Out of job

TSbriantwj
post Oct 3 2020, 03:30 AM, updated 6y ago

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

Guys I really don't know who or where to tell what I am facing now.

I am currently without a job. Just got my last salary this month. Currently my commitment is my car, room rental. I am staying in PJ area. Working in IT field. Focused on consultancy, Point of Sales and application performance monitoring. 3 years+ experience in Application Performance Monitoring. 9 months experience in Point of Sales as a Service Delivery Manager.

I have been applying for Job in both jobstreet and linkedin since July. Had a few interviews. Got rejected. Now waiting for 1 interview result.

I am planning to do part time grab now, but when I check the ehailing sub forum, the drivers are also having a tough time now.

Anyone here have lubang for any IT openings? Appreciate your advise as well on what part time job should I look for. Been going thru a group in fb, asking to PM. Waiting their replies.

When I see my liquid cash keep dropping, I'm feeling the pressure. sad.gif

I am extending my hire purchase moratorium. But starting from Oct, there will be no more income. Please do suggest which field or place that have urgent hire for IT / Service.

I've also submitted my profile in Adecco, LinkedIn and some recruitors that I know in LinkedIn. But so far no interviews yet. I'm really out of ways now... icon_question.gif

Update: finally found a job. Higher salary than my previous job. And related as well. Thanks to everyone here that gave me precious advise. God bless everyone.

This post has been edited by briantwj: Oct 28 2020, 12:16 PM
TSbriantwj
post Oct 3 2020, 08:36 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(jessicakoh @ Oct 3 2020, 05:00 AM)
How about delivery rider gig for Pos Malaysia?
Sadly I do not have a license for motor....

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 3 2020, 07:04 AM)
Have you tried searching here ....

https://forum.lowyat.net/JobEnlistments
Thx for the suggestion bro. Am currently looking at the postings here.

QUOTE(Busquets @ Oct 3 2020, 07:13 AM)
Can u do programming?My company is currently searching for a senior programmer. Company based in sabah but can work remotely.
My basic is more on networking. Programming is not really my best part in IT. Thanks for the recommendation bro.

QUOTE(LA773 @ Oct 3 2020, 08:05 AM)
Go register for perkeso EIS claims, can cover 3-4 mths
For jobs go to penjana kerjaya website also under perkeso
Thanks for the recommendation bro. I will apply for this EIS asap. And go thru the job listing there.

QUOTE(syaifau @ Oct 3 2020, 08:10 AM)
FWDED MSG FROM WASSAP

Guys, ada tak kawan2 atau anak sedara yg tgh cari keje dlm bidang IT... kena tau pasal windows server, sccm, scom, vmware dan basic networking... will be base in Kelana Jaya... gaji max boleh pegi RM4k + allowance
Boleh email resume ke huzaidy@mesiniaga.com.my
RE: Resident Engineer at Kelana Jaya
Will drop u my resume. Thanks bro.

[
TSbriantwj
post Oct 3 2020, 08:37 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Oct 3 2020, 08:16 AM)
Able to do POS customization, specifically integration with other system via RestAPI? Drop me a PM.
I'm more on the client facing, servicing side. Don't so the actual integration / coding sadly. So I don't have the basic for that...

QUOTE(jishu @ Oct 3 2020, 08:20 AM)
Hi Brian. Do you have any experience or knowledge in java programming at all?

Have this one opening that crucially need a staff. But need to have java / programming language. If you do, just drop me a PM.
Thx for the offer. My programming sucks since I'm from networking background.

Thx to everyone helping me and the encouraging work guys. Going thru all of the recommendations now. Million thanks.
TSbriantwj
post Oct 3 2020, 09:00 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(jorakman @ Oct 3 2020, 08:47 AM)
I'm more on the client facing, servicing side. Don't so the actual integration / coding sadly. So I don't have the basic for that...
Thx for the offer. My programming sucks since I'm from networking background.

Do you troubleshoot networking issue on the last job (for example TCP/IP, routing switching vlan related issue)?
Do you have exposure in managing firewall?

Troubleshooting using DCRUM or Dynatrace yes, but not the actual plugging into console and troubleshooting from the actual switch / router.

