Recommend any cordless driller please

SUSceo684
post Sep 14 2020, 11:55 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(xajimx @ Sep 10 2020, 10:51 AM)
i think good maintenance, oiling it etc, keeping it in dry and out of dust, and use it once in a while would do the job.
hard to find good quality stuffs nowadays
My dad had a old bosch jigsaw and drill from the 90s
Drill still OK made in germany or some EU country
Jigsaw holder loose AF and blade never cut properly after lending to relative. Died quickly after that. Suspected to be dropped and got damaged. So moral of the story don't lend good tools bangwall.gif
xajimx
post Sep 14 2020, 03:40 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 14 2020, 11:55 AM)
My dad had a old bosch jigsaw and drill from the 90s
Drill still OK made in germany or some EU country
Jigsaw holder loose AF and blade never cut properly after lending to relative. Died quickly after that. Suspected to be dropped and got damaged. So moral of the story don't lend good tools  bangwall.gif
i highlighted your mistake for you laugh.gif
lol sorry to hear that bro. that's rule no. 1 for better care for anything also.
be it your car, your underwear, no one knows it better than you do.
they dont have sentimental/attachment to it like you do so it's ok for them to cincai use. ranting.gif
hirano
post Nov 5 2020, 08:32 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 8 2020, 11:00 PM)
Impact drill not equal to rotary hammer.
For brick still okay coz the material not that hard.
For concrete need to smash with sufficient force otherwise its the same as using toy balloon hammer ("impact drill").. thats why prison cells made from concrete.. almost impossible to break by hand.
1) I saw in shopee, there's also Rotary Drill and Rotary Hammer. Different usage?

https://shopee.com.my/product/12851682/1002...17-1604579357.9
https://shopee.com.my/product/12851682/2969...17-1604579370.9

2) so if my main purpose is drilling to insert screws into concrete walls (to pasang curtain rods), i need only a rotary hammer right? The 2nd link above?

This post has been edited by hirano: Nov 5 2020, 08:33 PM
SUSceo684
post Nov 5 2020, 08:43 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Nov 5 2020, 08:32 PM)
1) I saw in shopee, there's also Rotary Drill and Rotary Hammer. Different usage?

https://shopee.com.my/product/12851682/1002...17-1604579357.9
https://shopee.com.my/product/12851682/2969...17-1604579370.9

Rotary drill = turn circles only. Same as the hand drill in school. Typically only accepts round shank bits.

Impact drill = turn circles and using plastic toy hammer to bangwall.gif many tens of thousands of plastic hammer impact per min so it is only good for light duty (brick wall). Typically accepts round shank bits.

Rotary hammer = turn circles and use a piston design to really drive the drill bit like bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif of just 1-2k strong punches per minute. Accepts slotted heavy duty SDS Plus bits.

Demolition hammer using SDS Max used on building construction site - extreme duty - no need to mention, that is overkill (portable muhammad ali).

2) so if my main purpose is drilling to insert screws into concrete walls, i need only a rotary hammer right? The 2nd link above?
Yes a rotary hammer is what you need for concrete.
GBH 2-24 DRE Rotary Hammer with SDS-plus thumbsup.gif u can get for about 430-440 for this model from other seller like geolaser or intechmachinery or protools or jiayiwg89 or happyyow instead of official mall geh.
These are the ones I am happy buying from.
Some other hardware shop lixxhxxhxxxxxxx tarak bagus, keep my order waiting for two months during MCO and never ship out.

U can verify their shop on bosch authorised dealer list on the bosch malaysia site. Only thing, they may not throw in free bits but the diff in price, you can get own bits, and if you not using the "free chisel" then can just buy tool only (confirm it come with the hard case before buying).

SDS Plus bits

u can see what size u need, wall plug one is usually 5.5 (narrow plug and narrow screw) or 6mm for easy fit (fatter plug and screw)
just because its a bosch tool, no need to buy bosch bit, u can use makita or hitachi or other brand bits janji its SDS Plus bit - for SDS Plus tool (common standard).

Bits about 20 bucks or cheaper if u can find them in a 5-bit pack.
https://shopee.com.my/Hikoki---Hitachi-5pcs...bRoCcG4QAvD_BwE

https://shopee.com.my/-100-ORIGINAL-MAKITA-...5758.6934793737

CHUCK ADAPTER
this is used for adapting the round shank bits to the SDS Plus tool. typically 10-15 bucks.
It is used if u wanna drill metal or wood with the rotary hammer, these materials are NOT repeat NOT using impact function so the bits always come in round shank.

the chuck adapter CANNOT be used in impact mode (impact-only means bangwall without turning, used for chiselling the wall / rotary hammer means turn and bang).
https://shopee.com.my/-100-ORIGINAL-MAKITA-...5758.6934793737

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 5 2020, 08:58 PM
hirano
post Dec 12 2020, 12:59 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 5 2020, 08:43 PM)

Hi. So i've been browsing somemore and conclude that mine is probably concrete wall (apartment). Bosch tool around rm400 is out of my league, since i'm just going to use it a few times.

So if my budget is below rm200, can you suggest a shopee/lazada drill that is suitable for concrete wall? I found a few as below, but not sure if these brands (KTO, Bossman, etc is okay). Have only heard of Bosch and Black+Decker. Kindly advise if any of these is ok?

B+D: https://shopee.com.my/product/223308590/511...17-1607705810.9

Daewoo: https://shopee.com.my/product/18876707/1686...17-1607705844.9

KTO: https://shopee.com.my/product/170086754/681...17-1607705873.9

Bossman: https://shopee.com.my/product/77659802/1346...17-1607705905.9

SUSceo684
post Dec 12 2020, 03:26 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Dec 12 2020, 12:59 AM)
Hi. So i've been browsing somemore and conclude that mine is probably concrete wall (apartment). Bosch tool around rm400 is out of my league, since i'm just going to use it a few times.

So if my budget is below rm200, can you suggest a shopee/lazada drill that is suitable for concrete wall? I found a few as below, but not sure if these brands (KTO, Bossman, etc is okay). Have only heard of Bosch and Black+Decker. Kindly advise if any of these is ok?

B+D: https://shopee.com.my/product/223308590/511...17-1607705810.9

Daewoo: https://shopee.com.my/product/18876707/1686...17-1607705844.9

KTO: https://shopee.com.my/product/170086754/681...17-1607705873.9

Bossman: https://shopee.com.my/product/77659802/1346...17-1607705905.9

I will recommend the Daewoo. thumbup.gif Right product and will suit your purpose fine.

The 1st item - B+D is a toy gun, not a rotary hammer
Daewoo one will work fine.
Anything cheaper tend to overheat fast.

You can get the Daewoo tool only (no need extra bits). Bits you can just get a small set of Hitachi or Makita SDS+ bits (i think i posted some link before) which are affordable ~RM4 or 5 per piece or so, generally wood plug is 5.5 or 6mm hole (depends on the wood plug size whether is x8 narrow one or x10 medium one).
50mm x8 wood plug goes well with 2in #8 screws.
50mm x10 goes well with 2in #10 screws,

The mm is length of plug (matching length screws usually sold in imperial inches or fractions of inches eg 1 3/4)
The x10 and #10 refers to the fatness of the screw.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 12 2020, 03:34 AM

0.0231sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:13 AM