What TV to use with PS5?

fullmetalneko
post Sep 15 2021, 08:24 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Sep 15 2021, 08:08 AM)
Yes which is stupid because a lot of games are still not HDR-compatible . 

If you forced HDR on these games they are only making the game brighter as a whole ,  it does not improve Picture quality because dynamic range is still the same .

Go to setting - screen and video  - video output , tick the " On when supported " option for HDR.

PS4 pro did this just fine , I have no idea why Sony has to make them so complicated on PS5 .
Got it..I believe this is on on my PS4 pro with my Sony TV, need to check on this for the PS5 setup.
shinjite
post Sep 15 2021, 08:44 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,306 posts

QUOTE(fullmetalneko @ Sep 15 2021, 08:24 AM)
Got it..I believe this is on on my PS4 pro with my Sony TV, need to check on this for the PS5 setup.
I have encountered the same issue as well and I realized it's always set to HDR on default by the console 😅
Kahlamx
post Sep 15 2021, 04:34 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Sep 14 2021, 06:34 PM)
As with all other OLED TV , you want to switch to the right mode and tune down the brightness at first .
This is crucial because a large majority of the content you will be watching are SDR .

Therefore they don't require you to blast the brightness all the way up to 300 - 400 cd/m2 .

Expert - dark room is the more accurate mode . 
OLED light of 20-35 is recommended for dark room , with gamma to BT.1886 OR 2.4 .
40+ for bright living room and gamma to 2.2 . 
This is good info. Cant wait to tinker with my CX.
SSJBen
post Sep 15 2021, 05:03 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

OLED light 27 = 102 cd/m2 (nits) btw.

There are variances in panel, but the average I've gotten for about 20 models of C9 to CX is OLED light 27 is required to get to 100 nits for SDR. This is for use with a dark room only (preferably pitch black).

Typically the clients I've calibrated for usually have a pair or 2 of downlights (4000k, 10w) turned on when they game. So OLED light 27 is actually too dark for most games. Usually I set the OLED light to about 40-45 which pushes up the value to ~180-200 nits. Not accurate, but it's video games - so who cares.
shinjite
post Sep 15 2021, 05:41 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,306 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Sep 15 2021, 04:34 PM)
This is good info. Cant wait to tinker with my CX.
For my SDR movies, I am using FILMMAKER mode with gamma at 2.2 with OLED light at 27 in my room and I normally turn off the light and enjoy. Games like SSJBen stated, SDR I would just ramp OLED light up to higher values.
AstonCheah
post Sep 19 2021, 01:45 PM

383 posts

My 7 yrs old Samsung u6300 55" starts having dead pixels..

time to aim for new 4k tv, torn between x9j 65" and cx1 55"... mainly for movies and ps5 games, which one to go? Btw I also prefer android tv os..

This post has been edited by AstonCheah: Sep 19 2021, 01:46 PM
SSJBen
post Sep 19 2021, 03:14 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Ideally 65" CX1 if you can stretch it.

X90j is not a bad TV per se though.
Kahlamx
post Sep 19 2021, 07:50 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 19 2021, 03:14 PM)
I have purchased the 55" CX but my place is currently still under reno. Now the 65" CX is going for 9.9k. Initially I was thinking its still a bit too much but I found out that they are giving a free LG air purifier that cost 2k+ alone for the 65" purchase.

I sit ~2.5m away from the TV console and the CX not yet delivery until my place is done. So I still can top up for 65" Should I just go for the extra 40% screen? hmm.gif

I am just afraid it might be too big no?

Convael
post Sep 19 2021, 08:00 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Sep 19 2021, 07:50 PM)
I have purchased the 55" CX but my place is currently still under reno. Now the 65" CX is going for 9.9k. Initially I was thinking its still a bit too much but I found out that they are giving a free LG air purifier that cost 2k+ alone for the 65" purchase.

I sit ~2.5m away from the TV console and the CX not yet delivery until my place is done. So I still can top up for 65" Should I just go for the extra 40% screen?  hmm.gif

I am just afraid it might be too big no?
2.5m is perfectly reasonable for a 65 " 4k screen.
I also have a 55 " A9F which is used exclusively for running test pattern and movies , they are roughly 1.5m away from my seat .

The closer you are to the screen , the larger your vision angles are being stretched leading to a more cinematic experience .
The golden ratio for a 55 " is approximately 1.7m away from the screen , at 36 - 40 degree. This translates to 2.0m for a 65" .

For gaming and other purposes , I would add 0.5m to the gap to prevent motion sickness .

I usually recommend people to sit slightly closer to OLEDs than typical LCD because you can actually see how amazing the contrast on self emissive screens are , each perfectly lit-up pixel just makes the experience so much more immersive .
My new favorite Passengers look unbelievable on OLED screen . Lotsa dark scenes with a bunch of small highlights , my new go-to for Test stressing the PQ of TVs.

This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 19 2021, 08:53 PM
Kahlamx
post Sep 19 2021, 10:57 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Sep 19 2021, 08:00 PM)
2.5m is perfectly reasonable for a 65 " 4k screen.
I also have a 55 " A9F which is used exclusively for running test pattern and movies , they are roughly 1.5m away from my seat .
The closer you are to the screen , the larger your vision angles are being stretched leading to a more cinematic experience .
The golden ratio for a 55 " is approximately 1.7m away from the screen , at 36 - 40  degree.  This translates to 2.0m for a 65" .

