Chat Honda City 2017 GEAR BOX FAULTY, How much to fix the gearbox

wild_card_my
post Jul 16 2020, 10:32 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jul 16 2020, 09:33 PM)
Change brake pads need two weeks??

I told them might as well fix the rattling noise. Its been two weeks now, I miss the bloody car. the X3 is good, but it only has 350 Nm and is 300kg heavier. Tall and has standard passive suspensions vs the M-sports suspensions on my 330i, so it drives horrible for a spirited driver like me... It's a good car by all means, just not for me

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Jul 16 2020, 09:36 PM)
X kisah 2 weeks or 2 months. Janji ada replacement car. You all drive lanjiao proton Toyota ada replacement car kah?

yes, with some manufacturers, not only you don't get replacement cars, you have to FIGHT against them for warranty...

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jul 16 2020, 10:33 PM
hc7840
post Jul 16 2020, 10:35 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 16 2020, 10:32 PM)
I told them might as well fix the rattling noise. Its been two weeks now, I miss the bloody car. the X3 is good, but it only has 350 Nm and is 300kg heavier. Tall and has standard passive suspensions vs the M-sports suspensions on my 330i, so it drives horrible for a spirited driver like me... It's a good car by all means, just not for me

yes, with some manufacturers, not only you don't get replacement cars, you have to FIGHT against them for warranty...
So luxury car also banyak noise ka? Cbu some more. Thought usually ckd kena rattling noise
wild_card_my
post Jul 16 2020, 10:49 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Jul 16 2020, 10:35 PM)
So luxury car also banyak noise ka? Cbu some more. Thought usually ckd kena rattling noise

Rattling can come from all sorts of causes... not my place to decide

But it highlights the importance of the services attached to the warranties... with BMW Malaysia they are still able to loan their customers a car of the same level. Sent my 330i and loaned the X3 30i...

Your warranty is only as good as the service:

1. will they listen to your complaint and work on the problems or will they say "Ala biasa lah abang, ini kan P*****. What do you expect? BMW quality ke? hehehe" <--- true experience when I had issues with the power window of my previous car. Had to fight them for this RM180 fix

2. then when they are working on the car, will they give you a courtesy car or will they leave you on your own?

I am just sharing how awesome it is to own a BMW. It's a great drive, and the services are excellente'. Of course, there will be snark remarks like "keep your tow truck numbers with you" of which I will reply with "Let me know once you have replaced your fuel pump" laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jul 16 2020, 10:53 PM
SUSNB01
post Jul 16 2020, 10:52 PM

280 posts

TS bodoh never service car, then blame Honda. Padan muka.
ayamxxx
post Jul 17 2020, 08:47 AM

4,061 posts

next time dont be cheapskate sending service at SC following the schedules requirement. most cases famous are, I only use the car for 2k km for 6 months, hence I skip service it for the 6 months interval.
the problem came, then blame manufacturers for not giving the warranty. these types of case is usually reported in FB car club.
ayamxxx
post Jul 17 2020, 08:53 AM

4,061 posts

based on family conti merz experienced, usually rattling problem, SC will give up and said they could not find it, hence why it take so long ady. long time ago circa 2006, family E- Class Pekan made famous for dashboard rattling, CBU dont have this. SC solution was asked customer to sign agreement that they will open up the dashboard but in case of something more problem come out, they will not give warranty for it.

end up many customer dont proceed with the rattling repair by opening the dashboard. some owner send outside for repair without need to open up the dashboard.

for your bmw case, test it out properly with the technician once the car is settle at sc.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jul 17 2020, 08:54 AM
SUSAllnGap
post Jul 17 2020, 09:01 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 17 2020, 08:53 AM)
based on family conti merz experienced, usually rattling problem, SC will give up and said they could not find it, hence why it take so long ady. long time ago circa 2006, family E- Class Pekan made famous for dashboard rattling, CBU dont have this. SC solution was asked customer to sign agreement that they will open up the dashboard but in case of something more problem come out, they will not give warranty for it.

end up many customer dont proceed with the rattling repair by opening the dashboard. some owner send outside for repair without need to open up the dashboard.

for your bmw case, test it out properly with the technician once the car is settle at sc.
Every piece of plastic parts need to be foamed up.
Cables included.

When car hit pothole the frame will flex and that time plastic parts rub against each other.

wild_card_my
post Jul 17 2020, 09:29 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 17 2020, 08:53 AM)

By the way, if you bring the car to outside workshop would they be able to solve that particular problem? Also, comparing Mercedes from your experience to BMW warranty service, would you say BMW has better service?

