Android Box advice?

TSklch87
post Jul 30 2020, 09:31 AM, updated 6y ago

779 posts

Not sure if this is the correct place to ask this question but here it goes.

I have never use an android box in my entire life but can it provide any show that i want, including all the cartoons?
Currently im using a smartTV too.

The reason i wanted something like this is because these options are not so good:
a) hypptv - very few favorite shows and it is a scheduled program
b) netflix - limited seasons/ episodes in malaysian channel
c) online stream - link sometimes broken and potential virus infection

Thank you.

Jescon
post Jul 30 2020, 09:53 AM

452 posts

There are certain apps you can install on your Android Box like KODI - which gives you access to a lot of (free but illegal) content. However, setting it up can be cumbersome, especially if you're using a cheapo android box.

My house is currently using Nvidia Shield for KODI & Netflix
TSklch87
post Jul 30 2020, 10:03 AM

779 posts

QUOTE(Jescon @ Jul 30 2020, 09:53 AM)
There are certain apps you can install on your Android Box like KODI - which gives you access to a lot of (free but illegal) content. However, setting it up can be cumbersome, especially if you're using a cheapo android box.

My house is currently using Nvidia Shield for KODI & Netflix
woah RM1.2k for a streaming device?

i thought of spending somewhere between rm200~rm400 for an android box. i saw many of them at digital mall PJ but didnt bother to buy any of them.

but now i thought of getting 1 so i can let my son watch cartoon shows.
currently netflix has limited seasons/ favorite cartoon and hypptv programs are scheduled shows.
mrcg
post Jul 30 2020, 10:21 AM

235 posts

i thought smart tv also using android..why need another box?
TSklch87
post Jul 30 2020, 10:26 AM

779 posts

QUOTE(mrcg @ Jul 30 2020, 10:21 AM)
i thought smart tv also using android..why need another box?
My lg smart TV can go online stream but have to use remote control manually press keys and close all ads. Very troublesome. Plus most of the time cannot watch due to memory full issue and have to clear memory.

So i am thinking of an external streaming device.
Jescon
post Jul 30 2020, 10:33 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(klch87 @ Jul 30 2020, 10:03 AM)

i thought of spending somewhere between rm200~rm400 for an android box. i saw many of them at digital mall PJ but didnt bother to buy any of them.

currently netflix has limited seasons/ favorite cartoon and hypptv programs are scheduled shows.
It's honestly worth it + you get Nvidia stream gaming service. My father bought it via Amazon actually, on a good discount. When it came here had to go declare at SIRIM.

I can't really tell you how to set up KODI and such, because my father was the one that did it - but he had a lot trouble in the beginning lol

As for me, I still prefer a HTPC - much more control compared to an Android Box.
TSklch87
post Jul 30 2020, 10:55 AM

779 posts

Hmm..looks like need to go ask at digital mall
cannavaro
post Jul 30 2020, 05:38 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(klch87 @ Jul 30 2020, 10:03 AM)

You can get it cheaper if you buy it yourself and ship to malaysia using buynship
1 guy in a popular fb streaming group is selling it for RM980. But delivery takes about 3 weeks
Scissorshand
post Jul 30 2020, 10:47 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(klch87 @ Jul 30 2020, 10:55 AM)
Hmm..looks like need to go ask at digital mall
found a very interesting goods in Gearbest:Mecool KM9 Pro Classic Smart Voice Control TV Box Google Certificated - Black 2GB RAM + 16GB ROM EU Plug https://gearbest.app.link/rsKjm79Px8

I'm using above as my primary daily box for a year now
junclj
post Aug 1 2020, 12:55 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(klch87 @ Jul 30 2020, 09:31 AM)

I have never use an android box in my entire life but can it provide any show that i want, including all the cartoons?

The reason i wanted something like this is because these options are not so good:
Thank you.
HyppTV, i think you can buy a cheap empty tvbox from shopee or lazada then look for MYIPTV4K to subscribe RM150/half year.
Online stream, personally I do not recommend Kodi. I prefer to use "xfplay" if you are Chinese user because you can visit ixftv.com with this app to play any China, HK, Korean, Japan, US dramas and movies with Chinese subtitles. xfplay can be downloaded from Google play store or http://www.xfplay.com

I personally recommend you to buy an open source tvbox, just stop believe that kind of evpad, svicloud, longtv etc.
Just go for the amlogic S905X3 tvbox, make sure there have 4GB ram, gigabit LAN port, support 5GHz wifi and support 4K 60hz with HDR.
The price was just around RM150~RM200 only. I do not recommend evpad, better just go subscribe MYIPTV4K and pay for RM150 every half year. All their channels are smooth and high definition. Also comes with subtitles.
putra23
post Aug 3 2020, 04:46 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 1 2020, 12:55 PM)
HyppTV, i think you can buy a cheap empty tvbox from shopee or lazada then look for MYIPTV4K to subscribe RM150/half year.
Online stream, personally I do not recommend Kodi. I prefer to use "xfplay" if you are Chinese user because you can visit ixftv.com with this app to play any China, HK, Korean, Japan, US dramas and movies with Chinese subtitles. xfplay can be downloaded from Google play store or http://www.xfplay.com

I personally recommend you to buy an open source tvbox, just stop believe that kind of evpad, svicloud, longtv etc.
Just go for the amlogic S905X3 tvbox, make sure there have 4GB ram, gigabit LAN port, support 5GHz wifi and support 4K 60hz with HDR.
The price was just around RM150~RM200 only. I do not recommend evpad, better just go subscribe MYIPTV4K and pay for RM150 every half year. All their channels are smooth and high definition. Also comes with subtitles.
After buying open source tvbox... how or where to get the contents?
Sorry ya... no familiar with tvbox...
junclj
post Aug 4 2020, 11:52 AM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Aug 3 2020, 04:46 PM)
After buying open source tvbox... how or where to get the contents?
Sorry ya... no familiar with tvbox...
There have Google Play store and also you can manually install Aptoide TV by download the apk from here https://tv.aptoide.com.
Mostly the open source tvbox can be customized and rootable. You also can change to your favorite TV launcher such as Ugoss launcher, ATV launcher or others.

The most important thing is amlogic S905X3 tvbox is fast and the price is cheap. Faster than most of the evpad, svicloud, longtv tvbox outside there.
EVPAD has lifetime axtro, singapore, indonesia, thailand, china, hong kong, taiwan, sports channels, national geographics channels etc.. However, the big disadvantages that I really don't like is their servers, some of their channels have error and cannot be load. Next is most of their channels don't have subtitles. Meaning that I am watching most of the channels that I'm totally not understand what did he/she talking about. Not worth if we watch a Korean drama in tvN without subtitles.

I have tried many types of IPTV out there, so far the only best IPTV outside there is MYIPTV4K. I'm also not to help the provider to promote their IPTV. This is just for my personal experience of using IPTV for about 5 years.

Vincent6596
post Aug 4 2020, 04:57 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 4 2020, 11:52 AM)
There have Google Play store and also you can manually install Aptoide TV by download the apk from here https://tv.aptoide.com.
Mostly the open source tvbox can be customized and rootable. You also can change to your favorite TV launcher such as Ugoss launcher, ATV launcher or others.

The most important thing is amlogic S905X3 tvbox is fast and the price is cheap. Faster than most of the evpad, svicloud, longtv tvbox outside there.
EVPAD has lifetime axtro, singapore, indonesia, thailand, china, hong kong, taiwan, sports channels, national geographics channels etc.. However, the big disadvantages that I really don't like is their servers, some of their channels have error and cannot be load. Next is most of their channels don't have subtitles. Meaning that I am watching most of the channels that I'm totally not understand what did he/she talking about. Not worth if we watch a Korean drama in tvN without subtitles.

I have tried many types of IPTV out there, so far the only best IPTV outside there is MYIPTV4K. I'm also not to help the provider to promote their IPTV. This is just for my personal experience of using IPTV for about 5 years.
possible to share the link to buy amlogic S905X3 tvbox, coz i plan to buy and setup 1 for my dad and mom to use.
putra23
post Aug 6 2020, 11:17 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 4 2020, 11:52 AM)

Was considering evpad as there is a physical stall inside mall nearby. Good for trouble shooting support especially for non tech person. As I know, no other cost incurred once purchase the evpad set. Seem to cost more though. Thanks for sharing about sub titles. It is very important for me.

So...
Amlogic = a brand of tvbox
IPTV = the apps to download (such as MYIPTV4K)

Then... evpad = tvbox + apps installed, right?

junclj
post Aug 6 2020, 01:26 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Aug 6 2020, 11:17 AM)
Was considering evpad as there is a physical stall inside mall nearby. Good for trouble shooting support especially for non tech person. As I know, no other cost incurred once purchase the evpad set. Seem to cost more though. Thanks for sharing about sub titles. It is very important for me.

So...

amlogic is the type of CPU that using in the tvbox. There got many third party IPTV provider outside there. EVPAD is one of them, JoyTV also similar like evpad. Some are selling the app only and some of them are selling all-in-one including tvbox such like evpad, svicloud and longtv.

I have using myiptv4k and mypad4k for many years. Last time I'm using evpad 2s but I dislike it, so I install myiptv into evpad. Later that, they got offer huat88tv for chinese users so I switch to huat88tv. After that, they shutdown huat88tv then just left myiptv. After that my evpad 2s was spoilt, I don't have any tvbox during that time. Later that, they open another new line to offer mypadtv. Mypadtv can support android tablets, android phones, iPad, iPhone and Windows PC. Later that, I was switched to mypadtv to watch with google chrome. The provider later then upgrade their channels to HD to become mypadtv4k and myiptv4k for tvbox version. After a year of using the mypad4k, some of their channels cannot be loaded. So I did complaint to them. After few months, finally they shutdown their mypad4k to make concentrate into only one myiptv4k. I have no choice later, to watch with android emulator in my PC because my subscriptions for mypad4k still not ended yet. The provider was stopped to support web browser and updated their android mypad4k app to v1.50 to link with the sources from myiptv4k. The provider is now just concentrating in one myiptv4k, so later I was bought a new tvbox. I was requested the seller help me to convert my subscriptions from mypad4k to myiptv4k.

So now, I am watching myiptv4k everyday. No lagging or delaying. All of the channels especially axtro channels are running smooth. I think I've been using myiptv for 5 years already. Since last time before I buy Evpad 2s, I'm watching myiptv with the streamyx hypptv tvbox. Later that I was bought a evpad 2s, my hypptv tvbox was gave to my aunty. I've been watching with myiptv earlier than evpad before and was compared to many third party IPTV before. That's why in the end, I still prefer to myiptv4k.

This post has been edited by junclj: Aug 6 2020, 01:40 PM
voncrane
post Aug 6 2020, 01:34 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Aug 6 2020, 11:17 AM)

So...

Err.. nope. AMLogic is an American tech company that primarily designs and produces various System on Chip (SoC)... Think Intel or AMD, etc.. They aren’t a brand of tv box.. Also, heres a dedicated thread for Android OS, etc powered boxes. There’s tons of info contained in it. I advise you to swing by and arm yourself first. Understand what you be getting into.. I recently posted some videos about the Beelink GS-King X box. You might want to take a look at it too as I go into details and show what can be achieved (legally of course) with a decent box. Check the thread out or links in my signature below..

Evpad is like an Astro decoder.. Except that Astro is 100% legit, while evpad isn’t. Don’t let their marketing fool you either. The SIRIM certification is just for the hardware being “clean”, their software isn’t. IMHO, you should only consider them if you have significant trouble setting up yourself. Normally, I wouldn’t even recommend them.
junclj
post Aug 6 2020, 02:06 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Aug 4 2020, 04:57 PM)
possible to share the link to buy amlogic S905X3 tvbox, coz i plan to buy and setup 1 for my dad and mom to use.
There got many tvbox outside there but just depends on how fast of your home internet. For me, my home got 500mbps that's why I only pick the tvbox with gigabit LAN. I was bought a cheap X99 Max Plus, the only cons for this tvbox is overheating but not a big deal. So I just put one 12cm fan under the device to cool down the temperature.

Other tvbox you may try to look for H96 Max X3, X96 Max+, HK1 box and others tvbox that within these specs.

I choose X99 Max+ 4GB RAM/64GB storage and the price is RM179. Another H96 Max X3 seems like a better choice too.

This post has been edited by junclj: Aug 6 2020, 02:23 PM
Vincent6596
post Aug 6 2020, 04:40 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 6 2020, 02:06 PM)
There got many tvbox outside there but just depends on how fast of your home internet. For me, my home got 500mbps that's why I only pick the tvbox with gigabit LAN. I was bought a cheap X99 Max Plus, the only cons for this tvbox is overheating but not a big deal. So I just put one 12cm fan under the device to cool down the temperature.

Other tvbox you may try to look for H96 Max X3, X96 Max+, HK1 box and others tvbox that within these specs.

I choose X99 Max+ 4GB RAM/64GB storage and the price is RM179. Another H96 Max X3 seems like a better choice too.
this tvbox din include any app for watching movie right?
we need to load our own app for watching movie right?

currently my house is using maxis fiber 30mbps

This post has been edited by Vincent6596: Aug 6 2020, 04:42 PM
beverlykho
post Aug 8 2020, 05:18 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Aug 6 2020, 04:40 PM)
this tvbox din include any app for watching movie right?
we need to load our own app for watching movie right?

currently my house is using maxis fiber 30mbps
Yes. You may ask the seller of the TV Box, whether he will install the relevant app. Some will do it for free, some for a fee.
hoskot
post Aug 8 2020, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 6 2020, 02:06 PM)

H96 Max X3 has Root ON/OFF switch, like Tanix tx3 s905x3?

Vincent6596
post Aug 9 2020, 10:11 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(beverlykho @ Aug 8 2020, 05:18 PM)
Yes. You may ask the seller of the TV Box, whether he will install the relevant app. Some will do it for free, some for a fee.
okay thx for the info bro

junclj
post Aug 10 2020, 08:51 AM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(hoskot @ Aug 8 2020, 10:30 PM)
H96 Max X3 has Root ON/OFF switch, like Tanix tx3 s905x3?
Yes, it has. https://youtu.be/0ObVpJqoPoo?t=1509
woonyaw93
post Aug 10 2020, 01:51 PM

53 posts

found that this thread have the most honest review....thanks....
j03y_r055
post Aug 11 2020, 01:50 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 10 2020, 08:51 AM)
which one is better? x99 max+ or h96 max x3
junclj
post Aug 11 2020, 03:01 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(j03y_r055 @ Aug 11 2020, 01:50 PM)
which one is better? x99 max+ or h96 max x3
x99max+ has overheat issue. The temperature will rise up to 80'c when loading and 60'c when idling.
h96max x3 has better temperature management. Just around 50'c-60'c during loading.