For gaming and other purposes  , I would add 0.5m to the gap to prevent motion sickness .
I usually recommend people to sit slightly closer to OLEDs than typical LCD because you can actually see how amazing the contrast on self emissive screens are , each perfectly lit-up pixel just makes the experience so much more immersive .
My new favorite Passengers look unbelievable on OLED screen . Lotsa dark scenes with a bunch of small highlights  , my new go-to for Test stressing the PQ of TVs.
Alright thanks for your input. I will speak with the merchant for the top up. Paying 9.9k deal for 65" CX + free rm2k+ air purifier is too hard to pass. Meaning the TV is around 7.9-8k or so.

36° meaning the horizontal viewing angle right? How about head tilt angle? I have tried to sit on the floor in front of the couch to get closer and game ps5 and yeah I will get motion sickness very fast.

My favorite go to movie would be the dark knight, tunnel car chase, football explosion scene and a couple more. Martian is another good movie to test. My current X90H is okay...just that during the tunnel scene, the blooming is quite severe when the tunnel goes pitch black and slight panning judder when the tunnel lights up and batman zooms pass.

Really hope OLED doesn't disappoint me.
Kahlamx
post Sep 20 2021, 09:45 AM

369 posts

I went yolo and top up for 65" CX. Ended up with RM9800 nett. The free LG purifier costs RM2499 alone, that's the cheapest I can find on LZ/Shopee with others selling above RM2.7k. So the TV itself is around RM7.3k.

So for those who are still looking for a new OLED, I think this 65" CX Merdeka promo (ends 30/9) is the best deal now.
Halls1234
post Sep 20 2021, 10:55 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Sep 20 2021, 09:45 AM)
I went yolo and top up for 65" CX. Ended up with RM9800 nett. The free LG purifier costs RM2499 alone, that's the cheapest I can find on LZ/Shopee with others selling above RM2.7k. So the TV itself is around RM7.3k.

So for those who are still looking for a new OLED, I think this 65" CX Merdeka promo (ends 30/9) is the best deal now.
Interested with 55” CX
Mind to share where you get the deals from?
shinjite
post Sep 20 2021, 11:50 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,306 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Sep 20 2021, 09:45 AM)

That's not bad a deal then smile.gif
Kahlamx
post Sep 20 2021, 01:58 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Halls1234 @ Sep 20 2021, 10:55 AM)
Interested with 55” CX
Mind to share where you get the deals from?
I got my 55 CX initially from the same place as Bro shinjite. Back then when he posted the link there were 2 units left. I got one of them and I believe the shop took down the link few days later. You can just WhatsApp them to check 55 stock.

This is the link for 65.
https://shopee.com.my/product/267205209/703...04-1632117215.9

AstonCheah
post Sep 20 2021, 02:02 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 19 2021, 03:14 PM)

X90j is not a bad TV per se though.
thanks, wish i could go for cx 65", but rm6k +/- is my best budget.. can only decide x9j 65" or cx 55".

i currently am more leaning to x9j 65" because it is 65" biggger size, android os more streaming apps can be installed like streamio.., LCD = no screen burning worry.

but picture quality wise, oled is the best..

SSJBen
post Sep 20 2021, 03:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Sep 19 2021, 10:57 PM)
Alright thanks for your input. I will speak with the merchant for the top up. Paying 9.9k deal for 65" CX + free rm2k+ air purifier is too hard to pass. Meaning the TV is around 7.9-8k or so.

36° meaning the horizontal viewing angle right? How about head tilt angle? I have tried to sit on the floor in front of the couch to get closer and game ps5 and yeah I will get motion sickness very fast.

My favorite go to movie would be the dark knight, tunnel car chase, football explosion scene and a couple more. Martian is another good movie to test. My current X90H is okay...just that during the tunnel scene, the blooming is quite severe when the tunnel goes pitch black and slight panning judder when the tunnel lights up and batman zooms pass.

Really hope OLED doesn't disappoint me.
Use the correct preset modes if you don't have the means or tools to properly calibrate. You'll be generally happy with your CX.

Best movies to test:
1) Gemini Man
2) Revenant
3) Passengers
4) One World 7 Planets (ok not a movie, but still IMO the best looking feature documentary today)

QUOTE(AstonCheah @ Sep 20 2021, 02:02 PM)
thanks, wish i could go for cx 65", but rm6k +/- is my best budget.. can only decide x9j 65" or cx 55".

i currently am more leaning to x9j 65" because it is 65" biggger size, android os more streaming apps can be installed like streamio.., LCD = no screen burning worry.

but picture quality wise, oled is the best..
Well then if RM6k is your max budget, the X90j 65" is not necessarily a bad TV for the price. Go for it.
AstonCheah
post Sep 24 2021, 09:56 AM

383 posts

sifus, would like to ask is it good to apply tv screen protector? found one below

https://shopee.com.my/Tv-screen-protector--...ehoC8TYQAvD_BwE

i have a 3yrs old kid who sometimes tends to throw things around, i am a bit worry as i am gonna get the x90j 65" soon biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AstonCheah: Sep 24 2021, 09:57 AM
Xmatrix
post Sep 25 2021, 01:15 AM

115 posts

I'm torn between 65' X85J and 55' X90J.

Is there any major difference in picture with Full Array LED in X90J compared to X85J?

Kahlamx
post Sep 25 2021, 10:44 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(Xmatrix @ Sep 25 2021, 01:15 AM)
I'm torn between 65' X85J and 55' X90J.

Is there any major difference in picture with Full Array LED in X90J compared to X85J?
Take the X90J. Better contrast and HDR brightness.
AstonCheah
post Sep 26 2021, 02:39 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Sep 25 2021, 10:44 AM)
Take the X90J. Better contrast and HDR brightness.
Yup agree, my 65x90j coming next week😄

16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:23 AM