Malaysia Airlines offers VSS

TSSai Lin Nia
post Oct 22 2020, 09:51 PM, updated 6y ago

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia Aviation Group (MAG) has offered a voluntary separation scheme (VSS) for employees while negotiations are ongoing with creditors and lessors over Malaysia Airlines Bhd's (MAB) restructuring plans.

The MAG Early Retirement Application form, which was sighted by Bernama, is aimed at employees across the board including its subsidiaries MAB, MASwings, MAB Kargo, AeroDarat Services, Firefly, Hijrah Biru, and the MAB Academy.

The exercise is targeted at Malaysia-based employees aged 45 and above who have served the company continuously for a minimum of 10 years, including years of service in the Malaysia Airlines group.

Commenting on the move, National Union of Flight Attendants Malaysia president Ismail Nasaruddin said the decision was considered "fair" in view of other airlines' extreme decision to pare down entire operations before offering any separation scheme or compensation.

He said the VSS offer had been made and it now depended on the employee whether or not to take up the offer.

"They (MAG) are not paying much; the VSS offer is only for three months' salary. If the outcome from this offer doesn't match with the numbers they are looking at, then more drastic measures may be implemented such as termination or retrenchment," he told Bernama based on information gathered from internal sources in MAG.

Ismail believes a retrenchment compensation would likely offer less than what had been offered in the VSS, and about 50 per cent of MAG's employees are eligible for the offer, including those transferred to the group during the corporate restructuring previously.

As for MAB, it still has a 12,000-strong workforce despite facing challenges from the pandemic that caused the airline and the industry as a whole to suffer from weak demand.

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2020/10/634...cturing%20plans.
James1983
post Oct 22 2020, 09:52 PM

💦kencing lettew💦
532 posts

No money d still can offer VSS, kasi no pay retrenched je. Tax payer ain’t gonna fund ya anymore
SUSfreeman1
post Oct 22 2020, 09:56 PM

525 posts

Not bad... at least can get 10 months salary if 1 month compensation for 1 year of service
Pichu00
post Oct 22 2020, 10:00 PM

640 posts

So explain to me why we need sacrifice 28 mil ppl for mas 40-50k ppl ??
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Oct 22 2020, 10:03 PM

Just close this unsustainable company. Invest more in Firefly
gashout
post Oct 22 2020, 10:04 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(James1983 @ Oct 22 2020, 09:52 PM)
No money d still can offer VSS, kasi no pay retrenched je. Tax payer ain’t gonna fund ya anymore
Yes, this. Top kek!
wanted111who
post Oct 22 2020, 10:05 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(freeman1 @ Oct 22 2020, 09:56 PM)
Not bad... at least can get 10 months salary if 1 month compensation for 1 year of service
Yes, sounds like a scam, vss =3 month salary, retrenchment = 10 month salary, I rather go for retrenchment.

And using firing to as scare tactics. Want fire also need proof of misconduct. No proof sue the company.
9m2w
post Oct 22 2020, 10:06 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

Man nobody read the article? It's only 3 months on offer
SUSagewisdom
post Oct 22 2020, 10:07 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Oct 22 2020, 10:00 PM)
Politics. Jgn persoal.
ketupatlazat
post Oct 22 2020, 10:08 PM

555 posts

https://harakahdaily.net/index.php/2020/10/...an-semua-pihak/

DEWAN Pemuda PAS Malaysia (DPPM) menggesa supaya semua pihak tidak mengambil mudah terhadap kemelut panjang yang melanda Syarikat Penerbangan Malaysia Airlines Berhad (MAB). Malah, dalam masa yang sama turut menggesa penubuhan suatu Suruhanjaya Khas yang dilantik dalam kalangan pakar bidang penerbangan supaya membantu mengemukakan syor-syor baharu bagi memulihkan MAB dan industri penerbangan domestik pada masa akan datang.

