8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Shoppee account being hacked! Lost RM 8k...

thesoothsayer
post Jan 13 2021, 07:53 AM

954 posts

Maybe you need to check if it's a PC or gadget that you used to log on to Shopee before. Every new login seems to require a SMS to your phone.

Best practice is probably to clear the cookies from any 3rd party computer that you use to log on or just use private browsing.
Catalyst86
post Jan 13 2021, 07:57 AM

88 posts

I believe what happened was most likely a family member or "friend" who had access to OP's phone. Shopee requires OTP like many have said, unless using shopeepay
ballistix89
post Jan 13 2021, 08:10 AM

lurker
353 posts

once the credit card is saved no OTP is required for subsequent purchases.

TS probably forgot to log out from another device and someone else had access to his/her account. Since if hacker login from new device shopee will require verification code sent via SMS.
SUSAccord2018
post Jan 13 2021, 08:11 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Dec 19 2020, 02:43 PM)
As title, how to do it?

My bf help me to buy d wrong item. I wan to return & get refund. RM100

1.should I communicate wit d seller?

2.What reason shld I use?

3.  How to return?

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Dec 12 2020, 10:33 AM)
I wan to m top up shoppee RM 488, ended up top up RM4888 using my credit card on 12.12 midnight

Can I get back my money? Can Shopee refund me? And How?
QUOTE(Catalyst86 @ Jan 13 2021, 07:57 AM)
I believe what happened was most likely a family member or "friend" who had access to OP's phone. Shopee requires OTP like many have said, unless using shopeepay
TS post de. Probably you can get an idea of what happened.
chichabom
post Jan 13 2021, 08:24 AM

225 posts

The only possibility i can think of is that the hacker probably checkout using credit card as the payment option instead of shopeepay. Cant recall whether is it lazada or shopee, either one of these platform do not send me OTP whenever i perform a topup or purchase directly using cc in their app, the transaction jst gets approved (referring to a saved/linked cc to the app)

Though i am not sure if there is a limit for purchasing directly via cc in shopee but if it follows the credit limit of the cc itself, then it could also be possible if TS' credit limit is above rm8k.

But then again, assuming hacker managed to perform rm8k transaction, the next line of defense should kick in as well, i.e. notice from the issuing bank. Typically for huge amount like rm8k, banks will notify/call/send sms to inform like "how much was just swipe using cc with ending num xxxx and pls call if you did not perform this transaction bla bla bla". And if the cc owner calls timely i believe most banks can stop/reverse this transaction.

This post has been edited by chichabom: Jan 13 2021, 08:26 AM
COOLPINK
post Jan 13 2021, 08:35 AM

3,666 posts

for sake of convenience once you register tour CC / DB to shopee/lazada they only ask OTP one time. then the subsequent transaction does not require OTP.

it will only ask for OTP after every few months.

convenient yes, secure no.

so after finish transaction delete your card from the platform.
lazy = high risk.

shuin1986
post Jan 13 2021, 08:46 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Jan 13 2021, 08:11 AM)
TS post de. Probably you can get an idea of what happened.
Both aboi and agirl also quite clumsy type eh... i guess they can be easy as a scam target
Maria Takagi
post Jan 13 2021, 09:07 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(gumshoe101 @ Jan 13 2021, 01:01 AM)
It's not a stranger. It's an FB account of your friend that has just been hijacked. Naturally, you'd give the OTP without much thought because it's your friend.
but why would I give my OTP to my friend ?

is like my friend ask me for my maybank2u password..
gumshoe101
post Jan 13 2021, 09:08 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Vivato @ Jan 13 2021, 03:51 AM)
It is highly suspicious. Credit card OTP cant simply change phone no. and the SMS OTP will state which Bank, amount to pay and the OTP no.
It's OTP to reset your email password. Once you give the email reset OTP to your "FB friend", he will take over your email account.

Having access to your email account opens up countless possibility to reset other passwords from other services.
gumshoe101
post Jan 13 2021, 09:15 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Jan 13 2021, 09:07 AM)

You would give the email reset OTP to your "FB friend" because he won't specifically ask for OTP. He would ask something like...

