Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Android Box advice?

views
     
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 09:14 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 11 2020, 08:21 AM)
Even though the TX6S has Android 10 bs Android 9 on the TX3.... I would still go with the TX3 because it has the superior and more flash friendly AMLogic S905X3. The TX6S uses an AllWinner H616, a lesser performer. When getting, if you plan to game on it? Get the 4GB RAM versions, although they are “just” DDR3 vs DDR4 used in most newer boxes now. Only get the 2GB versions if you only plan to use it as a media streamer or player. Storage-wise? I would recommend minimum 32GB just to be sure you’ve got some space to play around and can still stream large media files using the onboard eMMC and not resort to write/reading from the slower USB port.

Hope this helps your decision.
Yeah, primary reason to get either is definitely due for 100% confirmed Google Certified devices. You don’t ever have to worry about such. Performance-wise, it’s so-so la.. but more than plenty for the simple needs user who wants a Google certified device.
*
Thanks for this. I was also considering between TX3 and TX6. Sifu voncrane, any problem to install Netflix, AOTG, Hulu, or any other streaming apps on this device? I saw you takking about Beelink, is it much better than TX3? Thanks sir, noob here. Not Unix expert. 😅
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 09:22 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(Rubypoyo @ Nov 3 2020, 12:38 PM)
Yes got vpn like expressvpn / nordvpn that you can download from playstore but cant guarantee it will work with netflix US or Disney plus
(previously fail when try using nordvpn to access Netflix US using xiaomi mi box, but no issue when using it on smartphone)
*
I use NordVPN but when connected to US server my Netflix won’t sign in. The VPN works on my Ipad/Iphone but not Android box. Not sure why, but its a really old box, Mini M8S. Been in service for few years and now its having infinity rebooting and can’t log in. That’s why I was considering Tanix, TX3 as a replacement. No money to get Nvidia and all thise high end brands. 😭
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 09:23 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 9 2020, 11:54 PM)
tx3 is a popular model - fairly new model, cheap and functional for most purposes.

u can read more here if u wish:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+1480
*
Thanks for the info bro!
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 12:08 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 16 2020, 09:50 AM)
Oh you are welcome....About Beelink versus Tanix devices.. To be fair, I can't categorically state that Beelink is miles better than Tanix, because I'm yet to personally play with either Tanix boxes. However, specs and features-wise? I can say that Beelink wins. You can triple boot OSes (Android, EmuELEC, CoreELEC) and there are a few verified custom ROMs for em. Kodi (my favorite app) also runs great on em. Using CoreELEC, you can have Netflix @1080p and DD audio on most Beelink boxes. Tanix? probably still the usual 540p max (i stand corrected if other owners can confirm otherwise). The major pro for Tanix devices at this time is that Asterruk Go app (with some hackery cuz rooted, etc) works on some of their boxes. Problem is, they'll only work until something is changed on Asterruk's end that makes them incompatible. So might not even work in a few days or weeks. Minix boxes used to be king and my default recommendation (for years) to those who's criteria is to run the Asterruk Go app. The app would be updated over and over again and yet Minix boxes would just update and keep playing smoothly. But then fee months back.. Stuff got changed and they began experiencing problems.

Edit: Make that quad-booting capable. Manjaro Linux can now be used on Beelink boxes like the GT-King Pro and the GS-King X. It's currently in Alpha stage though. but for tinkerers like myself. This is excellent news. Means that with a little more time, I can turn the Beelink GS-King X into a full-fledged Linux powered NAS device. For now, that means ditching Android for good, cuz Manjaro needs to run off the on-board eMMc storage.. Eagerly awaiting USB/SD card bootable support.  thumbup.gif
Try ExpressVPN bro.. I did and yep it works... Had to change system time and location stuff to match.. But yeah, it works.. Netflix, Disney+, HBO Max, Prime, etc.. Can view and watch all geo-locked stuff.. My next box review video will drop soon and you can see proof there.  nod.gif
*
Thanks for the great enlightenment bro. You sure are master of boxes!