Pada saat ini, Khazanah Nasional Bhd secara khususnya perlu mempertimbangkan beberapa perkara terhadap MAB. Antaranya ialah:

(i) Memastikan kebajikan para pekerja supaya tidak menjadi mangsa penstrukturan kecemasan MAB khususnya ketika rakyat berhadapan dengan wabak COVID-19 yang menjejaskan kewangan peribadi.

(ii) Memastikan identiti Malaysia Airlines kekal sebagai syarikat penerbangan nasional untuk jangka masa panjang ketika mempertimbangkan sebarang bentuk ‘partnership’ kelak.

(iii) Menubuhkan Suruhanjaya Khas dalam kalangan pakar penerbangan untuk mempertimbangkan syor-syor dalam menyelesaikan isu ‘overcapacity’ industri penerbangan domestik secara komprehensif.

(iv) Memperbaiki serta mempertingkatkan mutu perkhidmatan MAB supaya kekal menjadi pilihan nombor satu rakyat di negara ini.
Doomsday
post Oct 22 2020, 10:08 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

1 month salary 20k
3 month vss 60k Liao.. can tahan 2 years bhai
Emily Ratajkowski
post Oct 22 2020, 10:09 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Oct 22 2020, 10:08 PM)

DEWAN Pemuda PAS Malaysia (DPPM) menggesa supaya semua pihak tidak mengambil mudah terhadap kemelut panjang yang melanda Syarikat Penerbangan Malaysia Airlines Berhad (MAB). Malah, dalam masa yang sama turut menggesa penubuhan suatu Suruhanjaya Khas yang dilantik dalam kalangan pakar bidang penerbangan supaya membantu mengemukakan syor-syor baharu bagi memulihkan MAB dan industri penerbangan domestik pada masa akan datang.

Pada saat ini, Khazanah Nasional Bhd secara khususnya perlu mempertimbangkan beberapa perkara terhadap MAB. Antaranya ialah:

(i) Memastikan kebajikan para pekerja supaya tidak menjadi mangsa penstrukturan kecemasan MAB khususnya ketika rakyat berhadapan dengan wabak COVID-19 yang menjejaskan kewangan peribadi.

(ii) Memastikan identiti Malaysia Airlines kekal sebagai syarikat penerbangan nasional untuk jangka masa panjang ketika mempertimbangkan sebarang bentuk ‘partnership’ kelak.

(iii) Menubuhkan Suruhanjaya Khas dalam kalangan pakar penerbangan untuk mempertimbangkan syor-syor dalam menyelesaikan isu ‘overcapacity’ industri penerbangan domestik secara komprehensif.

(iv) Memperbaiki serta mempertingkatkan mutu perkhidmatan MAB supaya kekal menjadi pilihan nombor satu rakyat di negara ini.
haha die die dowan to change management.

you tau i tau la.
Lucas0323
post Oct 22 2020, 10:11 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Oct 22 2020, 10:06 PM)
Man nobody read the article? It's only 3 months on offer
Still alot for doing nothing
zerorating
post Oct 22 2020, 10:13 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

if only MAS were sold earlier to the highest bidder.
too bad it didnt come to fruition thanks to covid sad.gif
waghyu
post Oct 22 2020, 10:16 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Oct 22 2020, 10:00 PM)
This is how business work. Same like your current job.
zerorating
post Oct 22 2020, 10:16 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Oct 22 2020, 10:08 PM)

diamla pas, tak payah nak ajar khazanah.

makes me wonder what would be their comment now after tabung haji sold their hotel business before covid19 happened.
SUSfreeman1
post Oct 22 2020, 10:17 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Oct 22 2020, 10:08 PM)
1  month salary 20k
3 month vss 60k Liao.. can tahan 2 years bhai
But the pilot monthly commitment is 21k per month... still need to 14th floor after 3 months...
taiko8148
post Oct 22 2020, 10:26 PM

179 posts

some fact about why politician milking MAS

The downfall of MAS
From 2012 , just to record, Badawi’s brother had nothing but pecuniary interest in MAS. The catering Dept was then deemed an unnecessary expense item in MAS books. It was first separated from the main company to prepare it for eventual subsidiary status. It did not seem to the management then that it could be hugely profitable as it was not just providing meals for MAS but also for so many foreign airlines operating into Klia. But the ‘story’ that it was an unprofitable entity continued and therefore it was regarded as a ‘saving action’ when Badawi’s brother took over MAS Catering.

