13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Beyerdynamic)))) Appreciation Thread, Come Beyer fans! Join The Revolution!!

hongrui
post Jul 27 2011, 09:54 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Jul 26 2011, 08:19 PM)
I found it's clean, is sound is thin. I also dono how to describe. Is this called neutral or analytical?
sound is very subjective, what is clean/neutral/analytical can be bright/lacking in bass to others.

me personally i feel the DT880/DT1350/T1 series are neutral.
hongrui
post Jul 27 2011, 10:07 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(aztoiozalan @ Jul 26 2011, 09:53 PM)
i used to like beyer so much , but lately the brightness is killing me n thats when i jumped ship tongue.gif
i use tube amps and copper ICs to tune the brightness of beyers down. hehehe

QUOTE(egyprince @ Jul 26 2011, 10:03 PM)
I also hope can terus go high high...just that flagship headphone cost around 5k...not including all those big amp.... total atleast 10k.... cry.gif  cry.gif
Slowly my fren....so fast reach the highest not fun de... notworthy.gif

if you look around, you don't really need a big 5k amp to drive a 5k headphone. the schiit LYR which retails at less than SGD1K (RM2.5K) is made to drive LCD-2 and HE5/6. the DACport drives 600ohms beyers quite well too.

basically i think if you already know what kind of sound signature you are looking for already, its easier/cheaper in the long run to upgrade your cans as high as you can and from there slowly build your rig around the pair of cans. if you're still searching for your preferred signature, then enjoy your journey!

hongrui
post Aug 1 2011, 08:42 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 1 2011, 12:11 AM)
just had my time around with the Beyers T1

paired with the rudistor rp8, and govibe peak. to summarize, a much more refined DT880 and... despite being 600ohm, it seemed relatively easy to drive  shocking.gif
i didnt quite like the dt880, weak mids (my opinion, really), and to me its just really good extended highs/lows.

T1 just takes that a notch further, and refined it (such as the highs being much more smoother and a lot less harsher compared to the dt880, lows/bass bearing more weight, and most importantly their mids are a lot more fun to listen with compared to back then.
imho the best pairing for beyers are still full tube amps... plug in some Mullard tubes and you get a nice smooth SQ on the beyers.
hongrui
post Aug 1 2011, 08:58 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 1 2011, 10:46 AM)
this is have to agree...
i got myself an ayam TUBE AMP...
using what tubes oso i dunno...
but when used with my DT1350...
even metal sounds musical!!!

now to find replacement tubes!!!!
rclxm9.gif
no numbers no nothing on the tubes? maybe can check with the seller?
hongrui
post Aug 18 2011, 09:25 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(hahariz @ Aug 18 2011, 06:20 PM)
DT880 mids is much recessed if anything. But everything else is probably the same, if not a bit less in quality compared to T1 from what I've read.
the mids of the DT880 isn't recessed compared to the T1. i'd say they are pretty much the same position, just that the mids of the DT880 lack the smoothness and details of the T1.

hongrui
post Aug 19 2011, 11:33 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

tube amps usually smooths out and sometimes even roll off slightly the highs. but it also depends on the tubes that you have in the amp.
hongrui
post Aug 19 2011, 01:21 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

well it depends on what kind of direction you will be taking. some people do end up with several pairs of headphones and switch them around all the time. For me personally, the DT880 and T1 with a good tube amp are very good all-rounders for all the music I listen to.

have never been very impressed with the senn's presentation so i have no fear of going over to them. i'll get to listen to the HD800 and HE6 (and maybe LCD-2 too) with my tube amp tomorrow. Hopefully i won't feel any 'desire' for another headphone!
hongrui
post Aug 19 2011, 03:29 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

i like the DT880's bass over HD650. but for movies and anime i have my ATH-AD500 to fall back on. happy.gif

This post has been edited by hongrui: Aug 19 2011, 03:30 PM
hongrui
post Aug 20 2011, 09:03 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

it depends on what you are looking for, i guess.

are you looking for neutrality or musicality? are you listening to music because you want to hear how the producers want to present their music or do you listen to music the way you want it?

This post has been edited by hongrui: Aug 20 2011, 09:03 AM
hongrui
post Aug 20 2011, 10:54 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Aug 20 2011, 09:04 AM)
hong rui.... is Uber Muzik still selling those amp ??
I think their website is not on the net anymore....i think the produce pretty nice product.
yes, both the amps are still being sold. PM me if you want the contact details for Audiohub MY. do check out the new thread that i've created regarding the Audiohub meetup we just had!
hongrui
post Aug 21 2011, 07:29 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Aug 21 2011, 01:11 AM)
Nice gathering.
Jus wondering the tiny tube amp can power 880 250ohm and hd650 nicely?
yes, definitely. Its under powered for DT880 /600 though, you get volume but no dynamics.
hongrui
post Aug 21 2011, 08:45 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

egyprince, PM-ed.
hongrui
post Aug 25 2011, 08:43 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

i think its just that you are burning in (getting used) to the DT880's SQ.
hongrui
post Aug 27 2011, 09:37 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

An iPod can drive the 32 ohm version of the DT880 with no problems. But if you have a portable amp and or are thinking of getting one, I'd recommend the 250ohms version instead.
hongrui
post Aug 28 2011, 07:26 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(kpchow75 @ Aug 27 2011, 10:07 PM)
I have a .22 ordnance amp plug in with DT770 PRO, i heard clipping sound at high tune. Is it normal? (foobar2k>Audigy 2 ZS>.22 Ordnance>DT770)

Then today, i dig out my brother old creative ddts100 decoder through SPDIF, it doesn't have this clipping effect and sound amazing nicer than .22 ordnance.
the pros are 250ohms if i'm not wrong. most probably clipping because the .22 has not enough juice to drive it the volume that you use.
hongrui
post Aug 28 2011, 06:11 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

if got volume but no dynamics, to me that's under power. for use directly with a mobile phone / pmp, i'd recommend the 32ohms instead of the 250s, unless there's plans to get an amp.
hongrui
post Aug 28 2011, 10:54 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

i've not heard it yet, so i can't comment on what the cable and the mods will do.
hongrui
post Aug 29 2011, 04:49 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

7strand solid core copper but i am not sure what gauge they are.
hongrui
post Sep 9 2011, 09:30 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

the AD700 has an open-can signature pretty distinct from the DT231pro's closed-can sig. I would suggest that you try both before deciding on which signature you prefer. No much point in getting the AD700 or the DT231 (assuming that you have not tried both) and realising that you do not like the signature.

hongrui
post Sep 12 2011, 09:49 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(chadjr @ Sep 12 2011, 05:26 PM)
Hello, I was thinking to change my dt440 to dt880 but there's like 32, 250 and 600 ohms. which one should i choose? i heard the harder is it the drive the better it sound. is this true? thanks
for dt880, from 32-> 250 -> 600, the amp requirements become more and more demanding. however if you have an amp that is capable of driving the 600ohm DT880, you'll notice improved dynamics as well as smoother treble compared to 250ohms. i've not spent time comparing the differences between the 32ohms to the 250ohms so i'm not sure of the improvements there.

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0432sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:23 AM