Mountain Bike v35

aquilaTE
post Mar 18 2021, 10:18 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 18 2021, 10:06 AM)
got 1 advise for newbie. If you buy complete bike even some famous brand please lube the BB and headset with water resistance grease.

If your bike is 2 pieces crankset then you need pull out the rubber sealing of that bearing and put water resistance grease on that. If too late do this, then the BB will gg.
Wait... what? Isn't the seals on those sealed cartridge bearing meant to keep dirt and water out?
pretty23
post Mar 18 2021, 10:24 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 18 2021, 10:18 AM)
Wait... what? Isn't the seals on those sealed cartridge bearing meant to keep dirt and water out?
Theoretical it is but reality it maybe not.

You want wait until like this err?

This one already gg.
aquilaTE
post Mar 18 2021, 10:28 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 18 2021, 10:24 AM)
Theoretical it is but reality it maybe not.

You want wait until like this err?

This one already gg.
This one looks like swimming in the river... lol... or probably seal worn off and water(or muck) entering it...
pretty23
post Mar 18 2021, 10:31 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 18 2021, 10:28 AM)
This one looks like swimming in the river... lol... or probably seal worn off and water(or muck) entering it...
don't laugh. We should prevent this happen. thumbup.gif

Don't worry. I find example DIY.

aquilaTE
post Mar 18 2021, 11:00 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 18 2021, 10:31 AM)
don't laugh. We should prevent this happen.  thumbup.gif

Don't worry. I find example DIY.

Well... i dun go crossing rivers or swimming in the pond so mine shud be ok... just as long as your BB isn't submerging in water... if it's rain, you won't have to worry abt it...

This post has been edited by aquilaTE: Mar 18 2021, 11:00 AM
pretty23
post Mar 18 2021, 11:09 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 18 2021, 11:00 AM)
Well... i dun go crossing rivers or swimming in the pond so mine shud be ok... just as long as your BB isn't submerging in water... if it's rain, you won't have to worry abt it...
don't worry. It also apply to those rider who always wash their bike.

Actually BB is not expensive part either and if your DIY skill is pro then can even take out the bearing to replace. Advise is advise, listen or not is up to the person.

Most important is good luck have fun.

This post has been edited by pretty23: Mar 18 2021, 11:10 AM
aquilaTE
post Mar 18 2021, 11:24 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 18 2021, 11:09 AM)
don't worry. It also apply to those rider who always wash their bike.

Actually BB is not expensive part either and if your DIY skill is pro then can even take out the bearing to replace. Advise is advise, listen or not is up to the person.

Most important is good luck have fun.
Only to those who jet wash their bikes and love to spray near there... normal flowing water is ok... I wash my bike often enuff when I need to.

You need the tools if you are to remove and service the bearings... I myself can only remove the crankset but not the BB due to the lack of tools.

And yes, important to have fun either way thumbsup.gif
pretty23
post Mar 18 2021, 11:28 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 18 2021, 11:24 AM)
Only to those who jet wash their bikes and love to spray near there... normal flowing water is ok... I wash my bike often enuff when I need to.

You need the tools if you are to remove and service the bearings... I myself can only remove the crankset but not the BB due to the lack of tools.

And yes, important to have fun either way  thumbsup.gif
Yes. DIY is another fun time.

MTB is really have a spirit => Good luck have fun. rclxm9.gif
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 18 2021, 03:47 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(dotaallstarz @ Mar 17 2021, 10:43 AM)
thanks for your reply, yes i am new.. can i know for the groupset.. how bout deore? can tell difference between deore, to slx and deore XT?
reason being wanna buy camp pro.. new stocking coming is with deore.. if slx and deore XT.. i probably need to find used one.
The technology and the quality of the new deore is consider very good.
As a beginner, you will be happy with it.