During a townhall session with both Badawi and Idris Jala present, someone asked Badawi the question as to how come MAS Catering was given to his brother as it seemed like cronyism. Badawi’s reply was “my brother also needs to cari makan”.

At the same townhall session, Badawi also stated he didn’t know Idris Jala was not a Muslim at the time when he was selected to head MAS - he only knew about it later.

When Idris took over, he tried very hard to reduce costs. This included reduction in catering costs. Salt and pepper sachets were removed and cabin crew had the extra task of walking around with salt and pepper for pax who wanted them. Box meals were introduced on regional flights. However to his surprise, Idris found that despite all the measures taken, catering costs did not go down.

It was then that they examined the catering contract. Apparently the 25 year deal signed with Brahim had a ‘minimum payment’ clause. This meant that regardless of what was used by MAS, there was a fixed minimum amount that was to be paid to Brahim every month. It was something like a buffet price where you pay a standard amount.

So you see how the company was screwed by politicians at the very top. Idris fought hard to put things right even to the extent of taking legal action against TR. But Idris was quickly relieved of his position together with the Chief Auditor.

MAS has been milked and raped by so many crooked people in the corridors of power. And this is the reason it has never been able to turn itself around. Right from aircraft purchase to inflight nasi lemak, it has been abuse all the way.

And if you ask them how come, you will obviously get the standard reply - “they also need to cari makan”.

Today - there is talk about closing it down because it is no longer able to generate revenue to line the pockets. No aircraft purchase, no lease, no flights, no catering, no fuel purchase, no nothing.
yolo1990
post Oct 22 2020, 10:32 PM

161 posts

last sentence states 'weak demand'.
its not weak demand, its the world government closed borders.

wanna go holiday now also can't. cilaka betul

This post has been edited by yolo1990: Oct 22 2020, 10:33 PM
James1983
post Oct 22 2020, 10:34 PM

💦kencing lettew💦
532 posts

QUOTE(taiko8148 @ Oct 22 2020, 10:26 PM)
some fact about why politician milking MAS

The downfall of MAS 
From 2012 , just to record, Badawi’s brother had nothing but pecuniary interest in MAS. The catering Dept was then deemed an unnecessary expense item in MAS books. It was first separated from the main company to prepare it for eventual subsidiary status. It did not seem to the management then that it could be hugely profitable as it was not just providing meals for MAS but also for so many foreign airlines operating into Klia. But the ‘story’ that it was an unprofitable entity continued and therefore it was regarded as a ‘saving action’ when Badawi’s brother took over MAS Catering.

During a townhall session with both Badawi and Idris Jala present, someone asked Badawi the question as to how come MAS Catering was given to his brother as it seemed like cronyism. Badawi’s reply was “my brother also needs to cari makan”.

At the same townhall session, Badawi also stated he didn’t know Idris Jala was not a Muslim at the time when he was selected to head MAS - he only knew about it later.

When Idris took over, he tried very hard to reduce costs. This included reduction in catering costs. Salt and pepper sachets were removed and cabin crew had the extra task of walking around with salt and pepper for pax who wanted them. Box meals were introduced on regional flights. However to his surprise, Idris found that despite all the measures taken, catering costs did not go down.

It was then that they examined the catering contract. Apparently the 25 year deal signed with Brahim had a ‘minimum payment’ clause. This meant that regardless of what was used by MAS, there was a fixed minimum amount that was to be paid to Brahim every month. It was something like a buffet price where you pay a standard amount.

So you see how the company was screwed by politicians at the very top. Idris fought hard to put things right even to the extent of taking legal action against TR. But Idris was quickly relieved of his position together with the Chief Auditor.

