Health What motivates you to lose weight, Lose weight and motivation

TSniafaz89
post Jul 16 2020, 10:00 PM, updated 6y ago

141 posts

Hi everyone,

Can you share what motivates you to lose weight?
Especially those struggle with obesity and overweight.

As for me, it was Covid-19. I read somewhere that someone in very young age like 34&36 years old die due to covid-19. At first I was like, okay, new virus and maybe the virus is too dangerous since it kills a lot of people. Then my good friend told me that, he knows the victim and show me the picture. He said the victim has history of high blood pressure and diabetes as well as high cholesterol. That is went the reality hit me.

I vow to avoid all the chronic disease as Im not ready to leave this world and the only way is to lose some weight, improve my lifestyle and eat all good food. However, all chaos during MCO, SOP, restricted travelling here and there distract me from losing weight.
Working as special front liner(not in Medical), those 68 days of PKP, PKPB and all keep me busy.

I work till 2-3am, waking up at 6am, skip meals and eat a lot during midnight after I went home at 12-2am. Finally I gain 5kg even though Im moving a lot during that time.
Plus extra stress dealing with various organization, lack of sleep and no exercise and then I was shocked when I weighed myself before raya(22/5/2020). So I decided from that date, That is enough. Lose my extra weight and no excuse!

I always working and I realised this is the best time for me to take care of myself. I went back to my hometown and decided to start my journey after raya. Three times I almost quit but reading a lot of of motivational stories keep me on the track.

It is not easy to start something, to get rid some of your favourite food but I believe that I can do it and all those sweat and tears along my weight loss journey will award me a good reward 5-6 months later,hopefully.

On 30/5/2020, I start my weight loss journey. On 10/7/2020, I lost 7kg and keep losing until now. It was like 200gm-600gm per day and I have a long way to go up until december; I plan to reward myself on my birthday with the New ME. I apply to work from home for three months since I work like crazy during MCO and luckily it was approved. So I will use all three months until september to work hard on my weight loss plan.

I hope for those struggle and still lost or feels demotivated in their journey, can share their motivation and who knows, we might find some strength and keep supporting each other😁

waghyu
post Jul 16 2020, 10:13 PM

3,389 posts

Want to be slimb.
derick123
post Jul 16 2020, 10:58 PM

19 posts

Hello there! First of all, thank you for your service as a front liner. As someone from medical field, I truly respect and appreciate that you have the initiative to take care of your health. Personally I try to keep fit and stay healthy cause what’s the point if i have money, freedom, loved ones, etc... but couldn’t enjoy or spend quality time with them just because I’m sick?

In the sense of obesity/overweight, many are not aware/underestimated the risks it posed, unfortunately.

Yes, it may be hard to ‘give up’ our favourite foods, unhealthy lifestyles etc... but the reward at the end of the day is well worth it. All the best and stay healthy!
Yenactiet
post Jul 17 2020, 09:17 AM

281 posts

I lose fats and build muscles just to eat more later. biggrin.gif
sweet_pez
post Jul 17 2020, 10:07 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(niafaz89 @ Jul 16 2020, 10:00 PM)

Good job, nice to hear that! And all the best in your journey wink.gif

Personally it's simple. Being heavy makes you feel sluggish, tired, irritated and self conscious. It hits your self confidence as well.

Funny how I used to have a different perception back in the days - that slim girls are attractive. But after starting with the gym, everything changed. Lean, muscular girls FTW.

For me it's the "sustainability" of weight loss. I've rebounded many times, going up and down, but so far never achieved my ideal laugh.gif I've been 'near' but things happen and it went downhill. Easily months of hard work can diminish in just 2-3 months of letting loose. It's the discipline in one's lifestyle that's tough. Getting there is 1 thing, maintaining is another.
scilover
post Jul 17 2020, 12:08 PM

66 posts

What motivates me is wanting to become more healthy. Sounds cliche but yeah.
TSniafaz89
post Jul 17 2020, 12:42 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Jul 16 2020, 10:13 PM)
Want to be slimb.
Wow, that is good but I think it cannot motivates me to push myself coz as long as plus size available, I feel that Im slim because still have clothes that fit me😤

QUOTE(derick123 @ Jul 16 2020, 10:58 PM)
Hello there! First of all, thank you for your service as a front liner. As someone from medical field, I truly respect and appreciate that you have the initiative to take care of your health. Personally I try to keep fit and stay healthy cause what’s the point if i have money, freedom, loved ones, etc... but couldn’t enjoy or spend quality time with them just because I’m sick?

