7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Want to learn how to play electric guitar

SUSWayCock
post Nov 10 2020, 01:20 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Revoz @ Nov 10 2020, 01:13 PM)
This fingers exercise called spider walk.
Do this everyday for 30 days. Til ur finger doesnt feel tired or cramp.

Ok, sorry
I dun know is a real thing

QUOTE(jbcoder @ Nov 10 2020, 01:14 PM)
Electric guitar can be easy or very hard. The key is choose which one you like. Don't listen to bad advice to start with acoustic first because you'll lose interest very fast if that's not your interests. The acoustic->electric route are outdated and bad advice.

You can jump straight to electric.

The hardest part about electric guitar is not chords or power chords.

it's finger independence, accuracy and muting (in addition to speed of course)

ReaperX
post Nov 10 2020, 01:24 PM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 10 2020, 01:17 PM)
confirm not learn from rocksmith

Moral of the story: Don't simply jump to conclusions wink.gif
SUSNB01
post Nov 10 2020, 01:25 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(pot-8-O's @ Nov 10 2020, 12:59 PM)
lel just go acoustic first la, terus mau electric.

You think you're jimi reincarnate ka, ya sure ... on guitar hero  icon_idea.gif
Unker straight start with electric guitar. Accoustic no overdrive mana syiok. Nothing wrong with jump in with electric first. It's just different instrument for different type of music.

This post has been edited by NB01: Nov 10 2020, 01:27 PM
pipedream
post Nov 10 2020, 01:26 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Nov 10 2020, 01:24 PM)

Moral of the story: Don't simply jump to conclusions  wink.gif
fine. whatever.

but i am speaking from experience

have YOU tried rocksmith?

edit: this guy said it best

TheShinyChocobo
4 points
·
3 years ago
As someone who has played guitar for a while before I touched Rocksmith, it's hard to say, but I would highly advice against using it as a sole source of instruction. It is a great way to just have fun playing and spend hours with a guitar in your hands (and learn songs of course), but definitely practice without it sometimes. You want to be able to play without the colored notes. Learn some theory, jam out with no accompaniment.

tl;dr Use it as a learning tool, not your entire guitar learning experience.

And you definitely don't need to pay for lessons. YouTube was my teacher.

Give Award
Save

level 2
flippygen
3 points
·
3 years ago
This right here.

It's a great practice tool! You learn songs, work on things like accuracy, bending, sliding, barre cords etc

When it comes to theory however, it teaches diddly squat. Not even fundamental things such as how chords are built.

Really it boils down to what your goals are. If you want to know the building blocks of music you will definitely need to learn via other sources. If you just want something to have fun with and play casually, it's one of the best things out there.

With all that said, it's super fun and you should definitely pick it up if you have interest in playing the guitar. It can very well serve as a jumping board to learning such an amazing instrument

This post has been edited by pipedream: Nov 10 2020, 01:29 PM
Revoz
post Nov 10 2020, 01:26 PM

679 posts

QUOTE(WayCock @ Nov 10 2020, 01:20 PM)
Ok, sorry
I dun know is a real thing
Lulz its real!
U need to get ur finger soft 1st, so tat easier n faster u can switch chord while playing guitar. If finger hard u cant switch chord properly and will always miss place ur finger.
Gip u easy chord u try switching fast, C major and A minor. Keep switching C major to A minor repeately. Sure hard right? But easier if ur finger soft.
SUSWayCock
post Nov 10 2020, 01:29 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Nov 10 2020, 01:20 PM)
Yeah.. practice lor laugh.gif

But very limited knowledge la.. only playing those popular solos biggrin.gif

U are so good
Damn, if only I can play one song
Lol

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Nov 10 2020, 01:20 PM)
some ppl are musically gifted
I was having a high hope to achieve that
Now my confidence drop d

Zot
post Nov 10 2020, 01:32 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(pot-8-O's @ Nov 10 2020, 12:59 PM)
lel just go acoustic first la, terus mau electric.

You think you're jimi reincarnate ka, ya sure ... on guitar hero  icon_idea.gif
Electric guitar for me is easier to make cleaner sounds than acoustic. wink.gif
phas3r
post Nov 10 2020, 01:37 PM

1,206 posts

Nowadays much easier to learn than last time

Youtube has everything

I learned elect guitar in 2002-2004, much less guides available

What kind of songs are you playing? Be comfortable with the common chords first(usually those acoustic)

Electric guitar depending on genre, will have power chords(easy), plucking note/solo (easy to difficult), if metal need very fast hand and stronger for the riffs
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 10 2020, 01:38 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(WayCock @ Nov 10 2020, 01:29 PM)
U are so good
Lol
Now my confidence drop d
u can practice first using these apps

all the best

Zot
post Nov 10 2020, 01:41 PM

7,938 posts

U are so good
Lol
Now my confidence drop d
If you want to learn, just go ahead. I learned also by myself. My dad bought me a guitar when I was in Form 3. Imagine that it was before the exam where students started concentrated on study.