However, I can easily solve my x99max+ overheating issue by putting a fan under the tvbox. The temperature just straight go down to 60'c when loading.
j03y_r055
post Aug 11 2020, 05:23 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 11 2020, 03:01 PM)
x99max+ has overheat issue. The temperature will rise up to 80'c when loading and 60'c when idling.
h96max x3 has better temperature management. Just around 50'c-60'c during loading.
In term of performance, are they identical? Both hv the same hardware spec?
junclj
post Aug 11 2020, 05:30 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(j03y_r055 @ Aug 11 2020, 05:23 PM)
In term of performance, are they identical? Both hv the same hardware spec?
For price to value, X99Max+ is cheaper. For better performance, I think H96Max X3 is better.
j03y_r055
post Aug 13 2020, 02:45 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 11 2020, 05:30 PM)
For price to value, X99Max+ is cheaper. For better performance, I think H96Max X3 is better.
Hv u ever try to install astrogo in x99max+ ?
putra23
post Aug 13 2020, 04:16 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 6 2020, 01:34 PM)
Err.. nope. AMLogic is an American tech company that primarily designs and produces various System on Chip (SoC)... Think Intel or AMD, etc.. They aren’t a brand of tv box.. Also, heres a dedicated thread for Android OS, etc powered boxes. There’s tons of info contained in it. I advise you to swing by and arm yourself first. Understand what you be getting into.. I recently posted some videos about the Beelink GS-King X box. You might want to take a look at it too as I go into details and show what can be achieved (legally of course) with a decent box. Check the thread out or links in my signature below..
Evpad is like an Astro decoder.. Except that Astro is 100% legit, while evpad isn’t. Don’t let their marketing fool you either. The SIRIM certification is just for the hardware being “clean”, their software isn’t. IMHO, you should only consider them if you have significant trouble setting up yourself. Normally, I wouldn’t even recommend them.
Lots of info to digest. Thanks a lot!!!
xswatch
post Aug 13 2020, 04:22 PM

592 posts

just go for mi box s jela. other box can't run Netflix & other streaming apps in 4k coz not widevine L1 certified.
phoenix69
post Aug 14 2020, 11:30 AM

1,836 posts

6 Years ago: Look for TV box based on technical performance (Chip Type/RAM/Reviews reference) , plan to learn all about KODI, Setting up the streaming source. Downloading the app (Kena Bayar) .... I Give Up .. That TV Box is gathering dust somewhere in the store. bangwall.gif

2 Year ago: My technically challenged wife, bought a TV box all set up with 2 main app.
Malaysia Live - Works like a TV (Astro Channel+Malaysia+Singapore)
Video On Demand - Data Base of dramas from Korea, China, Japan, Netflix (Updated with latest episode Daily). Asian Movies, English Movies,
--- Still going strong , the app did not die off or requires "subscription" icon_idea.gif

2 day ago - Passed the old box to my mom and bought another newer model of the same TV box my wife bought.
Everything is still there but now got 2 more Naughty TV and VOD app brows.gif

Conclusion: Being technical does not can't beat blind luck doh.gif
voncrane
post Aug 15 2020, 10:33 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Aug 13 2020, 04:16 PM)
Lots of info to digest. Thanks a lot!!!
You are welcome...

QUOTE(xswatch @ Aug 13 2020, 04:22 PM)
just go for mi box s jela. other box can't run Netflix & other streaming apps in 4k coz not widevine L1 certified.
Partly wrong... Watch my review of the Beelink GS-King X.. The part 3 where I clearly show you can achieve Netflix FHD and it’s with surround sound too. Plenty other boxes certified or not can do the same. Not just the Mibox S. Nvidia Shield la, Apple TV 4K la, Roku la, etc.. That’s why I recommended that dedicated thread in my earlier post. The information is out there.. Just read je... We’ve discussed it all. Noobs welcome.. just read first.

Edited... Seems you were referring to a single box vs “all other boxes” except the Mibox.. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 14 2020, 11:30 AM)
6 Years ago: Look for TV box based on technical performance (Chip Type/RAM/Reviews reference) , plan to learn all about KODI, Setting up the streaming source. Downloading the app (Kena Bayar) .... I Give Up .. That TV Box is gathering dust somewhere in the store.  bangwall.gif

2 Year ago: My technically challenged wife, bought a TV box all set up with 2 main app.
Video On Demand - Data Base of dramas from Korea, China, Japan, Netflix (Updated with latest episode Daily). Asian Movies, English Movies,
--- Still going strong , the app did not die off or requires "subscription" icon_idea.gif

2 day ago - Passed the old box to my mom and bought another newer model of the same TV box my wife bought.
Everything is still there but now got 2 more Naughty TV and VOD app   brows.gif

Conclusion: Being technical does not can't beat blind luck  doh.gif
Conclusion.... Just because you couldn’t achieve or be bothered to achieve the same results all by yourself, does NOT mean they aren’t achievable easily.. I can setup Kodi to be the only app I ever need to use to consume media on my box. If there are people who’d like to learn how? There’s also the Kodi dedicated thread, where we discuss and show how.. once again, the info is all out there and we give freely..

This post has been edited by voncrane: Aug 15 2020, 10:35 AM
voncrane
post Sep 5 2020, 02:01 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

To follow up on my previous post... I decided to make a few videos as proof of concept and to also clear up some misconceptions about what can be achieved with Kodi & just a tiny bit tech know-how...I also tried to make the videos noob-friendly with explanations so you know what's happening and if you'd like to tweak yours to better suit your needs and viewing preferences..No advancedsettings.xml to code..no intricate setup.. Just simple instructions and you can be up and running with the best soon enough. Below is a quoted post I shared from the Kodi dedicated thread. If it helps you, do hit the Like button, share if you can to others and subscribe to my channel. I'll post up more tips and tricks plus addon updates, etc.. Thanks.

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 11 2016, 12:05 PM)
YouTube videos showing latest addons, tutorials, plus various tips and tricks to get the best out of your Kodi Installation. The latest video begins from the top for easier access. However, do check below for other videos that will appeal to you. All videos below are made and shared by myself. So please Like, Share and Subscribe to my YouTube Channel in appreciation. Every little bit counts.. Thanks.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Sep 5 2020, 02:03 PM
chickenriceboy
post Sep 7 2020, 01:42 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(klch87 @ Jul 30 2020, 09:31 AM)

Thank you.
Just go ahead and get either the LongTv box or iboite x . it have a lot of cartoon movie and even live tv for only now 299,.

Go to digital mall and tried this out

Forget bout buying some empty box and loaded up with apps that requires subscripotion it stupid to do that. when long tv provided u apps to watchi this without subscrioption

just make sure your line internet is 100Mbps and it should be ready to watch out of the box.

I owned longtv and a couple of tv boxes and i can say longtv is the best.

longtv is cheaper btw ..

dont look at specs as specs dont play a huge role here. Long tv is octacore with 1GB ram and yet the channel is clearer and faster than other boxes spec.

look at SVI cloud, Iboite X . Longtv

This post has been edited by chickenriceboy: Sep 7 2020, 01:52 PM
vignaroli
post Sep 8 2020, 01:39 PM

341 posts

https://amanz.my/2020248843/

google sabrina is coming soon
voncrane
post Sep 12 2020, 11:20 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ Sep 7 2020, 01:42 PM)
Just go ahead and get either the LongTv box or iboite x  . it have a lot of cartoon movie and even live tv for only now 299,.

Go to digital mall and tried this out

Forget bout buying some empty box and loaded up with apps that requires subscripotion it stupid to do that.  when long tv provided u apps to watchi this without subscrioption

just make sure your line internet is 100Mbps and it should be ready to watch out of the box.

I owned longtv and a couple of tv boxes and i can say longtv is the best.

longtv is cheaper btw ..

dont look at specs as specs dont play a huge role here. Long tv is octacore with 1GB ram and yet the channel is clearer and faster than other boxes spec.

look at SVI cloud, Iboite X . Longtv
I strongly disagree... And as someone who has actually dabbled... Toyed with boxes and services of different price ranges and performances? I humbly say that you Sir are spouting stupid info. Please don't mislead people.
kthxbye.
chickenriceboy
post Sep 18 2020, 04:08 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 12 2020, 11:20 PM)
I strongly disagree... And as someone who has actually dabbled... Toyed with boxes and services of different price ranges and performances? I humbly say that you Sir are spouting stupid info. Please don't mislead people.
kthxbye.
I dont really care for someone who makes all the claims in the world.

Im just sharing information to whoever who just wanted to buy a box go home plug into tv and can watch al the show they wanted without paying for subscription.

in the end if the product work without you needing to setup here or there,. it is a good product .

our friend above have a youtube channel to which he want u guys to subscribe to and increase his follower.

i dont . i am not even a reseller of any boxes ...

Btw im a Linux System Specialist .. so i do know my way around all boxes.

voncrane
post Sep 21 2020, 11:16 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ Sep 18 2020, 04:08 PM)
I dont really care for someone who makes all the claims in the world.

Im just sharing information to whoever who just wanted to buy a box go home plug into tv and can watch al the show they wanted without paying for subscription.

in the end if the product work without you needing to setup here or there,. it is a good product .

our friend above have a youtube channel to which he want u guys to subscribe to and increase his follower.

i dont . i am not even a reseller of any boxes ...

Btw im a Linux System Specialist .. so i do know my way around all boxes.
Nice try fam... A "Unix specialist" that says hardware doesn't matter.. 1GB RAM is enough.. lolwut... laugh.gif Just because you drove a kancil and liked it doesn't mean it's a good car for everyone.. As an "IT specialist", you should know this basic concept.. So forgive me when I say...You do not know your way around boxes or heck are a Unix specialist (I play with Ubuntu, Manjaro, Fedora, Linux Mint, OpenSUSE, Kubuntu, Edubuntu, Tails and even Kali Linux..I'm also comfortable with macOS, Windows, Android, Windows Mobile, iOS, Remix OS, Chrome OS, etc to name a few...So I do know my shizz yeah..No need blow trumpet) sweat.gif . Why? cuz even with over a decade of experience on my part. As an IT specialist, I know and understand that tech changes and generally gets better with time. So I'm still learning till date.

FYI.... I got into the YouTube thingy because enough folks asked me to. Each video I make takes a ton of my free time, I could otherwise be spending with my family or heck, just relaxing on my own. Notice I don't show my face either as I value my anonymity and not interested in being ultra famous to be stopped in the street. I review items in my unique style because I want to help others spend their money in the best ways possible and according to their needs and not because it pays my bills or that I'm hungry. I'm not making any bold unverifiable claims here. So if I say A works? it works and if i say it doesn't? Then it doesn't at that time. This is the internet age and everything tech can be easily verified, so why would I be "making all the claims in the world"? Besides, there's video evidence now to go with my extensive text only reviews, comments and posts.. haha...

Lastly, i ask people to sub cuz I want to help as many people as possible and the best way to do so is to grow the sub base, forcing YouTube's algorithm to do it's magic. Got people buy subs and like all.. Nah, I don't and won't roll like that. Organic growth even if slow is my game. Thanks for checking out my channel though.. Make sure to subscribe to learn from an equally learning specialist yeah. Feel free to like and share my videos yeah if it helps you (I'm sure a few will) or helps others. You have a great day.. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Sep 21 2020, 11:25 AM
leose7enART
post Oct 10 2020, 09:56 AM

Which one is better, TX3 (New Model) vs TX6s.. going to buy today..anyone please
Rubypoyo
post Oct 10 2020, 11:01 AM

374 posts

i been using mi box and also mi tv stick for my bedroom...
just ok performance price wise for the spec but then the device is google certified device with official google tv os...
if wanna install unknown source for "ahem2" to the box should be no issue since you can use "filecomander" that ur can download in app store to easily transfer the apk file to the box.
voncrane
post Oct 11 2020, 08:21 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(leose7enART @ Oct 10 2020, 09:56 AM)
Which one is better, TX3 (New Model) vs TX6s.. going to buy today..anyone please
Even though the TX6S has Android 10 bs Android 9 on the TX3.... I would still go with the TX3 because it has the superior and more flash friendly AMLogic S905X3. The TX6S uses an AllWinner H616, a lesser performer. When getting, if you plan to game on it? Get the 4GB RAM versions, although they are “just” DDR3 vs DDR4 used in most newer boxes now. Only get the 2GB versions if you only plan to use it as a media streamer or player. Storage-wise? I would recommend minimum 32GB just to be sure you’ve got some space to play around and can still stream large media files using the onboard eMMC and not resort to write/reading from the slower USB port.

Hope this helps your decision.

QUOTE(Rubypoyo @ Oct 10 2020, 11:01 AM)
just ok performance price wise for the spec but then the device is google certified device with official google tv os...
if wanna install unknown source for "ahem2" to the box should be no issue since you can use "filecomander" that ur can download in app store to easily transfer the apk file to the box.
Yeah, primary reason to get either is definitely due for 100% confirmed Google Certified devices. You don’t ever have to worry about such. Performance-wise, it’s so-so la.. but more than plenty for the simple needs user who wants a Google certified device.
xperiaVuser
post Oct 25 2020, 05:03 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 11 2020, 08:21 AM)
Even though the TX6S has Android 10 bs Android 9 on the TX3.... I would still go with the TX3 because it has the superior and more flash friendly AMLogic S905X3. The TX6S uses an AllWinner H616, a lesser performer. When getting, if you plan to game on it? Get the 4GB RAM versions, although they are “just” DDR3 vs DDR4 used in most newer boxes now. Only get the 2GB versions if you only plan to use it as a media streamer or player. Storage-wise? I would recommend minimum 32GB just to be sure you’ve got some space to play around and can still stream large media files using the onboard eMMC and not resort to write/reading from the slower USB port.
Got so many android boxes with 4GB RAM now, but how to check if it's 'faked' without opening up the box?
voncrane
post Oct 25 2020, 09:41 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Oct 25 2020, 05:03 PM)
Got so many android boxes with 4GB RAM now, but how to check if it's 'faked' without opening up the box?
Hmm, without opening the box huh... Well, the surest way is to simply stick with well-known brands with reputation to lose. Brands such as Minix, HiMedia, Beelink, Zidoo, Xiaomi, Nvidia, MeCool, Tanix, Roku, Amazon, TiVo, Wetek etc....Just to name a few...With so many players in the market.. I know for certain that you won't get cheated... at least not from these mentioned.. There should be a few more, but these are the ones i can recall off the top of my head. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Oct 25 2020, 09:43 PM
xperiaVuser
post Oct 26 2020, 09:57 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 25 2020, 09:41 PM)
Hmm, without opening the box huh... Well, the surest way is to simply stick with well-known brands with reputation to lose. Brands such as Minix, HiMedia, Beelink, Zidoo, Xiaomi, Nvidia, MeCool, Tanix, Roku, Amazon, TiVo, Wetek etc....Just to name a few...With so many players in the market.. I know for certain that you won't get cheated... at least not from these mentioned.. There should be a few more, but these are the ones i can recall off the top of my head.  sweat.gif
Yep, opening the box and check what RAM chips are used on the board.