In the sense of obesity/overweight, many are not aware/underestimated the risks it posed, unfortunately.

Yes, it may be hard to ‘give up’ our favourite foods, unhealthy lifestyles etc... but the reward at the end of the day is well worth it. All the best and stay healthy!
You are correct and that it my first thought if Covid-19 infect me and I will die due to pre-existing medical condition. It scares me and I find that eat clean and exercise is not that hard after all, I manage to walk 6.2km@10k steps everyday roaming here and there and walking 10 minutes after my meal.

I like the current lifestyle and now just a pinch of salt is enough to season my food, surprisingly I discover more delicious veggie and they are not as bad as I thought before.

Now I realised that I can live without starbucks, chocolate, maggi and others for 2 months😁

QUOTE(Yenactiet @ Jul 17 2020, 09:17 AM)
I lose fats and build muscles just to eat more later. biggrin.gif
This is my motivation when I decided to join gym 2 weeks ago😂Want a lean muscle but if can increase my muscle mass so that I can increase my metabolism as well, then why not😆

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jul 17 2020, 10:07 AM)
Good job, nice to hear that! And all the best in your journey wink.gif

Personally it's simple. Being heavy makes you feel sluggish, tired, irritated and self conscious. It hits your self confidence as well.

Funny how I used to have a different perception back in the days - that slim girls are attractive. But after starting with the gym, everything changed. Lean, muscular girls FTW.

For me it's the "sustainability" of weight loss. I've rebounded many times, going up and down, but so far never achieved my ideal laugh.gif I've been 'near' but things happen and it went downhill. Easily months of hard work can diminish in just 2-3 months of letting loose. It's the discipline in one's lifestyle that's tough. Getting there is 1 thing, maintaining is another.
I also scared if I fail in maintenance phase later on, I guess that is what keep distracting me from diet all this while, I have thought, what if I reach my ideal weight and eat back like crazy, and gain back, something like yo yo dieting?

But I think my motivation is stronger than those concern, so I just let “future me” to deal with that later😂I understand the discipline part very well coz almost give up 3 times😆

I did some study before start dieting and I don’t want to rush like loss 20kg in 2 months doing yoyo/crash diet or something, I just want to continue and live with this new lifestyle; so I set for myself half year to reach that point😬
Yenactiet
post Jul 17 2020, 01:17 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Infinity with seungwoo @ Jul 17 2020, 12:21 PM)
I am not fat but i actually wanna be pretty like vs model so i used to watch vs model 's video all the time flex.gif
Erkk, that doesn't sounds helathy and might cause complications years later mega_shok.gif
That's great.  rclxm9.gif

Share yoyr lifestyle, diet and workout pls flex.gif
I don't know what do you mean by 'complications'. Just because I eat more, it doesn't mean it's not healthy. It's not like I'm eating processed food as main dishes, so I don't see the problem with it. People gain weights because they eat more than they burn, but if you have more muscle masses, you will have higher BMR which means you can eat more while maintaining your weight, not to mention you have to eat a little bit more(<10%) than your TDEE to gain muscles later on. If you have to sacrifice something to be 'healthy', that by itself is not healthy already.
TSniafaz89
post Jul 17 2020, 02:08 PM

141 posts

[quote=Infinity with seungwoo,Jul 17 2020, 12:21 PM]
I am not fat but i actually wanna be pretty like vs model so i used to watch vs model 's video all the time flex.gif

I know right, those s/m size is tempting me and almost make me go with crash diet. But I keep hypnotize myself by saying, patience, consistent and discipline is the key. My outing nowadays only to my small town and wet market. I avoid shopping mall and if I have to, not visiting 2nd floor/clothes section😂

My diet is like a normal people:
Brunch, lunch and dinner
Brunch at 10@11am(I cant eat early morning coz my stomach will upset)-Egg(scrambled, fried, half boiled), nestum, cracker, bread sometimes, apple juice or meehoon, green tea(plain) or teh O

Lunch and dinner pretty much the same:
1/3 rice(I don’t take rice during dinner); 1/3 protein; 1/3 veggie. Then apple@orange@2-3 pieces of large fruit like watermelon/pineapple
My last meal is at 9pm.

