31 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 >Bottom

[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Aug 7 2022, 01:58 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Aug 6 2022, 10:11 PM)
wondering is there any place can repair ducky keyboard? my ducky one "S" key is not that responsive as it will record most of the taps but not 100% maybe 50%.
there should be builders at mechmarket fb that can help you out.

it sounded like contact leaf issue, so it's easier to just replace the switch imo.
horns
post Aug 7 2022, 01:44 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Aug 7 2022, 06:37 AM)
thanks for this, can i double confirm is this link right? https://www.facebook.com/groups/MYMECHMARKET
yes. the list of builders are at the announcements, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MYMECHMARKET/announcements

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 7 2022, 10:55 AM)
Ta da! One half done. No lifted pads. Just the 1 switch casualty I mentioned before.
[attachmentid=11214902]

The Flux really helped. Thanks to Shopee for getting it here early.
[attachmentid=11214903]

Transferred some into that needle tipped bottle for easy application.

Unfortunately I've just about run out of wick. I might just try to use just the sucker on the other half tonight and wick up the balance when I manage to get some more. Hopefully Shopee can pull off another miracle.
ver nice smile.gif

thanks a lot for the information about flux, too. it's a good-to-have hehe

--

another mw65.q, with pom plate this time. since the plate can support plate-mount stabilizers as well, so i use fl.cmmk plate-mount.

tbh, these gasket-mount kits are forgiving, hiding almost all the issues in stock switches. i will just use them for break-in only. for tuning, i will use non-gasket-mount kits.

horns
post Aug 9 2022, 09:14 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(GreenGuy6767 @ Aug 9 2022, 04:17 AM)
Hi guys, may I know that has anyone kena taxed for a mechanical keyboard (with Bluetooth & Lithium battery included) from the kastam? How much will be for the import tax & sirim certification? I am planning to get a wireless mechanical keyboard with the lithium battery from oversea. The price of the keyboard estimated was about RM 300 only with shipping cost included.
you can do a search with keyword 'tax' at mymkb fb page to look for answers i guess. there were quite a number of tax-related topics about it.

edit: true that goods that are below 500myr will not get taxed. i was refering to bluetooth/battery part of the goods.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 9 2022, 12:05 PM
horns
post Aug 14 2022, 01:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

jwk matcha's bottom housing is identical to fff's.

previously when i read about nylon bottom housing, i thought all were the same as cherry mx, or sp-star meteor. as it turned out that nylon is a generic name, and the devils are in the details. the nylon that cherry mx use is different from what fff and matcha use. hence, the typing feel and sound are actually different.

to differentiate them, nylon used for bottom housings of fff and matcha (and h1) is called polyamide.

jwk epsilon is ok as well.

edit: while the housing is identical to alpaca, the stock spring of jwk epsilon is 68g long progressive. it's not 2-stage progressive as described in the switch specifications. (or, maybe i was confused with the description, and thought it was a 2-stage)

this type of combination has a higher starting force, but it has relatively 'softer' during key travel.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 15 2022, 03:28 PM
horns
post Aug 16 2022, 10:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Aug 15 2022, 10:16 PM)
so which one better?
epsilon looks like tangerine  sweat.gif
there is no 'better' here, because they have their own characteristics. i like both, just like i like fff and alpaca haha

yes, tangerine and epsilon have similar housing color, but they are different in terms of sound and feel.

horns
post Aug 17 2022, 12:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

i revisited my old kbd67 with bottom-mounted aluminum plate, and cherry mx red, lubed with krytox gpl 105. (kbd67 series went through different plate mounting styles, from bottom-mount, top-mount, and the current gasket-mount) it's been few years, and i'm surprised that the lube can last this long. maybe it's because i applied it generously. to me, as long as it doesn't fart, it's all good.

cherry mx with black nylon housing always benefits from lubing. the differences are significant. (by the way when we said cherry mx, we mean those with black nylon housing; the ones with pc switch top are called cherry mx rgb)

back in the days, krytox gpl was expensive and hard to get. they were sold in the form of pure oil (105) and grease (205g2). trybosys came later, claimed to be as good as krytox gpl, at lower price points. back then, 205g0 was not a thing yet, but we all have our own formulas. i also tried superlube and singer oil before. these two need relatively frequent touchups. since hotswap pcbs are common now, it's not as tedious as before. (previously i just used plateless with no capslock led, so that i could reapply lube without desoldering)

in general, as long as the lube is safe to use for switches, you can use it. by 'safe', i mean do not use those that leave crusts when base oil dries up if possible. this might increase the chance of side effects like key chattering. alternatively, just use krytox gpl series, as it's proven to work well, if applied correctly.

horns
post Aug 17 2022, 05:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 17 2022, 05:20 PM)
PSA - zfrontier just did a huge inventory (extras) release.
https://en.zfrontier.com/collections/invent...ase-august-2022

Highlights (to me) are
KAT Atlantis
KAT Hyperfuse
GMK Thinkcaps
GMK Serika
nice sets smile.gif

it's been a while since i last visited the site haha hopefully i will get something from this round.
horns
post Aug 19 2022, 12:24 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 18 2022, 08:04 AM)
Yeah....when I placed my order, the promo code was live but they didn't say there was a 120 minimum. I was too scared the things I wanted would run out of stock so I just placed my order first, then emailed them to ask why the code didn't work. After that they replied to me there was a 120 minimum, and soon after my email they added the minimum to the text on the product pages.
maybe you can ask them to cancel your order, then place a new order and add something else to qualify.
horns
post Aug 19 2022, 05:34 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 19 2022, 12:27 PM)
Yeah I thought about that too. But they too efficient already ship. I think they're scared I would ask for that. Lol.

