TNB Allo Nationwide Open Fibre Expansion, CBJ,Malacca,Perak,Penang,Johor & Kedah

wc_how
post Aug 7 2023, 09:28 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Aug 7 2023, 06:27 PM)
Still kinda surprised that mmWave is not widely used in Asia, even Lion City currently only using 257/258 on SIMBA. But iPhones/Androids with mmWave all only have 260/261 (Except Pixels as far as I know)

Hopefully with the new iPhone 15 Pro (Which looks like mmWave is gonna be all the models(?)), with Ericsson working with DNB we'll get mmWave 5G in MY
Very simple reasons, too expensive to build and maintain it.
Power consumption is 3x than 4g, coverage is 3x shorter than 4g. Mean 9x expensive to maintain as 4g.
wc_how
post Aug 10 2023, 11:26 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Aug 9 2023, 07:51 PM)
5G was designed to overcome wireless congestion unlike 4G.

It includes many additional security features, beamforming, resource allocation/network virtual slicing, etc. which makes it very much more efficient that it used to be with 4G.

DNB once guaranteed that even with the weakest signal of just 1-bar strength, 5G can still perform >100mbps on downloads.
Seriously, i doubt it. No deny that 5G is an improvement, but for sure it has bottleneck. Even 5G has no limit, backbone must have it. And 100m minimum guarantee speed meaning there are spike, there are up and down. Still yes, 100m is very good already, but it still mean unstable in term of performance.

I love 5G will bring up the price war. Unless i need mobility, i still prefer fibre. If RM50~ can get 100m fibre, why headache.
wc_how
post Aug 14 2023, 08:25 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 13 2023, 01:03 PM)
This is the thing

Build tower > Why you build too near the housing area

No build tower > Why my mobile phone no signal

Browsing Chinese local news can surely see this kind of news once in a while

The problem is... in city or high density area where got place to build tower far from houses

At kampung can la... few km away inside the jungle
Peoples want the tower, just don't want it beside/near them.
wc_how
post Aug 18 2023, 03:05 PM

1,187 posts

Received call from CBB. Thanks me for staying after contract end. Offer upgrade 300m@RM109 permanently.
wc_how
post Aug 24 2023, 04:41 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Cincai.La @ Aug 24 2023, 07:47 AM)
Hmm. How long do u using Allo? Mine just end contract month ago.
2y and 2m.
wc_how
post Aug 29 2023, 11:53 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Aug 29 2023, 10:50 AM)
Previously, what package did you subscribe to? 100Mbps?
50m@RM79.
wc_how
post Sep 14 2023, 08:08 PM

1,187 posts

Allo city broadband down. Another line Maxis thru Allo up, but weird. 30m plan shot to 500m now.
wc_how
post Jun 30 2025, 02:06 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 30 2025, 11:27 AM)
When I received a speed upgrade from 100Mb/s to 300Mb/s in January 2025, Allo provided a new router. After that, my Deco M4R stopped working.

The same thing happened again when I terminated the old account and registered a new one. Curious, I checked the settings on Allo’s router and found it was configured to use PPPoE.

That’s when I realized why the M4R wasn’t working. I called their support line to request the PPPoE credentials, entered them into the M4R settings—and just like that, it was up and running again.

But hey, since the internet is solely for my in-laws—who only use it for watching TV and WhatsApp video calls—no harm done.

Not sure why they switched from IPoE to PPPoE—it seems like a questionable move.
Those who revised/renewed/registered after City broadband rebranded (or maybe earlier, im not very sure) to Allo Fibre, your account will changed Allo Fibre and using PPPOE.
This Jan, i was allowed to free "upgrade" 300m to 500m, but i feel very weird Allo technician must to come over my house to "setting" my modem/router. I rejected this and filed MCMC report and finally Allo upgraded my plan "remotely" and maintained my plan as "IPOE" 500m.
wc_how
post Jul 4 2025, 04:47 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(faizyunus @ Jul 3 2025, 06:32 PM)
Good catch. Noticed my bill still says City Broadband which explains why I'm still on IPOE. Will take note of this if they offer any free upgrade once my contract is up later this month.

