13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

CGPA - how to calculate, and why u should dare to fail!

chern4ever
post Oct 21 2009, 10:34 PM

75 posts

sorry i did not explain clearly. My college doesnt calculate by cgpa. They go by total marks average.
TSazarimy
post Oct 22 2009, 01:23 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

so what exactly are u looking for in this thread? tongue.gif

does ur college assign points to grades? coz if they dont, there's no way we could calculate ur CGPA.
FreakyFreak22
post Oct 23 2009, 06:28 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 21 2009, 05:32 PM)
how much difference does it make? if it's a mere 0.1-0.2 points, it doesnt really makes a difference.

but in my case during my degree, repeating a single subject makes a difference between 2nd class upper and 2nd class lower. so it does make a difference, even for a mere 0.16 points wink.gif.
Let's say if repeated a subject which was D and improved to A, CGPA increased from 3.3xx to 3.4xx (No change in class, still 2nd upper.), worth it? Or one should just keep the transcript "repeat"-free?
TSazarimy
post Oct 23 2009, 06:31 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(FreakyFreak22 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:28 AM)
Let's say if repeated a subject which was D and improved to A, CGPA increased from 3.3xx to 3.4xx (No change in class, still 2nd upper.), worth it? Or one should just keep the transcript "repeat"-free?
can u still pass/graduate with a fail?

most courses list all primary subjects as requirement, meaning it's a prerequisite for graduation. u must pass those in order to graduate. if it's just an elective subject, then fine, let it fail.
TSOM
post Oct 29 2009, 11:57 PM

2,145 posts

This is a great system. Unfortunately for me, my university doesn't have such practices.

1) If one were to resit his paper, his mark would be capped at 40%;

2) if one were not able to resit his paper (i.e. below 20% for compulsory module), he would be required to withdraw from the university;

3) if one had applied and granted mitigating circumstances, he would be required to repeat his year;

4) there's only one exam in one academic year;

5) no resit for final year students.

Back to the track, so a person who scored As in all his paper will get CGPA of 4.0? And CGPA can't tell the difference between someone with 80% average and someone with 70% average?
The system also doesn't help students under the borderline marks, since with 69% they will get 3.0 instead of 4.0??

This post has been edited by TSOM: Oct 30 2009, 12:03 AM
z21j
post Oct 30 2009, 11:58 AM

1,307 posts

CGPA up to 2nd year 3.80 (79 ct hrs obtained)
Year 3
Sem 1 6 x 3 ct hrs B,A,A,A,A-,C-(FAIL)-absence for d exam, this grade obtained from continuous assessment.
Sem 2 7 X 3 ct hrs A,A,A,A-,A-,A-,A-(REPEAT)

CGPA up to Year3?

A=4.00, A=3.70, B+=3.30, 3.00, 2.70,..., C-=1.70
Shud the "fail subject be included in CGPA"

What is the lower limit for 1st class honours? 2nd upper?

Added on October 30, 2009, 12:19 pmp/s some ppl told be that year 3 sem 1 was not counting the fail 1... meaning they will just count for 15 ct hours... bt i dun think it is making sense

but, what if i fail 2 times and pass on the 3rd time? lets' the ct hours for fail subject is counted.
meaning for this fail subject ALONE, i can obtain 9 ct hours, seem like not making sense as well.

This post has been edited by z21j: Oct 30 2009, 12:23 PM
chongelicia
post Nov 3 2009, 11:06 AM

75 posts

i do not und.. so confusing.
ok, let say this sem i got 1.5 for gpa, 2.3 for cgpa
later next sem i take 1 subject( 3 credit hours), but fail.
means my next sem gpa is 0 right. how about my cgpa?

Added on November 3, 2009, 11:09 amso unfair right, if take less subject. like say I take 2 subjects only, but 1 b and 1 fail. then my gpa sure very low. and hence got more influence on cgpa right?

the lower the gpa is, the greater impact to cgpa? or related to the credit hours too? pls advise

This post has been edited by chongelicia: Nov 3 2009, 11:09 AM
z21j
post Nov 3 2009, 04:29 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(chongelicia @ Nov 3 2009, 11:06 AM)
i do not und.. so confusing.
ok, let say this sem i got 1.5 for gpa, 2.3 for cgpa
later next sem i take 1 subject( 3 credit hours), but fail.
means my next sem gpa is 0 right. how about my cgpa?

