5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Expert come, Do you use fans on you router/modem?

fireballs
post Dec 20 2020, 06:11 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Dec 20 2020, 06:06 PM)
Why would a router need a fan?
It design to withstand that, my old unifi router last me 7year and force to upgrade because of speed upgrade.
Dont waste ur thought by said it need that to prolong life or what so ever.
some router is ran so hot that it reboot/hang randomly
so far history of tplink from the oldest b/g generation to recent ac1200 all like that

got one time i so mad i took off the entire plastic casing and let it run naked, put a old heatsink to it.

silvaco22
post Dec 20 2020, 06:13 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Dec 20 2020, 03:28 PM)
I placed a fan to cool the SFP+ modules, otherwise they would be >75 degree Celsius laugh.gif at the same time cool the other stuffs like TB3 nvme drive and the mini server
Friggin love the noctua! I'm wondering how you connect the noctua to ur router? any pwm to usb adapter ure using?
Skylinestar
post Dec 20 2020, 06:14 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Dec 20 2020, 06:11 PM)
some router is ran so hot that it reboot/hang randomly
so far history of tplink from the oldest b/g generation to recent ac1200 all like that

got one time i so mad i took off the entire plastic casing and let it run naked, put a old heatsink to it.

I'm using mr3420. Day 1 launch till now still working fine without cooling.
:3mushy:3
post Dec 20 2020, 06:30 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

What can be used as the feet? I have many 12cm fans, might want to try DIY.
burn22
post Dec 20 2020, 06:32 PM

398 posts

never, since day one.

quadcube
post Dec 20 2020, 06:42 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(silvaco22 @ Dec 20 2020, 06:13 PM)
Friggin love the noctua! I'm wondering how you connect the noctua to ur router? any pwm to usb adapter ure using?
Yea, the NF-A20 PWM is awesome, super silent. I run the fan with 12V from another switching psu, coupled with the LNA adapter to reduce its speed (no PWM driver) because winter and fan running full speed on my desk is a very bad idea laugh.gif

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Dec 20 2020, 06:30 PM)
Try find PCB stand, like my attached pic in previous post
post Dec 20 2020, 06:45 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Dec 20 2020, 06:42 PM)
Yea, the NF-A20 PWM is awesome, super silent. I run the fan with 12V from another switching psu, coupled with the LNA adapter to reduce its speed (no PWM driver) because winter and fan running full speed on my desk is a very bad idea laugh.gif
Try find PCB stand, like my attached pic in previous post
I think I'll stop by Ace Hardware tomorrow and look for rubber gasket with hole in it, can grab mesh filter too and solder wire too.
Quantum Geist
post Dec 20 2020, 06:46 PM

109 posts

Yes, because have old PC act as router with pfsense
pisces88
post Dec 20 2020, 06:48 PM

3,970 posts

Not for my modem, not for my switch, not on unifi's modem
lambsauce
post Dec 20 2020, 06:52 PM

311 posts

wanted to buy a cheap usb fan , but realized this router given by time gt no usb port cilaka
fireballs
post Dec 20 2020, 06:54 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Dec 20 2020, 06:30 PM)
disposable chopstick
post Dec 20 2020, 06:54 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Dec 20 2020, 06:52 PM)
wanted to buy a cheap usb fan , but realized this router given by time gt no usb port cilaka
What kind of router doesn't have USB port? doh.gif
fireballs
post Dec 20 2020, 06:55 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Dec 20 2020, 06:52 PM)
steal power from the router power lah. 12v anyway
ngam for 12v case fan also.
zemega
post Dec 20 2020, 07:05 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Dec 20 2020, 06:06 PM)
Why would a router need a fan?
It design to withstand that, my old unifi router last me 7year and force to upgrade because of speed upgrade.
Dont waste ur thought by said it need that to prolong life or what so ever.
Because some router/BTU are designed with minimum tolerance. Give it a heavy workload continuously and they start underperforming, or throttled. Some just hang.

Some placement also don't have any airflow, so you need to introduce some airflow to dissipate the accumulated heat.
AyamBlend
post Dec 20 2020, 07:14 PM

27 posts

Mrdiy labtop cooler
Rm16

Three years Day n night without rest. Led rosak 1.5year, fan still work till r recently

silvaco22
post Dec 20 2020, 07:48 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Dec 20 2020, 06:42 PM)
wait I still don't get it. You connect the fan directly to your PSU? I'm planning to do the same with my router since I have one noctua fan that i do not use. If I want to use this noctua to connect to the usb port, do I need an adapter? like 4pin pwm adapter to usb?
ShadowR1
post Dec 20 2020, 07:57 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Nope ... never have problem of em overheating.
lambsauce
post Dec 20 2020, 08:40 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Dec 20 2020, 06:54 PM)
What kind of router doesn't have USB port?  doh.gif
QUOTE(fireballs @ Dec 20 2020, 06:55 PM)
steal power from the router power lah. 12v anyway
ngam for 12v case fan also.
ayam serious, they gave tplink ac1350, no usb port
enduser
post Dec 20 2020, 08:50 PM

1,282 posts

Get this

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/prado-ma...1331172804.html
enduser
post Dec 20 2020, 08:52 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Dec 20 2020, 08:40 PM)
ayam serious, they gave tplink ac1350, no usb port
Ithis one got 2 usb port & surge arrestor

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/apc-esse...i433798699.html

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0191sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:41 AM