7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Photography Canon 1dsmkiii and 40D officially announced

yewkhuay
post Aug 24 2007, 03:51 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

can tutup kedai oready, nikon Lord D3 n D300 arised!!!
vincent_audio
post Aug 24 2007, 09:38 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Aug 24 2007, 03:51 PM)
are you inviting flame here ?

let's compare the canon 1Ds Mark III and your Nikon Lord D3 smile.gif
scorgio
post Aug 25 2007, 12:39 AM

4,695 posts

Don't do this at a Canon oriented thread. sweat.gif
julchin_09
post Aug 25 2007, 01:50 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Pro Photographers might still go for the highend CANON. Especially companies with unlimited budget. Besides, the 21mp is creeping up digital backs territory aint it, so the 1Ds MkIII is still a good if not an outright better bet than the D3. But the D3 is good in terms of pricing. Lets see how CANON replaces the 5D.....
R a D ! c 4 L
post Aug 25 2007, 02:38 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

5D mark II biggrin.gif
wjie20
post Aug 29 2007, 12:31 AM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

40D...is it out on the markets? when is it coming to our shores?sorry if its said earlier...
ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 02:15 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Nolah, more like those shops that stock up too many old models will tutup kedai, cannot sell laugh.gif
Cannot compare EOS 40D and EOS 1DS Mark III against D300 and D3. Both of them have their own good points as far as brand enthusiasts are concerned. If you ask me, I won't go for the EOS 1DS Mark III, the 1D Mark II or Mark III will still be my choice becoz I want performance and durability in my camera body. Drop a 40D or D300 on the floor and off to the manufacturer you go!
ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 02:17 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Aug 25 2007, 12:39 AM)
Don't do this at a Canon oriented thread.  sweat.gif
It's okay ... I defend neither Canon or Nikon if any of them screw up but ill-informed forum members are everywhere, you can't satisfy them all whistling.gif
ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 02:23 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Aug 25 2007, 01:50 AM)
Pro Photographers might still go for the highend CANON. Especially companies with unlimited budget. Besides, the 21mp is creeping up digital backs territory aint it, so the 1Ds MkIII is still a good if not an outright better bet than the D3. But the D3 is good in terms of pricing. Lets see how CANON replaces the 5D.....
From the looks of it, Canon might adopt the strategy like when they replaced EOS 300D with 350D : Something big is going to happen and 5D is gone for good OR Canon might do it like they did with 400D : They came out with 400D and say it's not a replacement to 350D due to the increase of MP, extra functions, bla bla bla. We can be looking at 6.5 frames per second, 3" LCD with 22MP EOS 6D with DIGIC III?
hanissyazwan
post Aug 29 2007, 03:23 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

looks like i'll skip 30D plans
julchin_09
post Aug 29 2007, 03:56 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Aug 29 2007, 02:23 AM)
From the looks of it, Canon might adopt the strategy like when they replaced EOS 300D with 350D : Something big is going to happen and 5D is gone for good OR Canon might do it like they did with 400D : They came out with 400D and say it's not a replacement to 350D due to the increase of MP, extra functions, bla bla bla. We can be looking at 6.5 frames per second, 3" LCD with 22MP EOS 6D with DIGIC III?
I don't know why, but the name EOS 3D just keeps popping up my mind. hmm.gif Make The 5D replacement model full weather protected.. rclxm9.gif
ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 12:02 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Aug 29 2007, 03:23 AM)
looks like i'll skip 30D plans
Why? Getting a 40D/D300-ah? brows.gif
ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 12:04 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Aug 29 2007, 03:56 AM)
I don't know why, but the name EOS 3D just keeps popping up my mind.  hmm.gif Make The 5D replacement model full weather protected.. rclxm9.gif
Yalar, Canon buttock itchy start the model from '5D' ... now they can only go 'downwards' from '4D' to '2D' laugh.gif
wjie20
post Aug 29 2007, 02:38 PM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Aug 29 2007, 12:04 PM)
Yalar, Canon buttock itchy start the model from '5D' ... now they can only go 'downwards' from '4D' to '2D' laugh.gif
only makes things confusing...but the closer the digit to 1D, they more advance it might be....i dun know... 3D would sound nice...its a popular word...haha
h_bib
post Sep 1 2007, 10:43 PM

Gadgets Freak
847 posts

http://shashinki.com/shop/canon-megapixel-...only-p-881.html

scorgio
post Sep 1 2007, 11:08 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Aug 29 2007, 02:38 PM)
only makes things confusing...but the closer the digit to 1D, they more advance it might be....i dun know... 3D would sound nice...its a popular word...haha
Frankly, somebody also shared the same view.
Once I heard a photog telling his friend this logic, therefore his conclusion is EOS 10D is better than EOS 20D.
I almost LAUGH!. tongue.gif

Note: EOS 30D not launched yet at that time.

ac98
post Sep 3 2007, 11:24 AM

3,758 posts

Numbers doing down within the EOS range are towards professional models, numbers going up within the same series are entry level models and semi-professional models.
julchin_09
post Sep 3 2007, 04:39 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I was at YLCamera and a few Pro Photographers were having a chat. They kept saying "Have to wait and see whats the news with the EOS 3D"...... Maybe they know something we dont'
mroctopus
post Sep 3 2007, 05:28 PM

232 posts

no doubt Nikon D300 beat Canon 40D hands down on paper spec.
this may cause Canon to launch... may be 41D end of year to counter back?... wait and see ler...

Forget about 1DMKIII and D3, only the very rich and company can own one of these...

Added on September 3, 2007, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(CompMac @ Aug 21 2007, 04:32 PM)
Your calculation is correct but your assumption is wrong. There is a huge difference when it comes to photo processing with that 2 extra bits. You'll get higher dynamic range and better noise control just to say the least.

If you think that there is no difference to the eyes, then you don't need a dSLR, right? Might as well just stick to camera phones since they use maybe 8-bits processing only and won't be different with 12-bits, right?  whistling.gif
Just ignore about the math... engineer can sell whatever good theory behind it, for consumer, the result count, right?

someone posted 14-bit vs 12-bit photo in dpreview. really, if you don't tell me which is 14 bit and which is 12 bit, i can't barely differentiate them even at 100% enlarge. while 12bit to 8bit is obvious though.. so more like marketing gimmick afterall as the result isn't obvious. May be 16-bit will have difference... the extra 2 bit in 14-bit is more like noise.

This post has been edited by mroctopus: Sep 3 2007, 05:37 PM
DaIdiot
post Sep 3 2007, 08:48 PM

1,028 posts

Aiyoyo...anybody wants to buy my 30D? tongue.gif

might go straight for a 1D3 instead of 40D biggrin.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0157sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:04 AM