but now i already having some bug or problem
sometimes my advisor dun finish reading the text
Empire: Total War, Multiplayer Campaign Beta Available Now
Mar 6 2009, 07:53 PM
10,222 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
missing sound of guns i heard
but now i already having some bug or problem sometimes my advisor dun finish reading the text |
Mar 6 2009, 08:00 PM
398 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Pulau Pinang |
Mar 6 2009, 08:04 PM
79 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
is steam down now? coz it seems i can't install my game!! keep saying "steam server is too busy to handle your request, pls try again later"
Mar 6 2009, 08:26 PM
198 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(Zapherces @ Mar 6 2009, 08:04 PM) is steam down now? coz it seems i can't install my game!! keep saying "steam server is too busy to handle your request, pls try again later" Steam server is very very busy lately due to THOUSANDS of users downloading and updating their game. Just wait a little and it will die down. Just got my ETW Special Forces Edition but can't play it yet............argh this is maddening. |
Mar 6 2009, 08:30 PM
oh.. thx for the heads up tho.. yea i've thought of that either that steam is busy atm or it's server is down =/ guess we are in the same shoes than^^ hope in a few hours we can get ETW dl
Mar 6 2009, 08:37 PM
i think it's stimix issue not steam
cause i can just login to steam a couple of times and also doing updating in fact i'm now updating tf2 running at 180KB/s This post has been edited by TimKen: Mar 6 2009, 08:38 PM |
Mar 6 2009, 08:52 PM
198 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(TimKen @ Mar 6 2009, 08:37 PM) i think it's stimix issue not steam Maybe steam used seperate servers. L4D works fine but when I tried connecting Empire Total War, it runs like........ cause i can just login to steam a couple of times and also doing updating in fact i'm now updating tf2 running at 180KB/s Still I wouldn't be surprised if it's the local broadband. This post has been edited by Monster Hunter G: Mar 6 2009, 08:53 PM |
Mar 6 2009, 08:55 PM
576 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Not here |
I also have noticed the Advisor's voice stopping if you click around on the map at the time they are talking (and wasnt it the same in the previous TW games?). But seriously I do not mind, I can read way faster than they talk anyway.
I have not really noticed missing gun sounds in battles so far but I did not pay that much attention to it. I have done the first scenario of the US independance campain so I did not go very far, I wont spoil it but just give some first impressions: - Game is good! - AI in battles seems "alright" but not consistent at the moment: -- On my first battle one of the opposant squad tried to flank me while his main line engage in front which quite surprised me! -- The AI melee units sometimes still "dance" in front of my units (which has muskets...) as it was doing in the previous TW. You know, run close to you, then run back out of range, then run back. etc... Means it does not do much as they do not engage, they get shooted at by my troups and overall get tired quickly. -- When the AI is supposed to be the attacker, it does attack! (which was not always the case in previous TW) and it can do it in masse. -- They target your General troop as priority apparently. So overall the AI is improved from previous TW, nothing perfect yet though and I will wait to see how it does in larger battles and with different types of units (artillery, cavalry etc.) - The General Map game has indeed gone through quite a bit of changes with the main city and smaller cities in one province. You can upgrade the smaller cities with different buildings (like different types of farms like tabacoo or cotton to get different revenues). Seems pretty neat and interesting from a strategic point of view - I did not face any issue during installing from Steam or anything, it went pretty smoothly, the download speed of the upgrade was quick (it does not seems to be very big and I was getting 100Kbs speed). Game is around 15Gb though so pretty big - No big bug or crashes to report so far - The game put itself at first on everything low from a graphic settings point of view, I put some on Medium at first to try (I am unable to select High settings as apparently it does not show them if your config is not big enough). I am playing on a Dell Inspiron 9400 laptop (with a 256Mb Gforce 7900Gs) so my config is nothing big. So far the game is smooth so I will most probably try to put a bit higher for nicer graphics. - Loading times have been reduced from the demo. Going from the main map to battle takes a bit, going out of battles is faster. Again I will wait to have larger battle to see if it makes the loading time longer. Now going back to play for a while This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 6 2009, 08:58 PM |
Mar 6 2009, 10:46 PM
4,670 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Gormaz @ Mar 6 2009, 08:55 PM) I also have noticed the Advisor's voice stopping if you click around on the map at the time they are talking (and wasnt it the same in the previous TW games?). But seriously I do not mind, I can read way faster than they talk anyway. I have but one word for the campaign map.... CIVILIZATIONS.I have not really noticed missing gun sounds in battles so far but I did not pay that much attention to it. I have done the first scenario of the US independance campain so I did not go very far, I wont spoil it but just give some first impressions: - Game is good! - AI in battles seems "alright" but not consistent at the moment: -- On my first battle one of the opposant squad tried to flank me while his main line engage in front which quite surprised me! -- The AI melee units sometimes still "dance" in front of my units (which