HP Pavilion Tablet PC TX series, Discussion TX 1000, TX 2000 TX 2500

obm_nlh
post Feb 2 2009, 10:42 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Feb 2 2009, 10:27 PM)
Guys,

My sis wanna sell her TX2005 bought in 2007. How much can it fetch today?
TX2005?

obm_nlh
post Feb 3 2009, 11:44 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(yiks01 @ Feb 3 2009, 10:13 AM)
Hmm, looks like a hp service standard to try diff hardware config at customers expense. And then treat as users problem by stating that its a software problem.
I could not imagine how it looks like if the baby is no more under warranty..

Added on February 3, 2009, 4:06 pm
QUOTE(MattJ @ Feb 3 2009, 09:18 AM)
Sorry TX2500
Ok but which TX2500 model?

This post has been edited by obm_nlh: Feb 3 2009, 04:06 PM
obm_nlh
post Feb 13 2009, 09:26 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Feb 13 2009, 10:21 AM)
If you make choice buying tablet notebook means you need it not just buying it make people 'wow' or 'cool' when looking to your tablet. If you don't need tablet notebook. Better get a normal notebook, I believe you can get better spec for it price.  hmm.gif
Hear, hear.. I think in one of my previous responses, I did mentioned why you need to get this model...

Briefly, from my observation, with the amount that you need to spend especially if you opt for the higher range model (sorry, not applicable to Malaysian market nowdays.. boo.. boo..)

1. Price .. steep for the higher models
2. Featurewise as non-tablet unit, you can get better ones than TX
3. Speedwise, see answer no. 2
4. Video, see answer no. 2
5. Spacewise .. average, TX seems to be using average space 120GB to 250GB
TX2 seems to go to 300GB
6. Tablet feature .. average

BUT, don't be despaired. Considering Items 1 to 6, TX series especially the newer ones, it's a worthwhile investment if you are really looking for a tablet PC. Other tablets seems to start from RM8k+ and easily breach the RM10k mark. For TX, it's worth for every sen you spent on it. If you looking for glamour or normal laptop, forget about this model.

This post has been edited by obm_nlh: Feb 13 2009, 09:29 PM
obm_nlh
post Feb 14 2009, 01:05 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(mych @ Feb 14 2009, 11:54 AM)
damm waste money if the after sales service not even able to fix issues properly....

Added on February 14, 2009, 11:54 amsounds like Lemon model
Very strange but after post-sales service in Malaysia. My TX broke down (keyboard) before and the treatment was to me acceptable. Maybe the Malaysian version needs some PR work groomed into them as part of the service training.

obm_nlh
post Feb 15 2009, 08:00 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Feb 15 2009, 07:19 AM)
I heard from my brother who was looking for this TX2000 model recently, he said all the shop already increased this model price since HP already stop producing this model. Any comments?
Why getting TX2000? How much is the new price for the unit?

To me, the seller should at least glad to sell off old models ASAP and recoup his losses fast.

obm_nlh
post Feb 15 2009, 10:21 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Feb 15 2009, 10:09 AM)
He said it almost RM4k but it differ from one shop to another...
If RM4k, better get the low end TX2.

obm_nlh
post Feb 17 2009, 11:07 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(arturo_bandini @ Feb 17 2009, 10:58 AM)
Btw, if any of you need spare parts for your TX1316AU, PM me. At least my siblings can recover some money...
Well, we been discussing on TX1000 series and its shortcoming for awhile. On our part as customers, we need to inform each other on issues to be aware of. So, keep in touch with LYN's forums.

obm_nlh
post Feb 17 2009, 07:48 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Feb 17 2009, 03:40 PM)
My brother just successful bid a TX2z from ebay for less than RM4k powered by turion 2.1GHz and 320GB hard disk.
That's with 8GB RAM option, right?

