It can be from physical shop in klang valley or nearby bandar utama
Or online shop but must be trustable

Thank you
TSTeddysaur
post Sep 6 2020, 01:07 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 6 2020, 01:59 AM)
What do u want to drill first and foremost coz the drillz u buy need to be suitable for the material
I want to drill screw for furniture etc
On wood and on walls

Also want to drill holes on walls (maybe wood too maybe not, not sure yet)
TSTeddysaur
post Sep 7 2020, 08:28 AM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 7 2020, 03:13 AM)
wood no need expensive tool.. any made in china drill also can handle wood easily.. drilling holes in wood is easy.. screwing into wood AFTER predrilling a small hole 1-1.5mm also doable.. screwing directly (no predrill) into balau or other super hard hardwood is another story

but walls.. this is where it gets interesting.
concrete walls, no cheap way, use rotary hammer else u will spend 5-10 min per wall plug hole.

brick walls (orange clay brick/sand brick), cordless one for 200 bucks tool-only will work (with hammer mode)..you're looking at the bosch GSB180Li and similar.
many people in kopitiam suggested i should go for corded with hammer function with this budget
do you agree?

if so is there any equivalent driller but corded that does this?
TSTeddysaur
post Sep 7 2020, 01:09 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

QUOTE(littleants @ Sep 7 2020, 11:04 AM)
Those are two different power tools for different working purpose.

Battery hand drill (cordless) - mainly function as a replacement for manual screw driver, drill holes on wood/timber, assemble ikea simple furniture. Pick any 12V or 18V model should be sufficient. No need to go for high power model because those models usually are more heavy/bulky.

Rotary hammer (corded) - mainly for drilling holes in concrete/ brickwalls/tiles. Heavy duty works like drilling hole for mounting mirror, cabinets, towel hanger, those kind of stuff. You can't really use it to assemble Ikea furniture as its too bulky. For rotary hammer, it's better to check out branded one like Bosch, Makita, etc. https://www.cthardware.com/ is a good place to explore.

There is cordless rotary hammer but totally unnecessary for home use. It costs upwards of thousand ringgit easily.
Ohh good to know
yes I need something like how you described as battery hand drill
cause i need assemble ikea furniture

but i also want to drill hole on my wall because i want to put curtain rail

so what can you advise?

i prefer 1 tool
TSTeddysaur
post Sep 8 2020, 06:19 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

QUOTE(littleants @ Sep 8 2020, 04:58 PM)
2 cheap tools that do one correct job is better than 1 expensive tool that do half of the job.

If you insist on one tool, impact driver can do a little bit of both.. but it could be too strong that destroy you ikea furniture and at the same time not strong enough to drill fast in concrete. And branded impact driver is very very much expensive. Plus, you need to buy quite a few different accessories to work.
Good point
Part of it is that for someone like me who has no idea would feel that only one is necessary

But youre right
Any recommendation if 2 tools then?

0.0147sec    1.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:26 AM