TNB Prevented Me From Registering A New Account

TSshaniandras2787
post Jul 11 2020, 01:22 AM, updated 4y ago

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

has anyone encountered this issue?

my previous tenant left the premise with rm30k electricity outstanding and now TNB doesn't allow my new tenant to register a new account for the premise because of this.

they said despite the outstanding was incurred under the previous tenant's name, tnb will not supply or allow new registration because in their records, the outstanding is tied to the property.

is this how tnb has being doing things?
Pichu00
post Jul 11 2020, 01:25 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jul 11 2020, 01:22 AM)
has anyone encountered this issue?

my previous tenant left the premise with rm30k electricity outstanding and now TNB doesn't allow my new tenant to register a new account for the premise because of this.

they said despite the outstanding was incurred under the previous tenant's name, tnb will not supply or allow new registration because in their records, the outstanding is tied to the property.

is this how tnb has being doing things?
Get a lawyer
lee_lnh
post Jul 11 2020, 01:29 AM

115 posts

Commercial lot?
soul78
post Jul 11 2020, 01:45 AM

931 posts

So ngam 30k was the amount which the recent commerrcial lot was lease to some dodgy people mining BITCOIN,...

Must be yours issit?..

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2020/07/...urrency-outlets
WebDpot
post Jul 11 2020, 01:49 AM

1,026 posts

Maybe they want you to settle the bill ah, damn that's big amount
CRaider2
post Jul 11 2020, 01:56 AM

225 posts

i think you can appeal. it is just a block and should be able to appeal on a case by case basis. it is true it is tied to the property but since it has the tenant's name it is less complicated. did you ask them what next to escalate the resolution?
mini orchard
post Jul 11 2020, 06:49 AM

14,511 posts

TNB contracts are tag to the property and NEVER to an individual just like Syabas, Assessment and Quit Rent.

Most landlord have the misconception that the tenant is responsible for the bill when the contract is in the tenant's name. If that is the case, landlord can always create FAKE agreement and do illegal activity in his premise. Once bill reached the sky without paying, just open another account.

Same like assessment, the majlis will seize the assets in the property with outstanding bills irrespective if the asset belongs to the tenant or owner. They cannot be going around msia looking for the owner ! The action will prompt the owner to settle the bill.

So, if you want reconnection, someone has to settle the outstanding bill first or appeal to pay instalment.

Get it done so you can start collecting rental. Have the account in your name for minitoring and you instruct for disconnection if there is unpaid bills. You cant do it if is in tenant's name.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 11 2020, 08:53 AM
Newsray
post Jul 11 2020, 07:32 AM

1,022 posts

Many tenants have been renting shoplot units for mining.
And irresponsible landlord just leeching the rent but not doing monitoring.

Ended up TNB becoming more strict to everyone.
mini orchard
post Jul 11 2020, 07:48 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Newsray @ Jul 11 2020, 07:32 AM)
Many tenants have been renting shoplot units for mining.
And irresponsible landlord just leeching the rent but not doing monitoring.

Ended up TNB becoming more strict to everyone.

This is TNB SOP for long time.

Someone got to pay.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 11 2020, 07:49 AM
knwong
post Jul 11 2020, 09:05 AM

3,560 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 11 2020, 06:49 AM)
TNB contracts are tag to the property and NEVER to an individual just like Syabas, Assessment and Quit Rent.

Most landlord have the misconception that the tenant is responsible for the bill when the contract is in the tenant's name. If that is the case, landlord can always create FAKE agreement and do illegal activity in his premise. Once bill reached the sky without paying, just open another account.

Same like assessment, the majlis will seize the assets in the property with outstanding bills irrespective if the asset belongs to the tenant or owner. They cannot be going around msia looking for the owner ! The action will prompt the owner to settle the bill.

So, if you want reconnection, someone has to settle the outstanding bill first or appeal to pay instalment.

Get it done so you can start collecting rental. Have the account in your name for minitoring and you instruct for disconnection if there is unpaid bills. You cant do it if is in tenant's name.
Thanks for sharing. Now I know

JoeK
post Jul 11 2020, 09:06 AM

1,099 posts

No choice but to pay lah.. already use, where can hide anymore.

You better hire ah long go pukul your previous tenant and extract money from him.

This is not TNB's fault
apalexar
post Jul 11 2020, 09:15 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 11 2020, 06:49 AM)

Thanks for sharing, thus landlord should understand their responsibilities before rent out their unit, no more innocent landlord !
acbc
post Jul 11 2020, 09:17 AM

9,048 posts

Nothing much u can do except to pay TNB.
korangar
post Jul 11 2020, 09:21 AM

581 posts

TNB like this, even if you complaint to them that the tenant is not paying and asking them to cut elec, they dont care cause they can always find the landlord. so nothing you can do much except paying

ihavenoidea
post Jul 11 2020, 09:26 AM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(korangar @ Jul 11 2020, 09:21 AM)
TNB like this, even if you complaint to them that the tenant is not paying and asking them to cut elec, they dont care cause they can always find the landlord. so nothing you can do much except paying
But TS followed what tnb suggestion that get the tenant to register and not under his name. And end up the tenant did not pay but tnb still chased him
mini orchard
post Jul 11 2020, 09:28 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Jul 11 2020, 09:15 AM)
Thanks for sharing, thus landlord should understand their responsibilities before rent out their unit, no more innocent landlord !
Same as speeding summon caught on camera, even if the owner let his friend drive unless if have proof.
korangar
post Jul 11 2020, 09:34 AM

581 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ Jul 11 2020, 09:26 AM)
But TS followed what tnb suggestion that get the tenant to register and not under his name. And end up the tenant did not pay but tnb still chased him
yupe, tnb always chase the landlord cause its easy target. the only adv to put under tenant name is at least there is a deposit to cover.
apalexar
post Jul 11 2020, 09:36 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ Jul 11 2020, 09:26 AM)
I think TNB is not chasing TS to pay the bill, just not allow anyone open new account using same unit address. Else same case might repeat again.

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 11 2020, 09:28 AM)
Same as speeding summon caught on camera, even if the owner let his friend drive unless if have proof.
Yeah, either friend pay or owner pay it.
mushigen
post Jul 11 2020, 09:41 AM

4,953 posts

I wonder if telco companies also do this. Your tenant moved out with unpaid home internet bills and you cannot get new line for this address?
mini orchard
post Jul 11 2020, 09:43 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(korangar @ Jul 11 2020, 09:34 AM)
yupe, tnb always chase the landlord cause its easy target. the only adv to put under tenant name is at least there is a deposit to cover.
Deposit paid to tnb or landlord is no different. Infact landlord can collect higher deposit compare to tnb.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:09 AM