Looking for a cheap box(less than RM180) to replace my old Himedia. I guess I should go with Tanix in this price segment. Thanks for the advice!
Namelessone1973
post Nov 3 2020, 12:12 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Rubypoyo @ Oct 10 2020, 11:01 AM)
Can you install vpn? I already have Malaysian Netflix and interested in Disney plus.
Rubypoyo
post Nov 3 2020, 12:38 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Nov 3 2020, 12:12 PM)
Can you install vpn? I already have Malaysian Netflix and interested in Disney plus.
Yes got vpn like expressvpn / nordvpn that you can download from playstore but cant guarantee it will work with netflix US or Disney plus
(previously fail when try using nordvpn to access Netflix US using xiaomi mi box, but no issue when using it on smartphone)

This post has been edited by Rubypoyo: Nov 3 2020, 12:39 PM
StevenL
post Nov 3 2020, 09:35 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Nov 3 2020, 12:12 PM)
Can use Hollywood server for Disney+ and LA1 for Netflix on expressvpn on other certified box
voncrane
post Nov 4 2020, 08:21 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Yep.. yet to test it out myself.. But a verified source did mention ExpressVPN works.
SUSmohdkhairul83
post Nov 8 2020, 08:45 AM

50 posts

Here is the TX3 mini cheap tvbox. Already preinstall apps to watch free channels and movies.

https://shopee.com.my/product/6302272/24746...81-1604796313.9
xortz
post Nov 8 2020, 10:35 AM

1,534 posts

QUOTE(mohdkhairul83 @ Nov 8 2020, 08:45 AM)
Here is the TX3 mini cheap tvbox. Already preinstall apps to watch free channels and movies.

Astro Go supported?
Vincent6596
post Nov 9 2020, 12:05 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(mohdkhairul83 @ Nov 8 2020, 08:45 AM)

https://shopee.com.my/TVBOX-PRE-INSTALL-100...2272.5205211710

compare tx6 with tx3 which is more better??
and i do need larger rom for install other apps.
dizposed
post Nov 9 2020, 05:27 PM

Which is better and more reliable... Tx3 or H96 max X3..

Spec wise from what i know is the same. (Looking at 4gb Ram and 32gb storage).
Except the Ethernet port. H96 max x3 is gigabit. (1000 compare to Tx3 100)

But rarely seen anyone comment bout the H96 max X3. So, that why the question which better and reliable..
AVFAN
post Nov 9 2020, 05:36 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(xortz @ Nov 8 2020, 10:35 AM)
Astro Go supported?
astrogo is a puzzling app... it works on some tx3mini/t3max/tx3 s905x3, does not work on the rest.

some say u must modify that and that... but mine are ok, no need modify nothing.

so, best u ask seller to test and confirm b4 u buy.

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Nov 9 2020, 12:05 AM)
https://shopee.com.my/TVBOX-PRE-INSTALL-100...2272.5205211710

compare tx6 with tx3 which is more better??
and i do need larger rom for install other apps.
QUOTE(dizposed @ Nov 9 2020, 05:27 PM)
Which is better and more reliable... Tx3 or H96 max X3..

Spec wise from what i know is the same. (Looking at 4gb Ram and 32gb storage).
Except the Ethernet port. H96 max x3 is gigabit. (1000 compare to Tx3 100)

But rarely seen anyone comment bout the H96 max X3. So, that why the question which better and reliable..
which one better.... bmw or mercedes better? proton or perodua better?!

more to do with what u want to do with it.

dun be carried away by the specs... bigger memory is good generally but not always necessary.

gigabit port is better than 100mbps but do u need it, can yr network support it?

lastly, watch out for overheating... google tx6 about this.
Vincent6596
post Nov 9 2020, 05:41 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 9 2020, 05:36 PM)
astrogo is a puzzling app... it works on some tx3mini/t3max/tx3 s905x3, does not work on the rest.

some say u must modify that and that... but mine are ok, no need modify nothing.

dun be carried away by the specs... bigger memory is good generally but not always necessary.

gigabit port is better than 100mbps but do u need it, can yr network support it?

okay, thx for the info bro

dizposed
post Nov 9 2020, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 9 2020, 05:36 PM)

thanks for the replies...

im planning to get the TIME 500Mbps..

im queries coz hardly seen anyone comment using the H96 max x3..
lots of good comment on tx3.. newbie here.. i guess couldnt go wrong with tx3 right..
AVFAN
post Nov 9 2020, 11:54 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(dizposed @ Nov 9 2020, 10:18 PM)
thanks for the replies...

im planning to get the TIME 500Mbps..

im queries coz hardly seen anyone comment using the H96 max x3..
lots of good comment on tx3.. newbie here.. i guess couldnt go wrong with tx3 right..
tx3 is a popular model - fairly new model, cheap and functional for most purposes.

u can read more here if u wish:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+1480
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 09:14 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 11 2020, 08:21 AM)

Hope this helps your decision.
Yeah, primary reason to get either is definitely due for 100% confirmed Google Certified devices. You don’t ever have to worry about such. Performance-wise, it’s so-so la.. but more than plenty for the simple needs user who wants a Google certified device.
Thanks for this. I was also considering between TX3 and TX6. Sifu voncrane, any problem to install Netflix, AOTG, Hulu, or any other streaming apps on this device? I saw you takking about Beelink, is it much better than TX3? Thanks sir, noob here. Not Unix expert. 😅
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 09:22 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(Rubypoyo @ Nov 3 2020, 12:38 PM)
Yes got vpn like expressvpn / nordvpn that you can download from playstore but cant guarantee it will work with netflix US or Disney plus
(previously fail when try using nordvpn to access Netflix US using xiaomi mi box, but no issue when using it on smartphone)
I use NordVPN but when connected to US server my Netflix won’t sign in. The VPN works on my Ipad/Iphone but not Android box. Not sure why, but its a really old box, Mini M8S. Been in service for few years and now its having infinity rebooting and can’t log in. That’s why I was considering Tanix, TX3 as a replacement. No money to get Nvidia and all thise high end brands. 😭
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 09:23 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 9 2020, 11:54 PM)
tx3 is a popular model - fairly new model, cheap and functional for most purposes.

u can read more here if u wish:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+1480
Thanks for the info bro!
voncrane
post Nov 16 2020, 09:50 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 16 2020, 09:14 AM)
Thanks for this. I was also considering between TX3 and TX6. Sifu voncrane, any problem to install Netflix, AOTG, Hulu, or any other streaming apps on this device? I saw you takking about Beelink, is it much better than TX3? Thanks sir, noob here. Not Unix expert. 😅
Oh you are welcome....About Beelink versus Tanix devices.. To be fair, I can't categorically state that Beelink is miles better than Tanix, because I'm yet to personally play with either Tanix boxes. However, specs and features-wise? I can say that Beelink wins. You can triple boot OSes (Android, EmuELEC, CoreELEC) and there are a few verified custom ROMs for em. Kodi (my favorite app) also runs great on em. Using CoreELEC, you can have Netflix @1080p and DD audio on most Beelink boxes. Tanix? probably still the usual 540p max (i stand corrected if other owners can confirm otherwise). The major pro for Tanix devices at this time is that Asterruk Go app (with some hackery cuz rooted, etc) works on some of their boxes. Problem is, they'll only work until something is changed on Asterruk's end that makes them incompatible. So might not even work in a few days or weeks. Minix boxes used to be king and my default recommendation (for years) to those whose criteria is to run the Asterruk Go app. The app would be updated over and over again and yet Minix boxes would just update and keep playing smoothly. But then few months back.. Stuff got changed and they began experiencing problems.

Edit: Make that quad-booting capable. Manjaro Linux can now be used on Beelink boxes like the GT-King Pro and the GS-King X. It's currently in Alpha stage though. but for tinkerers like myself. This is excellent news. Means that with a little more time, I can turn the Beelink GS-King X into a full-fledged Linux powered NAS device. For now, that means ditching Android for good, cuz Manjaro needs to run off the on-board eMMc storage.. Eagerly awaiting USB/SD card bootable support. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 16 2020, 09:22 AM)
I use NordVPN but when connected to US server my Netflix won’t sign in. The VPN works on my Ipad/Iphone but not Android box. Not sure why, but its a really old box, Mini M8S. Been in service for few years and now its having infinity rebooting and can’t log in. That’s why I was considering Tanix, TX3 as a replacement. No money to get Nvidia and all thise high end brands. 😭
Try ExpressVPN bro.. I did and yep it works... Had to change system time and location stuff to match.. But yeah, it works.. Netflix, Disney+, HBO Max, Prime, etc.. Can view and watch all geo-locked stuff.. My next box review video will drop soon and you can see proof there. nod.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Nov 16 2020, 07:55 PM
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 12:08 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 16 2020, 09:50 AM)
Oh you are welcome....About Beelink versus Tanix devices.. To be fair, I can't categorically state that Beelink is miles better than Tanix, because I'm yet to personally play with either Tanix boxes. However, specs and features-wise? I can say that Beelink wins. You can triple boot OSes (Android, EmuELEC, CoreELEC) and there are a few verified custom ROMs for em. Kodi (my favorite app) also runs great on em. Using CoreELEC, you can have Netflix @1080p and DD audio on most Beelink boxes. Tanix? probably still the usual 540p max (i stand corrected if other owners can confirm otherwise). The major pro for Tanix devices at this time is that Asterruk Go app (with some hackery cuz rooted, etc) works on some of their boxes. Problem is, they'll only work until something is changed on Asterruk's end that makes them incompatible. So might not even work in a few days or weeks. Minix boxes used to be king and my default recommendation (for years) to those who's criteria is to run the Asterruk Go app. The app would be updated over and over again and yet Minix boxes would just update and keep playing smoothly. But then fee months back.. Stuff got changed and they began experiencing problems.

Edit: Make that quad-booting capable. Manjaro Linux can now be used on Beelink boxes like the GT-King Pro and the GS-King X. It's currently in Alpha stage though. but for tinkerers like myself. This is excellent news. Means that with a little more time, I can turn the Beelink GS-King X into a full-fledged Linux powered NAS device. For now, that means ditching Android for good, cuz Manjaro needs to run off the on-board eMMc storage.. Eagerly awaiting USB/SD card bootable support.  thumbup.gif
Try ExpressVPN bro.. I did and yep it works... Had to change system time and location stuff to match.. But yeah, it works.. Netflix, Disney+, HBO Max, Prime, etc.. Can view and watch all geo-locked stuff.. My next box review video will drop soon and you can see proof there.  nod.gif
Thanks for the great enlightenment bro. You sure are master of boxes!

Have yet to try Express VPN, but I have the same error at times using Nord. Asking me to change time and location. For time okay, I can comprehend but how do you change location? Blur...

h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 01:39 PM

163 posts

Plus another question, how do I know that Im connected to Netlix US, or South Korea etc? The only way I check now is by the availability of James Bond movies, which are available in US but not Malaysia. Hehe
Scissorshand
post Nov 16 2020, 02:53 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 16 2020, 12:08 PM)

Have yet to try Express VPN, but I have the same error at times using Nord. Asking me to change time and location. For time okay, I can comprehend but how do you change location? Blur...
Turn off the location in your box setting?
QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 16 2020, 01:39 PM)
Plus another question, how do I know that Im connected to Netlix US, or South Korea etc? The only way I check now is by the availability of James Bond movies, which are available in US but not Malaysia. Hehe
For me expressvpn is set in da box not at router hence you'll know where you are connect and which server....😆
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 03:20 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Nov 16 2020, 02:53 PM)

For me expressvpn is set in da box not at router hence you'll know where you are connect and which server....😆
I’ve just gotten my hand on ExpressVPN. But Netflix is giving me error, “You seem to be using an unblocker or proxy. Please turn off any of these services and try again.”

Haha GG...
xswatch
post Nov 16 2020, 03:33 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 16 2020, 03:20 PM)
I’ve just gotten my hand on ExpressVPN. But Netflix is giving me error, “You seem to be using an unblocker or proxy. Please turn off any of these services and try again.”

Haha GG...
that's weird. I've been using expressvpn & nordvpn since 2 years ago until today. with multiple phone, tablet & TV box. never encountered that error before.
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 03:39 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Nov 16 2020, 03:33 PM)
that's weird. I've been using expressvpn & nordvpn since 2 years ago until today. with multiple phone, tablet & TV box. never encountered that error before.
Yeah bro, it works fine on my iphone and ipad but not android box, which is very old, Mini M8S. Tried both Nord and ExpressVPN but doesnt work. Haizzzz.
Scissorshand
post Nov 16 2020, 04:32 PM

1,689 posts

Haha GG...
Connect to LA1 server and report back
Scissorshand
post Nov 16 2020, 04:34 PM

1,689 posts

[quote=h0inerve,Nov 16 2020, 03:39 PM]
Yeah bro, it works fine on my iphone and ipad but not android box, which is very old, Mini M8S. Tried both Nord and ExpressVPN but doesnt work. Haizzzz.

[/quote
For all others you may use Hollywood server except Netflix use LA1 server... Report back police you have tried
voncrane
post Nov 16 2020, 08:02 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 16 2020, 12:08 PM)

Haha GG...
Try this.. Uninstall the app, reboot and connect to ExpressVPN. Disable Location in settings (Won't work for Hulu or ESPN though...this will request access).. Mine's toggled on and okay je for Netflix. Then reinstall Netflix and log back in. Should be good now.

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 16 2020, 01:39 PM)
Yeah, that's the way to find out. Search for USA specific titles. My default is "Casper".. biggrin.gif
Scissorshand
post Nov 16 2020, 09:06 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 16 2020, 08:02 PM)
Try this.. Uninstall the app, reboot and connect to ExpressVPN. Disable Location in settings (Won't work for Hulu or ESPN though...this will request access).. Mine's toggled on and okay je for Netflix. Then reinstall Netflix and log back in. Should be good now.
That's weird... I've my location turned off yet have no problem assessing Hulu ESPN
Cendol_Pulut90
post Nov 16 2020, 11:39 PM

260 posts

Haha GG...
Close netflix app, Clear cache especially netflix, connect vpn, open netflix. I got problem like you for prime video and after clear cache all ok.
voncrane
post Nov 17 2020, 12:57 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Nov 16 2020, 09:06 PM)
That's weird... I've my location turned off yet have no problem assessing Hulu ESPN
Gee, good for you.. What device again? See around the 13:50 timestamp for ESPN, and 14:30 for Hulu.. It gets asked on the Beelink GS-King X. Prolly because it's running the mobile app version?? Cuz on your Mecool KM1 Deluxe running the ESPN ATV OS version. It doesn't request for it.. Just logon via PC, connect and boom...All access.. Video editing is a pain.. Hopefully I'll be done by Thursday night at the latest.. Upload full review then. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Cendol_Pulut90 @ Nov 16 2020, 11:39 PM)
Close netflix app, Clear cache especially netflix, connect vpn, open netflix. I got problem like you for prime video and after clear cache all ok.
Yeah.. Guess for some devices have to do this..

This post has been edited by voncrane: Nov 17 2020, 12:59 AM
h0inerve
post Nov 17 2020, 01:36 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Nov 16 2020, 02:53 PM)

I have tried this, but same result. I guess it has got to do with my old box. Stream installed HBO MAX on my TM Unifi Plus box and with VPN everything works fine. Perhaps I'll just have to wait for my TX3 to arrive and install there.