Added on November 3, 2009, 11:09 amso unfair right, if take less subject. like say I take 2 subjects only, but 1 b and 1 fail. then my gpa sure very low. and hence got more influence on cgpa right?

the lower the gpa is, the greater impact to cgpa? or related to the credit hours too? pls advise
from what i knew, cgpa will not much affected by gpa, but it depends on the credit that u have taken...

if u take 2 subjects (normally 6 credit hours)... u may get very low/high gpa but wun affect much to ur cgpa....

in calculating cgpa, most important is ur credit hours... this is my concept when calculating cgpa, and this were told by my senior as well... just complicating when there is fail subject in ur exams...
chongelicia
post Nov 4 2009, 11:05 AM

75 posts

so if my cgpa is 2.3, then this sem i got 3 credit hours and fail, then what is my latest cgpa?
z21j
post Nov 4 2009, 11:46 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(chongelicia @ Nov 4 2009, 11:05 AM)
so if my cgpa is 2.3, then this sem i got 3 credit hours and fail, then what is my latest cgpa?
hv to c how many credit hours that u have accumulated....
foe eg, year1 sem1, u take 18 ct hours... year2 sem2.... can u specify the credit hours?
chongelicia
post Nov 4 2009, 01:51 PM

75 posts

total i tot 119 hours, but 117 hours is pass hours. got 3 credit hours fail but havent repeat the subject.
z21j
post Nov 4 2009, 02:50 PM

1,307 posts

ok... u tok 119 ct hrs,
so.. 116 X 2.3 (current cgpa) + 3 X 0 = 266.8 pointers
266.8/119ct = 2.24

u can c or not? even though u fail gpa=0... but ur cgpa wun be affected much...
chongelicia
post Nov 4 2009, 04:42 PM

75 posts

ya true, but one thing i do not und. I fail 1 subject but that subject havent retake, why it stated I took total of 119 hours ady?
in fact I pass 116 only.. means I fail 3 credit hours, they also add in

oh ya, i saying if i fail this sem right, actually ady added into cgpa, i resit the paper again, they will only add one once for one subject

my previous 2 sem is 2.35, then this sem is 2.3
so i assume I drop 0.05 for failling one subject
because that time i got 1 B and 1 fail for 6 credit hours

so complicated oh. thx ya
are u mmu student too?

z21j
post Nov 5 2009, 01:33 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(chongelicia @ Nov 4 2009, 04:42 PM)
ya true, but one thing i do not und. I fail 1 subject but that subject havent retake, why it stated I took total of 119 hours ady?
in fact I pass 116 only.. means I fail 3 credit hours, they also add in

oh ya, i saying if i fail this sem right, actually ady added into cgpa, i resit the paper again, they will only add one once for one subject

my previous 2 sem is 2.35, then this sem is 2.3
so i assume I drop 0.05 for failling one subject
because that time i got 1 B and 1 fail for 6 credit hours

so complicated oh. thx ya
are u mmu student too?
not complicated if u never fail; the thing is when u fail makes the credit hours ... more when retake...

i was a local uni student.
jepertine90
post Nov 5 2009, 11:38 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

well, my college system also inculde your failed subject gpa... so when you resit your failed paper, is just like an extra subject added~ Eg :

last sem 5 pass, 1 fail
this sem 6 core paper + resit paper = 7 paper~

CGPA?? count last sem + this sem which is 6 + 7 paper together~
z21j
post Nov 5 2009, 03:59 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Nov 5 2009, 11:38 AM)
well, my college system also inculde your failed subject gpa... so when you resit your failed paper, is just like an extra subject added~ Eg :

last sem 5 pass, 1 fail

that's make ppl confuse... Refer to my earlier post, I duno y in my uni, certain situation whereby they include the fail subject, but certain situation they are not.
Based on ur explanation, do u mean, if u fail 3 times; then u will accumulate 3+9 credit hours = 12 credits hours JUST FOR 1 SUBJECT? Sounds nonsense in the sense 12 ct hours for a subject......