has muskets...) as it was doing in the previous TW. You know, run close to you, then run back out of range, then run back. etc... Means it does not do much as they do not engage, they get shooted at by my troups and overall get tired quickly. -- When the AI is supposed to be the attacker, it does attack! (which was not always the case in previous TW) and it can do it in masse. -- They target your General troop as priority apparently. So overall the AI is improved from previous TW, nothing perfect yet though and I will wait to see how it does in larger battles and with different types of units (artillery, cavalry etc.) - The General Map game has indeed gone through quite a bit of changes with the main city and smaller cities in one province. You can upgrade the smaller cities with different buildings (like different types of farms like tabacoo or cotton to get different revenues). Seems pretty neat and interesting from a strategic point of view - I did not face any issue during installing from Steam or anything, it went pretty smoothly, the download speed of the upgrade was quick (it does not seems to be very big and I was getting 100Kbs speed). Game is around 15Gb though so pretty big - No big bug or crashes to report so far - The game put itself at first on everything low from a graphic settings point of view, I put some on Medium at first to try (I am unable to select High settings as apparently it does not show them if your config is not big enough). I am playing on a Dell Inspiron 9400 laptop (with a 256Mb Gforce 7900Gs) so my config is nothing big. So far the game is smooth so I will most probably try to put a bit higher for nicer graphics. - Loading times have been reduced from the demo. Going from the main map to battle takes a bit, going out of battles is faster. Again I will wait to have larger battle to see if it makes the loading time longer. Now going back to play for a while Yet to try out Multi... add me Aoshimaro on Steam. This post has been edited by Aoshi_88: Mar 6 2009, 10:48 PM |
Mar 7 2009, 09:30 AM
i'm just curious tho, how long do it takes to update the game through steam before continuing to the actual 14gig installation? coz i'm running on an average of 60kb/s for an hour and the progress bar is still 0%
Mar 7 2009, 10:23 AM
erm, try to restart your steam and see
sometimes it's not your connection problem, but rather with steam itself the update only happen when u hav fully installed the game my guess is u are stuck at the part where they are copying the files from the dvds |
Mar 7 2009, 10:26 AM
576 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Not here |
Yes, restart Steam to see.
I just do hope Steam is not trying to download the full game from the net.... If I remember for me Steam got struck at "Caching files" for a long while, this phase is just before the installation from the DvD starts itself (the DVD is not yet making noise in the drive) This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 7 2009, 10:27 AM |
Mar 7 2009, 10:35 AM
199 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Klang, Selangor |
Yea i have to restart a few time. the steam at first show 0% for half an hour on updating the platform, then when i restart it suddenly show 28% going to 32% then stop again. after few restart it managed to continue from 28% and finished the updating and installation.
one question, did any player here experience during the campaign, the game crash out to windows? This post has been edited by boon.fong: Mar 7 2009, 10:36 AM |
Mar 7 2009, 11:59 AM
nope, only 1 time i did get was some artifacts after coming out from battle on my campaign map, but tat's cos my GC is overheating after playing at it for long
report the bug lor |
Mar 7 2009, 12:06 PM
199 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Klang, Selangor |
QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Mar 7 2009, 11:59 AM) nope, only 1 time i did get was some artifacts after coming out from battle on my campaign map, but tat's cos my GC is overheating after playing at it for long actually i am not too sure either, cause i was falling asleep at the moment report the bug lor btw, i have the special force edition, do i need to activate the extra unit? or it is auto installation? thanks This post has been edited by boon.fong: Mar 7 2009, 12:09 PM |
Mar 7 2009, 12:10 PM
3,757 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E A R T H |
Bought ETW - Special edition from tsb.com.my
will collect in the next 2 days. wait for me and i'll join the league. |
Mar 7 2009, 12:42 PM
steam is actually causing more trouble than helping.....
stuck at creating local game caching files very long time liao..... This post has been edited by TimKen: Mar 7 2009, 12:48 PM |
Mar 7 2009, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(boon.fong @ Mar 7 2009, 12:06 PM) actually i am not too sure either, cause i was falling asleep at the moment i only got normal edition, so i'm not sure, but then i heard it's only available when u play grand campaignbtw, i have the special force edition, do i need to activate the extra unit? or it is auto installation? thanks i'm still busy trying to conquer america from the british scums |
Mar 7 2009, 02:35 PM
celaka steam updating at 5~7KB/s only....
Mar 7 2009, 02:43 PM
have u completed the installation from the DVD ?
Added on March 7, 2009, 2:47 pm QUOTE(boon.fong @ Mar 7 2009, 10:35 AM) Yea i have to restart a few time. the steam at first show 0% for half an hour on updating the platform, then when i restart it suddenly show 28% going to 32% then stop again. after few restart it managed to continue from 28% and finished the updating and installation. u mean this happens before the installation for the DVDs?This post has been edited by Zapherces: Mar 7 2009, 02:47 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0196sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:07 PM |