13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

CGPA - how to calculate, and why u should dare to fail!

TSazarimy
post Sep 13 2009, 06:09 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(csjohson @ Sep 13 2009, 06:41 AM)
so can i know how much will increase if i get C?0.2 ?or must count depend on previous cgpa?
u'd have to take into account:

+ the total credits u've taken throughout ur entire studies including the failed subject.
+ the latest CGPA.
+ the amount of credit that particular subject carries.
+ the grade value distributions for ur university (A= 4.00, B=3.00 etc).

give me those numbers, and i'll try and calculate for u.
wangos
post Sep 13 2009, 10:44 PM

What if I only got my marks on every subjects and the credit hours? I took 11 subjects and 120 hours credit. the CGPA come out to be 82- ridiculous. can somebody help me with this please?cheers
SUScgpahelp
post Sep 17 2009, 07:20 PM

can u help me to calculate my cgpa? I am studying in tarc ....SBS 2nd year accounting student...
TSazarimy
post Sep 17 2009, 07:22 PM

10,672 posts

give the information needed and we'll calculate wink.gif.
SUScgpahelp
post Sep 17 2009, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 17 2009, 07:22 PM)
give the information needed and we'll calculate wink.gif.
information like ?

Added on September 17, 2009, 7:44 pmwhy nobody help me..

This post has been edited by cgpahelp: Sep 17 2009, 07:44 PM
TSazarimy
post Sep 17 2009, 07:51 PM

10,672 posts

why dont u read the first post? it's all there.

to put it shortly, what u will need are:

i. the credit rating of all the subjects u HAVE TAKEN.
ii. the grades or preferably the points for those subjects.
SUScgpahelp
post Sep 17 2009, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 17 2009, 07:51 PM)
why dont u read the first post? it's all there.

to put it shortly, what u will need are:

i. the credit rating of all the subjects u HAVE TAKEN.
ii. the grades or preferably the points for those subjects.
Oh,sorry.i've read the first post but i dunno how to calculate by myself

my first year cgpa was 3.71
this sem, I fail 2 subject. so if i resit what is probably my cgpa?
will it be very low?
and thank you very much , ur help will be much appreciated

This post has been edited by cgpahelp: Sep 17 2009, 07:55 PM
TSazarimy
post Sep 17 2009, 08:07 PM

10,672 posts

u want us to help, then give the information we need.

what year and semester are u in now? 2nd year 1st sem?

and for the last 2 semesters u score 3.71, correct?

i will need the credit that u've earned for that 3.71.

i will need the credits of ALL the subjects u're taking this semester, and do highlight which subjects u're failing.
SUScgpahelp
post Sep 17 2009, 08:31 PM

wait a moment ya...

Added on September 17, 2009, 8:36 pmsorry i don't know this thread is so formal, coz i usually spam at kopitiam..
credit hours earned in year 1 is 19+19+6
this semester i got 22 credit hours,i fail one 3 cr and one 4 cr hrs subject

This post has been edited by cgpahelp: Sep 17 2009, 08:36 PM
TSazarimy
post Sep 17 2009, 08:49 PM

10,672 posts

ok. here's what i got for u:

19+19+6 = 3.71, meaning ur total points accumulated is (44x3.71)=163.24.

now i need the grades for the subjects u've taken this semester.

lets assume u got all B (3.00) except for the 2 failed subjects, this semester ur accumulated points are 15x3.00=45.00.

so add 45.00 to 163.24=208.24.

divide 208.24 with all the subjects u've taken including the failed ones (19+19+6+22)=3.15

so if u scored all Bs in ur subjects and failed 2 others this semester, ur CGPA will drop from 3.71 to 3.15.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Sep 17 2009, 08:50 PM
SUScgpahelp
post Sep 17 2009, 09:03 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 17 2009, 08:49 PM)
ok. here's what i got for u:

19+19+6 = 3.71, meaning ur total points accumulated is (44x3.71)=163.24.

now i need the grades for the subjects u've taken this semester.

lets assume u got all B (3.00) except for the 2 failed subjects, this semester ur accumulated points are 15x3.00=45.00.

so add 45.00 to 163.24=208.24.

divide 208.24 with all the subjects u've taken including the failed ones (19+19+6+22)=3.15

so if u scored all Bs in ur subjects and failed 2 others this semester, ur CGPA will drop from 3.71 to 3.15.
oh,thank you
how about if i resit and get 2 A for the subjects?
nex semester i got 23 credit hours