obm_nlh
post Feb 26 2009, 04:55 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Kuntau @ Feb 25 2009, 10:14 PM)
Mine is 3GB RAM spec biggrin.gif bought for USD830
what's the whole specs? 4GB or 8GB max?
obm_nlh
post Feb 26 2009, 08:20 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Kuntau @ Feb 26 2009, 05:35 PM)
I'm not sure, I think 4GB.. I can't even find the exact model number.. don't know where they put it. Anyway it come with Vista Home Premium 64bit :thumb:
See bottom face plate.. you should see something somewhere there.

obm_nlh
post Feb 26 2009, 10:23 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Kuntau @ Feb 26 2009, 09:46 PM)
Hehe.. after I get rid some junk my WEI jump from 3.3 to 3.5.. for sure can get much better just I dont have time to play with it  drool.gif  drool.gif
I thought yours is a 2.2GHz processor? 3.3 is too slow.. My Ultra X2 can easier throttle at 3.6 without losing some of the junks .. hahahahaha

obm_nlh
post Feb 26 2009, 11:19 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(yiks001 @ Feb 26 2009, 10:47 PM)
Think the issue here is to discuss the way HP is treating it's customers who bought the tx1000 and tx2000 series.....As customers who got shanked by HP I'm surprised you're still talking about their new notebooks..... especially on this thread.....

Am I missing something here????/!!!!!
Hate / love situation ...
obm_nlh
post Feb 27 2009, 01:18 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(yiks001 @ Feb 27 2009, 12:09 AM)
You miss my point.  I'm saying that HP shafted their customers who bought the tx1000 series. And I believe even obm_nlh to a certain extent.  But he can even go on talking about HP's new notebooks.  Looks like he got no qualms buying from HP again.  He's like saying to HP  It's OK to sell a faulty product to customers We'll still buy from you. Huh... I dunno  but from what I read thats what it looks like.....  Even If obm_nlh didn't get the full brunt of the faulty tx1000s he should be more aware of HP's ethics and I dunno...  I believe the right thing to do is to steer ppl away from HP. Instead he does the exact opposite. 

Isn't this a bad example to set as what a customer should behave.  If HP read this I bet it encourages them not to worry about quality even more.....

In fact I'd like to find out the fellas running HP right now and avoid companies that these ppl work for.
Wow, dragged in the spotlight ..

I like to state the fact straight: I never condorn the usage of such tactics to sell product not up to its full standard quality. Being a TX user since it's first inception and knowing the usual heat problems from AMD CPUs, I normally used HP recommended settings to avoid future problems. Unluckily, the incident of Nvidia did happened to some of us, the TX1k users. That's a fact of life even with the odds against us, the users.

Nevertheless, you can also opt for the insurance package to protect your investment if you want. For me, technology is evolving very fast. The laptop is just a tool to assist me and it is not an asset. You need to apply the concept of equipment's depreciation in order not to feel the pinch from the development wave. If I can utilise the laptop over two years, that will be great - a bonus for me. Same concept to be applied if you have your own car.

Whether you buy HP or not, it is still your decision. I am neither promoting HP products nor have self-interest in said company (shareholder). Like me, after looking through some tablets, HP is still offering the best solution for my hard earned "RM". They are not perfect, no doubt. If you don't want to be the early adopter, you can still wait until the given technology settled down and all the bugs fixed.

Like me, I need to use it (tablet) to assist my work. I also not willing to spend >RM8k just to get one. Regardless, with this kind of investment I am spending, I can get better product than the TX, no doubt.

For your info, I am still waiting for TX2's technology to settle down. With the release of Windows 7 just around the corner, full compatibility is an important issue to me. With the available time, I hope that HP will be able to fix some drawbacks exist with the current model.

For the business ethics issue, it need to be discussed in another forum, if possible. I think this forum is to discuss and help out TX users especially the new ones. Try to take the negative issues and convert them to positive ones. A sour lemon still a sour lemon.. maybe we need to make some lemonade with the help of some sugar. Don't be despaired - together, we can make things happen.

obm_nlh
post Feb 27 2009, 08:28 AM

473 posts

Clarification to some of your responses ..

QUOTE(yiks001 @ Feb 27 2009, 01:43 AM)
2)  Insurance package..? won't help those with standard warranties. Just how many ppl opt for extended warranties... Bet you those on a budget would skimp on this...