QUOTE(Jung Un @ Oct 3 2020, 08:51 AM)
How long your savings can last?
I believe max 1 more month, really desperate now...... should save more liquid cash. sad.gif

This post has been edited by briantwj: Oct 3 2020, 09:01 AM
TSbriantwj
post Oct 3 2020, 09:10 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(NB01 @ Oct 3 2020, 09:08 AM)
Do you get VSS or letter of retrenchment. If you do, please apply for benefits from PERKESO. Unker also VSSed, just got my first month benefit last week. They will give you 6 months money (each month reducing percentage). Please apply and don't waste free money.

https://eis.perkeso.gov.my/eisportal/insure...ppl/instruction
Yes I am applying for this at the moment. But actually what is this Salinan akaun bank? Bank statement?
TSbriantwj
post Oct 3 2020, 09:14 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(NB01 @ Oct 3 2020, 09:13 AM)
Just give your passbook first page with name and account no. if don't have (new accounts no passbooks), go to the bank and ask for a "Confirmation of Bank Account" form. They will print out one for you and you can use this. This is basically so that they have certified bank account no to bank in the money from SOSCO.
Alright. Thanks so much bro.
TSbriantwj
post Oct 3 2020, 10:29 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(notadupe999 @ Oct 3 2020, 06:09 PM)
If you're willing to do customer support, my company may have an opening. However, they just hired two guys last two months.
Yes bro, I don't mind being in customer support. Can provide me ur email? I will send my resume over.

QUOTE(FouLu @ Oct 3 2020, 07:59 PM)
speaking of Dynatrace, any chance you could be from http://www.isainnovation.net/ previously?

Perhaps you can check vacancy on other companies that also provide IT monitoring tools advisory (eg. Solarwinds, MicroFocus etc.).
Ssshhh. Yea I was an ex employee. Lol.

Yea that is in my option as well. Definitely looking at consultant company providing monitoring tools services.

QUOTE(AnasM @ Oct 3 2020, 08:14 PM)
why u resign without find new job 1st
Hmm. Let's just say the environment is toxic and I don't think I can cope with it in the long run. If it continues, there will be more complications.

QUOTE(samftrmd @ Oct 3 2020, 08:43 PM)
I would think grab delivery would be in demand now that most people can't simply gather in eateries. Then again , almost all of my colleagues lunch outside.
I'm lucky that gaming pc still has demand and I actually have slightly higher pay this past year. Maybe try retail job?
Networking will always be in demand in my mind, so don't give up and good luck ya.
QUOTE(clockpulses @ Oct 3 2020, 09:02 PM)
Bro i feel sorry for you

This is my opinion. You should drive grab.

Don't care what those said in Grab sub forum.

Even if you earn RM5 per hour NETT (after minus all) at least you have an income.

RM5 x 7 hours = RM35 perday. That's almost RM900 for 25 days permonth. More than enough for your food per month

Best thing is, you are flexible in your job hunting, can go interview anytime
Yea I feel so too. Grab delivery, grab driver, even grab parcel service should be in demand now. I'm trying to avoid using my own car, so I am planning to get the grab rental partner thingy. Need to go for my psv license now now.
TSbriantwj
post Oct 4 2020, 04:17 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(Fanvil1534 @ Oct 4 2020, 03:50 PM)
I'm a grab driver for 3 years plus. I can tell you doing ok only, don't expect an rm10k nett income per month.

For grab, roughly around rm30 give or take gross per hour. However you need to fork out some cash in getting the necessary psv license, medical and puspakom if your car need to do. Roughly rm300 ish and can claim back from Grab. Timeline from when you start apply to starting to receive your first grab job might take few weeks to 2 months.

You can rent but the rental fees are high and there is a certain commitment in placed based on the agreement. Grab's car rental is I think 3 months.

If you can ride motor, can try applying to be rider for delivery services.

My advice is quickly apply for the benefits like perkeso and the bpn first.

While you search for a permanent job, you can drive grab part time and at the same time increase your knowledge in your technical skills, especially programming. There are plenty of programming diy videos you can try. Programmer will always be on high demand no matter where you go.

