Any idea?
And where to buy these engine oil? In Mid Valley or around Mid Valley...
Anyone using Magnatec? Izit good?
This post has been edited by DaViDcHiN: Aug 18 2007, 10:45 PM
What engine oil is good?, Castrol Magnatec? Mobil S?
Aug 18 2007, 10:25 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,720 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Any idea?
And where to buy these engine oil? In Mid Valley or around Mid Valley... Anyone using Magnatec? Izit good? This post has been edited by DaViDcHiN: Aug 18 2007, 10:45 PM |
Aug 18 2007, 10:31 PM
8,377 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
quite subjective question...
different engine have different taste... castrol magnatec or other semi engine oil should good enough for normal car... make sure get SM/CF latest engine oil spec... |
Aug 18 2007, 10:57 PM
5,568 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the lack of sleep |
QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Aug 18 2007, 10:25 PM) Any idea? Too many fake Castrol and even the spareparts shops can't tell the difference. That makes it very risky to get Castrol. I do not trust semi-synthetic oils as there's no fixed ratio on how much synthetic it has to be before it is considered as semi. Even with 10% synthetic, it is still considered as semi-syn.And where to buy these engine oil? In Mid Valley or around Mid Valley... Anyone using Magnatec? Izit good? |
Aug 18 2007, 10:58 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
LOL ... fake Castrol. This is something new!
Fake engine oil also got. This post has been edited by David83: Aug 18 2007, 10:59 PM |
Aug 18 2007, 11:06 PM
Aug 19 2007, 12:16 AM
2,032 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BBC Studios |
QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Aug 18 2007, 10:25 PM) Any idea? I'm using Castrol magnatec. One distinctive difference when I changed to this from the usual semi-sync oil is that its a bit tougher to rev. Its like...the oil is thicker (more protection maybe) and is preventing the engine pistons from moving as quick as it should. But I feel more at ease when starting the car every morning, especially in cold days And where to buy these engine oil? In Mid Valley or around Mid Valley... Anyone using Magnatec? Izit good? |
Aug 19 2007, 01:01 AM
1,703 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
get conoco hydroclear diamond 5w-30
is a damn good high quality oil ! im serious here. |
Aug 19 2007, 01:31 AM
5,193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Aug 19 2007, 01:34 AM
1,919 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Motul, high rev
Aug 19 2007, 01:53 AM
6,724 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seri Petaling |
motul n redline is juz too expensive lol
i use Castrol EDGE Sport Fully Synthetic 10W60 on my MIVEC before that 10W50 from LUBRIMAXX u can see that the castrol is actually heavier grade but eventually, i can rev much smoother than lubrimaxx |
Aug 19 2007, 07:19 AM
4,694 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 19 2007, 01:53 AM) motul n redline is juz too expensive lol U changed already?i use Castrol EDGE Sport Fully Synthetic 10W60 on my MIVEC before that 10W50 from LUBRIMAXX u can see that the castrol is actually heavier grade but eventually, i can rev much smoother than lubrimaxx How did the oil perform compared to your old one? Added on August 19, 2007, 7:21 am QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 19 2007, 01:31 AM) The Hydroclear Diamond 5W-30 is fully synthetic, no?This post has been edited by scorgio: Aug 19 2007, 07:21 AM |
Aug 19 2007, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 19 2007, 01:53 AM) motul n redline is juz too expensive lol 10W-60 is too heavy for high reving engines. You should not use anything heavier than 0W-30. The heaviest you should go is 10W-40 to avoid straining the internal engine components at high rev. I guess when you converted your engine you don't get the Mivec manual that says only use 0W-30 engine oil. Same as all the VTEC engines, light oil is best and less stress.i use Castrol EDGE Sport Fully Synthetic 10W60 on my MIVEC before that 10W50 from LUBRIMAXX u can see that the castrol is actually heavier grade but eventually, i can rev much smoother than lubrimaxx |
Aug 19 2007, 11:24 AM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
I have tested Shell Helix Plus 15W-50 semi-synthetic for my B16A, and it sucks. Sometimes the VTEC didn't even engage!. It sure is smooth, but it's too thick.