3)  "..apply the concept of equipment's depreciation".... huh....I'm too simple to apply those ideas.... The problem is when it dies just over a year... Think most would not have thunk that it would be a total write-off after just over a year.

4) If money is hard earned. Don't you think it's prudent to spend it on another brand even if pricier... at least you stand a chance however slim of getting better results.???
Well, each person has his/her own interpretation on how to spend the hard earned money. To be prudent, some rational especially in decision making alongside benefit/cost ratio analysis would be very applicable here.

For me, I only expect my laptop to last me two years. By then, it's already behind the main stream (or put it in another word, outdated). If I can use it or recoup the initial capital outlay beyond this period, it is a bonus to me. As I said earlier, I don't consider the lappy as a real asset .. just like my car too. Once the item already served its useful lifespan, it should no longer carry a value to you. You may interpret yours differently.

Let say, for 3 years I need to buy 3 TX units say 3xRM3k = RM9k. May be it only last me 1 year due to hardware fault etc. Thats RM9k spanning over 3 year ... NPV less that if you know how to calculate it. If I buy another brand, it going to cost me easily over that RM9k mark. That's already a saving here.

Just image, I could invest the 2nd RM3k for 1 year and the 3rd RM3k for 2 years and gain some time based benefits here as well. Computers tend to appreciate in value instead of depreciate. But owing one, will be the reverse. RM3k unit now and RM3k next year not going to be same specifications.

Just for argument sake, the alternative costs the same, RM9k. Well, it's the same cost but different NPV. On the 2nd year, I buy another one as per planned. I don't think you'll get the same model but a better one. On the third year, it will be a better model than the 2nd year one. Technically and financially, I am gaining here.. adopting this approach than buying the expensive model.

No, merely just buying an expensive unit does not constitute a prudent way of handling things.

3) I know you never explicitly condone "..to sell product not up to its full standard quality." but the act of accepting it and also make future purchases from HP implies it.

5) Bugs???? it's not a bug.... it's a monster.....  The whole notebook ups and dies and would not power up. That's not a bug.

6) Why business ethics on another forum.... Discussing here will help out other tx1000 users as well as potential HP purchasers to be aware of what happened and what to expect from HP.
Yes, as I said earlier, whether you want to buy or not, the decision is still yours. If you know the model has problem, please do not buy it. Don't just buy it just because it looks good or it's a fashion to follow. Do proper research on the potential units and don't just buy because it is on sale or just at spur of the moment. You know how much toil it took to save or beg to get the "mulah" to the right amount, I bet you.

7) For the short-term we can make lemonade. In the long-term Uproot the lemon tree and plant a tree that bears fruit that pleases u.  Good idea???. P/S I'm still making lemonade from my lemons.. at the same time I'm looking around for a durian tree....
Off the topic - sorry. Yes, you can plant any tree you like in your yard. But you will not catch me planting a durian tree there even it sounds very good at this time. The long term gain will not answer the long term problem it is going to bring me. So, the lemon tree seems to be a better option. By the way, I don't have a lemon tree but a mango infront. Hahahaaha..

8) Am not despaired.  Am just participating....
Yep, that's why we're for. Helping each other.

This post has been edited by obm_nlh: Feb 27 2009, 05:04 PM
obm_nlh
post Feb 27 2009, 12:41 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Kuntau @ Feb 27 2009, 10:37 AM)
I believe, most people that complaining is the one that didn't really need the tablet function. If they did, that function itself already outweight other minor problems.

Like a lot of post before said, if you don't need tablet functionality don't get a tablet.
Agree.. It seems cool to have the "transformer" to show off to friends. But heck, if you don't use it, the same amount of "fulus" can buy a better notebook.

You also cannot compare the TX series with a netbook as they are in different league by themselves. Morale of story, make sure you know what you want to do with your laptop and from the access the product life span. Mind you, nothing will last forever. You have to accept some common break even point for your investment. However, this does not apply for real estate.

obm_nlh
post Feb 28 2009, 01:36 AM

473 posts

Further clarification to your queries:

QUOTE(yiks001 @ Feb 27 2009, 07:51 PM)
2) What NPV are you calculating. ????
As NPV or other decision making technique is not the scope of the forum topic, I am not going to elaborate further on this.