Whatever you do, don't give up. Do whatever it takes to succeed.
I've applied for i-lestari. Perkeso EIS tmr need to go bank settle. I'm not eligible for bpn sadly. Zzzz

How does the grab car rental thing works? Got minimum rental period like at least 3 months? Is that what u meant?

On the programming part, I'm only better at html. Java, php those I'm not really good at it. Will brush up on it. More of a networking guy. Aduh.
TSbriantwj
post Oct 11 2020, 03:28 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Oct 10 2020, 09:09 PM)
Yes I work at dynatrace before.
u know diana?
Hmm Diana does not sound familiar. Alpana I tau. 🤣

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Oct 10 2020, 09:57 PM)
perkeso EIS only for those kena layoff right?
those resign voluntarily can apply?
Luckily I manage to apply for i-Lestari. Help a bit la.

QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Oct 10 2020, 10:12 PM)
TS, found job already? For IT go for monster.com . There's a lot of IT opportunity on monster. Headhunters will keep calling you. Just make sure you keep profile all very up to date and not be transparent about what you can and can't do.
Thanks bro. Will check on this monster.com

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Oct 10 2020, 10:28 PM)
Are you the dude doing phd at ump?
Masters. X sampai PhD la hahaha
TSbriantwj
post Oct 12 2020, 12:50 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(HafeesFadil @ Oct 11 2020, 12:20 PM)
I believe our company still got opening.

Try e-ghl.com/carrer
Thanks so much bro. Applied.
TSbriantwj
post Oct 12 2020, 01:50 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 12 2020, 01:25 PM)
Lalamove no need GDL  icon_idea.gif You can try to explore that option. Bike, car, 4x4, van, lorry all acceptable.
Wah thanks for ur tips bro. Registered as Lalamove driver already. Tmr got training. Hopefully everything goes well.

QUOTE(niel82 @ Oct 12 2020, 01:28 PM)
i think my company is hiring

try tis https://www.tdcx.com/careers?page=1
Thx! Checking on it now
TSbriantwj
post Oct 13 2020, 10:35 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(Arhat @ Oct 11 2020, 10:52 PM)
Everybody is having a tough time now, not just you.

When the Covid 19 improves worldwide, then more jobs will be coming.

In the meantime, don't spend unnecessarily and wait for probably after June 2021 for economy to improve.
Yes bro, already cut off many things. sad.gif

QUOTE(knight_hawk @ Oct 12 2020, 07:22 PM)
Contact unitalent in putra heights - career.unitalent@gmail.com . They are arranging virtual interviews, supported by perkeso. I received an invite.
Thanks for the heads up bro!

QUOTE(politetek @ Oct 13 2020, 05:26 PM)
I also shitty programming. BASIC,QBASIC, Assembly self study never finish. C programming skip class fail semester, gagal & dibuang. Now study Python under Google training.
Nowdays not easy with all the disease and politaik going on.
Good luck!
Yea, I’m looking at Java now. And also basics for AWS.

QUOTE(GunBlaDeR @ Oct 13 2020, 06:04 PM)
All the best. Hope you find a job soon.  thumbup.gif

I've been unemployed since July. No luck so far. Oh well... mega_shok.gif
Since July, how are u surviving my bro. sad.gif
TSbriantwj
post Oct 28 2020, 12:17 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

Finally found a job. Ada sikit increment from previous job. IT senior project exec.

Thanks to everyone for your precious advise. And God bless everyone. Tough times....
TSbriantwj
post Oct 28 2020, 04:42 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 28 2020, 12:20 PM)
Congrats, through which channel you manage to get this new job?
Through Jobstreet. Was looking at IT Project manager / exec roles. Have to do lots of research, like finding out what does the interviewer for IT project usually ask. How to direct your previous experience into project role etc.

QUOTE(fapman @ Oct 28 2020, 12:26 PM)
Bestnyer found new job.
I hope I can find one too coz I’ve been unemployed for close to 2 years already.
Don't stop trying bro. What field and role are you looking for? I have a few headhunter's contact. Let me know if you need them.

QUOTE(air_ed20 @ Oct 28 2020, 12:26 PM)
just saw your post, good to hear...stay safe and wish u best of luck in new job  blush.gif
Thanks bro. All the best to you too. And everyone. Stay safe too.

0.0346sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:17 AM