Last time in school there was music class until Form 3 and using recorder. I teach myself playing guitar and also piano. Later I go to classical guitar. I can plat flute or anything similar since the fingering are the same like sax, clarinet. I can play trumpet as well. The only thing I never learned is trombone.

That was long ago. My guitar is collecting dust. laugh.gif
sidthesloth
post Nov 10 2020, 01:42 PM

174 posts

What kind of music normally listen? If you like music from the 60s like Beatles, I suggest start with acoustic guitar. Just invest in a decent acoustic electric guitar.
TAZIO.N
post Nov 10 2020, 01:42 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 10 2020, 01:41 PM)
If you want to learn, just go ahead. I learned also by myself. My dad bought me a guitar when I was in Form 3. Imagine that it was before the exam where students started concentrated on study.

Last time in school there was music class until Form 3 and using recorder. I teach myself playing guitar and also piano. Later I go to classical guitar. I can plat flute or anything similar since the fingering are the same like sax, clarinet. I can play trumpet as well. The only thing I never learned is trombone.

That was long ago. My guitar is collecting dust.  laugh.gif
What guitar?sell to TS tongue.gif
feekle
post Nov 10 2020, 01:44 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

I just love this dude playing style

This post has been edited by feekle: Nov 10 2020, 01:46 PM
khelben
post Nov 10 2020, 01:47 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

U are so good
Lol
Now my confidence drop d
Haha thanks. But you just gotta start. My biggest motivation is, all those guitar legends, they were once a noob too laugh.gif

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 10 2020, 01:32 PM)
Electric guitar for me is easier to make cleaner sounds than acoustic.  wink.gif
Yeah acoustic guitar definitely harder imo. Heavier strings.
SUSWayCock
post Nov 10 2020, 01:47 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Nov 10 2020, 01:37 PM)
Nowadays much easier to learn than last time

Youtube has everything

I learned elect guitar in 2002-2004, much less guides available

What kind of songs are you playing? Be comfortable with the common chords first(usually those acoustic)

Electric guitar depending on genre, will have power chords(easy), plucking note/solo (easy to difficult), if metal need very fast hand and stronger for the riffs
i dun listen much music

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Nov 10 2020, 01:38 PM)
u can practice first using these apps

all the best

i will watch this later

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 10 2020, 01:41 PM)

That was long ago. My guitar is collecting dust.  laugh.gif
ok, sell to me the guitar
cheap2 rm50

QUOTE(sidthesloth @ Nov 10 2020, 01:42 PM)
What kind of music normally listen? If you like music from the 60s like Beatles, I suggest start with acoustic guitar. Just invest in a decent acoustic electric guitar.
i dun listen much music
Kwar
post Nov 10 2020, 01:48 PM

65 posts

if you want to learn electric guitar, just buy the electric guitar, don't buy acoustic. Hard to learn or not you need to practice (less or alot, dpend on ur motor abilities), but pickup the guitar to train everyday regardless

dun be like me buy accoustic for 800, then leave in dust after I bought a starter pack for 1.2k 2 weeks later LUL
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 10 2020, 01:48 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(WayCock @ Nov 10 2020, 01:47 PM)
i dun listen much music
i will watch this later
ok, sell to me the guitar
cheap2 rm50
i dun listen much music
most welcome bro
SUSWayCock
post Nov 10 2020, 01:50 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Kwar @ Nov 10 2020, 01:48 PM)
if you want to learn electric guitar, just buy the electric guitar, don't buy acoustic. Hard to learn or not you need to practice (less or alot, dpend on ur motor abilities), but pickup the guitar to train everyday regardless

dun be like me buy accoustic for 800, then leave in dust after I bought a starter pack for 1.2k 2 weeks later LUL
which starter pack you buy?
can share
Kwar
post Nov 10 2020, 01:53 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(WayCock @ Nov 10 2020, 01:50 PM)
which starter pack you buy?
can share
yamaha pacifica pac012 + orange crush amp 20w, is what the shop guy (musicbliss) sold to me as starter pack

but 20w quite loud if living in apartment. nowadays I just use audio interface instead of an amp, plug to pc.

This post has been edited by Kwar: Nov 10 2020, 01:53 PM
ShadowR1
post Nov 10 2020, 01:54 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,883 posts

QUOTE(pot-8-O's @ Nov 10 2020, 12:48 PM)
Kejamnya.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0287sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:12 AM