Have yet to try Express VPN, but I have the same error at times using Nord. Asking me to change time and location. For time okay, I can comprehend but how do you change location? Blur...

h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 01:39 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

Plus another question, how do I know that Im connected to Netlix US, or South Korea etc? The only way I check now is by the availability of James Bond movies, which are available in US but not Malaysia. Hehe
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 03:20 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Nov 16 2020, 02:53 PM)
Turn off the location in your box setting?

For me expressvpn is set in da box not at router hence you'll know where you are connect and which server....😆
*
I’ve just gotten my hand on ExpressVPN. But Netflix is giving me error, “You seem to be using an unblocker or proxy. Please turn off any of these services and try again.”

Haha GG...
h0inerve
post Nov 16 2020, 03:39 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(xswatch @ Nov 16 2020, 03:33 PM)
that's weird. I've been using expressvpn & nordvpn since 2 years ago until today. with multiple phone, tablet & TV box. never encountered that error before.
*
Yeah bro, it works fine on my iphone and ipad but not android box, which is very old, Mini M8S. Tried both Nord and ExpressVPN but doesnt work. Haizzzz.
h0inerve
post Nov 17 2020, 01:36 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Nov 16 2020, 02:53 PM)
Turn off the location in your box setting?

For me expressvpn is set in da box not at router hence you'll know where you are connect and which server....😆
*
I have tried this, but same result. I guess it has got to do with my old box. Stream installed HBO MAX on my TM Unifi Plus box and with VPN everything works fine. Perhaps I'll just have to wait for my TX3 to arrive and install there.

Thanks anyway bro for the advice!
h0inerve
post Nov 17 2020, 01:45 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 16 2020, 08:02 PM)
Try this.. Uninstall the app, reboot and connect to ExpressVPN. Disable Location in settings (Won't work for Hulu or ESPN though...this will request access).. Mine's toggled on and okay je for Netflix. Then reinstall Netflix and log back in. Should be good now.
Yeah, that's the way to find out. Search for USA specific titles. My default is "Casper".. biggrin.gif
*
I will wait patiently for my X3 to reach me and try again bro. My Netflix on my Mini M8S is version/build 4.16, that's the highest it can go/support for the device. Maybe, somehow affecting all these. bruce.gif

I've just stream installed HBO MAX on my TM Unifi Plus Box, and using Nord I can watch HD movies and Series. Truly life changing. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
All these while, I was watching perhaps 720p or lower (due to Netflix version limitation, I guess) even I am subscribing to Full HD package. Any advice on how to watch Full HD on Netflix? (For my incoming TX3). Is there any Netflix HD version of app that I would need to install?

I tried using HULU just now, but it requested for my location, so that was such a waste. Any idea how to bypass this? cool2.gif
h0inerve
post Nov 17 2020, 09:50 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Nov 17 2020, 08:26 AM)
Netflix only allow certified devices to be able to stream full HD and above due to DRM agreement with some of the content providers. And majority of Chinese android boxes are not in the certified list.

Some that are running Android TV like the Mi Box and Mi Stick is certified and can run Netflix at Full HD
*
Thanks for the info bro. No wonder my TM Unifi plus box can’t use Netflix. I guess due to this... hmmm I guess I’ll stick to HBO MAX for Full HD experience then.
h0inerve
post Dec 2 2020, 07:30 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
160 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: MYY/SARAWAK

QUOTE(likie3 @ Nov 17 2020, 12:04 PM)
Try this apk bro on plusbox, im using this 1 and manage to get hd
http://www.mediafire.com/file/2qpt2m5hirc0...1%2529.apk/file
*
Omg, you’re a life saver bro. Just notice this, sorry for the late reply. I manage to install the apk on the Plusbox, finally without any error!

It prompted me to update tho after installing, can I update or just ignore? (Chose to ignore now).

Thank you so much. It can’t work with the VPN tho but at least Netflix is alive on the Unifi plusbox. Thank you sir!

 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0222sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th January 2021 - 08:52 AM