My situation, I got fail due to absent to the exams. But I use d usual calculation method; but cannot get it... either treat it fail or not counted aso can get the cgpa that i obtained. That's problem... I
AskarPerang
post Nov 7 2009, 08:49 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Nov 5 2009, 11:38 AM)

last sem 5 pass, 1 fail

I thought when you resit a paper, the grade will automatically replace the grade you obtain before, hence you will improve your overall CGPA.
craxzsmart
post Nov 24 2009, 09:25 AM

anyone know how much pointer is it to be qualified for 1st class, 2nd class and so on (up to date) in UMS? smile.gif
polyamide
post Nov 26 2009, 03:15 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 10 2009, 11:29 PM)
i never said it will replace entry of the failed subject in the transcripts. no IPTA would do that.

retaking a subject will replace the failed credit points, which means ur cgpa will be recalculated. if the failed credit points is not recalculated, then it will create a loophole where a student can take a 2 credit subject 35 times to fulfill the 70credits requirement for a degree. since UIA is still an IPTA, i'm pretty sure they use the exact same method i've mentioned in this topic.

but like i've mentioned before, it will not replace the entry in the transcripts. if u failed a subject and passed it the second time, u will have two entries: the first entry is the one u failed, the second is the one u passed. look at the cgpa, and u'll realize that it has been recalculated.
i'm also from UIA & actually there r no 'recalculate' term for our CGPA cry.gif

our GPA & CGPA calculations r as follow:

let say we start from short sem 3 (2008/2009 session) and sem 1 & 2 (2009/2010 session)

semester 3 (2008/2009)
-----------------------------------
subject a (2 c.h) B-
subject b (1 c.h) B+

Total Grade Point (TGP) = [(2x2.67)+(1x3.33)] = 8.67
Cumulative Grade Point (CGP) = 8.67
Total Credit Hours (TCH) = 3
Cumulative Credit Hours (CCH) = 3

GPA = TGP / TCH = 2.890
CGPA = CGP / CCH = 2.890

semester 1 (2009/2010)
subject c (0.5 c.h) B-
subject d (1 c.h) A-
subject e (2 c.h) B+
subject f (2 c.h) E (FAIL & need to be repeat)
subject g (1 c.h) B+
subject h (2 c.h) C
subject i (3 c.h) F (FAIL & need to be repeat)
subject j (3 c.h) B

TGP = [(0.5x2.67)+(1x3.67)+(2x3.33)+(2x1.00)+(1x3.33)+(2x2.00)+(3x0.00)+(3x3.00)] = 29.995
TCH = 14.5
CGP = 8.67+29.995 = 38.665
CCH = 3+14.5 = 17.5

GPA = TGP / TCH = 2.069
CGPA = CGP / CCH = 38.665 / 17.5 = 2.2094

Semester 2 (2009/2010)
Subject f (2 c.h) C+ (REPEATED)
Subject i (3 c.h) E (REPEATED)
Subject k (1 c.h) C+
Subject l (2 c.h) B
Subject m (2 c.h) D- (FAIL & need to repeat)
Subject n (1 c.h) B
Subject p (3 c.h) F (FAIL & need to repeat)
Subject o (2 c.h) B+

TGP = [(2x2.33)+(3x1.00)+(1x2.33)+(2x3.00)+(2x1.33)+(1x3.00)+(3x0.00)+(2x3.33)] = 28.31
TCH = 16
CGP = 8.67+29.995+28.31 = 66.975
CCH = 3 + 14.5 + 16 = 33.5

GPA = TGP / TCH = 28.31 / 16 = 1.769!!!
CGPA = CGP / CCH = 66.975 / 33.5 = 1.9992!!!

As u can see they did not recalculate it, failed subject are still recorded in transcript even u get an A after repeating it.
This is the actual result of one of my friend. He got ‘surat cinta’ from uia because he got CGPA <2.0 for the 1st time, n if he cannot get CGPA above 2.0 next sem, he will be dismiss..

UIA Dismissal Scheme
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Get CGPA 1.67 and below – dismissal w/out warning
Get CGPA below 2.00 but above 1.67 – u will get ‘surat cinta’, warning you about dismissal from uia if u get CGPA below 2.00 again next semester
Get an ‘F’ for the third time for the same subject (repeating) – dismissal w/out warning eventhough your CGPA is 3.00

This post has been edited by polyamide: Nov 26 2009, 03:17 AM
TSazarimy
post Nov 26 2009, 05:17 AM

10,672 posts

fair enough. UIAM and UiTM have normally been the two deviant universities in malaysia biggrin.gif. i will try and talk to UIAM's admin to ask them to clarify or justify taking this method of calculating CGPA.

13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:54 PM