MAS has been milked and raped by so many crooked people in the corridors of power. And this is the reason it has never been able to turn itself around. Right from aircraft purchase to inflight nasi lemak, it has been abuse all the way.

And if you ask them how come, you will obviously get the standard reply - “they also need to cari makan”.

Today - there is talk about closing it down because it is no longer able to generate revenue to line the pockets. No aircraft purchase, no lease, no flights, no catering, no fuel purchase, no nothing.
Thanks for sharing.

Goes to show how taxpayers money are siphoned for personal gains
Sickening
Phoenix_KL
post Oct 22 2020, 10:34 PM

156 posts

first say gonna close. now say vss.
Pichu00
post Oct 22 2020, 10:41 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Oct 22 2020, 10:16 PM)
This is how business work. Same like your current job.
If the company I work for close down only worker get affected not whole mal chip in paying for Thier salary
Pichu00
post Oct 22 2020, 10:43 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(James1983 @ Oct 22 2020, 10:34 PM)
Thanks for sharing.

Goes to show how taxpayers money are siphoned for personal gains
Sickening
The nasik lemak at mas cost over 80 ++ per meal
crazee
post Oct 22 2020, 10:43 PM

134 posts

Finally it’s happening. Been holding it for so long
hz428
post Oct 22 2020, 10:47 PM

1,056 posts

down fall of MAS since the removal of chinese top management to our 60000 years ppl.

and then the raise of Singapore Airlines. Is very weird u know to see this happen through time.
Phoenix_KL
post Oct 22 2020, 10:48 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(freeman1 @ Oct 22 2020, 10:17 PM)
But the pilot monthly commitment is 21k per month... still need to 14th floor after 3 months...
confirm no pilot driving myvi. all drive imported car RM100+k.
waghyu
post Oct 22 2020, 10:53 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Oct 22 2020, 10:41 PM)
If the company I work for close down only worker get affected not whole mal chip in paying for Thier salary
Your company peanut then.
Stigonboard
post Oct 22 2020, 10:59 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(James1983 @ Oct 22 2020, 09:52 PM)
No pay retrenchment means million dollar lost of revenue in money that may be spent back on economy

The retailers and shops are struggling - thousands of paid less retrenched workers are the last thing they want

Gov dont want that - it will impact on bank loans paymemt too and create domino effect
blanket84
post Oct 22 2020, 11:05 PM

1,520 posts

How come MAS Cargo also affected? Other airlines cargo still operate as normal some even perform better during this pandemic period.
loon90
post Oct 22 2020, 11:08 PM

172 posts

Got no money can still VSS?
red4900
post Oct 22 2020, 11:11 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Oct 22 2020, 10:05 PM)
Yes, sounds like a scam,  vss =3 month salary,  retrenchment = 10 month salary, I rather go for retrenchment. 

And using firing to as scare tactics. Want fire also need proof of misconduct. No proof sue the company.
Is retrenchment mandatory paid by years of service?

First time I heard this. Is this by law?
Taikor.Taikun
post Oct 22 2020, 11:13 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(nasi lemak 20 sen @ Oct 22 2020, 10:03 PM)
Just close this unsustainable company. Invest more in Firefly
Got to make sure those leeches dont hog to feed on Firefly the way they did to Mas
cse.my

472 posts

Ooo gonna ada mas fl hoho
SUSMondello

74 posts

my cash is ready for all the FL .....tinder account oso ready to upgrade gold liao

hurricane21
post Oct 22 2020, 11:15 PM

Senior Probation
1,389 posts

Give them Apple or Microsoft also bankrupt within 1 week

Owai
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Oct 22 2020, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Oct 22 2020, 11:13 PM)
Got to make sure those leeches dont hog to feed on Firefly the way they did to Mas
I believe FireFly given enough time will also infested with cronies. At least that is future problem. MAS is now stage 4 cancer. Just let MAS die.
Bill888
post Oct 22 2020, 11:22 PM

Even good times also can't make money, so this is no better time to close shop.
jmas
post Oct 22 2020, 11:40 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

time to refresh the blood and cut down salary

wanted111who
post Oct 23 2020, 01:55 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(red4900 @ Oct 22 2020, 11:11 PM)

Labor law, also retrenchment need to be lifo, last in first out. I'm no lawyer, consult the professional
Unsure Sam
post Oct 23 2020, 07:31 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Oct 22 2020, 10:05 PM)
Yes, sounds like a scam,  vss =3 month salary,  retrenchment = 10 month salary, I rather go for retrenchment. 