Thanks anyway bro for the advice!
h0inerve
post Nov 17 2020, 01:45 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 16 2020, 08:02 PM)
Yeah, that's the way to find out. Search for USA specific titles. My default is "Casper".. biggrin.gif
I will wait patiently for my X3 to reach me and try again bro. My Netflix on my Mini M8S is version/build 4.16, that's the highest it can go/support for the device. Maybe, somehow affecting all these. bruce.gif

I've just stream installed HBO MAX on my TM Unifi Plus Box, and using Nord I can watch HD movies and Series. Truly life changing. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
All these while, I was watching perhaps 720p or lower (due to Netflix version limitation, I guess) even I am subscribing to Full HD package. Any advice on how to watch Full HD on Netflix? (For my incoming TX3). Is there any Netflix HD version of app that I would need to install?

I tried using HULU just now, but it requested for my location, so that was such a waste. Any idea how to bypass this? cool2.gif
linkinstreet
post Nov 17 2020, 08:26 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 17 2020, 01:45 AM)
I will wait patiently for my X3 to reach me and try again bro. My Netflix on my Mini M8S is version/build 4.16, that's the highest it can go/support for the device. Maybe, somehow affecting all these.  bruce.gif

I've just stream installed HBO MAX on my TM Unifi Plus Box, and using Nord I can watch HD movies and Series. Truly life changing.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
All these while, I was watching perhaps 720p or lower (due to Netflix version limitation, I guess) even I am subscribing to Full HD package. Any advice on how to watch Full HD on Netflix? (For my incoming TX3). Is there any Netflix HD version of app that I would need to install?

I tried using HULU just now, but it requested for my location, so that was such a waste. Any idea how to bypass this?  cool2.gif

Netflix only allow certified devices to be able to stream full HD and above due to DRM agreement with some of the content providers. And majority of Chinese android boxes are not in the certified list.

Some that are running Android TV like the Mi Box and Mi Stick is certified and can run Netflix at Full HD

h0inerve
post Nov 17 2020, 09:50 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Nov 17 2020, 08:26 AM)
Netflix only allow certified devices to be able to stream full HD and above due to DRM agreement with some of the content providers. And majority of Chinese android boxes are not in the certified list.

Some that are running Android TV like the Mi Box and Mi Stick is certified and can run Netflix at Full HD
Thanks for the info bro. No wonder my TM Unifi plus box can’t use Netflix. I guess due to this... hmmm I guess I’ll stick to HBO MAX for Full HD experience then.
Scissorshand
post Nov 17 2020, 11:26 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 17 2020, 12:57 AM)
Gee, good for you.. What device again? See around the 13:50 timestamp for ESPN, and 14:30 for Hulu.. It gets asked on the Beelink GS-King X. Prolly because it's running the mobile app version?? Cuz on your Mecool KM1 Deluxe running the ESPN ATV OS version. It doesn't request for it.. Just logon via PC, connect and boom...All access.. Video editing is a pain.. Hopefully I'll be done by Thursday night at the latest.. Upload full review then. sweat.gif
KM3 KM9 boxes. Will watch your video above later when back home

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 17 2020, 01:36 AM)
I have tried this, but same result. I guess it has got to do with my old box. Stream installed HBO MAX on my TM Unifi Plus box and with VPN everything works fine. Perhaps I'll just have to wait for my TX3 to arrive and install there.

Thanks anyway bro for the advice!
Doubt you'll get pass Netflix 480p on any TX3 cos they ain't DRM L1 to begin with..

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: Nov 17 2020, 12:57 PM
likie3
post Nov 17 2020, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Nov 17 2020, 09:50 AM)
Thanks for the info bro. No wonder my TM Unifi plus box can’t use Netflix. I guess due to this... hmmm I guess I’ll stick to HBO MAX for Full HD experience then.
Try this apk bro on plusbox, im using this 1 and manage to get hd
http://www.mediafire.com/file/2qpt2m5hirc0...1%2529.apk/file
Scissorshand
post Nov 17 2020, 12:59 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(likie3 @ Nov 17 2020, 12:04 PM)
I can concur the above apk gets up to 1080p as I recalled for KM9 KM3 with DRM L1 ATV boxes but needs to pair with wireless mouse 😆

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: Nov 17 2020, 01:01 PM
voncrane
post Nov 19 2020, 02:41 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Hey all..Fresh off the oven. It's my review of the Google Certified Mecool KM1 Deluxe running Android TV OS...version 10 and all legit.. It's not as powerful as the S922X-H SoC equipped Beelink GS-King X.. But I can say it's a better streamer if one can overlook the few nit-picky cons and grey area stuffs. I welcome comments here and or on the video.. Thanks to Scissorshand for lending me his unit for this review. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Show some love y'all.. Enjoy!

h0inerve
post Dec 2 2020, 07:30 PM

163 posts

Omg, you’re a life saver bro. Just notice this, sorry for the late reply. I manage to install the apk on the Plusbox, finally without any error!

It prompted me to update tho after installing, can I update or just ignore? (Chose to ignore now).

Thank you so much. It can’t work with the VPN tho but at least Netflix is alive on the Unifi plusbox. Thank you sir!
voncrane
post Dec 2 2020, 08:20 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(h0inerve @ Dec 2 2020, 07:30 PM)
Omg, you’re a life saver bro. Just notice this, sorry for the late reply. I manage to install the apk on the Plusbox, finally without any error!

It prompted me to update tho after installing, can I update or just ignore? (Chose to ignore now).

Thank you so much. It can’t work with the VPN tho but at least Netflix is alive on the Unifi plusbox. Thank you sir!
Correct, always choose the ignore option.. Thankfully and unlike some services, Netflix doesn't yet force everyone to use the latest app version to view content.
vhs1
post Dec 4 2020, 01:51 PM

2,828 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 14 2020, 11:30 AM)
6 Years ago: Look for TV box based on technical performance (Chip Type/RAM/Reviews reference) , plan to learn all about KODI, Setting up the streaming source. Downloading the app (Kena Bayar) .... I Give Up .. That TV Box is gathering dust somewhere in the store.  bangwall.gif

Everything is still there but now got 2 more Naughty TV and VOD app  brows.gif

Conclusion: Being technical does not can't beat blind luck  doh.gif
What is naughty TV, vod app?

voncrane
post Dec 4 2020, 09:53 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Dec 4 2020, 01:51 PM)
What is naughty TV, vod app?
Most likely XXX rated stuff...
C-Note
post Dec 9 2020, 08:27 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Aug 1 2020, 12:55 PM)

Does myiptv4k work in other countries eg hk?
GuyM
post Dec 9 2020, 01:45 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 9 2020, 08:27 AM)
Does myiptv4k work in other countries eg hk?
You may try log in using vpn from other country to test
stormchaser
post Dec 10 2020, 09:13 AM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

yesterday they upgraded a new version... now all other apps cannot be accessed already.. or am i missing something?
voncrane
post Dec 10 2020, 01:28 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Dec 10 2020, 09:13 AM)
yesterday they upgraded a new version... now all other apps cannot be accessed already.. or am i missing something?
Erm...I think we are missing something from your post... Wrong thread?
vhs1
post Dec 10 2020, 07:38 PM

2,828 posts

What happen?
adamletham
post Dec 10 2020, 10:40 PM

30 posts

Looking to get a box to stream SyberTV. I don't have AOTG or Netflix.

Would you guys recommend Xiaomi Mi Box S or TX3/6/6S?
voncrane
post Dec 11 2020, 12:38 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(adamletham @ Dec 10 2020, 10:40 PM)
Looking to get a box to stream SyberTV. I don't have AOTG or Netflix.

Would you guys recommend Xiaomi Mi Box S or TX3/6/6S?
Want Netflix? Go with the Xiaomi Mi Box S...
Want AOTG with a bit more flexibility? Look into the Tanix devices.

I haven't tried SyberTV myself... But I reckon it'll fare better on a Tanix device than the Mi Box S.. I'm guessing regular Android OS would handle nicer.
ad2000
post Dec 11 2020, 12:20 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 11 2020, 12:38 AM)
Want Netflix? Go with the Xiaomi Mi Box S...
Want AOTG with a bit more flexibility? Look into the Tanix devices.

I haven't tried SyberTV myself... But I reckon it'll fare better on a Tanix device than the Mi Box S.. I'm guessing regular Android OS would handle nicer.
I concur ..Tested SyberTV and sideloaded it on my Shield and Beelink GT King..it will work on ATV but controls are finicky and limited. Normal android box works best

This post has been edited by ad2000: Dec 11 2020, 12:21 PM
Drian
post Dec 20 2020, 10:20 PM

4,999 posts

Do get the branded one , I bought Minix U9H which is a higher than average android box. Can't even use netflix and it had the typical android lag.

Bought the Apple TV4k , big difference in stability, smoothness and app support.

Only get those android box if you're planning on using it on jack sparrow channel.

voncrane
post Dec 21 2020, 01:39 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 20 2020, 10:20 PM)
Do get the branded one , I bought Minix U9H which is a higher than average android box. Can't even use netflix and it had the typical android lag.

Bought the Apple TV4k , big difference in stability, smoothness and app support.

Only get those android box if you're planning on using it on jack sparrow channel.
*Can't even use Netflix on it.. Can but you will be limited by the max res 540p.. Either that or you find some hacked apk to allow up to 1080p or more.. This is basic knowledge for all non-Netflix-certified devices. I always advise people who seek the best Netflix experience, to begin with their TVs. The built-in Netflix app on decent TVs works pretty well.

*Typical android lag.. I beg to disagree. Minix prides itself in shipping as close to vanilla Android as possible. Some custom ROM chefs actually "borrow" or convert their firmware to run on other non-Minix devices. Yes, they are that good. Perhaps you bought a Neo U9-h from some dunno seller who pre-installed crap apps and services which bogged down your system.. Well, that or user problem (we all learning).

*Bought Apple TV 4K and happy.. yeah sure, that is expected and I'm happy for you... Ultimately, you got what you wanted. There are limitations to using the Apple TV 4K box. Limitations that don't exist in the Android ecosystem. Perhaps you should compare an Apple TV 4K with the latest or heck older-gen Nvidia Shield TV Box (runs proper Android TV OS). I'm sure you'll also notice big differences in stability, smoothness, and app support...not only from the Minix Neo U9-H, but also when compared with the Apple TV 4K.

*Nope...Just like smartphones or computers. Android boxes have "levels". Exhibit A below.... The Beelink GT-King Pro & GS-King X I reviewed are even faster, although not Google certified. I installed plenty choice legit apps on both boxes and even dual-booted OS on the Beelink (which can run 5 different Operating Systems).. You can verify the absence of any "typical android lag". Trust me, a good box done right will serve you well.

cfc
post Dec 23 2020, 11:32 PM

440 posts

Does it need lvl1 certified TV box for this apk to work ?
I try on my s905x3 box.seems only can get SD. And it is kinda slow and laggy on the content / interface loading .
With coreelec , i can get HD720 with netflix , 1080 working partially but has frame drop issue.
xcrue
post Feb 7 2021, 10:29 PM

xcrue
2,150 posts

I think just get a lifetime apk from local Msia server easier 😅 no lag and 4k/6k Netflix

https://www.facebook.com/yolohomeofficial.m...158788726504795
StevenL
post Feb 8 2021, 11:58 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(xcrue @ Feb 7 2021, 10:29 PM)
I think just get a lifetime apk from local Msia server easier 😅 no lag and 4k/6k Netflix

How's your experience so far with this box? You mean this box can stream 6k Netflix?
voncrane
post Feb 8 2021, 11:09 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Dec 23 2020, 11:32 PM)
Does it need lvl1 certified TV box for this apk to work ?
I try on my s905x3 box.seems only can get SD. And it is kinda slow and laggy on the content / interface loading .
With coreelec , i can get HD720 with netflix , 1080 working partially but has frame drop issue.
Typically, yes one would need a Level 1 certified box.. Perhaps a SoC or device issue with CoreELEC? As I'm able to achieve smooth 1080p Netflix playback with the Beelink GS-King X.

QUOTE(xcrue @ Feb 7 2021, 10:29 PM)

Good for you... Works for some and not for others.

QUOTE(StevenL @ Feb 8 2021, 11:58 AM)
How's your experience so far with this box? You mean this box can stream 6k Netflix?
I think he probably meant some VOD content available with the service. Hard to get beyond 1080p Netflix on non-Netflix certified boxes.
sonicmaster
post Feb 13 2021, 01:49 PM

431 posts

Sorry I would like to know about Android box

For example, if I bought xiaomi tv box, can it install browser so I can watch on browser?

How bout those syber tv? Are those reliable with subscription or will it shutdown anything?

Or can buy tanix already enough?
voncrane
post Feb 13 2021, 04:46 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Feb 13 2021, 01:49 PM)
Sorry I would like to know about Android box

For example, if I bought xiaomi tv box, can it install browser so I can watch on browser?

How bout those syber tv? Are those reliable with subscription or will it shutdown anything?

Or can buy tanix already enough?
Yes, all boxes you can install a browser and watch stuff on the browser. Performance depends on the app and the box bought.

Sybertv is as reliable as they want to be reliable. Can work for the next decade or shutdown tomorrow.. You don’t have a say and your money is burnt.

Tanix boxes have different models.. Each model may or may not be enough for your purposes.

FYI...your questions are akin to asking..” If I buy a Perodua car, can I install tyres on it and still drive on the road?” Or “is a myvi enough car?” .... Hard to know if one doesn’t offer more information.
sonicmaster
post Feb 13 2021, 07:08 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 13 2021, 04:46 PM)
Yes, all boxes you can install a browser and watch stuff on the browser. Performance depends on the app and the box bought.

Sybertv is as reliable as they want to be reliable. Can work for the next decade or shutdown tomorrow.. You don’t have a say and your money is burnt.

Tanix boxes have different models.. Each model may or may not be enough for your purposes.

FYI...your questions are akin to asking..” If I buy a Perodua car, can I install tyres on it and still drive on the road?” Or “is a myvi enough car?” .... Hard to know if one doesn’t offer more information.
Sorry bro. Noted on it. In this case, I saw tons of video on how to sideload apps on mi tv stick and mi box s. I believe syber tv can run on both.

Can u advise are there huge difference on stick and mi box s? Since the price is Abit double.
voncrane
post Feb 14 2021, 10:11 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Feb 13 2021, 07:08 PM)
Sorry bro. Noted on it. In this case, I saw tons of video on how to sideload apps on mi tv stick and mi box s. I believe syber tv can run on both.

Can u advise are there huge difference on stick and mi box s? Since the price is Abit double.
Hey.. No need to apologize... We all learning here. Your earlier post only needed a little more clarity for a better response. Yeah, you can side-load many apps on to the Mi TV Stick or the Mibox or other Android TV boxes. However, just because one can install an app on a particular device, doesn't mean that it'll run the best on it. Think of it like games on PCs or Macs. Certain games have specific minimum requirements and will only run if one has those minimum hardware and software requirements. But even then, the difference between why a PC can run a game at 720p@30FPS max and another can run at 4K@120FPS, is the price. Often the phrase "Cheap thing no good, good thing no cheap" does apply here. The MiBox is much better than the Stick and that's why the pricing is different. For starters The same goes for other models' boxes. Doesn't always mean though that the most expensive is always the best choice for you either. Here's a quick list of differences between the Mi TV Stick & the Mi Box S 4K;

*Both have the same 8GB eMMC ROM, but the Stick only has 1GB DDR3 RAM vs 2GB DDR3 RAM on the Box.
*Maximum Resolution: 1080p@60FPS on the Stick VS 4K@60FPS on the Box... This is a major difference especially if you own a 4K display and would like to watch content in full 4K glory. No HDR on either though..AFAIK.
*Ports: Increased connectivity with the Box such as HDMI2.0a x 1, USB2.0 x 1, & Audio Out x 1.
From the above, I hope it is now easier to see that the Box is the better option between the 2. But ofcourse, I do encourage you to explore other options, especially if certified Netflix support isn't on your wishlist.

