Out of job

imnotabot
post Oct 4 2020, 01:51 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Oct 3 2020, 10:42 PM)
you yourself mentioned your programming skill sucks, for someone with IT background, why NOT take up programming roles? go for programming job interviews as a junior, 3k salary is still salary. programming jobs will give you decent salary in under 5 years if you are above average performer.

.NET/C# seems to be hot at the moment. i'm personally a c# developer. i've been getting job offers EVERY single day on linkedin.

unless you wanna remain in networking and already have plans for CCNA

you can consider jobify anyway.
This. You already have IT background. Pick up a programming language, then try applying for junior roles. Unless you hate programming lah. My personal experience is that programmer has high demand and low supply in Malaysia, so it should be easy to land interviews. I keep seeing job postings for programming roles in my FB feed almost everyday.
Fanvil1534
post Oct 4 2020, 03:50 PM

807 posts

I'm a grab driver for 3 years plus. I can tell you doing ok only, don't expect an rm10k nett income per month.

For grab, roughly around rm30 give or take gross per hour. However you need to fork out some cash in getting the necessary psv license, medical and puspakom if your car need to do. Roughly rm300 ish and can claim back from Grab. Timeline from when you start apply to starting to receive your first grab job might take few weeks to 2 months.

You can rent but the rental fees are high and there is a certain commitment in placed based on the agreement. Grab's car rental is I think 3 months.

If you can ride motor, can try applying to be rider for delivery services.

My advice is quickly apply for the benefits like perkeso and the bpn first.

While you search for a permanent job, you can drive grab part time and at the same time increase your knowledge in your technical skills, especially programming. There are plenty of programming diy videos you can try. Programmer will always be on high demand no matter where you go.

Whatever you do, don't give up. Do whatever it takes to succeed.

This post has been edited by Fanvil1534: Oct 4 2020, 03:55 PM
TSbriantwj
post Oct 4 2020, 04:17 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(Fanvil1534 @ Oct 4 2020, 03:50 PM)
I'm a grab driver for 3 years plus. I can tell you doing ok only, don't expect an rm10k nett income per month.

For grab, roughly around rm30 give or take gross per hour. However you need to fork out some cash in getting the necessary psv license, medical and puspakom if your car need to do. Roughly rm300 ish and can claim back from Grab. Timeline from when you start apply to starting to receive your first grab job might take few weeks to 2 months.

You can rent but the rental fees are high and there is a certain commitment in placed based on the agreement. Grab's car rental is I think 3 months.

If you can ride motor, can try applying to be rider for delivery services.

My advice is quickly apply for the benefits like perkeso and the bpn first.

While you search for a permanent job, you can drive grab part time and at the same time increase your knowledge in your technical skills, especially programming. There are plenty of programming diy videos you can try. Programmer will always be on high demand no matter where you go.

Whatever you do, don't give up. Do whatever it takes to succeed.
I've applied for i-lestari. Perkeso EIS tmr need to go bank settle. I'm not eligible for bpn sadly. Zzzz

How does the grab car rental thing works? Got minimum rental period like at least 3 months? Is that what u meant?

On the programming part, I'm only better at html. Java, php those I'm not really good at it. Will brush up on it. More of a networking guy. Aduh.
wktang
post Oct 4 2020, 05:19 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Oct 3 2020, 03:30 AM)
Guys I really don't know who or where to tell what I am facing now.

I am currently without a job. Just got my last salary this month. Currently my commitment is my car, room rental. I am staying in PJ area. Working in IT field. Focused on consultancy, Point of Sales and application performance monitoring. 3 years+ experience in Application Performance Monitoring. 9 months experience in Point of Sales as a Service Delivery Manager.

I have been applying for Job in both jobstreet and linkedin since July. Had a few interviews. Got rejected. Now waiting for 1 interview result.

I am planning to do part time grab now, but when I check the ehailing sub forum, the drivers are also having a tough time now.

Anyone here have lubang for any IT openings? Appreciate your advise as well on what part time job should I look for. Been going thru a group in fb, asking to PM. Waiting their replies.

When I see my liquid cash keep dropping, I'm feeling the pressure. sad.gif

I am extending my hire purchase moratorium. But starting from Oct, there will be no more income. Please do suggest which field or place that have urgent hire for IT / Service.

I've also submitted my profile in Adecco, LinkedIn and some recruitors that I know in LinkedIn. But so far no interviews yet. I'm really out of ways now... icon_question.gif
sorry about your situation bro. been there too

2 things

1st Go door to door interview! walk in! last time within a month i walked in interview more than 70 times and few of the bosses impressed with my aggressiveness and offer me jobs. then you can choose which company to join from there

2nd, please consider building a small business. be it a small eatery stall or freelancing service. you NEED To building something. why? because jobs are ALWAYS TEMPORARY solutions. any company in this world will replace you at anytime if they feel like it.
A business is like your baby. when it's small you don't make much but over time it'll get bigger and then you can have the option to fully focus your business or your career. your choice.

edit:

forget about head hunters. they are useless blood suckers

This post has been edited by wktang: Oct 4 2020, 05:23 PM
xHj09
post Oct 6 2020, 05:31 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,615 posts

hi TS, headhunter just texted me. seems like something you'd like to do? location around KLCC.

if yes, PM me i'll let you know the headhunter's contact.

This post has been edited by xHj09: Oct 6 2020, 05:33 PM
SUSskyblack4492
post Oct 6 2020, 09:53 PM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Oct 4 2020, 04:17 PM)
I've applied for i-lestari. Perkeso EIS tmr need to go bank settle. I'm not eligible for bpn sadly. Zzzz

How does the grab car rental thing works? Got minimum rental period like at least 3 months? Is that what u meant?