You understand what is the meaning of retrenchment? "the reduction of costs or spending in response to economic difficulty"

Where you get sos that retrenchment get 10 months salary? Typical ktard talking out of their ass..

Unsure Sam
post Oct 23 2020, 07:32 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(red4900 @ Oct 22 2020, 11:11 PM)

No.. this bodoh punya ktard tok kok one.. the 1 month a year is for employees earning 2k and below under the Employment Act.. I doubt any pilot qualify..
Unsure Sam
post Oct 23 2020, 07:34 AM

14 posts

oi bodoh... sos mana? EA only apply for employees earning 2k and below..
SUSfreeman1
post Oct 23 2020, 07:35 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(Unsure Sam @ Oct 23 2020, 07:34 AM)
Kena tanya backdoor....
SUSNB01
post Oct 23 2020, 07:37 AM

280 posts

Read.

3 months VSS only
SUSNB01
post Oct 23 2020, 07:39 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(Unsure Sam @ Oct 23 2020, 07:31 AM)
You understand what is the meaning of retrenchment? "the reduction of costs or spending in response to economic difficulty"

Where you get sos that retrenchment get 10 months salary? Typical ktard talking out of their ass..
Retrenchment means no compensation. If got last month celery also cukur.
Usually, will offer VSS first. You don't take, next round retrench, you habuk pun Tak ada.
Unsure Sam
post Oct 23 2020, 07:44 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(NB01 @ Oct 23 2020, 07:39 AM)
Usually, will offer VSS first. You don't take, next round retrench, you habuk pun Tak ada.
Yeah.. Still got some bodo ktards think much better to wait for retrenchment.. doh.gif
SUSfreeman1
post Oct 23 2020, 08:32 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(NB01 @ Oct 23 2020, 07:37 AM)
Read.

3 months VSS only
Syukur... still got 3 months
wanted111who
post Oct 23 2020, 09:24 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Unsure Sam @ Oct 23 2020, 07:31 AM)

When did I said retrenchment get 10 month salary? Go and understand your own country labor law then come back again and argue.

After you do some labor law research, answer me how much is the compensation for people who work for more than 10 years? As per the article.
wanted111who
post Oct 23 2020, 09:27 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(NB01 @ Oct 23 2020, 07:39 AM)
You sure? is either you kena con by your boss or you're the conman (boss) point 4 below

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&...Xvgr03w0b_w5MqW

Owaii... You don't bound within the EA? Kesian...

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Oct 23 2020, 09:31 PM
KamisF
post Oct 23 2020, 09:34 PM

178 posts

my dad also kene retrenched by MAS dunno how many years back,

godspeed to those family who are going to be retrenched this time
wanted111who
post Oct 23 2020, 10:03 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(Unsure Sam @ Oct 23 2020, 07:34 AM)
After doing some research, you're right. But for those employed for 10 years, foreigners will need to be retrench first before them, junior will come after before them..

The company need to retrench based on Lifo, last in first out. So people employed 1 year, 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 will need to be retrench first before those who employed for 10 years . And company cannot hire new people.

So those worker are practically untouchable until unless the entire company go down.

Unsure Sam
post Oct 24 2020, 03:06 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Oct 23 2020, 09:24 PM)
When did I said retrenchment get 10 month salary?  Go and understand your own country labor law then come back again and argue.

After you do some labor law research,  answer me how much is the compensation for people who work for more than 10 years? As per the article.
Please read back your own comment.. Nah.. let me refresh your memory:

"Yes, sounds like a scam, vss =3 month salary, retrenchment = 10 month salary, I rather go for retrenchment.