I cooked some pasta like macaroni, fettucini, spagetti for dinner-aglio olio or bolognese.

The way I cook?fried, soup, steam chicken rice, baked, grill, make caserole and telur bungkus, tomyam-all those normal menu. I just cut sauce, sugar and salt. When I cook for my family now, I will take out some portion for me before add the seasoning and cut the quantity in my meal.I don’t eat only chicken breast coz I don’t think I can eat that for the rest of my life(they will go into mince chicken for telur bungkus, tomyam, ayam masak halia and home made chicken nugget)

I hate carb, spicy, creamy and oily food since long time ago, so no rice, no santan food like rendang, masak lemak, kari, carbonara and no spicy food like sambal is fine with me. All traditional snack like agar2, puding, not my favorite either. I don’t like bread(used to remove all bun from burger) and pastry(pavlova, bombolini etc.).

Supposedly, I should not be an overweight person since I left all those consider unhealthy. But, I cook daily for my housemate and their favorite guess what, lemak cili api, sambal and tomyam thai. I make tea snack to be eaten with my colleague at pantry and their favorite?samosa, murtabak, karipap and roti jala. All of these use a lot of flour/carb and sometimes refined flour.

Combine with sedentary lifestyle-no exercise and eat maggie at 12-1am if im too busy with no veggie n fruit(I love fruit especially berry group, but I don’t have time to buy them)
Now I count my calorie using lose it apps.

My current exercise;reach 10k steps everyday(I used pacer apps to track), does not matter if u walk or jog or run; I don’t run, only jog for 1 minutes then walk 2 minutes and repeat-spend like 20 minutes@1.5km.

Use treadmill 30 minutes at gym and lift some dumb bell(2.5kg each), some weight and resistance training(all machine with black plate weight 5kg each in the gym) and squat 50-60(10 reps; 2 sets) each round(after breakfast, lunch and dinner).

I have decided that I want to become lean and don’t want to lose muscle. Normally, I will take a break 1-2 days for weight and resistance training if I feel sore in my body.

Along my journey, I keep researching for any healthy substitute for my sugar and snack. I replace my mom garam with himalayan pink salt, mushroom seasoning with no msg to fried veggie or soup, stevia(2 drops with my teh O, limit to 3-4 drops) and skinny chocolate(I can’t leave chocolate, so I opt for the healthiest version)

This post has been edited by niafaz89: Jul 17 2020, 02:09 PM
waghyu
post Jul 17 2020, 03:06 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(niafaz89 @ Jul 17 2020, 12:42 PM)
Wow, that is good but I think it cannot motivates me to push myself coz as long as plus size available, I feel that Im slim because still have clothes that fit me😤
Agree oso.
sweet_pez
post Jul 17 2020, 03:17 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

yes there's a tendency to yo-yo if food intake isn't managed properly. When our body lacks certain nutrient, we'll have tendency to look for unhealthy options. As such, everything in moderation. Imo its fine to go slow, at your own pace.

[QUOTE][quote=Yenactiet,Jul 17 2020, 01:17 PM]
I don't know what do you mean by 'complications'. Just because I eat more, it doesn't mean it's not healthy. It's not like I'm eating processed food as main dishes, so I don't see the problem with it. People gain weights because they eat more than they burn, but if you have more muscle masses, you will have higher BMR which means you can eat more while maintaining your weight, not to mention you have to eat a little bit more(<10%) than your TDEE to gain muscles later on. If you have to sacrifice something to be 'healthy', that by itself is not healthy already.

[/QUOTE]

+1. Eating more doesn't mean it's unhealthy and eating less doesnt equate to healthy.

