then why not 2? even lighter...
pakei kapcai jer lar
dadurtyz
post Nov 15 2020, 04:13 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(TAN WENG @ Nov 15 2020, 04:08 PM)
Bezza got  3 cylinder and  4 cylinder mist people feel 4 cylinder better
Different technologies. Perodua 3 cylinders is no match compare with conti technology.

Toyota also heading 3 cylinders with their Yaris GR, and almera also 3 cylinders.

desmond2020
post Nov 15 2020, 04:14 PM

910 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Nov 15 2020, 04:13 PM)
Different technologies. Perodua 3 cylinders is no match compare with conti technology.

Toyota also heading 3 cylinders with their Yaris GR, and almera also 3 cylinders.
Perodua 3 cylinder engine is from toyota / daihatsu
MR_alien
post Nov 15 2020, 04:16 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

the whole 5 paragraph, not 1 word mention about "reliability" laugh.gif

and this "engineer" and doctor wouldn't understand WTF is no replacement for displacement
desmond2020
post Nov 15 2020, 04:17 PM

910 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 15 2020, 04:16 PM)
the whole 5 paragraph, not 1 word mention about "reliability"  laugh.gif

and this "engineer" and doctor wouldn't understand WTF is no replacement for displacement
Dude is from volvo, trusted that he know more about reliability and engine than you
Nomisma
post Nov 15 2020, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(msacras @ Nov 15 2020, 04:03 PM)
Charging and storing of electricity are still a huge drawbacks of EV.

I don’t think our government is ready to install charging stations nationwide yet. Even fast charger also need to take more than 15minutes, as compared to refuelling car easily under 5minutes. Also, how will the tariff be since our electric bills are not exactly cheap either.

Unless you’re living in landed and driving mostly in city urban areas, EV is still not quite practical yet.
which is why the 10 years gap. remember how android phones was 10 years ago? compared to it's norm today?

china nowadays already produce electric cars with very close competition to tesla.
soon, Geely will mass produce them too & be exported to our country.
japanis cars still playing catch up.. toyota going the hydrogen route..

the infras will eventually come when petrol stations are losing customer to electic cars.
petrol stations will have to be phased out / revolutionized to be electic car charger too.
MR_alien
post Nov 15 2020, 04:18 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Nov 15 2020, 04:14 PM)
Perodua 3 cylinder engine is from toyota / daihatsu
perodua....i mean toyota has a lot of 3 pot engine...they had it for a long time already
but it's for japan domestic use only
the reason they don't release it for foreign use is also because that's not how it is being used laugh.gif
desmond2020
post Nov 15 2020, 04:19 PM

910 posts

QUOTE(Nomisma @ Nov 15 2020, 04:18 PM)
which is why the 10 years gap. remember how android phones was 10 years ago? compared to it's norm today?

china nowadays already produce electric cars with very close competition to tesla.
soon, Geely will mass produce them too & be exported to our country.
japanis cars still playing catch up.. toyota going the hydrogen route..

the infras will eventually come when petrol stations are losing customer to electic cars.
petrol stations will have to be phased out / revolutionized to be electic car charger too.
No, you need to invest in infra for eletric car to pick up, that is how china do it. USA is still miles behind
SUSfreeman1
post Nov 15 2020, 04:19 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 15 2020, 04:16 PM)
the whole 5 paragraph, not 1 word mention about "reliability"  laugh.gif

Typical toyota mindset... old tech = reliable = good
SUSjoe_star
post Nov 15 2020, 04:20 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Lots of european manufacturers already using this 3 cylinder turbo approach for years now
MR_alien
post Nov 15 2020, 04:20 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Nov 15 2020, 04:17 PM)
Dude is from volvo, trusted that he know more about reliability and engine than you
dude from volvo but i'm pretty sure he don't even drive 1
i for 1 drive a modern 3 pot car for 9 years now
i know how reliable they can be(over a course of time)

if u learn from these new age modern car(starting 2010)...you'll found out these "engineer" know nuts about anything/car
they just keep putting electronics into it rclxub.gif
desmond2020
post Nov 15 2020, 04:21 PM

910 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 15 2020, 04:18 PM)
perodua....i mean toyota has a lot of 3 pot engine...they had it for a long time already
but it's for japan domestic use only
the reason they don't release it for foreign use is also because that's not how it is being used laugh.gif
Ya kah? people here die die also must buy Japan domestic market version of car, even if it is scrapped car
desmond2020
post Nov 15 2020, 04:21 PM

