QUOTE(littleants @ Sep 8 2020, 04:58 PM)
2 cheap tools that do one correct job is better than 1 expensive tool that do half of the job.
If you insist on one tool,
impact driver can do a little bit of both.. but it could be too strong that destroy you ikea furniture and at the same time not strong enough to drill fast in concrete. And branded impact driver is very very much expensive. Plus, you need to buy quite a few different accessories to work.
Impact driver is using a trailer to go tapau burger.. overkill for ikea stuff/home use.. TS not using for shipping crate packing usage
QUOTE(xajimx @ Sep 8 2020, 05:06 PM)
i agree with the above quote.
i would get a
corded impact drill for wall/concrete heavy duty stuffs.
and get a
cordless portable drill for lightweight stuffs e.g assembling furniture, wood drilling.
but so hard to find affordable good one nowadays..even bosch is made in china now. questionable.
my dad's german made bosch is 20 years old and still working fine.
Impact drill not equal to rotary hammer.
For brick still okay coz the material not that hard.
For concrete need to smash with sufficient force otherwise its the same as using toy balloon hammer ("impact drill").. thats why prison cells made from concrete.. almost impossible to break by hand.
QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Sep 8 2020, 06:19 PM)
Good point
Part of it is that for someone like me who has no idea would feel that only one is necessary
But youre right
Any recommendation if 2 tools then?
You can start with the GSB120-LI. It will work great for holes not larger than the old school 2B pencil size.
For Ikea furniture assy I use the bigger GSB180LI on the lowest torque setting (no.1) so you don't really need something very powerful.
Please note there is a difference between GSB and GSR. GSB, B for Bang (got impact function).. vs GSR, R for Reversible (NO IMPACT) - don't terbeli the wrong version coz GSR is cheaperIf you need bigger toys then ascertain if you're landed or high rise (concrete walls)
This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 8 2020, 11:02 PM