Hahahaha i think it's fine to snack occasionally. Once a month you can make something as teatime and share with your colleagues. Changing your lifestyle doesn't mean you'll have to give up everything. It's about making small adjustments to accommodate the change.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jul 17 2020, 03:38 PM
Yenactiet
post Jul 18 2020, 09:37 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Infinity with seungwoo @ Jul 18 2020, 12:34 AM)

To be frank, you sound like you don't fully understand the mechanism, but never mind, as long as what you're doing works for you, nothing else matters.
TSniafaz89
post Jul 20 2020, 03:05 PM

141 posts

Hi guys. I work out everyday and doing resistance training as well as cardio-burned around 500kcal-600kcal daily. I have lost another 3.8kg since 10/7/2020😬More than 2kg(my Max target per week)

Now I stop working at 10pm and sleep at 1130pm. I have better day and ignore everyone text and message while im working out(5.30-7pm); even from my boss😂

Thanks for kind advice and for sure, will apply those into my new lifestyle😁

Resistance training(4 times per week); coz sometimes it still hurt like hell and I have to rest😑

This post has been edited by niafaz89: Jul 20 2020, 03:06 PM
optprime
post Aug 2 2020, 09:31 AM

349 posts

I was binging a lot during the recent chinese new year and ballooned up. I gained a massive 7kg! My pants were tighter and I didn’t feel right thereafter. I feel lousy, easily tired and less motivated. I went for blood rest and found out i had raised liver enzymes. I was devastated because i don’t feel like myself anymore.
I went to see a liver specialist and was diagnosed to have fatty liver. Honestly, i was affected by the news because I didn’t think it could happen to me because I’m young (I’m in my late 20s). The dr gave me very good advice on how to overcome it and prescribed me a medication to aid the recovery.
Since then, I invested on a smartwatch to monitor my workouts to make sure I’m doing effective fat burning exercises. I followed dr’s advice diligently, exercises, monitored my diet and now I’ve managed to shed off my extra weights. I’ve lost 10kg in the past 6 months thanks! I’ve never felt better! The latest liver function test revealed my liver enzymes are now normal and the fatty liver has disappeared from the ultrasound scan!

TSniafaz89
post Aug 2 2020, 01:57 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(optprime @ Aug 2 2020, 09:31 AM)
I was binging a lot during the recent chinese new year and ballooned up. I gained a massive 7kg! My pants were tighter and I didn’t feel right thereafter. I feel lousy, easily tired and less motivated. I went for blood rest and found out i had raised liver enzymes. I was devastated because i don’t feel like myself anymore.
I went to see a liver specialist and was diagnosed to have fatty liver. Honestly, i was affected by the news because I didn’t think it could happen to me because I’m young (I’m in my late 20s). The dr gave me very good advice on how to overcome it and prescribed me a medication to aid the recovery.
Since then, I invested on a smartwatch to monitor my workouts to make sure I’m doing effective fat burning exercises. I followed dr’s advice diligently, exercises, monitored my diet and now I’ve managed to shed off my extra weights. I’ve lost 10kg in the past 6 months thanks! I’ve never felt better! The latest liver function test revealed my liver enzymes are now normal and the fatty liver has disappeared from the ultrasound scan!
Wow, glad to hear that you are okay now. I realize that overweight make you feel sluggish and less energetic. Im on my journey and hopefully will keep motivated till the end. I have to lose weight to avoid health risks.
optprime
post Aug 2 2020, 09:32 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(niafaz89 @ Aug 2 2020, 01:57 PM)
Wow, glad to hear that you are okay now. I realize that overweight make you feel sluggish and less energetic. Im on my journey and hopefully will keep motivated till the end. I have to lose weight to avoid health risks.
Honestly, I’ve really got my liver specialist to thank. He was really thorough and guided me throughout. I’ve never felt better nowadays. Good luck to you and I believe you can achieve it too!
SUSbronkos
post Aug 2 2020, 09:35 PM

1,159 posts

Health, if possible want to live to 80
optprime
post Aug 5 2020, 09:55 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Aug 2 2020, 09:35 PM)
Health, if possible want to live to 80
It’d be great if we could achieve to that age with good quality of life and disease free. I’m glad i found out i had fatty liver disease early and met an excellent liver specialist to guide me through the process of recovery.
Honestly, apart from putting on significant amount of weight and feeling lousy, i had no other symptoms to suggest i have fatty liver inside me.
Justin.Loong
post Aug 5 2020, 05:03 PM

8,327 posts

I don't want to lose "weight". I want to lose fat. flex.gif rclxm9.gif
DeAct
post Aug 6 2020, 02:08 AM

281 posts