1. they are giving me the BMW X3 for 2-weeks and counting
2. they are working on the car as best as they could, never giving up

I am glad I opted for BMW, services are very important to me now, compared to when I was scraping for cash and going for the lowest-bidder

And yes that's the plan. I will ask for the car to be test driven by me first, before taking it back and returning the courtesy car laugh.gif Malas la to datang lagi for this issue...

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jul 17 2020, 09:01 AM)
Every piece of plastic parts need to be foamed up.
Cables included.

When car hit pothole the frame will flex and that time plastic parts rub against each other.

And those foams can harden over time. that's why older cars can have those sound that previously wasnt there

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jul 17 2020, 09:31 AM
pretty23
post Jul 17 2020, 09:36 AM

1,791 posts

15 pages already.

Mean honda gearbox really fragile
ayamxxx
post Jul 17 2020, 09:36 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 17 2020, 09:29 AM)
By the way, if you bring the car to outside workshop would they be able to solve that particular problem? Also, comparing Mercedes from your experience to BMW warranty service, would you say BMW has better service?

1. they are giving me the BMW X3 for 2-weeks and counting
2. they are working on the car as best as they could, never giving up

I am glad I opted for BMW, services are very important to me now, compared to when I was scraping for cash and going for the lowest-bidder

And yes that's the plan. I will ask for the car to be test driven by me first, before taking it back and returning the courtesy car laugh.gif Malas la to datang lagi for this issue...

And those foams can harden over time. that's why older cars can have those sound that previously wasnt there
better service for me if they are able to resolve it. if they said able to reduce the sound then it not 100% resolve it. for old E-Class, many users end up to let the rattling there.
points no 2, hopefully its true. merz sc last time let go only

wild_card_my
post Jul 17 2020, 09:43 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 17 2020, 09:36 AM)
better service for me if they are able to resolve it. if they said able to reduce the sound then it not 100% resolve it. for old E-Class, many users end up to let the rattling there.
points no 2, hopefully its true. merz sc last time let go only
The E-class you are talking about is the "new" E class at the time right? As in new cars of that day, still under warranty... which model was it? W124? W210?

I think it also depends on the SC that you go to. for BMW Malaysia, there are a few "dealers":

1. Auto Bavaria - the main one, about 8 kedai
2. Ingress
3. Quill
4. Millenium Welt
5. and others...

Ive only been to AB KL (Tun Razak) and AB AraDamansara/Glenmerie, and both has been great although there are minor differences. AB AD/GM are more luxurious since it is newer vs AB KL. I hear different stories from other customers using different dealership services

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jul 17 2020, 09:52 AM
SUSskyblu3
post Jul 17 2020, 10:04 AM

157 posts

Conti car and never ending problems pisah tak ada

wild_card_my
post Jul 17 2020, 10:06 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jul 17 2020, 10:04 AM)
Conti car and never ending problems pisah tak ada
All cars have problems... people laughing at Conti cars drive all sorts of cars, including honda and perodua.. both of which are having problems of their own.

I enjoy my 330i, now enjoy the loaned X3. Service matters bro
fantasy1989
post Jul 17 2020, 10:07 AM

4,707 posts

thread hijacked?
SUSskyblu3
post Jul 17 2020, 10:10 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 17 2020, 10:06 AM)
All cars have problems... people laughing at Conti cars drive all sorts of cars, including honda and perodua.. both of which are having problems of their own.

I enjoy my 330i, now enjoy the loaned X3. Service matters bro
Yeah right.

Your car is still new. You wait .
wild_card_my
post Jul 17 2020, 10:13 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jul 17 2020, 10:10 AM)
Yeah right.

Your car is still new.  You wait .
You are so salty la uncle laugh.gif
mushigen
post Jul 17 2020, 10:13 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jul 17 2020, 10:07 AM)
thread hijacked?
Suddenly it's orange and more orange colour everywhere.
anangryorc
post Jul 17 2020, 10:17 AM

597 posts

cvt god gearbox.
SUSskyblu3
post Jul 17 2020, 10:18 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 17 2020, 10:13 AM)
You are so salty la uncle laugh.gif
Still waiting for you to have coffee with me.
Tonight free? We meat up in genting.
I got free hotel room.
Then I can test drive your Ultimum driver machine.
wild_card_my
post Jul 17 2020, 10:19 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jul 17 2020, 10:18 AM)
Still waiting for you to have coffee with me.
Tonight free?  We meat up in genting.
I got free hotel room.
Then I can test drive your Ultimum driver machine.
I dont want to meet losers in life la. Winners only laugh.gif

16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0169sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:43 PM