Proton X50 2020 v1, B-Segment killer

zero5177
post Jan 8 2021, 02:24 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 8 2021, 01:43 PM)
If most Malaysian are like him, then we can see most manufacturers acting like UMW.

Luckily now most manufacturers heard our demand, starting from safety package etc. 2020 still UMW throw away Halogen bulbs car
Imagine becoming the only country with top selling car for kosong spec because people think they only need what they need..
Buying first car look for essential with low price point is reasonable to say that la,

But for X50, not to say a Luxurious car, but mostly are for people who want something more than just basic,
mindset need to change a little when it comes to maintenance and consumption.

Affording a car is not just about your loan approve or not, its about how comfortable you are with the extra cost you need to fork out on top of the monthly installment you have to pay regardless you drive the car or not.

This post has been edited by zero5177: Jan 8 2021, 02:59 PM
zero5177
post Jan 8 2021, 09:55 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jan 8 2021, 09:24 PM)
wow rancak perbincangan hahaha, kes MCO coming ke ni? hehe lamanya waiting for 2021 chassis. seems like Pre CNY target also cant get
Damn.. if really strict restriction probably can't even fulfill all 2020 order within the Extended Tax exemption mega_shok.gif
zero5177
post Jan 11 2021, 11:12 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(exdtan @ Jan 11 2021, 09:19 PM)
Mine after 1.1km mix of city and highway drive average about 10l per 100km.
Can’t expect FC much for the exchange of driving pleasure, it gives out the BM’s driving dynamics feel.
In BM you just want to floor pedal, in X50 you want to ask your foot to take it easy.
Maybe try 1 tank with eco mode see how far it can go... but now MCO pula doh.gif

Forester I can clock around 9-12km/l on normal drive, easily 14km/l + on highway, believe this X50 have the potential to be fuel save & also fuel guzzling depending on your foot and driving pattern heavily.

Not sure if you all know, the piston used on this X50 is flat top which should be the most efficient design compared to doom/dish and this may also explain why Carbon Build up don't seems like a thing to this car due to more efficient combustion

This post has been edited by zero5177: Jan 11 2021, 11:20 PM
zero5177
post Jan 12 2021, 10:17 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jan 12 2021, 07:54 AM)
so MCO gona slow down the production or not aaaaaaaaaaaa
30% workforce = 30% output? doh.gif
zero5177
post Jan 12 2021, 01:00 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jan 12 2021, 12:58 PM)
even if get car now, cant go anywhere also
Janji dapat Tax Holiday
zero5177
post Jan 13 2021, 10:38 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(exdtan @ Jan 13 2021, 08:45 AM)
This is very true comparing my 1.5 old alza, both city and highway drive had great FC which I miss it now.
And I had dream last night driving my old Alza while complaining why I can’t overtake someone on the highway.....
If coming from MT car you'll feel the gap even bigger lol

I'm getting 14km/l-16km/l with 2008 1.3MT Myvi
When I drive my sibling's Axia AT, sacrifice a lot in power but FC not too far different at just around 17km/l similar driving style.. I rather have the power

Even my 2016 MT Persona is getting 13-15km/l

If only they bring in the 6MT Binyue here I will definitely take it, even my wife prefer MT
zero5177
post Jan 13 2021, 01:42 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 13 2021, 12:57 PM)
I still retain my old viva elite, 1.0 engine 4 speed auto. Fc is great, worst at 13km/l and best at 18km/l if drove sedately, 90kmh.
Small engine feels hard to go beyond 90km/h, these cars comfortable high speed is somewhere 80km/h - 90km/h

Yes you can paddle more to reach higher speed but will not make one feel comfortable...

I always thought it is a good idea to keep 1 car for power drive while another for economical drive,
but I just naturally keeping myself from the fuel efficient option, thus the X50 doh.gif
zero5177
post Jan 14 2021, 10:02 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jan 14 2021, 07:30 AM)
isnt it reported by a lady in the fb group? or was it the guy that just drove few k km

new SOP car manufacturing no go?!?!?!?!?!?!?! or i readed wrong news lol
I read from group that says x50 & x70 manufactured at Tanjung malim so business as usual but supplies may have bottleneck?

zero5177
post Jan 14 2021, 10:33 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 14 2021, 09:59 AM)
I'm very interested to know this higher combustion efficiency by flat doom piston. Is it a Geely patent? Tq.
It is not Geely patent, it is just merely the choice for manufacturer on piston design.
Different Piston setup has its own purpose for the engine design, but flat top in general will have most even flame distribution but often not a choice for turbocharger engine because it doesn't help with reducing compression ratio to avoid knocking, which also means turbocharger that adopt flat top piston need more precise engine design to prevent knocking.

Above are the explanations I copied from some random site that sells engine parts
This is my little research on the internet tells me, please correct me if I understand anything wrongly.
zero5177
post Jan 15 2021, 12:56 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 14 2021, 08:09 PM)
What kind of interest can I get for Proton X50?

Clean CCRIS, recently got housing loan approved at 2.9%, stable employment.

I am thinking 7 or 9 yrs.