(This is the actual hacker's message:)

"Shopee has a special campaign for the 4th year, if I get 5 votes, I'll win a gift voucher with you. I'll send you a message send me message copy ?"

Many people will fall for it if the message came from their FB friend.

Again, having access to your email account opens up countless possibility to reset other passwords from other services including lazada, shopee and facebook.

If the service allows, setting up
2-factor Authentication is the best way to prevent people hacking into your accounts

This post has been edited by gumshoe101: Jan 13 2021, 09:38 AM
SUSAccord2018
post Jan 13 2021, 09:23 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Jan 13 2021, 09:07 AM)

QUOTE(gumshoe101 @ Jan 13 2021, 09:15 AM)
You would give the email reset OTP to your "FB friend" because he won't specifically ask for OTP. He would ask something like...

"Shopee has a special campaign for the 4th year, if I get 5 votes, I'll win a gift voucher with you. I'll send you a message send me message copy ?"

You wrong la. Now shopee update password mentions clearly in the message "NEVER share this code with others, including shopee staff".

If you still give then you cannot blame. It is always safe as long as your phone has a secure password. Face/fingerprint also not safe because your gf can secretly open it when you sleeping like a pig. laugh.gif

For those who forgot to log out from computer, it's like you left your bank card inside the atm machine after taking money, then you want to blame who?

This post has been edited by Accord2018: Jan 13 2021, 09:26 AM
gumshoe101
post Jan 13 2021, 09:34 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Jan 13 2021, 09:23 AM)
You wrong la. Now shopee update password mentions clearly in the message "NEVER share this code with others, including shopee staff".
You be surprise, many will still fall for it even the OTP message contains warning

Btw, read what I said - it's not shoppee OTP that the hacker will ask for. It's email reset OTP.
Maria Takagi
post Jan 13 2021, 10:03 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(gumshoe101 @ Jan 13 2021, 09:15 AM)

Again, having access to your email account opens up countless possibility to reset other passwords from other services including lazada, shopee and facebook.

If the service allows, setting up
2-factor Authentication is the best way to prevent people hacking into your accounts
but you only send message copy not OTP.

Even my friend say he can win 1 million lottery and agree to split with me 50/50, give him my OTP, I still won't give.
SUSAccord2018
post Jan 13 2021, 10:04 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(gumshoe101 @ Jan 13 2021, 09:34 AM)
You be surprise, many will still fall for it even the OTP message contains warning

Btw, read what I said - it's not shoppee OTP that the hacker will ask for. It's email reset OTP.
I am sure email also will get that warning.

It is scam already not hack. where got so easy hack shopee. laugh.gif
gumshoe101
post Jan 13 2021, 10:12 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Jan 13 2021, 10:04 AM)
I am sure email also will get that warning.

It is scam already not hack. where got so easy hack shopee.  laugh.gif

No point arguing with your on the technicalities of the meaning of the word 'hack" or "scam".

In computer security, your security is only as strong as the weakest link.
adamhzm90
post Jan 13 2021, 10:16 AM

1,389 posts

I was also contacted by scammer asking for shoppee tac..
SUSNB01
post Jan 13 2021, 10:20 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jan 12 2021, 07:25 PM)
My shopee account was being hacked...

The account is link with credit card. The cheater spend Rm8k in 3 transactions buying games card etc。

Any solution or advice? I don't earn much. Rm8k is big amount to me.
Don't need to enter OTP when make purchase meh? Can't remember.
SUSNB01
post Jan 13 2021, 10:24 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 12 2021, 10:25 PM)
thats why never give OTP away!!!
All TAC/OTP is SECRET from Lazada, Shopee, Bank and everything!

If me, farked the scammer straight liao. No need to be polite.
SUSNB01
post Jan 13 2021, 10:25 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(Cmyong88 @ Jan 13 2021, 12:23 AM)
3rd page and TS still won't share how he was "hacked"
Likely he gaved OTP. Sendiri sarahan, kena scammed, try blame Shopee.
gumshoe101
post Jan 13 2021, 10:26 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Jan 13 2021, 10:03 AM)
Even my friend say he can win 1 million lottery and agree to split with me 50/50, give him my OTP, I still won't give.
Yes, you're so clever. Not everyone is as smart as you.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:09 AM