The SSD Thread V7, SLC, MLC, TLC, QLC, PLC, and 3D XPoint

lolzcalvin
post Nov 30 2022, 11:42 AM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

anyone can recommend a good 4TB SATA SSD? both of my 870 EVO are showing signs of rapid degradation and failure and I don't want to wait. I'm going to transfer all the data from both SSDs to a 4TB SATA SSD. please recommend me a good one 🙏

also, anyone ever has experience on RMAing through Amazon? I'm gonna RMA both 870 EVO too.
lolzcalvin
post Nov 30 2022, 02:44 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Nov 30 2022, 02:22 PM)
How old are your 870 EVOs?

4TB sata not many choices locally, crucial mx500 and the, well, 870 EVO. Also i read sumwhere here amazon US will only help within X days of purchase, after dat u deal directly with Samsung USA.
NVMe should be ok. I just need an SSD to store my data while the drives are away for RMA. I don't mind an upgrade.

I purchased my 870 EVOs on April 2021 via Amazon. I suspect they are the first batch of 870 EVOs.
one has written about 9TB, another less than 4TB
the bad blocks and uncorrectable error counts are extremely worrying as it partially corrupted a few of my files stored within. the corruption is not a total corruption but bad sectors are preventing the files from being copied and moved, while having no problem reading these "corrupted" files. this is a very bad early sign albeit it hasn't reached a point where my data is totally unrecoverable.

just by googling "870 evo failure" yield a top result from techpowerup. 12 total pages of people mentioning about their failing 870 EVOs, all pointing towards early batches of 870 EVOs. mine are part of the early batch.
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/...failure.291504/
https://www.reddit.com/r/synology/comments/..._after_6months/

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Nov 30 2022, 04:03 PM
lolzcalvin
post Nov 30 2022, 03:25 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Nov 30 2022, 02:53 PM)
That's infamous 0E error also affects earlier batches of 980 Pro (and some later batches of 970Evo+ which swapped to same controllers as 980pro)

You can always RMA it to samsung but be sure you got backups
I'm aware of it and I'm planning to do so, which is why I'm asking for 4TB SSD advice sweat.gif I need to move some of my files elsewhere, away from my 870 EVOs and then wipe the drives clean and RMA them. I do have other drives as shown above but most of them are occupied. I've moved the files from one of my 870 EVOs to an external backup HDD already. the other one I want to move it over to a new SSD because it requires fast read speed. I can recover all of the files since I know where to get them back and they're not highly critical.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Nov 30 2022, 03:27 PM
lolzcalvin
post Nov 30 2022, 07:29 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 30 2022, 07:06 PM)
Why not Adata and Kingston?
I'm curious too. also, is there any negativity surrounding WD? planning to nab WD ones for now and slowly move away from Samsung... sweat.gif
lolzcalvin
post Nov 30 2022, 09:10 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 30 2022, 08:39 PM)
I search Shopee and Lazada, only saw Crucial and Samsung that have 4TB SATA SSD.

How about instead get any cheap 2 x 2TB SSD, put as RAID1 as temporary replacement for the need of fast read speed. When you get back your 870 after RMA, change all 4 SSD as RAID5. You'll have 6TB fast storage space and no need to worry if any one of the SSD suddenly die.

2TB SATA SSD more choice but many cheaper option don't have DRAM cache. Can check here whether got DRAM
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1B27...dit?usp=sharing
good idea but my case seems to not have enough room for extra SATA SSDs anymore unfortunately. each SATA SSD requires a SATA connection to motherboard, and a SATA power cable from the PSU. adding more cables will cause significant amount of headache to rewire/add those cables again into the back of my PC which already have some cables pushing against the panel laugh.gif the reason I was asking for 4TB SSD this morning is because I could also retire one of my older 860 EVO and use as external storage. seems to me the best bet would be an NVMe instead.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Nov 30 2022, 09:12 PM
lolzcalvin
post Nov 30 2022, 09:16 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