And using firing to as scare tactics. Want fire also need proof of misconduct. No proof sue the company."

You read article also don't know how to read properly.. Really.. doh.gif RIP Malaysian education system..
smallcrab
post Oct 24 2020, 06:53 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(KamisF @ Oct 23 2020, 09:34 PM)
my dad also kene retrenched by MAS dunno how many years back,

godspeed to those family who are going to be retrenched this time
Your dad a pilot?
What job he's doing now?
KamisF
post Oct 24 2020, 07:18 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Oct 24 2020, 06:53 AM)
Your dad a pilot?
What job he's doing now?
not a pilot, aircraft technician, been working there for almost 30 years then kene retrenched.

he’s not working since being retrenched coz of health issue as he fell from the plane’s engine height to the ground before that.

SUSNB01
post Oct 24 2020, 07:23 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Oct 23 2020, 09:27 PM)
You sure?  is either you kena con by your boss or you're the conman (boss) point 4 below

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&...Xvgr03w0b_w5MqW

Owaii... You don't bound within the EA?  Kesian...
Sohem.

Post one link macam very expert.

VSS is the compensantion. You don't take, your pasal. Go ask your HR.

Unker used to work in big public listed company btw.

And btw, you know what is bounded under EA?

Celelry under 2K. Yep. Kecian you celery so ciput.

This post has been edited by NB01: Oct 24 2020, 07:28 AM
Nauts
post Oct 24 2020, 07:23 AM

340 posts

Retrenchment also based on contract.

Not everything is labour law.

Doubt MAS will employ without someone signing something that is beneficial to them.

Also without money how to pay those 10-100 months retrenchment?

Ooh well...the song "children are our future" is not relevant anymore

simply reply and post rubbish only ...oh well..got eSports ma

SUSNB01
post Oct 24 2020, 07:33 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 24 2020, 07:23 AM)
Retrenchment also based on contract.

Not everything is labour law.

Doubt MAS will employ without someone signing something that is beneficial to them.

Also without money how to pay those 10-100 months retrenchment?

Ooh well...the song "children are our future" is not relevant anymore

simply reply and post rubbish only ...oh well..got eSports ma
Once your celery above RM2k, it is not protected by labour law anymore.

basically, unless you are kuli like our friend wantedxxxx, you are not protected.
backspace66
post Oct 24 2020, 08:00 AM

2,139 posts

It was a gesture during a time where they can afford 1 month per year of service as compensation. Some bank i believe even gave 1.5 or 2 months per year of service iirc.

Now that most company cant afford, they will just follow the law which is non existent for most of us who does not fall under the labor law.

So the only thing you would get is probably the salary for notice period and any balance on the annual leave.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Oct 24 2020, 08:01 AM
wanted111who
post Oct 24 2020, 08:19 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(NB01 @ Oct 24 2020, 07:23 AM)
Sohem.

Post one link macam very expert.

VSS is the compensantion. You don't take, your pasal. Go ask your HR.

Unker used to work in big public listed company btw.

And btw, you know what is bounded under EA?

Celelry under 2K. Yep. Kecian you celery so ciput.
OK I admit I missed the part under 2k salary, but how about lifo and foreigners part? It is indeed a scared tactics. Also the company need to proof that they aren't hiring any new blood.

Those guy are untouchable unless the companies willing to retrench all their juniors including themselves.

Who say cannot counter vss offer? Those guys who work 10 years and above does have leverage to get more compensation, more than 3 months.

Also everyone in Malaysia is bound by EA no matter what salary,what position. Only you don't bound by EA.

Don't think only you in Malaysia work with big public listed company, my last 4 companies is all mnc as well, your point is?

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Oct 24 2020, 08:35 AM
wanted111who
post Oct 24 2020, 08:24 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Unsure Sam @ Oct 24 2020, 03:06 AM)
Please read back your own comment.. Nah.. let me refresh your memory:

"Yes, sounds like a scam,  vss =3 month salary,  retrenchment = 10 month salary, I rather go for retrenchment.