On the programming part, I'm only better at html. Java, php those I'm not really good at it. Will brush up on it. More of a networking guy. Aduh.
Briantwj got master. Ez get high salary
fapman
post Oct 6 2020, 09:57 PM

122 posts

Try open account in monster.com.my

Although many scammers lurking around there but there were quite a handful of good recruiters there as well. From time to time, they’ll send you email regarding job opportunity. I think based on your background, you can find jobs easily or at least much better chances than other people out there.
AnasM
post Oct 10 2020, 09:09 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Oct 3 2020, 10:29 PM)
Yes bro, I don't mind being in customer support. Can provide me ur email? I will send my resume over.
Ssshhh. Yea I was an ex employee. Lol.
Yea that is in my option as well. Definitely looking at consultant company providing monitoring tools services.
Hmm. Let's just say the environment is toxic and I don't think I can cope with it in the long run. If it continues, there will be more complications.

Yes I work at dynatrace before.
u know diana?
MrChubbyChocobo
post Oct 10 2020, 09:22 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(wktang @ Oct 4 2020, 05:19 PM)
sorry about your situation bro. been there too

2 things

1st Go door to door interview! walk in! last time within a month i walked in interview more than 70 times and few of the bosses impressed with my aggressiveness and offer me jobs. then you can choose which company to join from there

2nd, please consider building a small business. be it a small eatery stall or freelancing service. you NEED To building something. why? because jobs are ALWAYS TEMPORARY solutions. any company in this world will replace you at anytime if they feel like it.
A business is like your baby. when it's small you don't make much  but over time it'll get bigger and then you can have the option to fully focus your business or your career. your choice.

edit:

forget about head hunters. they are useless blood suckers
Why headhunter bloodsucker? hmm.gif a few contacted me bu I ignore after know company name..
heavensea
post Oct 10 2020, 09:22 PM

9,616 posts

Ts can find alternative job work dulu la, Grab already game over.
bristlebb
post Oct 10 2020, 09:57 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Oct 3 2020, 08:05 AM)
Go register for perkeso EIS claims, can cover 3-4 mths
For jobs go to penjana kerjaya website also under perkeso
perkeso EIS only for those kena layoff right?
those resign voluntarily can apply?
tornado dot com
post Oct 10 2020, 10:12 PM

79 posts

TS, found job already? For IT go for monster.com . There's a lot of IT opportunity on monster. Headhunters will keep calling you. Just make sure you keep profile all very up to date and be transparent about what you can or can't do.

This post has been edited by tornado dot com: Oct 11 2020, 11:16 AM
Starbucki
post Oct 10 2020, 10:28 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

Are you the dude doing phd at ump?
Ms Americano L
post Oct 10 2020, 11:27 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Oct 10 2020, 09:57 PM)
Cannot
Ms Americano L
post Oct 10 2020, 11:53 PM

103 posts

I am currently without a job. Just got my last salary this month. Currently my commitment is my car, room rental. I am staying in PJ area. Working in IT field. Focused on consultancy, Point of Sales and application performance monitoring. 3 years+ experience in Application Performance Monitoring. 9 months experience in Point of Sales as a Service Delivery Manager.

I have been applying for Job in both jobstreet and linkedin since July. Had a few interviews. Got rejected. Now waiting for 1 interview result.

I am planning to do part time grab now, but when I check the ehailing sub forum, the drivers are also having a tough time now.

Anyone here have lubang for any IT openings? Appreciate your advise as well on what part time job should I look for. Been going thru a group in fb, asking to PM. Waiting their replies.

I am extending my hire purchase moratorium. But starting from Oct, there will be no more income. Please do suggest which field or place that have urgent hire for IT / Service.

I've also submitted my profile in Adecco, LinkedIn and some recruitors that I know in LinkedIn. But so far no interviews yet. I'm really out of ways now... icon_question.gif
Hi, i want to introduce you to a business opportunity / side hustle related to supplements and health products. No professional experience or qualification to start. It has helped many jobless or single parents to earn a living. Pm me if you want to know more.

Just trying to help. Cheers!
TSbriantwj
post Oct 11 2020, 03:28 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Oct 10 2020, 09:09 PM)
Yes I work at dynatrace before.
u know diana?
Hmm Diana does not sound familiar. Alpana I tau. 🤣

Luckily I manage to apply for i-Lestari. Help a bit la.

QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Oct 10 2020, 10:12 PM)
TS, found job already? For IT go for monster.com . There's a lot of IT opportunity on monster. Headhunters will keep calling you. Just make sure you keep profile all very up to date and not be transparent about what you can and can't do.
Thanks bro. Will check on this monster.com

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Oct 10 2020, 10:28 PM)
Are you the dude doing phd at ump?
Masters. X sampai PhD la hahaha
hirano
post Oct 11 2020, 03:37 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

First. Lower your salary expectation.

If still can't get after few months, let go of the rental house/room, move back to your hometown/parents house. Go back to KL or wherever only once you get a job.
terry8
post Oct 11 2020, 10:42 AM

669 posts

Just do some part time jobs first while looking for a fulltime job. Pray to Jesus and He hears you.
LA773
post Oct 11 2020, 11:29 AM

1,068 posts

I dont think so
But u can double check
SUSNew Klang
post Oct 11 2020, 11:50 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(Ms Americano L @ Oct 10 2020, 11:53 PM)
Hi, i want to introduce you to a business opportunity / side hustle related to supplements and health products. No professional experience or qualification to start. It has helped many jobless or single parents to earn a living. Pm me if you want to know more.

Just trying to help. Cheers!
I am interested.

As long as there isnt start up fees, mandatory recruiting of downliners and mandatory high sales target every month to climb ranking for high payout.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0252sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:58 PM