You can never tell how long a unit can last. It could failed on the day you received it or never (passed your expected lifespan of the product). Life is a gamble. Some people covers the uncertainties with insurance. Even if the unit did not failed, it may be stolen or damaged during transit.

To tell you the truth, X61 did not even make my list when I decided to buy my 1st TX (TX1k series). At the time, a TX cost about RM5,500 RRP with the closest one cost under RM8,000 followed by RM10,000. Lucky you to buy one at RM3000.

My friend and I bought the 1st batch of TX model. His is still alive and kicking well. I think the latter batch has problems with the video chipset and heating problem.

In our case, our initial investment at least 45% cheaper than nearest possible one already passed due its normal life (as per our specifications). What else do you want?

As I said earlier, you have to decide your decision making parameters - mine may not be the same as yours. To me, I am satisfied with what I have even though some people think otherwise. BTW, the earlier units did not have better touch screen ability as per nowdays.

3) Of course just buying expensive unit does not solve problem. BUt because of HP's manufacturing defect which customers have to bare. It has made the alternative pricier solution a better choice.
No, costlier solution does not mean a better choice. It really depends on your decision making parameters you have set earlier. In engineering, we were stressed the need to look into cost-benefit ratios.

4) You mean to tell me the manufacturing defect of the tx1000 I bought it's my fault because I didn't do enuf research on it.?  ???/ Is that what HP terms of business are???.  If that's the case I definately would not go for HP products. And would advise others to keep away.  Aren't manufacturer's suppose to stand by their products from manufacturing defects?..????

5) Do you mean to tell me that all HP products on sale have manufacturing defects?? and HP only sell discounted notebooks that have manufacturing defects??? If so.....  Better not buy HP products when they on sale mannnn!!!!!
I never said that. A well thought or rational acquisition will minimise your chances for a bad deal. Yes, manufacturer suppose to standby their products. That's what product warranty is there for.

Added on February 27, 2009, 7:54 pm
What's it gotta do with whether users use the tablet function or not????  How can a non-working tablet outweigh a working conventional notebook?
Yes, it does play an important factor to your decision making process. As per noted by me and some other forumers here, PLEASE select this unit IF you want to utilise the touchscreen in tablet mode. If it is for trend or fashion, my advise to the buyer is that there are a lot more better models with the amount of money you're going to spend.

Like me, I need my touchscreen in tablet mode capability due to work requirement. TX series, surpassed my expectation and seems to get even better as days go by. Nevertheless, I am still waiting for current TX2 series to settle down especially support for Windows 7 and availability of a speedier unit before again jumping into the new bandwagon.

BTW, I also use other brands - HP is just one of them.

This post has been edited by obm_nlh: Feb 28 2009, 01:39 AM
obm_nlh
post Mar 9 2009, 10:42 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(coldteaocs @ Mar 9 2009, 03:36 PM)
planning to get tx2520au, but my only concern will be the overheating issue. wondering if when will tx3000 come out  biggrin.gif
if i am getting tx2520au, any good recon. on cooler pad design for people on the go?
Better get TX2..

obm_nlh
post Mar 11 2009, 04:12 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Kuntau @ Mar 10 2009, 12:30 AM)
Yeah, TX2. Multitouch screen :drools:
Maybe TX2 with Windows 7?
obm_nlh
post Mar 11 2009, 08:46 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Mar 11 2009, 07:49 AM)
Windows 7....

May be not today but in the other day since lack of proper driver for that OS...
Maybe towards end of 2009, perhaps..
obm_nlh
post Mar 12 2009, 08:36 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(coldteaocs @ Mar 12 2009, 12:08 AM)
hrm...where to get tx2, didn't see any shop selling that, and for window 7, it's still in drafting stage, around 2 years time may be, confirmed by microsoft already, google it
Well, just in time to save up for one .. hahahaha

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0228sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:20 PM