So regarding Syber TV. Unlike some "ehem" services which restrict usage outside their own hardware, Syber TV service allows their app to be installed and run on pretty much any compatible Android OS device. However, it is still up to you to have a fast & stable network. Preferably wired over wireless. The performance will still depend on the chosen box. So best to go with known brands than some no-name brand. Personally, I haven't tested Syber TV on any of the boxes I've reviewed, but I don't think they should have any issues. Perhaps sometime next week I'll try it out on my primary driver - the Beelink GS-King X, and report back. In the meantime, you can check my signature for links to my reviewed boxes, to see what boxes are capable of... I've got videos as well.. Give you a clearer image of exactly what can be done and what can't between boxes. Enjoy!

This post has been edited by voncrane: Feb 14 2021, 10:13 AM
dankch
post Feb 16 2021, 12:58 PM

55 posts

https://www.astroawani.com/berita-malaysia/...PushId=MTIwODE=
sonicmaster
post Feb 16 2021, 04:31 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 14 2021, 10:11 AM)
Hey.. No need to apologize... We all learning here. Your earlier post only needed a little more clarity for a better response. Yeah, you can side-load many apps on to the Mi TV Stick or the Mibox or other Android TV boxes. However, just because one can install an app on a particular device, doesn't mean that it'll run the best on it. Think of it like games on PCs or Macs. Certain games have specific minimum requirements and will only run if one has those minimum hardware and software requirements. But even then, the difference between why a PC can run a game at 720p@30FPS max and another can run at 4K@120FPS, is the price. Often the phrase "Cheap thing no good, good thing no cheap" does apply here. The MiBox is much better than the Stick and that's why the pricing is different. For starters The same goes for other models' boxes. Doesn't always mean though that the most expensive is always the best choice for you either. Here's a quick list of differences between the Mi TV Stick & the Mi Box S 4K;

*Both have the same 8GB eMMC ROM, but the Stick only has 1GB DDR3 RAM vs 2GB DDR3 RAM on the Box.
*Maximum Resolution: 1080p@60FPS on the Stick VS 4K@60FPS on the Box... This is a major difference especially if you own a 4K display and would like to watch content in full 4K glory. No HDR on either though..AFAIK.
*Ports: Increased connectivity with the Box such as HDMI2.0a x 1, USB2.0 x 1, & Audio Out x 1.
From the above, I hope it is now easier to see that the Box is the better option between the 2. But ofcourse, I do encourage you to explore other options, especially if certified Netflix support isn't on your wishlist.

So regarding Syber TV. Unlike some "ehem" services which restrict usage outside their own hardware, Syber TV service allows their app to be installed and run on pretty much any compatible Android OS device. However, it is still up to you to have a fast & stable network. Preferably wired over wireless. The performance will still depend on the chosen box. So best to go with known brands than some no-name brand. Personally, I haven't tested Syber TV on any of the boxes I've reviewed, but I don't think they should have any issues. Perhaps sometime next week I'll try it out on my primary driver - the Beelink GS-King X, and report back. In the meantime, you can check my signature for links to my reviewed boxes, to see what boxes are capable of... I've got videos as well.. Give you a clearer image of exactly what can be done and what can't between boxes. Enjoy!
Noted with the recommendation above. I would go for mi stick because tv is just fhd and it's cheaper. Lol start with cheaper price first.

MustyBalls92
post Mar 2 2021, 07:27 PM

111 posts

if you:

- want everything to *work*

- you pay for netflix, amazon prime tv, other service

- Own HDTV or 4K TV and want high quality media

don't buy the non official boxes or the "chinese ones". End up u pay for netflix, Disney+, Prime Tv for NOTHING. All will end streaming in 480p or NON HD. This no matter how hard u try, cannot fix.

I think this is the main point that new AndroidTV Box buyer should know.

if you pirate or have digital copy of a lot of shit on seperate hard drive/thumbdrive (movies, tv show) then I can see using the non *official* androidTV box.

This post has been edited by MustyBalls92: Mar 2 2021, 07:30 PM
KenYoung
post Mar 6 2021, 01:00 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(MustyBalls92 @ Mar 2 2021, 07:27 PM)
if you:

don't buy the non official boxes or the "chinese ones". End up u pay for netflix, Disney+, Prime Tv for NOTHING. All will  end streaming in 480p or NON HD. This no matter how hard u try, cannot fix.

if you pirate or have digital copy of a lot of shit on seperate hard drive/thumbdrive (movies,  tv show) then I can see using the non *official* androidTV box.
So what do u suggest?

I just got the Panasonic hx655 and I want to install more so I can watch more movies/shows... Currently only got Netflix

I thought the app called popcorn time could work but looks like not...
voncrane
post Mar 6 2021, 01:31 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Mar 6 2021, 01:00 PM)
So what do u suggest?

I just got the Panasonic hx655 and I want to install more so I can watch more movies/shows... Currently only got Netflix

I thought  the app called popcorn time could work but looks like not...
He mentioned some options d.. Plenty options out there.. Paid and free.. I posted a few on my channel. My Mecool KM1 review also shows a ton of media playback options. If anything, we are spoilt for choice today versus a decade ago. So much easier to be a cord-cutter now, just gotta put in some work. All links in my signature below.
KenYoung
post Mar 6 2021, 02:44 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 6 2021, 01:31 PM)
He mentioned some options d.. Plenty options out there.. Paid and free.. I posted a few on my channel. My Mecool KM1 review also shows a ton of media playback options. If anything, we are spoilt for choice today versus a decade ago. So much easier to be a cord-cutter now, just gotta put in some work. All links in my signature below.
Hi bro thanks for your reply... At the moment, I'm not looking for an external device.. Just looking at some apps I can install on the android TV to get additional options for movies and TV shows... Is that possible?

As I'm very new to all these and just got like my 1st TV after having not watch much TV in the past decade or 2... Do u think u can point me in the right direction? Does your channel have guides to what I'm looking for? Thanks man

I've tried installing express vpn for trial and connect on the US server... But seems that Netflix don't allow me to go on it if got vpn connected. Lol

This post has been edited by KenYoung: Mar 6 2021, 03:27 PM
voncrane
post Mar 6 2021, 03:06 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Mar 6 2021, 02:44 PM)
Hi bro thanks for your reply... At the moment, I'm not looking for an external device.. Just looking at some apps I can install on the android TV to get additional options for movies and TV shows... Is that possible?

As I'm very new to all these and just got like my 1st TV after having not watch much TV in the past decade or 2... Do u think u can point me in the right direction? Does your channel have guides to what I'm looking for? Thanks man
Yeah, I understood you the first time. Which was why I suggested you watch that particular review at least from the media playback area. I included time stamps in the description area to assist getting there fast. It shows some of the options available to all and what app offers what. The video is basically my answer for those who seek to know what an certified Google Android box is capable of. Then there are a few videos about Kodi too...Addons, how to setup, etc...

So it’s up to you to pick and choose which app and or service combinations will satisfy your media consumption needs. I’m not a wizard that can accurately tell you what you need. Rather, I prefer to develop in others a DIY approach to setting up a home entertainment setup. Hence noob-friendly guided tutorials. Trust me, it looks overwhelming now, but you’ll eventually get the hang of it. nod.gif
Thejs P
post Mar 6 2021, 10:34 PM

Probation
22 posts

Actually I am quite confused, how does Chromecast With Google TV compare to Android boxes?
https://store.google.com/product/chromecast...ecast_google_tv

Is it just the same but with the additional option to cast from other devices to the TV?
voncrane
post Mar 7 2021, 09:23 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Thejs @ Mar 6 2021, 10:34 PM)
Actually I am quite confused, how does Chromecast With Google TV compare to Android boxes?

Is it just the same but with the additional option to cast from other devices to the TV?
It’s all in the name.. CHROMECAST.... With the dongle? You primarily “cast” (thinking of it as “sharing media”) stuffs to it. Ideally using your phone or recently you can navigate independently with its physical remote control. It has limiting hardware and typically for those who want a simply fuss-free LEGIT streaming device... Plug in and it permanently stays plugged into a HDMI port awaiting commands as long as your tv is on too. What it does? It does really well. Sure, can be tweaked here, there, or hardware added to make it more versatile, but just don’t expect much more from it as is. If you want more? Should have gone with a proper box in the first place.

Most other boxes are box-shaped and not dongles. Come in various shapes and sizes.. Most packing significantly more hardware and more powerful specs too. Some boxes also come with the exact same or similar casting features as the Chromecast with Google TV. Of course, the User Interface might be different, but the underlying tech is the same. How a box performs in comparison varies from hardware to hardware.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Mar 7 2021, 09:27 AM
MustyBalls92
post Mar 7 2021, 05:13 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Thejs @ Mar 6 2021, 10:34 PM)

bro android tv with chromecast the new one with the remote is basically android tv box. Only difference is u need to figure out buy different dongle/wire if you want connect external USB drive.

almost all androidTV box that is "official" (when I mean official, i mean android tv box that can play netflix in HD, they have pass or contain security services from google) have cast ability (wireless mirror display from PC/Android).

the one you link here is OLD ONE. Only use for screen cast/mirroring.

get the NEW one. here https://www.whathifi.com/reviews/google-chr...-with-google-tv

This post has been edited by MustyBalls92: Mar 7 2021, 05:22 PM
MustyBalls92
post Mar 7 2021, 05:25 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Mar 6 2021, 01:00 PM)
So what do u suggest?

I thought  the app called popcorn time could work but looks like not...
you can install apps from your tv. Need to sign in with google account. Your TV got google playstore. As to how to watch movie for free, you can google it. I know for a fact that it works but obviously i cannot share here lol
Thejs P
post Mar 7 2021, 09:01 PM

Probation
22 posts

QUOTE(MustyBalls92 @ Mar 7 2021, 05:13 PM)
bro android tv with chromecast the new one with the remote is basically android tv box. Only difference is u need to figure out buy different dongle/wire if you want connect external USB drive.

almost all androidTV box that is "official" (when I mean official, i mean android tv box that can play netflix in HD, they have pass or contain security services from google) have cast ability (wireless mirror display from PC/Android).

the one you link here is OLD ONE. Only use for screen cast/mirroring.

get the NEW one. here https://www.whathifi.com/reviews/google-chr...-with-google-tv
Thanks for the advise,confused with the terms, didnt know the new one is basically an android tv box.

People seem to quote specs in TV boxes a bit. Why does that matter? I thought playing and streaming video is not very resource intensive.
voncrane
post Mar 7 2021, 09:06 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Thejs @ Mar 7 2021, 09:01 PM)
Thanks for the advise,confused with the terms, didnt know the new one is basically an android tv box.

People seem to quote specs in TV boxes a bit. Why does that matter? I thought playing and streaming video is not very resource intensive.
It depends on the media itself. Some such as H.265 Blurays remuxes or ISOs can be quite demanding. But I doubt you'd be messing with such at this time. Specs are important indicators of expected performance. Particularly for fast media playback after a FF/RW, app launch and close speeds, browsing, and emulator gaming.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Mar 7 2021, 09:08 PM
chickenriceboy
post Apr 23 2021, 03:57 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 7 2021, 09:06 PM)
It depends on the media itself. Some such as H.265 Blurays remuxes or ISOs can be quite demanding. But I doubt you'd be messing with such at this time. Specs are important indicators of expected performance. Particularly for fast media playback after a FF/RW, app launch and close speeds, browsing, and emulator gaming.
Spec is pretty useless regardless of which sales man is telling u . As long as your subscription or your media sources is via what platform ..

most times people use android box to watch movies and dramas , i dont think anyone is sane enough to play console games on a tv box which is crazy .because tv box dont have sufficient cooling .

SVI CLOUD, EVPAD ,LONGTV , i boite x

of the above listing ive owned both long tv and iboite x

Its the simplest box ever. just buy , connect to internet and tv and straight away watch using their proprietaty apps and VOD servers

No need to hassle through installation and hacks just to get the apps working . Most apps are torrent players or KODI which requires extensive installation

Some of the android tv boxes are no better than the android in the TV

so dont waste time
VOD boxes which ive listed down some comes with 4k content and have dolby atmos so no need to go figure out the spec s

Long tv although have the least amount of spec. but the content is very quick and fast

I ve owned those shoppee tv boxes and they are rubbish no mater what the specs.
voncrane
post Apr 23 2021, 07:56 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ Apr 23 2021, 03:57 PM)
Spec is pretty useless regardless of which sales man is telling u .   As long as your subscription or your media sources is via what platform ..

most times people use android box to watch movies and dramas , i dont think anyone is sane enough to play console games on a tv box which is crazy .because tv box dont have sufficient cooling .
SVI CLOUD, EVPAD ,LONGTV , i boite x

of the above listing ive owned both long tv and iboite x

Its the simplest box ever. just buy , connect to internet and tv and straight away watch using their proprietaty apps and VOD servers

No need to hassle through installation and hacks just to get the apps working . Most apps are torrent players or KODI which requires extensive installation

Some of the android tv boxes are no better than the android in the TV

so dont waste time
VOD boxes which ive listed down some comes with 4k content and have dolby atmos  so no need to go figure out the spec s
Long tv although have the least amount of spec. but the content is very quick and fast

I ve owned those shoppee tv boxes and they are rubbish no mater what the specs.
This is why you need to educate yourself first before commenting like an expert. Even I also don't dare to comment with the amount of confidence you are exhibiting AND I actually have legit experience with Android TV boxes of varying specs and capabilities. Here.. despite replying to you in the other thread.. let's learn a bit here too.
*Shopee DOES NOT make boxes.. No such thing as Shopee boxes.. Your highly touted boxes also sold on Shopee. So they rubbish too?
*Name a single model from those three brands that actually outputs Dolby ATMOS.. Show proofs please, as I would love to update my knowledge too.
*Apps are easily installed from the official Google Play Store or third-party store or heck, download on a USB drive or directly on the device for manual installations. With a decent internet connection AND a fast box (solid specs and firmware DOES matter), you'll be up and running in under a minute. So what's the "hassle" you talk about?
*Feel free to browse around the forums and you can find posts where people who bought certain pre-loaded boxes got fed up when those services break or stop working completely. Here's what I tell them.. Focus on getting a new box, install exactly what you need, and enjoy. if App A breaks or no longer works? Uninstall and install App B... rinse repeat as much as you want... Want easier? There's Kodi and you just play with addons je..
*Regarding cooling.. What to do... You have only dealt with crappy boxes & so I can understand your misgivings.. I've run the Beelink GS-King X all day 24/7 with ZERO cooling issues.. Gaming on it is sick too. You can check out my review videos to see what it's capable off.. Similarly, with the Mecool KM1 Deluxe I reviewed... here, for easier access.. i'll include the videos... You should try emulating the God of War: Chains of Olympus game using the PPSSPP Gold Emulator on an EVPAD box..See how well it plays.. tongue.gif

This is Part 2 of a 3 part series..

