:35 PM
Max2006
post Jan 17 2021, 10:58 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Jan 17 2021, 10:30 PM)
I'm also wondering that the overheat issue is memang like this since wanna push for higher speed?

So far 5nm chip that doesn't overheat is huawei + apple
The real problem in here is not overheat. It's the performance during overheat. Based on the test result, when SD888 (5nm) overheat, the performance will be dragged down until SD865 level. And the most critical part is that it consumes much more power compared to SD865 even at the same level of performance. In other words, SD888 is actually the overclocked version of SD865. Hence the suggestion to ask people to stick to SD865 (7nm) for better stability and power efficiency.

You can watch this battery test. It shows how bad the SD888 (Mi11) perform in term of power efficiency compared to SD865 (Note 20 ultra). Not to mention that Mi11 is also hotter than Note 20 ultra during the whole process.

And yes. Most people blame Samsung because they are the one who manufactured the SD888. It's either Samsung's fault or Snapdragon's fault (the design is faulty in the first place). At the same time, people started to worry about the fate of Exynos 2100 since Samsung made it together with SD888. If Exynos 2100 is better, then people will say Samsung screw up Snapdragon. If Exynos 2100 is worse, or equally as bad as SD888, then nothing to see here. We, who been using exynos phones for many years, already get used to it. LOL.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 17 2021, 11:10 PM
Max2006
post Jan 17 2021, 11:21 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 17 2021, 11:17 PM)
Feel like Snapdragon 888 same as Snapdragon 810 has overheat issue laugh.gif
Exactly my friend. The nightmare of SD810 is coming back.
Max2006
post Jan 17 2021, 11:46 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Jan 17 2021, 11:39 PM)
Do you think that software could have fix this issue ?
Yes. Software can fix this by downclocking the processor. But by doing that, then there's no difference between SD888 and SD865. Then why should we buy new SD888 phone since it has no difference with SD865 phone. Not to mention that it drains more power compared to Sd865. Might as well just buy the last year SD865 phone. lol.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 17 2021, 11:50 PM
Max2006
post Jan 18 2021, 07:09 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jan 18 2021, 06:56 PM)

The solution.  tongue.gif
If I have to buy that thing, then I better just buy rog phone. At least theirs come in free. tongue.gif
Max2006
post Jan 18 2021, 07:17 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 18 2021, 06:52 PM)
Ya, but since now only Mi10 and S21 series using Snapdragon 888
Might have to wait other model before judge the overheat issue
Design is a factor that cause overheat as well
Since right now only Mi 11 and S21 series using Snapdragon 888, we should wait few more model whether they have overheat issue as well biggrin.gif
Iqoo7 is also using sd888. it's still quite hot. But the performance seems better and more stable compared to Mi11. Got some videos on youtube. Can check it out.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 18 2021, 07:19 PM
Max2006
post Jan 18 2021, 08:39 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(AlphaNexer @ Jan 18 2021, 05:46 PM)
hi guys,, any trade in program price you all have? other than sen heng
You can refer to last Note 20 trade in programme from Samsung. It should be a good reference for future S21 trade in price list from Samsung. Either the price are the same or a bit lesser. It's also possible they may boost up the price in order to boost up the sales (it happened before to S20 trade in). Hopefully.

https://www.soyacincau.com/2020/08/21/samsu...artphone-value/

If they really give Rm2645 for S20+, honestlly, I won't mind to trade in mine.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 18 2021, 08:42 PM
Max2006
post Jan 18 2021, 09:32 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 18 2021, 09:08 PM)
S21 & S21+ support esim? Mean 1 nano + esim? I tot 2 nano slim slot?

It's dual nano SIM. The esim is virtual, so it doesn't need physical slot.
Max2006
post Jan 18 2021, 09:38 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 18 2021, 09:35 PM)
Mean got 2 nano sim + 1 eSim?
Yes.
Max2006
post Jan 19 2021, 12:08 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Jan 19 2021, 11:56 AM)
So, the problem is with these ultra high performance cores that cause overheating. Instead of changing cores, how about improving the cooling system for the phone?
Better cooling system means higher cost.

I wonder if rog phone this year can do it better since they are the expert in this field.
Max2006
post Jan 19 2021, 12:34 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Jan 19 2021, 12:29 PM)
I really do like Samsung phone. But they way they treat us really disappointed.