This post has been edited by cgpahelp: Sep 17 2009, 09:10 PM
TSazarimy
post Sep 17 2009, 09:16 PM

10,672 posts

i need to know the grades for all subjects u take this semester and its credit worth. something like:

subject A, 4 credits = B (3.00)
subject B, 2 credits = A (4.00)
subject C, 3 credits = fail (0.00)

and so on...
SUScgpahelp
post Sep 17 2009, 09:21 PM

assume that this semester my cgpa is 3.15, because i fail two subject, i resit them on nex semester
and nex semester my results are:
subject A= 4credits
subject B=4 credits
and i get 4 flat for my six subject (23 credit hours)
and i also get 4 flat for my resit subjects
so what is my cgpa?
TSazarimy
post Sep 17 2009, 10:06 PM

10,672 posts

u know, it's very hard to calculate based on too many assumptions. why dont u just give me the exact numbers so that we could assume LESS about anything. dont worry, i dont judge. the purpose of this thread is to help people calculate and why they shouldnt worry too much about failing. if i start judging people it'll defeat the purpose of this thread, isnt it? LOL.

anyways, lets assume next semester u take 23 subjects including resitting the 7 credits u failed this semester. and assume u score 4.00 on ALL those subjects.

first, calculate the total credits taken: 66+16 (because we dont recount the failed subjects) = 82 credits.

second, 4.00 x 23 credits = 92 points for this semester.

third, 92 + 208.24 (total points for 3 semesters) = 300.24.

finally, 300.24 divide by 82 credits = 3.66
SUScgpahelp
post Sep 17 2009, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 17 2009, 10:06 PM)
u know, it's very hard to calculate based on too many assumptions. why dont u just give me the exact numbers so that we could assume LESS about anything. dont worry, i dont judge. the purpose of this thread is to help people calculate and why they shouldnt worry too much about failing. if i start judging people it'll defeat the purpose of this thread, isnt it? LOL.

anyways, lets assume next semester u take 23 subjects including resitting the 7 credits u failed this semester. and assume u score 4.00 on ALL those subjects.

first, calculate the total credits taken: 66+16 (because we dont recount the failed subjects) = 82 credits.

second, 4.00 x 23 credits = 92 points for this semester.

third, 92 + 208.24 (total points for 3 semesters) = 300.24.

finally, 300.24 divide by 82 credits = 3.66
oh,they really minus my failed subject credit hours on last semester to calculate my current semester cgpa?are u sure?
u got resit before? are u from tarc? that mean if i resit= postpone my exam to next semester and i never fail my subject. ??
where got such thing!

This post has been edited by cgpahelp: Sep 17 2009, 10:15 PM
TSazarimy
post Sep 17 2009, 10:18 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(cgpahelp @ Sep 17 2009, 02:07 PM)
oh,they really minus my failed subject credit hours on last semester to calculate my current semester cgpa?are u sure?
u got resit before? are u from tarc? that mean if i resit= postpone my exam to next semester and i never fail my subject. ??
where got such thing!
read the thread from the beginning, son.
FreakyFreak22
post Oct 21 2009, 01:59 PM

59 posts

Hi everyone, need some adivces here.

In between:
- graduate with a lower CGPA without any repeat unit.
- gradutae with a higher CGPA by repeating one or two units.

Which one is a wiser move?

Thanks in advance. notworthy.gif
TSazarimy
post Oct 21 2009, 05:32 PM

10,672 posts

how much difference does it make? if it's a mere 0.1-0.2 points, it doesnt really makes a difference.

but in my case during my degree, repeating a single subject makes a difference between 2nd class upper and 2nd class lower. so it does make a difference, even for a mere 0.16 points wink.gif.
chern4ever
post Oct 21 2009, 07:26 PM

75 posts

if my cumulative average is 62, my total credit hour is 13, 62/13 = 4.769?
TSazarimy
post Oct 21 2009, 08:47 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(chern4ever @ Oct 21 2009, 11:26 AM)
if my cumulative average is 62, my total credit hour is 13, 62/13 = 4.769?
i think u got the numbers wrong. if ur total credit hour is 13, the maximum total grade points u can have is 52.

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:33 AM