Want to know what a good box can do? Watch the videos and read the text reviews of the Beelink GS-King X (Android + NAS) TV Box (notice how much ventilation it has) and that of the Google Certified Mecool KM1 Deluxe 2020 (Actual 4K & not some fake 6K touting box) TV Box. Trust me when I say specs matter. You don't simply say all cars are the same and specs don't matter.. do you? Lastly, what if I told you, that you don't have to purchase a LongTV or EVPAD or whatever moniker "Lifetime IPTV Box" AND still get the same or perhaps better streaming service? Oh, I've got a video for that too.. I'm embedding the iOS version for visual effect because YouTube didn't flag it, unlike the Android-specific version which can be found here...

There are so many such services.. Different pricing, plans, service, etc.. So yeah, I'd rather buy and use a good box and just install any of these compatible services on it.. Its cheaper in some cases WITH significantly better hardware. Don't even get me started about hardware like the Nvidia Shield. Did you try that too and found it lacking? It is a box that CAN actually handle and output Dolby ATMOS & Dolby Vision easy... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Apr 23 2021, 07:58 PM
atisha
post Apr 24 2021, 02:00 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(MustyBalls92 @ Mar 7 2021, 05:25 PM)
you can install apps from your tv. Need to sign in with google account. Your TV got google playstore. As to how to watch movie for free, you can google it. I know for a fact that  it works but obviously i cannot share here lol
I've a Panasonic smart TV but it doesn't have Google playstore only its own app store which is appalling. The only thing that I use are netflix and YouTube..
Please recommend a good reliable option - be it a TV box - if so the brand or supplier. Basically I want a reliable TVbox that can view 4k content. Best if pre installed with useful apps giving me access to good korean drama and has express vpn with netfliX...

atisha
post Apr 24 2021, 02:06 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(MustyBalls92 @ Mar 2 2021, 07:27 PM)
if you:

don't buy the non official boxes or the "chinese ones". End up u pay for netflix, Disney+, Prime Tv for NOTHING. All will  end streaming in 480p or NON HD. This no matter how hard u try, cannot fix.

if you pirate or have digital copy of a lot of shit on seperate hard drive/thumbdrive (movies,  tv show) then I can see using the non *official* androidTV box.
If I had already downloaded movies and TVshows then I wouldn't even need a TVbox. Just plug thumbdrive into the TV and watch..
voncrane
post Apr 25 2021, 08:43 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(atisha @ Apr 24 2021, 02:00 PM)
I've a Panasonic smart TV but it doesn't have Google playstore only its own app store which is appalling. The only thing that I use are netflix and YouTube..
Please recommend a good reliable option - be it a TV box - if so the brand or supplier. Basically I want a reliable TVbox that can view 4k content. Best if pre installed with useful apps giving me access to good korean drama and has express vpn with netfliX...
QUOTE(atisha @ Apr 24 2021, 02:06 PM)
If I had already downloaded movies and TVshows then I wouldn't even need a TVbox. Just plug thumbdrive into the TV and watch..
I suggest you head over to the Unofficial “official” Android TV boxes thread. Tons of useful info there including device suggestions.
Scissorshand
post Apr 25 2021, 11:08 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(atisha @ Apr 24 2021, 02:00 PM)
I've an LCD Toshiba ZV non smart paired to atv boxes for years now. Perhaps you may consider KM2 Mecool latest box as it may just meet your requirement without hurting your pocket while being reliable with stable firmware
numbbell
post Apr 26 2021, 01:27 AM

103 posts

my wife wanted to watch chinese dramas, hk, china n others, can i buy any box n install myself or just buy preloaded but suspiciously as to whether it works. its been years since i last played kodi or xbmc as was bz wt work. i saw many boxes for sale on net n wl read thru this thread for preferred box or any recommended box? i myself wont be using it as i am mostly on computer.
thx in advance.
chickenriceboy
post Apr 26 2021, 12:34 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(numbbell @ Apr 26 2021, 01:27 AM)
my wife wanted to watch chinese dramas, hk, china n others, can i buy any box n install myself or just buy preloaded but suspiciously as to whether it works. its been years since i last played kodi or xbmc as was bz wt work. i saw many boxes for sale on net n wl read thru this thread for preferred box or any recommended box? i myself wont be using it as i am mostly on computer.
thx in advance.
i

i would recommend SVI Cloud or EVPAD or LONGTV that is already preloaded with their own propeirtary apps and your MAC Address is registered on their server

that way u dont have to mess around installation . The apps available on google playstore or apk s are generally just streeaming like buffer and is not real streaming VOD content

I myself have earlier installed these apps on android tv boxes and still encountered slow buffering

voncrane
post Apr 26 2021, 01:21 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(numbbell @ Apr 26 2021, 01:27 AM)
thx in advance.
Hi... Kindly go back one page to my previous post.. Yes, you can buy ANY good box and still achieve your requirements. App or Kodi addon Installation only takes a few seconds. Better to have a good box and know exactly what's in it and how to maintain it, than to be chained to any one particular provider with far less than the ideal box.

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ Apr 26 2021, 12:34 PM)
i

i would recommend SVI Cloud or EVPAD or LONGTV that is already preloaded with their own propeirtary apps and your MAC Address is registered on their server

that way u dont have to mess around installation . The apps available on google playstore or apk s are generally just streeaming like buffer and is not real streaming VOD content

I myself have earlier installed these apps on android tv boxes and still encountered slow buffering
I'm still waiting for your reply to my comments.
chickenriceboy
post Apr 26 2021, 02:59 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 26 2021, 01:21 PM)
Hi... Kindly go back one page to my previous post.. Yes, you can buy ANY good box and still achieve your requirements. App or Kodi addon Installation only takes a few seconds. Better to have a good box and know exactly what's in it and how to maintain it, than to be chained to any one particular provider with far less than the ideal box.
I'm still waiting for your reply to my comments.
Nobody wanna bother with KODI technical installation details and etc. All people wanna do is to buy the box , connect to the internet and watch dramas and movies. If there is any problem just call the box customer service and reset the app . The content in these VOD servers are faster and reuires less know how ..

I have kodi boxes in all my linux maker boards but the sources keep getting shutdown so time wasting .

I dont have to create a youtube channel trying to sounds like an expert ...and trying to direct all users in lowyat to your channel in the hope of bolstering more followers . If your youtube cant generate organic following . no amount of "expert" advices u dish out here will ever do that for your channel.

my confidence is based on me using all these boxes before and getting burned by the amount of time that is wasted just to watch free content . My discovery of vod boxes is so enlightening as I could just get the VOD boxes as I want . plug in internet and watch the content . Sometimes i could even make request to these platform to upload the movie i wanna watch for free . I dont have to resort to pay monthly subscription

Of course at the moment no all VOD boxes can output 4k quality videos and hence netflix original subscription is paid for to watch in smart tv apps.

but on other channels i use these readily available out of the box offerings. which is so easily maintained .

This post has been edited by chickenriceboy: Apr 26 2021, 03:07 PM
numbbell
post Apr 27 2021, 12:00 AM

103 posts

tq voncrane and chickenriceboy. both options are good and appreciated.
as to these SVI Cloud or EVPAD or LONGTV how much it cost? wifi stable? cos room quite far from router.
voncrane, i'll scroll back and check it out. tqvm

i may buy 1 for myself (must hv 5.1 surround at least) cos old tv box usb port problem and play around as suggested by voncrane and another for my wife w/o fuss as recommended by chickenriceboy.

This post has been edited by numbbell: Apr 27 2021, 12:05 AM
AVFAN
post Apr 27 2021, 12:39 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(numbbell @ Apr 27 2021, 12:00 AM)
i may buy 1 for myself (must hv 5.1 surround at least) cos old tv box usb port problem and play around as suggested by voncrane and another for my wife w/o fuss as recommended by chickenriceboy.
the audio part... may be disappointing to u.

android boxes are primarily built to to stream VIDEO, not much attention to audio.

plus, most of the streams, incl free/illegit ones are 1.0, or stereo at best like in youtube.

astrogo, unifiplaytv are 1.0.

only netflix in approved boxes will give u DD5.1 or higher.

for local playback, depends on your source; and box capability... varies a lot depending on price, brand, model... from DD5.1, DTS to Atmos, DTSX.

lastly, for china tv dramas, you can check out browser based sites, which work on both android and windows.

google gimy tv, olevod tv, pianku tv... u see what i mean.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 27 2021, 12:55 AM
numbbell
post Apr 27 2021, 01:01 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 27 2021, 01:39 AM)
the audio part... may be disappointing to u.

android boxes are primarily built to to stream VIDEO, not much attention to audio.

plus, most of the streams, esp free ones are 1.0, at best stereo like in youtube.

only netflix in approved boxes will give u DD5.1 or higher.

for local playback, there are all kinds... capability varies a lot depending on price, brand, model... from DD5.1 to Atmos, DTSX.
lastly, for china tv dramas, you can try browser based sites, which work on both android or windows.

google gimy tv, olevod tv, pianku tv... u see what i mean.
thx for yr reply n directions. exactly my thots on sound system. my old media player serves my purpose but hv not been using past 3 years cos usb port issue as i plugged in hard disk. mostly i dwnld wt the best possible audio n watch as w/o good surround i rather not watch except dramas. noob question, whats local playback?
AVFAN
post Apr 27 2021, 08:28 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(numbbell @ Apr 27 2021, 01:01 AM)
thx for yr reply n directions. exactly my thots on sound system. my old media player serves my purpose but hv not been using past 3 years cos usb port issue as i plugged in hard disk. mostly i dwnld wt the best possible audio n watch as w/o good surround i rather not watch except dramas. noob question, whats local playback?
local playback = playback from yr own hdd, either via usb or hdd slotted into device compartment.

if u r demanding on audio and yr home theater is good, even netflix dd5.1 will not satisfy u, let alone lousy 1.0 sound.

watching a blockbuster is no fun if audio is crap; to me, min dd+, dtshdma, ddtruehd preferred. tongue.gif

which is why for me, i only watch live tv streams like astrogo on box as the audio doesn't matter much.

good shows, i go for local playback; of course... source, player and home theater must all be capable.
numbbell
post Apr 27 2021, 02:23 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 27 2021, 09:28 AM)
local playback = playback from yr own hdd, either via usb or hdd slotted into device compartment.

if u r demanding on audio and yr home theater is good, even netflix dd5.1 will not satisfy u, let alone lousy 1.0 sound.

watching a blockbuster is no fun if audio is crap; to me, min dd+, dtshdma, ddtruehd preferred. tongue.gif

which is why for me, i only watch live tv streams like astrogo on box as the audio doesn't matter much.

good shows, i go for local playback; of course... source, player and home theater must all be capable.
couldnt agree more wt yr comment. tq

voncrane
post Apr 29 2021, 08:44 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ Apr 26 2021, 02:59 PM)
Nobody wanna bother with KODI technical installation details and etc. All people wanna do is to buy the box , connect to the internet and watch dramas and movies. If there is any problem just call the box customer service and reset the app .  The content in these VOD servers are faster and reuires less know how ..

I have kodi boxes in all my linux maker boards but the sources keep getting shutdown so time wasting .
I dont have to create a youtube channel trying to sounds like an expert ...and trying to direct all users in lowyat to your channel in the hope of bolstering more followers . If your youtube cant generate organic following . no amount of "expert"  advices u dish out here will ever do that for your channel.
my confidence is based on me using all these boxes before and getting burned by the amount of time that is wasted just to watch free content .  My discovery of vod boxes is so enlightening as I could just get the VOD boxes as I want . plug in internet and watch the content . Sometimes i could even make request to these platform to upload the movie i wanna watch for free . I dont have to resort to pay monthly subscription  

Of course at the moment no all VOD boxes can output 4k quality videos and hence netflix original subscription is paid for to watch in smart tv apps.

but on other channels i use these readily available out of the box offerings. which is so easily maintained .
See, that''s the difference between you and I.. You talk so much as if you know stuff but inside your talking, can see many loopholes d.. Perhaps you should stop digging that hole even more. I only asked the forummer to check the previous page because i already did the explanations. similarly for the videos.. i honestly don't care for clout.. if you have any idea who I am online.. You'd know that I've been dabbling in all this since you got your first box or before Android was even a thing. So yeah, just cause you fancy a particular method doesn't mean the basics is wrong. You repeatedly mentioned that those plug n play boxes give you Dolby ATMOS and I asked you to put your money where your mouth is.. Tell me a single... JUST ONE of those type of boxes that is capable of doing that. Till today, you can't even name one.. Now you talk about having Linux maker boards? Bruh pls, a tinkerer would know better. Which is, get a good device, then bend it to your will..

Lastly, I'll say it again.. All those evpad, longtv, svi cloud, etc.. All they do is take the same box you can buy yourself (or better) and slap on their brand on it.. Load up some software and hook up some servers.. They then charge you a premium for "plug n play". Guess who can achieve the exact same thing without buying a crapy box? Hundreds of thousands of users who bought a decent box.. Install a similar app and hit play.. No difference, but at least the latter aren't stupid enough to think that only evpads-type devices are good.

How's your search going for MyIPTV4K? Have you finally found that evpads are crap and you could do better with another service? oMG... Wonder if you should have just bought ..oh I don't know.. a non-evpad device and just slapped on an ehem IPTV/VOD source onto it.. Don't worry, once I'm doing reviewing another IPTV+VOD service. I promise to review MyIPTV4K's service for you. I'll do that free of charge and you don't need to visit my channel to see how well it works.. Oh wait, you will anyways cuz you like thousands of others (who decided ontheir own to watch or read my reviews). I got into the YouTube game by others request..I figured if I know these stuff and rather than having to keep repeating myself over and over again in text.. i can just make a video or 2 and direct people to them.. FYI, Youtube doesn't and hasn't paid me a single sen for all the work I have on there.. So what I do is not for the money. You don't even see my face.. So it's not for the fame either. That my dear, IS by my own design. Trust me, there are plenty of other things i can do IRL than spending days researching stuff and long nights audio and video editing. So that pretenders like you can appear smart. Ask around even on XDA who voncrane is and how far back he's been tinkering.. You'll be surprised at the response you get.