910 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 15 2020, 04:20 PM)
dude from volvo but i'm pretty sure he don't even drive 1
i for 1 drive a modern 3 pot car for 9 years now
i know how reliable they can be(over a course of time)

if u learn from these new age modern car(starting 2010)...you'll found out these "engineer" know nuts about anything/car
they just keep putting electronics into it rclxub.gif
I believe he know lot more about car then you, else you can apply to volvo for his job
MR_alien
post Nov 15 2020, 04:22 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(freeman1 @ Nov 15 2020, 04:19 PM)
Typical toyota mindset... old tech = reliable = good
toyota actually possesses alot of 3 pot engine
but alot of which aren't for foreign market use
because that's not how it's being used

in japan, it's not being used to do high speed, highway, genting run, 0-100 time laugh.gif
biggie
post Nov 15 2020, 04:24 PM

1,291 posts

As outlined in the article 3 pot engine can match the performance of 4 pot engine. Problem is the vibration as it is not even. The complex damping mechanism outlined will give problem if not maintained properly due to wear and tear.

Ev car is definite for the future, problem is to store electricity is still problematic and have yet to match the cost of storing fossil fuels (for similar capacity).

In fact if human can figure out how to store electricity and water efficiently (as how fossil fuel is stored) then many of world problem now is solved.
lagista
post Nov 15 2020, 04:25 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Nov 15 2020, 04:17 PM)
Repair cost also harga Volvo kan ? whistling.gif rolleyes.gif
MR_alien
post Nov 15 2020, 04:27 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Nov 15 2020, 04:21 PM)
I believe he know lot more about car then you, else you can apply to volvo for his job
i think if u ask a mechanic, they know more cars than these "engineer"
they will keep saying why these "engineers" keep adding electronics into the car, making the car more complex to be fix laugh.gif

and by adding more electronics and making them more complex makes it very unreliable
why?...electronics are very weather sensitive, they're not very good with water either
remember that recent X70 case that is only submerge rim deep...some lights on the dash already come on
steady bro
post Nov 15 2020, 04:30 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Nov 15 2020, 04:24 PM)
As outlined in the article 3 pot engine can match the performance of 4 pot engine. Problem is the vibration as it is not even. The complex damping mechanism outlined will give problem if not maintained properly due to wear and tear.

Ev car is definite for  the future, problem is to store electricity is still problematic and have yet to match the cost of storing fossil fuels (for similar capacity).

In fact if human can figure out how to store electricity and water efficiently (as how fossil fuel is stored) then many of world problem now is solved.
this, and to solve the vibration problem, the manufacturer need to add a few workarounds to the engine to smoothen up the vibration such as adding more mounts, dampers etc, these will increase the maintenance costs as these are wear and tear parts and needs to be changed after some time

so is it worth it to get a 3 cyl engine car? u get the same performance, comfort etc as a 4 cyl but with added maintenance costs and complexity
Momo33
post Nov 15 2020, 04:32 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(freeman1 @ Nov 15 2020, 04:42 PM)
Geely-Volvo’s CEVT engine boss explains why the Proton X50’s 3-cylinder is better than a 4-cylinder

[attachmentid=10685433]

[attachmentid=10685435]

...Removing one cylinder is also a super effective in cutting down weight, which is directly related to fuel consumption and exhaust emissions. There’s also the added benefit of achieving better front:rear weight balance in front-wheel drive cars, which is the norm these days anyway.

The benefits of a 3-cylinder over a 4 is very clear. The challenge is to mitigate the vibration problems from a 3-cylinder’s uneven firing order. Solving it is complex, but not difficult if you know what you are doing. Technology for dampers and today’s understanding of engine harmonics is good enough to allow car companies to overcome the problem.

The Geely 1.5TD engine, which Malaysians know as the 1.5 TGDi (identical to 1.5 MPI except for fuel system), contains many of such countermeasures into its engine design.

Explaining them requires a Ph.D but Sandquist briefly said the use of counterweighted crankshafts, dual mass flywheel with centrifugal pendulum absorber damper, single balancing shaft, low noise timing belt, high stiffness oil pan, asymmetric oil pump impeller, engine compartment and vibration dampener – all hidden away from view, allows the 3-cylinder to run very smoothly.

Dr Sandquist adds that vibration (lack of) of the 1.5TD engine is not only controlled, but it’s actually better than some of their rivals’ 4-cylinder engines...
so how many 3 cy engine Volvo has from the past till today. nod.gif

just some marketing bullshit i guess unless i see real figures ..

touristking
post Nov 15 2020, 05:13 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Nomisma @ Nov 15 2020, 08:54 AM)
electric will make all these x50/x70 obsolete..

eletric car norm is coming in next 10 years.
Malaysia, at least Sarawak have another option: Hydrogen. They have absolutely MASSIVE amount of hydrogen potential cheaper than almost anyone on earth.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:19 PM