SUSskyblu3
post Mar 18 2021, 03:52 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(dotaallstarz @ Mar 17 2021, 09:23 AM)
hi, would like to advice.. am looking for MTB.. for start still cycle around park and on road.. before joining off road. for now have identify to get the camp pro. would like to ask on the following.

1) size. i am 168 cm.. some say S and some say M.. any recommendation. cuz some say is better to get M for male.. just not sure if it will be too big.. hard cuz no stock to try it at shop
It very much depends on the wheel size mtb you will be getting. 27.5 m size may be different from a 29er m size

Best is to test out the bike. Stand over it.
Feel the reach as well.

Different bike brand may have different size of M.

My advice is to hop onto the bike and feel it
The top tube maybe too high and didn't give you much clearance to your groin.

Going off road riding you do need adequate clearance of the top tube to your Peter Crouch. Slamming your Peter onto the top tube is not a good experience. I know because I experienced this before.
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 18 2021, 04:06 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(dotaallstarz @ Mar 17 2021, 04:29 PM)
i am looking for hardtail. based on your advice. i guess is ok also to go for the deore gearset. in in the end the slx and XT are not fully groupset anyway...

so if in to it.. then only upgrade ownself separately.
My second bike..... The hardtail.
It's actually on the deore 11 X 1 drivetrain and deore brakeset. Comparing to my other bike (FS) which is on slx, deore is consider good. I have no complain. It works just fine. Never let me down.

So don't worry too much about deore. It's not the deore type of quality from 10 years ago. The current deore is very good if you don't mind the few extra grams on each component.
dotaallstarz
post Mar 18 2021, 10:39 PM

261 posts

Thanks for all the advice.. Looking forward to deal for a bike this weekend.. Hope it feels right.
I guess for beginner won't really feel difference much.

If I do get it, may need advice on crankset.. For 1 x 12.
Plenty to learn..
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 19 2021, 10:31 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(dotaallstarz @ Mar 18 2021, 10:39 PM)
Thanks for all the advice.. Looking forward to deal for a bike this weekend.. Hope it feels right.
I guess for beginner won't really feel difference much.

If I do get it, may need advice on crankset.. For 1 x 12.
Plenty to learn..
Most importantly is to get the right size.

Hop onto the bike and get the feel.

If can test ride lagi good.
dotaallstarz
post Mar 19 2021, 10:39 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 19 2021, 10:31 AM)

thanks ya.. will try it.. wanna get a M size frame 17" with 29" tyre..
am 168cm.. hopefully its not too big.
otherwise i need to look for a S

This post has been edited by dotaallstarz: Mar 19 2021, 10:39 AM
aquilaTE
post Mar 19 2021, 10:43 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(dotaallstarz @ Mar 19 2021, 10:39 AM)
No check the recommended size and it's geometry on the website when you decided which bike you want to pull the trigger on. Just to give you an example, I'm 177cm riding an M Scott Scale 27.5er
pretty23
post Mar 19 2021, 10:51 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 19 2021, 10:31 AM)

I so miss the old day I bought my first bike. The bike shop's boss give me ride out the road during test ride. That is call real test ride.
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 19 2021, 12:14 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(dotaallstarz @ Mar 19 2021, 10:39 AM)
Look at the standover top tube clearance first.

This post has been edited by skyblu3: Mar 19 2021, 12:15 PM
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 19 2021, 12:14 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 19 2021, 10:51 AM)
I so miss the old day I bought my first bike. The bike shop's boss give me ride out the road during test ride. That is call real test ride.
In Japan they do this.
Test ride

I am guessing crime rate there is very low.
Hence.
pretty23
post Mar 19 2021, 12:17 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 19 2021, 12:14 PM)
In Japan they do this.
Test ride

I am guessing crime rate there is very low.
Hence.
that is why after compare the hard tail and soft tail in real situation, then no turning back.
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 19 2021, 12:18 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 19 2021, 12:17 PM)
that is why after compare the hard tail and soft tail in real situation, then no turning back.
Same

56 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:02 PM