P.S. There is no such thing as a Kodi box.... much less Kodi boxes in linux maker boards. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(numbbell @ Apr 27 2021, 12:00 AM)
tq voncrane and chickenriceboy. both options are good and appreciated.
as to these  SVI Cloud or EVPAD or LONGTV how much it cost? wifi stable? cos room quite far from router.
voncrane, i'll scroll back and check it out. tqvm

You are much welcome.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Apr 29 2021, 08:47 PM
~Curious~
post May 4 2021, 01:51 PM

1,744 posts

Hi,Ive been looking to get an Android box as I ditched Xstro and their repetitive screenings.
My requirements:
R1. I just want to watch movies, dramas and some variety shows eg korean, hong kong, china, singaporean. with English suubs preferably.
R2. Should support 5G wifi as I installed some other devices which run 5G so i turned off 2.4G to reduce interference.
R3. I don regard myself as techy but can do with sufficient instructions =P

TV boxes I'm looking at:
P1. TIVO 4k Stream
P2. EVPad 5S
P3. TX6 4GB RAM + 64GB ROM

Option P1 seems pretty straightforward too in that it has its own app to consolidate all the channels.
Option P2 is the easiest as its plug-n-play, and needs no further subscriptions and stuff - everything pre-installed and setup and best things is auto-update where I don't have to manually update if a source is shut down (or at least that's wad i was told).
Option P3 seems to be the best price point. I havent looked into it in detail.

Please advise me:
1. if 2GB RAM is sufficient to run the boxes smoothly
2. Does android version of the boxes matter significantly?wad r d benefits of using a newer android version?
3. I like Option P2 but the price tag is woah.
4. Im open to suggestions of other boxes to explore.

StevenL
post May 4 2021, 03:37 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ May 4 2021, 01:51 PM)
Hi,Ive been looking to get an Android box as I ditched Xstro and their repetitive screenings.
My requirements:
R1. I just want to watch movies, dramas and some variety shows eg korean, hong kong, china, singaporean. with English suubs preferably.
R2. Should support 5G wifi as I installed some other devices which run 5G so i turned off 2.4G to reduce interference.

TV boxes I'm looking at:
P1. TIVO 4k Stream
P2. EVPad 5S

Option P1 seems pretty straightforward too in that it has its own app to consolidate all the channels.
Option P2 is the easiest as its plug-n-play, and needs no further subscriptions and stuff - everything pre-installed and setup and best things is auto-update where I don't have to manually update if a source is shut down (or at least that's wad i was told).

Please advise me:
2. Does android version of the boxes matter significantly?wad r d benefits of using a newer android version?

2/16 gb is suffice for norm streaming incl 4k Netflix provided it has stable firmware. Question is you do Netflix Disney Astro etc or non of it? Do you need 4k stream? Most box can do 5g but distance box fro router affects the connection so best get box with MIMU capability
chickenriceboy
post May 4 2021, 04:16 PM

137 posts

My requirements:

TV boxes I'm looking at:
P1. TIVO 4k Stream
P2. EVPad 5S

Please advise me:

2GB is more than enough cause u dont multitask with your box . The more important thing is wheher your source is stable enough .
~Curious~
post May 4 2021, 07:53 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 4 2021, 03:37 PM)
2/16 gb is suffice for norm streaming incl 4k Netflix provided it has stable firmware. Question is you do Netflix Disney Astro etc or non of it? Do you need 4k stream? Most box can do 5g but distance box fro router affects the connection so best get box with MIMU capability
that would be TIVO..i dun think Ill be needing disney and astro..netflix maybe in d future

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ May 4 2021, 04:16 PM)
2GB is more than enough cause u dont multitask with your box .  The more important thing is wheher your source is stable enough .
ooh yah i hate having to look for new sources oce an existing one is shutdown..
AVFAN
post May 4 2021, 08:03 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ May 4 2021, 07:53 PM)
that would be TIVO..i dun think Ill be needing disney and astro..netflix maybe in d future
if u r new to all these boxes, u need to read a LOT MORE.

netflix... if u have a smart tv that can do it, forget the rest - will be troublesome or cost u a bit.

disney - they haven't launched here yet... u need do something extra... VPN, dubious subscription, etc.

astro - u can use astrogo wih a compatible device and your fren's id/pw if u can find - this is legal and legit.

well... if u r looking for PAID illegal/illegit stuff, i can't help, others maybe can.

just remember and understand that if u go for paid illegal/illegit, u get no help or refund if they F up...
numbbell
post May 5 2021, 02:38 AM

103 posts

oic voncrane you're in xda. will look into yr threads over there. i was there too during early days of android flashing. long time didnt visit.
StevenL
post May 5 2021, 10:28 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ May 4 2021, 07:53 PM)
go with evpad then tongue.gif
chickenriceboy
post May 5 2021, 11:14 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 4 2021, 08:03 PM)

netflix... if u have a smart tv that can do it, forget the rest - will be troublesome or cost u a bit.

disney - they haven't launched here yet... u need do something extra... VPN, dubious subscription, etc.

astro - u can use astrogo wih a compatible device and your fren's id/pw if u can find - this is legal and legit.
well... if u r looking for PAID illegal/illegit stuff, i can't help, others maybe can.

just remember and understand that if u go for paid illegal/illegit, u get no help or refund if they F up...
not true . just get paid illegal stuff from a shop and they be more than happy to help you out .

chickenriceboy
post May 5 2021, 11:15 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 5 2021, 10:28 AM)
agree . less hassle and you can straight away used without much hassle .. Do test a few more boxes like that besides evpad .

voncrane
post May 6 2021, 02:05 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

My requirements:

TV boxes I'm looking at:
P1. TIVO 4k Stream
P2. EVPad 5S

Please advise me:

People have answered you d.. But here goes anyways..

1. yes it can be provided you are using a good box with a solid firmware. i used to use Minix hardware. Till date, Miinix still ships devices with just 2GB RAM.. DDR3 even.. (example the Neo T5) How they get away with it? It's all in their firmware and cooling..Superb. Used 3 different Minix models in the past and never had issues with em with "regular stuff". So yes it's okay. Although it's 2021. I'd do better if i can.
2. Yes it does... Typically you should be good with at least Lollipop and up. However, Android 10 or 20 on a shitty box will always be the worse option than Android 8/9 running on a solid box with a solid firmware... True story. These are not mobile phones.. They are media playback devices. I make my decisions based on what they can do and do very well than just the Android version. The Neo T5 ships with Android 9.0 Pie..
3. The price tag is WHOA for one reason alone.. Profit!!...They take generic hardware, slap their skins la, app la and call it theirs.. Good luck.. tongue.gif
4. You can check out my signature for real world reviews of boxes I've tested.. Find one that meets your budgets and requirements? Just pull the trigger.. On the other hand, it won't hurt like AVFAN suggested to read up a tad more to know what exactly you are getting yourself into..

P.S. Focus on getting a good box..You want to do the exact same thing that hundreds of thousands are already doing. It's not rocket science.. Box, find service (paid or free)... Install.. sit back and enjoy.. brows.gif

QUOTE(numbbell @ May 5 2021, 02:38 AM)
oic voncrane you're in xda. will look into yr threads over there. i was there too during early days of android flashing. long time didnt visit.
Yeah...But same here..although my noise-making days there are over...More fam oriented.. haha.. Playing IRL more now.

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 5 2021, 10:28 AM)
I see what you did there.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: May 6 2021, 02:09 AM
voncrane
post May 6 2021, 11:06 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

To all interested and particularly ~Curious~ & chickenriceboy, I just uploaded a full review and demo of the Cobra4TV IPTV & VOD service. It would also interest y'all to know that proprietary OS-powered TVs (I just love Sammy & LG TVs...their OSes are superb) are supported. With just a tiny setup...You don't even need to purchase an external box to enjoy such services. Just turn on your TV, load the installed app, and boom, you are in... Can see that around the 22:00 timing in the video below.

P.S. Sharing yeah.. Not blindly promoting... I welcome any questions or concerns regarding the service. However, best to comment over at the dedicated thread la.. So not off-topic here... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: May 6 2021, 11:07 AM
GuyM
post May 6 2021, 12:05 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 6 2021, 11:06 AM)

P.S. Sharing yeah.. Not blindly promoting... I welcome any questions or concerns regarding the service. However, best to comment over at the dedicated thread la.. So not off-topic here... notworthy.gif
$35 for 6 mth subs with 4k channels?

chickenriceboy
post May 6 2021, 01:02 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 6 2021, 11:06 AM)
To all interested and particularly ~Curious~ & chickenriceboy, I just uploaded a full review and demo of the Cobra4TV IPTV & VOD service. It would also interest y'all to know that proprietary OS-powered TVs (I just love Sammy & LG TVs...their OSes are superb) are supported. With just a tiny setup...You don't even need to purchase an external box to enjoy such services. Just turn on your TV, load the installed app, and boom, you are in... Can see that around the 22:00 timing in the video below.

no different than other VOD boxes . interfaces loooks really rudimentary . also hosting illegal feeds as other vod boxes.
voncrane
post May 7 2021, 07:07 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ May 6 2021, 12:05 PM)
$35 for 6 mth subs with 4k channels?
TBH...I'm yet to have seen any actual legit 4K live TV stream on this service and boy I have looked...Plenty 1080p and 720p..Will keep searching and I told em to buck up that part. And yes, 35 for 6 months and 50 for a year. I reckon they be expecting people to sub to the cheaper annual plan..

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ May 6 2021, 01:02 PM)
no different than other VOD boxes . interfaces loooks really rudimentary . also hosting illegal feeds as other vod boxes.
Ahhh... You begin to get the point. Perhaps now you'll believe people say there's not much special about those eh boxes you strongly promote. There are many more services like this out there. one only knows where to look and how to get em on their device. On the plus side, services like Cobra4TV allow multiple device usage. Not just stuck or bound to single device usage. I can stream on my phone, TV, tablet, laptop, mac, etc.. anytime anywhere. As for hosting illegal feeds. Memang la.. Do you think EVPAD or LongTV, etc all are legal? lol.. Only services like Asterruk, BBC, FuboTV, Hulu, etc all are legal.
GuyM
post May 7 2021, 09:42 PM

1,787 posts

Are there plenty of 1080 channels and true 1080 quality?
voncrane
post May 7 2021, 10:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ May 7 2021, 09:42 PM)
Are there plenty of 1080 channels and true 1080 quality?
I would say yes, and stable.. Perhaps you tell which channels you are interested in and I can check if available & their resolution for you.
furynicotine P
post May 17 2021, 06:08 PM

Probation

If you're new to IPTV boxes, I would strongly recommend SuperBox S2 Pro, it's one of the most user-friendly tv box, and the best gift for parents.
https://mysuperboxtv.com/
AVFAN
post May 25 2021, 03:12 PM

24,448 posts

Malaysia’s Intellectual Property High Court declares the sale of illicit streaming devices as illegal
https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...ices-as-illegal
StevenL
post May 25 2021, 03:43 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 25 2021, 03:12 PM)
Malaysia’s Intellectual Property High Court declares the sale of illicit streaming devices as illegal
https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...ices-as-illegal
every now and then there'll be this article. Truth is lzd, shoppee, fb, ig filled with this boxes loaded with streaming apps... gvmnt should hold lzd shoppee liable for allowing this to be promoted via their website
AVFAN
post May 25 2021, 04:00 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 25 2021, 03:43 PM)
every now and then there'll be this article. Truth is lzd, shoppee, fb, ig filled with this boxes loaded with streaming apps... gvmnt should hold lzd shoppee liable for allowing this to be promoted via their website
slowly but surely... more laws get passed, enacted, gazetted.

then the prosecutors will come down on them with steel claws.
eddydo
post May 27 2021, 07:26 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

Found that this thread is more active than the other one that I posted my comments at hence reposting it here:

Bought SVIgo for a week ago and realize that most subs are in chinese, any other platforms which have up to date movies with subs in english?

This post has been edited by eddydo: May 27 2021, 07:27 AM
Scissorshand
post May 27 2021, 02:33 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ May 27 2021, 07:26 AM)
Found that this thread is more active than the other one that I posted my comments at hence reposting it here:

Bought SVIgo for a week ago and realize that most subs are in chinese, any other platforms which have up to date movies with subs in english?
depends on what chinese content u watching... dramacool, duboku, langlangbay all free to install in kodi has both, go google if need to to install
jibpek
post Jan 6 2022, 09:57 AM

706 posts

Guys, can I use Xiaomi TVBOX here in Malaysia? I saw the comment was extremely good, and with built in 5G support as well.

I am buying this for my parent. They are now saying temporary with my brother until May. We have been applying for UNIFI for a year but no port until now.
Philippng
post Jan 6 2022, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(jibpek @ Jan 6 2022, 09:57 AM)
Guys, can I use Xiaomi TVBOX here in Malaysia? I saw the comment was extremely good, and with built in 5G support as well.

I am buying this for my parent. They are now saying temporary with my brother until May. We have been applying for UNIFI for a year but no port until now.
Hi bros, i never like Xiaomi. I have the experience to help setup one Xiaomi china version. First it lag after some app has been installed. Then installing app from the app store
and from other sources (many app missing or not supported)

However, it is cheaper compare to other type of box.

To resolve how you could installed apk, installed x-plore file manager first. Then you can use x-plore to link to your google drive.
This way you can place all your apk on the google drive then installed the app from the drive

Hope this help you.
jibpek
post Jan 6 2022, 04:27 PM

706 posts

QUOTE(Philippng @ Jan 6 2022, 04:17 PM)
Hi bros, i never like Xiaomi. I have the experience to help setup one Xiaomi china version. First it lag after some app has been installed. Then installing app from the app store
and from other sources (many app missing or not supported)

However, it is cheaper compare to other type of box.

To resolve how you could installed apk, installed x-plore file manager first. Then you can use x-plore to link to your google drive.
This way you can place all your apk on the google drive then installed the app from the drive

Hope this help you.
Thanks for the info. I used my friend's Xiaomi box in China and it was excellent, maybe not outside of China.

May I know which one is good for Malaysia market? It will be better if it has built in 4G support.
phoonCK P
post Feb 5 2022, 07:32 AM

Probation

Regarding the earlier discussions here about IPTV services that do not need TV boxes, they were actually available and running in the US, UK and EU for years already.

Asia is still kinda backward in terms of using 'IPTV'. Asians, til now, are still buying the TV Boxes to stream Live TV and VODs.

The fact is, for the western part of the world, IPTV users just have to download APPs on their SmartTVs, AndroidTVs, Android phones & devices, iOS phones & devices, TV sticks, MacOS laptops, tablets & desktops, and Windows OS laptops, tablets & desktops and the next thing to do is to find a reliable IPTV content provider.

For me, gone were the days where I keep buying TV boxes and only to have them unusable after a couple of months or a year, or unresponsive support teams.

I'd recommend PandoraTV which I've been using for 4 years and going!

However, if you're looking for mostly Asian content, then PandoraTV isn't the right fit for you.

But, if you're looking for live sports, news, documentaries, entertainment shows, and VODs from the US, UK, EU and other major paid-streaming giants, then PandoraTV may just be your perfect choice!

PM me for links as I'm unable to post links just yet ^^
rompers
post Dec 28 2022, 03:03 PM

76 posts

Hi Everyone,

Merry Christmas and advanced Happy New Year to all.

It's turning 2023 soon and I'm just wondering if there are any updated/latest TV Box and/or IPTV suggestions from sifus here.

I'm currently running a Xiaomi Mi-TV Stick, but am hoping to 'upgrade' to something better where I can watch Live Sports + Movies/Dramas-on-Demand (mostly US, UK, Korean) + Documentaries.

As with most of us, a one-time investment with free-for-life viewing would be preferred, but I am okay with paying an annual subscription of < RM 200 (if such subscription guarantees uninterrupted viewing).