I will also post some results regarding to both of my 870 EVOs after doing some full scans on them. be advised they're NOT looking good.

this may serve a good case for those who want to buy a Samsung SSD this year or so. last time they have good QC, I've been using them since 700 series (750 EVO etc.)

this time around their QCs have been extremely lackluster. I'm having 2 drives failing at almost the same rate.
lolzcalvin
post Dec 1 2022, 09:26 AM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Nov 30 2022, 09:16 PM)
I will also post some results regarding to both of my 870 EVOs after doing some full scans on them. be advised they're NOT looking good.

this may serve a good case for those who want to buy a Samsung SSD this year or so. last time they have good QC, I've been using them since 700 series (750 EVO etc.)

this time around their QCs have been extremely lackluster. I'm having 2 drives failing at almost the same rate.
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 30 2022, 10:30 PM)
i found another user report for samsung for 870 evo 2tb and 4tb with similar issues, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoyd4xu3T3s (the affected drives were made in 2021, and the guy bought them from amazon also)

i'm not sure if this is amazon-specific or a world-wide supply issue, but yeah shit happened. i guess your local choice for 4tb drives is crucial mx500.

innocent.gif seems like a very solid evidence that both drives need RMA immediately
lolzcalvin
post Dec 12 2022, 12:53 AM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

IT COMP currently selling Kingston KC3000 2TB at RM780 post laz bonus and store voucher discounts
lolzcalvin
post Jan 24 2023, 10:28 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

it seems samsung's SSD issue is seeping into their newer 990 pro as well:
https://www.reddit.com/r/hardware/comments/10jkwwh/_/
https://www.neowin.net/news/samsung-refusin...d-health-drops/
lolzcalvin
post Mar 6 2023, 02:50 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Mar 3 2023, 08:43 PM)
I'm sure we will never get this price locally of course need to sacrify the warranty part.

did u have any alerts enabled or something? the 109.99 price lasted only about an hour and you managed to nab it flex.gif
lolzcalvin
post Mar 21 2023, 09:01 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Mar 21 2023, 08:40 PM)
Finally arrived after 3 weeks of order placed. Total damage RM579.72, based on confirmation from oversea forum, it was Amazon mistakenly advertised the wrong price, good thing was they still honor the orders placed by consumers.

damn, quite nice on them for honoring the order too. enjoy your new toy thumbup.gif
lolzcalvin
post Jun 7 2023, 04:12 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jun 7 2023, 03:53 PM)
still got ka... today 7.6
got la, sale is 6.6 to 8.6, can keep collecting lazbonus.
lolzcalvin
post Jun 24 2023, 01:52 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 24 2023, 01:27 PM)
fake usb drive
xiaomi, aka the MI branding, doesn't make external SSDs
lolzcalvin
post Jul 7 2023, 08:04 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

any good recommendation for discounted 4TB NVME this 7.7 sale? since it ends at 9.7 I'm thinking of grabbing one.
lolzcalvin
post Jul 8 2023, 12:42 AM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

bit the bullet again. I've decided to trust samsung once more. simply because I can't forgive myself passing on this dirt cheap price for a 2TB PCIe4. guess I'll regret later.
lolzcalvin
post Jul 8 2023, 06:49 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jul 8 2023, 05:37 PM)
while win11 looks are more pleasing than Win10,
performance still sucks big time, im on the beta insider, the open file explorer dialog bug never fixed for months, it's really slow if you try to open or save documents.
then then dreaded slow write bug, never actually benchmark yet.
standby drain, it gulping battery juice much faster than win10.

Microsoft until now never understand why people doesnt want to pay for their OS, rather than pirate it, welp, whose gonna pay hundreds bucks to use shitty OS?  sweat.gif  whistling.gif  tongue.gif
shit, I'm planning to rebuild my pc with new parts this coming week, and I'm thinking of upgrading to 11. not sure if I want to now.
lolzcalvin
post Jul 8 2023, 06:50 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Jul 8 2023, 03:16 AM)
That is cheap, but SGD? You ordering from SG or live in SG?