Also noticed the old City Broadband, they offered symmetric 1Gbps plan. Now after the Allo rebrand, their 1Gbps plan is not longer symmetric with just 500Mbps upload.

My free upgrade happened during contract. You may try your luck.
And they misunderstood my request, they cancelled my contract too. Now I have free upgrade without contract + waived my existing contract.
wc_how
post Sep 19 2025, 01:59 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Sep 18 2025, 09:53 PM)
Hi Allo users, some feedback would be really helpful
TM has been having congestion issues for the past few days/weeks whatever
Any of you facing the same thing on Allo as well? Eg slow website loading from evening onwards (Twitter, Youtube, Netflix, Disnet+), high ping?
If not, hows the overall experience when using allo?
No issue for me. I'm using public IP via IPOE.

The worst experiences to Allo are their CS and random disconnect for few ten mins every month or so.
The error message from my router was unable to solve their DHCP and usually will back online after 20-30mins. I put a Hotlink 365 + RM10 5GB as backup internet.

wc_how
post Sep 19 2025, 06:25 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Sep 19 2025, 04:54 PM)
Thanks for the feedback
How about payment portal? Is it still as bad as before?
As usual lol.No problem but nothing nice.
wc_how
post Sep 19 2025, 11:48 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Sep 19 2025, 07:08 PM)
Can pay with Jompay?
IDK. I use cc.
wc_how
post Oct 27 2025, 04:13 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Oct 25 2025, 02:47 PM)

Oh come on Allo
Previous email claims fibre reading too high, repair ETA 5 days
Now no ETA at all????
If this is how you run your business then habis lah...
Allo CS and aftersales services are terrible.
I have a hotlink 365 (RM30) + RM10 for 5GB, as backup internet, via WAN2.

If i noticed the downtime, i will buy something like hotlinkMU 20gb for 2h for RM2 or similar if i need longer and bigger quota.

i have average of 30mins downtime every month, yes every month.
wc_how
post Oct 28 2025, 10:00 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Oct 28 2025, 09:50 AM)
Not like I have other options around, especially when the early termination fees are sky high
I know they hired a bunch of contractors to expand their infra in Batu Pahat recently, so they still have the intention to push their service through Johor
However, the lack of technicians scares me
I dont mind occasionnal outtage, it would still be better than having congestion every single night
Still, the slow responses to everything kinda....
I get used to it.
They are the cheapest fixed IP that available in the market.
(not really fixed but their IP never change).
So I have hotlink backup via wan2 and they will back online after 30mins to few hours.
wc_how
post Nov 3 2025, 11:49 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Nov 3 2025, 09:57 AM)
Ok...today's installation kena cancelled because installer waiting for new router and ONU
I dont know how many people will have my patience to deal with them
Oh ya you really need a lot of patience and tolerate to them. But once finish setup it should have no much of problem.
I have history to filling them to MCMC and it took 7-8 months to reply my report, and solved in another 4 rounds of writing, waiting and feedback.

wc_how
post Nov 9 2025, 01:37 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Nov 8 2025, 04:47 PM)
Yeah
I changed to public IP yesterday afternoon, and they gave me a different PPPoE profile to test
Supposed to be 3 days, then they will give me a call for confirmation
So now even public IP is using PPPOE? I thought it was using IPOE.
wc_how
post Nov 28 2025, 10:34 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Nov 26 2025, 08:30 PM)
Using this with PPPOE atm
Not sure about the switch TBH, but the installer told me for all the new subscribers (in Johor at least) will be on PPPoE
Peformance wise, I can get around 930Mbps max with this ONU
Runs a bit hot as well, and really lightweight
Hi, does your public IP thru PPPOE change?
One of the biggest reason i stay with allo because the IP never change with IPOE.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0880sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:07 PM