We should call the campaign and ask all not to buy pre-order that markup the price with free gift. If want, please sell us the phone only with adequate price.

We should do this so they realize their mistake and dont bully buyer like us. I feel cheated all the time to be honest.

How can the price drop rm1200 after 2-3 months... they are not sincere and we should give them a lesson.
Recently when I attempt to sell free gift ... it is no longer easy and i decided will not go for pre-order.
+1

Not to mention that after the pendemic, it becomes even harder now for selling, especially COD.

So this year i decided to trade in, if they offer a good price. Don't think I can sell my phone in current MCO state. Better save my time and just trade with Samsung.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 19 2021, 12:36 PM
Max2006
post Jan 19 2021, 06:54 PM

4,099 posts

Ok. This is looking good guys! Battery test from Russia. S21 series are Using Exynos 2100, while S20 series are using Exynos990. All phones are tested in 120hz display.

S21+ battery life is 2 hours longer than S20+! This one alone already convincing enough for to me to switch!

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 19 2021, 06:55 PM

Max2006
post Jan 19 2021, 09:22 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Jan 19 2021, 08:48 PM)
Interesting to see that S21+ has longer battery life than S21 Ultra, they both use the same chip isn't it?

S21 Ultra LTPO (10-120Hz) is more efficient than S21+ (48-120Hz) some more.
Don't forget that S21 ultra got qhd+ screen while S21+ only fhd+. May be his S21 ultra in the video is using qhd+. That's why the battery life is slightly weaker than S21+. But we will never know since we don't speak Russian. Lol.
Max2006
post Jan 19 2021, 09:39 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Josh95 @ Jan 19 2021, 09:31 PM)
Actually it does not matter much because S21 Ultra native is QHD+ even if the default is set to FHD+ (keyword here is Native)
Watch this video if you want more concrete proof

I see. Then it's a no brainier choice. If want longer battery life, fhd is the only way to go. If want higher resolution, then go for qhd (S21 ultra)

I am sure go for S21+. Getting tired with S20+ battery life. Lol

Max2006
post Jan 19 2021, 11:06 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 19 2021, 10:03 PM)
But since Ultra just slightly bigger than S21+, can consider get S21 Ultra
I am interested to see how the camera between both of them laugh.gif
Nah. 1. Too heavy 2. Too expensive.

Not to mention that s pen. If I buy ultra but don't buy that s pen, then rugi. If I buy that s pen, then need to buy that special casing as well, then end up heavier and more expensive. So ya. Ultra is not for me. Lol.

As for the camera department, of course the ultra is much better lah. They put all the good stuff inside the Ultra. If you really care about camera performance, then Ultra is the only option.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 19 2021, 11:13 PM
Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 12:35 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Josh95 @ Jan 20 2021, 11:48 AM)
To me, I agree that it is not too much difference if I am comparing both devices on native QHD+ vs FHD+ panel due to the panel itself have high PPI count.
But the moment you manually downgrade the resolution to other than it's native resolution for the panel it is capable displaying, I can notice it with my eyes straightaway. The blurrier text is very obvious to me.
I can say that I have very sensitive eye resolving power I guess, even 1 frame drop in video games, the microstutters occur (when it cannot lock to 60 FPS), I will be able to notice it laugh.gif
Indeed. I compared my S20+ (QHD) to S10 lite (FHD). Not much difference.

But on S20+ itself, if I switch it to fhd mode, the difference can be noticed instantly. It's indeed blurer than its native mode.

At the end, it's still depend on personal preference. For me, I found out S10 lite (native FHD) is better than S20+ (downgraded to FHD). So unless you use QHD mode on Samsung flagships, if not, the sharpness (using naked eyes) is basically the same with other cheaper FHD Samsung phones.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 20 2021, 12:37 PM
Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 12:44 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jan 20 2021, 12:40 PM)
So it is not adviceable to downgrade resolution on 2k screen?

Frame drop everyone can notice.
Depends on your preference. For me, I found out the phone will become a bit lag after switching to 2k mode. So I switched back to fhd mode.

Frame drop got nothing to do with any screen mode you are using. When I am using QHD mode in my S20+, frame drop still here and there. May be it's the processor problem, I dunno.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 20 2021, 12:47 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0891sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:12 PM