Any recommendations from sifus here will be greatly appreciated.
Seng89
post Dec 28 2022, 09:33 PM

2,687 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Dec 28 2022, 03:03 PM)
Hi Everyone,

Merry Christmas and advanced Happy New Year to all.

It's turning 2023 soon and I'm just wondering if there are any updated/latest TV Box and/or IPTV suggestions from sifus here.

I'm currently running a Xiaomi Mi-TV Stick, but am hoping to 'upgrade' to something better where I can watch Live Sports + Movies/Dramas-on-Demand (mostly US, UK, Korean) + Documentaries.

As with most of us, a one-time investment with free-for-life viewing would be preferred, but I am okay with paying an annual subscription of < RM 200 (if such subscription guarantees uninterrupted viewing).

Any recommendations from sifus here will be greatly appreciated.
I'm looking for 1 too..
rompers
post Dec 29 2022, 02:03 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(phoonCK @ Feb 5 2022, 07:32 AM)
Regarding the earlier discussions here about IPTV services that do not need TV boxes, they were actually available and running in the US, UK and EU for years already.

Asia is still kinda backward in terms of using 'IPTV'. Asians, til now, are still buying the TV Boxes to stream Live TV and VODs.

The fact is, for the western part of the world, IPTV users just have to download APPs on their SmartTVs, AndroidTVs, Android phones & devices, iOS phones & devices, TV sticks, MacOS laptops, tablets & desktops, and Windows OS laptops, tablets & desktops and the next thing to do is to find a reliable IPTV content provider.

For me, gone were the days where I keep buying TV boxes and only to have them unusable after a couple of months or a year, or unresponsive support teams.

I'd recommend PandoraTV which I've been using for 4 years and going!

However, if you're looking for mostly Asian content, then PandoraTV isn't the right fit for you.

But, if you're looking for live sports, news, documentaries, entertainment shows, and VODs from the US, UK, EU and other major paid-streaming giants, then PandoraTV may just be your perfect choice!

PM me for links as I'm unable to post links just yet ^^
Hi phoonCK,

I hope you're well.

Quick check with you; how is the "PandoraTV" IPTV serving you now (with 2023 just around the corner)?
Still going good?

What is the subscription structure like?
Monthly or Annual subscription payments?

Any viewing interruptions of note throughout your usage of 5 years (or more)?

Any reduction -OR- additions of new notable channels/contents offered by "PandoraTV" throughout the years of use?

I tried searching for the "PandoraTV" app using Aptoide via my Xiaomi Mi-TV Stick, but was not able to find it.
Perhaps it is not offered/searchable in the Aptoide platform.
Would you have any thoughts/experience on this?

I thank you in advance for your time and effort in answering/replying to my questions.
rompers
post Dec 29 2022, 02:04 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Seng89 @ Dec 28 2022, 09:33 PM)
I'm looking for 1 too..
How's your "journey" in your search so far?
Seng89
post Dec 29 2022, 04:54 PM

2,687 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Dec 29 2022, 02:04 PM)
How's your "journey" in your search so far?
Saw advertisement from FB. Evpad 😅😅
phoonCK P
post Jan 2 2023, 03:16 AM

Probation

QUOTE(rompers @ Dec 29 2022, 03:03 PM)
Hi phoonCK,

I hope you're well.

Quick check with you; how is the "PandoraTV" IPTV serving you now (with 2023 just around the corner)?
Still going good?

What is the subscription structure like?
Monthly or Annual subscription payments?

Any viewing interruptions of note throughout your usage of 5 years (or more)?

Any reduction -OR- additions of new notable channels/contents offered by "PandoraTV" throughout the years of use?

I tried searching for the "PandoraTV" app using Aptoide via my Xiaomi Mi-TV Stick, but was not able to find it.
Perhaps it is not offered/searchable in the Aptoide platform.
Would you have any thoughts/experience on this?

I thank you in advance for your time and effort in answering/replying to my questions.
Thank you bro, I'm very well! LOL

Yep, still going strong and hardly any disruptions.
The subscription is paid annually.
There was only once, a major one, about 1-2 days in 2021, but that was only bcos they were migrating servers as they were expanding.

Yes, when there are new channels available from their suppliers, they'd add them on the servers after weeks of testing.

PandoraTV is a service provider, not an app.
Apps 3rd party developed and are easily downloadable on Content Store on SmartTVs (LG/Samsung etc), Google Play Store on Android devices (TVs, mobile phones, TV boxes & sticks), Appstore on Fire TV sticks & cubes, AppStore on iOS devices (iPhones, iPads, AppleTVs, laptops & desktops), Microsoft Store (laptops, tablets & desktops) and also via BlueStacks (an emulator that pro gamers use for pro gaming on laptops & desktops)

PM me for contacting PandoraTV
rompers
post Jan 3 2023, 09:37 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(phoonCK @ Jan 2 2023, 03:16 AM)
Thank you bro, I'm very well! LOL

Yep, still going strong and hardly any disruptions.
The subscription is paid annually.
There was only once, a major one, about 1-2 days in 2021, but that was only bcos they were migrating servers as they were expanding.

Yes, when there are new channels available from their suppliers, they'd add them on the servers after weeks of testing.

PandoraTV is a service provider, not an app.
Apps 3rd party developed and are easily downloadable on Content Store on SmartTVs (LG/Samsung etc), Google Play Store on Android devices (TVs, mobile phones, TV boxes & sticks), Appstore on Fire TV sticks & cubes, AppStore on iOS devices (iPhones, iPads, AppleTVs, laptops & desktops), Microsoft Store (laptops, tablets & desktops) and also via BlueStacks (an emulator that pro gamers use for pro gaming on laptops & desktops)

PM me for contacting PandoraTV
Sorry but I am still a little unclear.

So, is Pandora TV a service that is somewhat similar to Astro?
If it is, then how does the service launch/play on your Set-Top Box without prior installation of said app?

Unless you're saying that every new Pandora TV subscription will come with a pre-set Set-Top Box with the Pandora TV app already installed and ready to go.

phoonCK P
post Jan 10 2023, 08:26 PM

Probation

QUOTE(rompers @ Jan 3 2023, 10:37 PM)
Sorry but I am still a little unclear.

So, is Pandora TV a service that is somewhat similar to Astro?
If it is, then how does the service launch/play on your Set-Top Box without prior installation of said app?

Unless you're saying that every new Pandora TV subscription will come with a pre-set Set-Top Box with the Pandora TV app already installed and ready to go.
Ah.. OK.. it's like your Netflix, Amazon Prime etc..
You pay for a subscription and install apps on your smart devices via content store/app store.
You then login to your account and from there you get your dose of endless entertainment!

rompers
post Jan 12 2023, 02:40 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(phoonCK @ Jan 10 2023, 08:26 PM)
You pay for a subscription and install apps on your smart devices via content store/app store.
You then login to your account and from there you get your dose of endless entertainment!
Yes, but I can't seem to find the "PandoraTV" app in Google Play Store. I've also tried searching for the same via Aptoide - to no avail.

Appreciate if you could help point me at the right direction?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by rompers: Jan 12 2023, 02:40 PM
fireballs
post Jan 12 2023, 02:42 PM

5,646 posts

Just use your old laptop or pc
wailam
post Jan 12 2023, 02:47 PM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

QUOTE(phoonCK @ Jan 10 2023, 08:26 PM)
this pandora tv?
pandora tv
January 31, 2023 - Pandora TV will end its service.
phoonCK P
post Jan 13 2023, 06:37 PM

Probation

QUOTE(rompers @ Jan 12 2023, 03:40 PM)
Yes, but I can't seem to find the "PandoraTV" app in Google Play Store. I've also tried searching for the same via Aptoide - to no avail.

Appreciate if you could help point me at the right direction?

Thank you.
No bro, you don't find PandoraTV in content store or app store..

What you download from the content store and app store are apps such as Smarters Player Lite, IPTV Smarters Pro, XCIPTV, TiviMate, DupleCast, IBO Player, Purple Playlist Player, OTT+ Pro, IPTV Smart Purple Player etc and get a subscription plan from any IPTV providers. That's it!

Prissy Elf
post Jan 16 2023, 10:19 AM

282 posts

Dear all,

Can someone recommend a liveTV app for iBoite Lite that can access worldwide channels including Malaysia channels? My current liveTV app stopped working. Cannot connect. Stuck at 0kb/s for the past 3 days. But internet is okay as Youtube is working.

Thanks! notworthy.gif
doremon
post Jan 17 2023, 07:01 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(Prissy Elf @ Jan 16 2023, 10:19 AM)
Dear all,

Can someone recommend a liveTV app for iBoite Lite that can access worldwide channels including Malaysia channels? My current liveTV app stopped working. Cannot connect. Stuck at 0kb/s for the past 3 days. But internet is okay as Youtube is working.

Thanks!  notworthy.gif
U using iBoite Essential ? LiveTV not working ? Seriously ?
Prissy Elf
post Jan 17 2023, 08:43 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 17 2023, 07:01 AM)
U using iBoite Essential ? LiveTV not working ? Seriously ?
Using iBoite Lite. Seems like connection problem because it worked for like 30 minutes yesterday and died again. sweat.gif
doremon
post Jan 17 2023, 08:56 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(Prissy Elf @ Jan 17 2023, 08:43 AM)
Using iBoite Lite. Seems like connection problem because it worked for like 30 minutes yesterday and died again.  sweat.gif
Do a factory reset. After that reconnect via cable. Once everything stable baru via wifi.
SiakapRM1000
post Jan 18 2023, 03:04 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 4 2021, 08:03 PM)

Sifu
what box is most suitable for budget range (RM200-RM400 range) . I am just for watching livestreams (sports) , netflix, Youtube only. Currently on Unify 300mbp.

Many thanks
Philippng
post Jan 19 2023, 05:34 PM

QUOTE(SiakapRM1000 @ Jan 18 2023, 03:04 PM)
Sifu
what box is most suitable for budget range (RM200-RM400 range) . I am just for watching livestreams (sports) , netflix, Youtube only. Currently on Unify 300mbp.

Many thanks
i just got a google tv chromcast. pls pay attention that it come with a hdmi and a power usb and there is no usb and no other access to the device. if u plan to use it as it is with youtube,netflix and those premium service this is a good device. However, if you intent to sideload app, it is going to be tricky.
I did successful sideload apk and installed into the device.
i download from the playstore send to tv and i send sendanywhere apk up and get installed the apk not without any problem and the system to go setting to allow installed from unknow source which i need to click the button to approve. Since there is no mouse, there is no way to click the button. What i did was in my android phone i installed a bluethooth mouse and pair it with the device making my handphone as a mouse.
thereafter i use sendanywhere to send apk into the device to get it installed.
anyone want a detail how i setup pm me
AVFAN
post Jan 30 2023, 05:26 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(SiakapRM1000 @ Jan 18 2023, 03:04 PM)
Sifu

Many thanks
sorry took so long to respond... din log in many days... biggrin.gif

if u r unifi customer... there is some excitement about BEIN sports channels but i dunno what exactly - read the unifitv thread.

but if u mean EPL, that's for astro monopoly + illegit streams, - a diff world.

there r several boxes that run on androidTV or GoogleTV, already mentioned by many.

i dun use them, can't comment... becos i always use smart tv with ATV or GTV - very convenient, no need another device.

i am on unifi ultimate - ATV can do netflix, unifitv, Disney+hotstar, Lionsgate, BBCplayer, Iqiyi, TVBanywhere. even Prime, AppleTV.

Dun need box. box needed only for local playback of high quality videos/audio.
chickenriceboy
post Mar 3 2023, 11:44 AM

137 posts

FOr OP , try EvPad , SVI Cloud. if you want 4k try lazada Onn Box .or the Xiaomi Tv Stick 4k if you buy it in lowyat physical stores. the store can help you install some program that let u stream content .
u can also install legit apps and pay for it like IQIYI, or NetFlix or Viu for content and pay

I like legit apps because these apps when installed on xiaomi stick 4k or Onn Box , you can have true 4k content from these paid sites.

The not so legal apps cannot guarantee 4k content.

This post has been edited by chickenriceboy: Mar 3 2023, 03:11 PM
Shoot@M3
post Mar 16 2023, 03:31 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hey hi sifus,
I'm new to tv boxes, never had one before
I want to watch youku and iqiyi with indon subs for free

have few questions here if anyone can help clarify for me

normal pc connect to living room tv, can i play youku and iqiyi from emu apps etc for free?
or do i need to get a tvbox (longtv or evpad) or 3rd party and load the apk and can i get the above 2 channels youku and iqiyi?

Please if someone can help me on this as i've tried reading the first 5 to 6 pages here and since I'm still new to these IPTV and TV Boxes

and yeah i tried buy shoppee apps and installed but.. totally can't read those chinese menu. banana here

thx
sonypshomer
post Mar 17 2023, 08:51 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Mar 16 2023, 03:31 PM)
hey hi sifus,
I'm new to tv boxes, never had one before
I want to watch youku and iqiyi with indon subs for free

have few questions here if anyone can help clarify for me

normal pc connect to living room tv, can i play youku and iqiyi from emu apps etc for free?
or do i need to get a tvbox (longtv or evpad) or 3rd party and load the apk and can i get the above 2 channels youku and iqiyi?

Please if someone can help me on this as i've tried reading the first 5 to 6 pages here and since I'm still new to these IPTV and TV Boxes

and yeah i tried buy shoppee apps and installed but.. totally can't read those chinese menu. banana here

thx
I guess those emu apps is android emulator that you play Youku and iQIYI on windows PC?

If your PC have GPU or extra HDMI out definitely possible to connect the HDMI cable to living room TV with no issue.

So no android box needed.

Shoot@M3
post Mar 19 2023, 06:52 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Hey thanks for reply,

Yeah i could use an emu on my windows PC
but is there anyway i can get free youku and iqiyi channels? still need to pay premium?
or those tvboxes like longtv already comes with premium youku and iqiyi?

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Mar 17 2023, 08:51 PM)
I guess those emu apps is android emulator that you play Youku and iQIYI on windows PC?

If your PC have GPU or extra HDMI out definitely possible to connect the HDMI cable to living room TV with no issue.

So no android box needed.
sonypshomer
post Mar 19 2023, 07:51 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Mar 19 2023, 06:52 PM)
Hey thanks for reply,

Yeah i could use an emu on my windows PC
but is there anyway i can get free youku and iqiyi channels? still need to pay premium?
or those tvboxes like longtv already comes with premium youku and iqiyi?

Youku is free watching on webbrowser.

If you really want to pay for IQIYI just download the original app from its own website, and install the APK using your android emulator for windows
Shoot@M3
post Mar 21 2023, 03:38 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

you're right youku is free but those chinese drama only up to few episodes like 3 only so i can't get the rest for 'free'
i think my main prob here is getting the full episodes and also indo subs is a must also

if anyone has idea do pm me ya
thanks much

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Mar 19 2023, 07:51 PM)
Youku is free watching on webbrowser.

If you really want to pay for IQIYI just download the original app from its own website, and install the APK using your android emulator for windows

0.0862sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:13 AM