Thanks!
See how much u loan and its duration

I loan 86k get 2.23% for 7 years from PB and Ambank
zero5177
post Jan 15 2021, 07:29 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ Jan 15 2021, 05:53 PM)
These rates are for variable or fixed rate loan?
I thought hire purchase always fixed rate?
zero5177
post Jan 16 2021, 01:07 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(eichikatsu @ Jan 16 2021, 09:17 AM)
Hehehe femes itu yellow x50.
Such a big modification but on safety features, we can't upgrade so much.
As I seen on youtube, pinoy coolray got build in dashcam, just plug in memory card and it is done. Wish to have that features in x50 x70 as the car have 360° camera

The tech is there.
Hate that Proton is "saving up" so much good to have feature to probably give some room for facelift dry.gif
zero5177
post Jan 16 2021, 01:07 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(exdtan @ Jan 16 2021, 10:34 AM)
Well that’s Malaysia and the decision of P1 management. We get some and lose some (though mainly losing)
Rear A/C is a big plus, apart from there probably better tuned suspension setup?
zero5177
post Jan 20 2021, 12:33 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(kp93300 @ Jan 19 2021, 11:58 AM)
X50 car wash issues.
l suggest new owners read the manual carefully.

Proton specifically mentioned that your pressure cleaner gun should be at least 30 cm from the car surface.
sending to car wash need to be careful also.

I notice the front laser is on the front bumper and  if the item is submerged while driving, it will be damaged also.

The leather should only be cleaned by neutral soap and water ! 
What is neutral soap ?

Proton state that special cleaning agent for cleaning the interior trims .

What is the cleaning agent ?

Wah , a lot of work maintaining new cars !!
It's either do or don't do, don't overthink about these.
zero5177
post Jan 23 2021, 06:44 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

No rush cannot get car, Rush them then become like this mega_shok.gif
zero5177
post Feb 8 2021, 10:09 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Feb 8 2021, 09:27 AM)
Agreed, expect 1.5 turbo = 2.0 NA engine consumption.
Assuming it to perform like 2.0NA would it be an understatement?

Previous gen Subaru Forester is clocking between 9km/l - 13km/l with 2.0NA engine, 1.6 ton + AWD

The FC report I see here seems higher than Subaru's except pure highway mileage
zero5177
post Feb 8 2021, 07:12 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Feb 8 2021, 11:50 AM)
Google is your best friend. If you want to compare, Forester still lost to HR-V in both power and fuel consumption.
https://www.nrcan.gc.ca/sites/www.nrcan.gc....ion%20Guide.pdf
From the report the range for class M (Medium) or L (large) or US (Utility Sport), 2.0 cc engine and my rough range is around:
City 8.0~11 L/100km and Highway 7.0~8.5 L/100km

Your claimed on Subaru Forester (hear say?? or user?).
9km/l - 13km/l = 11.1 L/100KM  ~ 7.69 L/100KM

X50's user claimed:
8.1 L/100km ~ 10L/100km on City use.
On highway, FB users reported higher mileage (upto 15km/l = 6.7 L/100km) but don't trust this figure, different users may different speed.

The whole points above, that I'm not understatement as this consideration of power and transmission.
This is consumption expected around 2.0 NA engine.
From my experience on Peugeot 405 -2.0 engine, this is the range as well (around 7L/100 KM ~ 9L/100 KM).
Why suddenly bring in HR-V vs Forester? I'm just sharing an example of the car I have driven which is 2.0NA and heavier than X50

I used to drive one for some time thus I know about it and I have habit of recording all the KM/L mileage of the cars I drive.

I'm not saying Forester is fuel saving, just stating it is a heavier car with MPI yet the Fuel Consumption seems to be acceptable in my opinion compared to what get reported here with X50 seems a bit higher than 2.0 especially during city drive

Maybe X50 still new need some run in period to perform better perhaps.

zero5177
post Feb 9 2021, 12:30 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 9 2021, 06:11 AM)
After all this Forester  come out, I do look at their car clubs forum. One thing that surprise is the FC figure from real world user. Its NA, Boxer, direct injection but combo with a cvt to get great fc. But the fc figure does lose out to HRV in general.
Considering for a much heavier (about +400kg) + AWD SUV with larger 2.0L engine VS much lighter HRV with 1.8L it is doing good for its range,

Direct comparison win/lose sure cannot beat HRV in term of FC or power to weight ratio

Sorry if anyone get's annoyed I only bring out Forester because that's the only comparison I have from my own that is closer match to a X50
zero5177
post Feb 10 2021, 10:26 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Feb 9 2021, 09:49 PM)
No update and dont think I'll get any soon... Maybe time to look at d55l launch
Hopefully it doesn't disappoint, the D55L need to be another leap to what they currently have
rather than just an upsized Myvi tech..
zero5177
post Feb 10 2021, 03:18 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Feb 10 2021, 12:59 PM)
Judging from wapcar post, the few stuff up in it are also in the x50. More or less like the premium model.

Why la factory so slow haha
Wapcar teasing most of the time I feel syok sendiri based on own assumption without sources,
like for X50 they are the one predicting Malaysia will get 1.4T engine rather than the 1.5T MPI once China announce the FL

Some article they came out like say comparison of 0-100km/h is totally based on spec sheet, stating the obvious.

But they do have some decent review with data on some case like testing NVH/space and stuff that I like.

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:31 PM