I'm back using Idemitsu 15W-40 mineral which I've always used all these while, definitely much-much better... but needs some running first. Most important, it's cheap. There is no 1 engine oil that is good for every engine. Every engine might have different taste. This post has been edited by soulfly: Aug 19 2007, 11:25 AM |
Aug 19 2007, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Aug 19 2007, 11:24 AM) I have tested Shell Helix Plus 15W-50 semi-synthetic for my B16A, and it sucks. Sometimes the VTEC didn't even engage!. It sure is smooth, but it's too thick. Actually there is... the lighter the better coupled with high quality protection. Almost all engine manufacturers would recommend the lightest engine possible to ensure that the engine is not stressed and fuel consumption is improved. XW-30 and XW-40 series oil are the best for any car unless the engine seals are leaking due to wear and tear or age.I'm back using Idemitsu 15W-40 mineral which I've always used all these while, definitely much-much better... but needs some running first. Most important, it's cheap. There is no 1 engine oil that is good for every engine. Every engine might have different taste. |
Aug 19 2007, 12:13 PM
1,703 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Aug 19 2007, 10:55 AM) 10W-60 is too heavy for high reving engines. You should not use anything heavier than 0W-30. The heaviest you should go is 10W-40 to avoid straining the internal engine components at high rev. I guess when you converted your engine you don't get the Mivec manual that says only use 0W-30 engine oil. Same as all the VTEC engines, light oil is best and less stress. im not so sure tht 10w-60 is too heavy for high revving engines.because factory oil for the new BMW M3 and the Ferarri cars are 10w-60 oil. M series and the ferarris are high revving engine. and for ferrari, u will void the warranty if you dont use the 10w-60 oil provided by shell. but we have to remember also that this cars are at least 4000cc and above. |
Aug 19 2007, 12:26 PM
3,913 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
i juz use castrol...dunno which 1...juz kno is 15w-40...how much u all buy it?i buy it at rm50... izit cheap or expensive?
Aug 19 2007, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(ulet @ Aug 19 2007, 12:13 PM) im not so sure tht 10w-60 is too heavy for high revving engines. High displacement engines don't suffer that as much as high reving honda engines. The torque provided by those engines no longer make them high reving, as in high reving to produce the necessary power. The same can't be said for 2L high reving honda engines. Power comes only in the top end and 90% of the usable torque is only available above vtec range. because factory oil for the new BMW M3 and the Ferarri cars are 10w-60 oil. M series and the ferarris are high revving engine. and for ferrari, u will void the warranty if you dont use the 10w-60 oil provided by shell. but we have to remember also that this cars are at least 4000cc and above. M3s, Ferraris and high displacement engines produce 90% of their usable torque between 3-6k of their RPM range. If you look back at BMWs history, they went from light Mobil engine oils to heavy Castrol engine oils, all due to 'business' relationships. Same goes for Ferrari and Mercedes and their 'associate' oil companies. |
Aug 19 2007, 02:25 PM
5,193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(scorgio @ Aug 19 2007, 07:19 AM) U changed already? i recall from reading an article that it is actually a very high grade semi syn, not actually a fully syn, regardless of what it was marketed asHow did the oil perform compared to your old one? Added on August 19, 2007, 7:21 am The Hydroclear Diamond 5W-30 is fully synthetic, no? but i cant remember where i read it from we previously discussed a couple of engine oils here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=426327&hl= This post has been edited by daijoubu: Aug 19 2007, 02:26 PM |
Aug 19 2007, 04:58 PM
1,352 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Costa Rica |
QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Aug 19 2007, 12:26 PM) i juz use castrol...dunno which 1...juz kno is 15w-40...how much u all buy it?i buy it at rm50... izit cheap or expensive? Damn cheap! i usually bought around RM80++. and now only i know they got fake Castrol in the market. aiyaaa.. i hope i never kena the fake one |
Aug 19 2007, 05:01 PM
112 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Shell also a lot of fake oil. Not only Castrol.
| Change to: | 0.0199sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:46 PM |