Cannot find that kinda price in MYR stores wei.
order from amazon.sg
local distributors have unrealistic margins
lolzcalvin
post Sep 19 2023, 10:54 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Sep 19 2023, 11:55 AM)
How long it takes for the actual shipping? Warranty wise still can claim?
Was it a sale day for such price in Amazon SG? coz now i check its SGD $168.01 leh
usually it'll reach ur doorstep after 2 weeks. that's my experience so far, almost all items I bought via amazon reached my house 2 weeks later
regarding to warranty, forget about easy way to claim warranty. might as well assume no warranty due to the cost of shipping + other surprise elements. you'd have to ship it to the country of purchase origin and swallow the cost yourself. sometimes, customs will ignore that your items have already been taxed, and proceed to tax you once more.
if the item is sold by amazon US, consider the country of purchase origin is US.
lolzcalvin
post Dec 4 2023, 04:30 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 2 2023, 11:51 PM)
i'm not sure about 1tb, but the last time i checked at shopee it was below 550myr for 2tb.

4tb is still highly priced for now. (> 1.5kmyr each)
bought a 990 pro 4TB during black friday sale for 250usd...baru received today. production date is 09.2023, probably void of firmware issue like last time lol. still recommending against samsung SSDs for a while though, until their track record is proven good again after the firmware fiasco.

SN850X 4TB was selling at 230usd during black friday sale as well.

DRAM and NAND chips will be getting more expensive starting next year, the production cuts have already been started. best time to buy high capacity SSDs is now
lolzcalvin
post Dec 7 2023, 08:11 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(seand19 @ Dec 6 2023, 02:04 PM)
wanted to ask for some opinions and advice.

I'm looking to build a new rig and was looking for m.2 nvme, c drive options. Came across these two as the highest tbw. was looking at high tbw for best reliability and most value.

- https://shopee.com.my/SAMSUNG-CRUCIAL-P5-PL...bf-48a795e7b549
Aigo P7000Z, 4tb. 8000 tbw
- https://shopee.com.my/PNY-CS3140-INT-SSD-M....90-b668553227ae
PNY CS3140, 8 tb, 6000 tbw

Between the two, which would be the better option. a bigger drive but lower tbw or smaller drive with higher tbw?

breaking down cost and tbw included the Aigo goes for 17 cents per gig or PNY at 63 cents per gig. does this make sense? or am i doing this wrong? :S
need to know what flash they're using, since SSD is basically a couple of flash memories wired together. these flash memory chips are known as NAND flash. secondly, need to know if they are DRAM or DRAM-less.

Aigo P7000Z is using China's YMTC newest 232-layer TLC. been making news around recently for their NAND memory chip breakthrough even though under sanction by US of A since beginning of the year.
the SSD doesn't seem to have DRAM because it's using HMB. endurance claim of 8000TBW is remained to be tested out irl. memory controller also from a mainland chinese company (Maxiotech MAP1602). therefore overall the SSD can be sold cheaper than other counterparts from SK, Taiwan, US etc. (e.g. SK Hynix, Micron, Samsung)

PNY CS3140 8TB hmm, even their official site also doesn't show 8TB variant but their spec sheet got mention 8TB. no proper review some more. what I'm able to find though is that they're using Phison E18 controller +Koxia (Toshiba) 112-layer TLC...and their 2TB variant has better NAND (Micron 176-Layer, hence better performance), it seems it has DRAM but lackluster size (2GB for 8TB variant, 2TB variant is using 1GB)

if want to, u can be our white mouse and try out Aigo P7000Z. on paper it's an SSD killer (DRAM-less but super endurance, magnificent NAND technology), but need someone to actually put it to use in reality.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Dec 7 2023, 08:17 PM

0.0407sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:41 AM