And using firing to as scare tactics. Want fire also need proof of misconduct. No proof sue the company."

You read article also don't know how to read properly.. Really..  doh.gif  RIP Malaysian education system..
What I meant is the terms of services for 10 years retrenchment compensation = 10 months, 11 years is 11 month and so on.

Of course this is for people with income lower than 2k but there is many other conditions like foreigner first out, last in first out, company cannot expand or hiring anyone recently. The company want to retrench, it's basically retrench everyone, the entire company will not left many workers.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Oct 24 2020, 08:28 AM
Skylinestar
post Oct 24 2020, 08:29 AM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 22 2020, 11:40 PM)
time to refresh the blood and cut down salary
I heard mas staff salary is already the lowest among all the airlines in this region (probably the whole APAC)
Unsure Sam
post Oct 24 2020, 08:45 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Oct 24 2020, 08:24 AM)
What I meant is the terms of services for 10 years retrenchment compensation = 10 months, 11 years is 11 month and so on.

Of course this is for people with income lower than 2k but there is many other conditions like foreigner first out,  last in first out,  company cannot expand or hiring anyone recently. The company want to retrench,  it's basically retrench everyone,  the entire company will not left many workers.
console.gif You are clearly a kid... Don't know all the tactics Companies have up their sleeve to retrench staff.... Plus MAS is GLC... You think they scared of Industrial Court? You go industrial court say bye bye to getting new jobs.. Industrial court judgments are available online... Now HR can check if you got sue your previous company before..
Nauts
post Oct 24 2020, 08:49 AM

340 posts

Industry very small...once word spread you take employer to industry court. ... no need work anywhere anymore.

HR and new employer dont want trouble makers and rats
JoeYoung
post Oct 24 2020, 09:10 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(Bill888 @ Oct 22 2020, 11:22 PM)
Even good times also can't make money, so this is no better time to close shop.
Spot on. From 2017-2019 is the golden age of air travel. Can get the details from IATA website. Even CX rise from the deathbed.
SUSNB01
post Oct 24 2020, 09:27 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Oct 24 2020, 08:19 AM)
OK I admit I missed the part under 2k salary,  but how about lifo and foreigners part? It is indeed a scared tactics. Also the company need to proof that they aren't hiring any new blood.

Those guy are untouchable unless the companies willing to retrench all their juniors including themselves.

Who say cannot counter vss offer? Those guys who work 10 years and above does have leverage to get more compensation,  more than 3 months.

Also everyone in Malaysia is bound by EA no matter what salary,what position. Only you don't bound by EA.

Don't think only you in Malaysia work with big public listed company, my last 4 companies is all mnc as well,  your point is?
TLDR.

Yg Penting, Confirmed sohem pancutted awal.
Twins10
post Oct 24 2020, 09:31 AM

919 posts

Some of these staff already collected vss 2x.
JoeYoung
post Oct 24 2020, 09:34 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Oct 22 2020, 11:05 PM)
How come MAS Cargo also affected? Other airlines cargo still operate as normal some even perform better during this pandemic period.
MAS Kargo has only 3 x pure freighter A330-200F to service their route. Rest space are belly space on passenger flight. If they even flew.
https://www.maskargo.com/fleet-network

Now compare this against others carriers pure freighter.
Korean Air 747F x 11 + 777F x 12
Singapore Air Cargo 747F x 7
Cathay Cargo 747F x 25

jmas
post Oct 24 2020, 08:05 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 24 2020, 08:29 AM)
I heard mas staff salary is already the lowest among all the airlines in this region (probably the whole APAC)
its actually what IBM did worldwide, cutting "old" blood (taking the most salary) with reasons like "bad economy", "no business", etc.. then hire new blood with basic rate
back in 2014, their average workforce age is ~38, current average age (as communicated internally), its ~27.
instant cheaper cost, and they can call their workforce young.

0.0262sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:59 PM