Edit. Just checked my email. 2 minutes in between their response to my question and receiving the shipping notification. Lol
.. yeah, that's efficient :/

--

found the cthulhu's artisan key cap that i want, but cannot get it because of geographical restriction at taobao :/

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=652578750155

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 19 2022, 05:38 PM
horns
post Aug 20 2022, 12:54 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 19 2022, 11:47 PM)
Anyone have any experience sanding box stems? Or any stems for that matter? I'm trying to reduce this height difference.

[attachmentid=11232779]

My concern is that the stem will mushroom and make it difficult to install and/or break keycaps.
yeah i do that. i use cruciformer to check/fix stems. sanding will work also i think.

pbt key caps have better tolerance compared to abs (no crack), but they will become loosed when used with normal stems.
horns
post Aug 20 2022, 10:32 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 20 2022, 07:55 AM)
Oh ok. I forgot about box gate, is that still a thing? I bought these about 2 years after Kailh announced they were going to fix their stems. But there's always a chance I got new old stock...

My objective was not the width but the overall height. I was thinking of having 1 box navy switch on my board for Caps Lock, but as you can in the pic, there is a slight height mismatch with the box navy being slightly higher than the Boba LT. So a cruciformer might fix any concerns of boxgate, but probably won't affect the height?

Oh and back to boxgate, I just checked with my cheapo digital calipers and they seem similar to my Boba stems. Unfortunately it's only precise to 0.0mm and I probably need to use something 0.00mm precise to be sure.
Edit: ah ok, I can sand it down to he height I like. Then if I'm worried that it has caused the top edge to mushroom, then I can use a cruciformer. Got it. Now to get my hands on one....
you can do the check with loosed keycaps. if they fit, that means the stems are larger.

i have fixed my box v1 and v2. at stock they are still slightly larger than normal, based on tests with cruciformer. (with cruciformer you will feel hard to push it into the switch)

yes, cruciformer will not fix height issue. height doesn't crack stems.
horns
post Aug 20 2022, 12:12 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 20 2022, 11:14 AM)
Yes. The height is to be fixed with sanding. Sanding sometimes can make edges bigger, which some people call mushrooming. I want to sand down to a certain height, but at the same time, I don't want to crack stems because I created a mushroom edge by sanding down the height.
right hehe just check it with an unused key cap first.

edit: queasy about 205g0, so i go back to dupont teflon oil to preserve original feels.

this oil has relatively higher evaporation rate. (about few months in my usual environment; low viscosity, like singer oil) hence it's better to use the switches with hotswap boards, so that you can lube the switches when needed.

also, shake the bottle first before use.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 21 2022, 03:15 AM
horns
post Aug 22 2022, 09:37 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

completed a build with jwk epsilon, brass plate, and fl-cmmk plate-mount stabilizers yesterday. i used ixpe sheet from mss.studio. the cutouts are clean and precse.

the obvious differences between alpaca and epsilon are the spring, and relatively more stem wobbles in epsilon imo. (note that stem wobbles is not a bad thing. it's one of the characteristics of a switch, hence it's a choice based on individual preferences. it's not as obvious as gateron ks-3)

edit: i bought some fl-cmmk plate-mount stabilizers, and i found plates for them, so they are used in most builds these days. the only thing that i do to the stabilizers is lubing them with 205g0. i don't even check the wires.

fl-cmmk plate-mount is good. so far i haven't had stabilizers that have ticking, rattling, etc.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 22 2022, 11:48 AM
horns
post Aug 25 2022, 12:10 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Aug 24 2022, 08:57 PM)
What is your thought on the KNC Tofu switch?
https://knckeys.com/products/tofu-linear-switches
honestly, no idea. i haven't tried all-nylon switches yet.

from specs:
    Type:  Linear
    Mounting Type:  PCB Mount (5-pin)
    Materials
        Top:  PA666
        Bottom:  PA666
        Stem:  13.9mm Nylon
    Spring: 58g / 22mm
    Factory lubed: Lightly on spring & leaf. *Highly encourage you to lube the switches. Does not require film.
    Manufacturer: Tecsee
    Designer: KNC Keys x Tofutypes
    Travel Distance: 3.2mm
it's a long-pole switch, with 13.9mm-tall slider. (for comparison, panghu's hpe slider is 13.1mm, meaning it's long, and the switch is louder) the travel distance is shorter than cherry mx speed silver.

horns
post Aug 25 2022, 11:03 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Aug 25 2022, 09:17 PM)
Hi, may I know if it's possible to do this with via/vial/qmk confiq?
I'm just dipping my feet into qmk, no knowledge of coding.

Spent a few days just reading on nuances of modtap and miryoku/colemak
that custom code is meant for pcb with rgb matrix support only. afaik it's not possible yet to do it with via/vial/qmk configurator.

yes, it's good to learn qmk. you can have better controls on your pcbs. via/vial sometimes take up too much firmware space, so you can exclude them to free up more space for more useful features.

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Aug 25 2022, 09:45 PM)
me too havent tried any all nylon too ... but heck the shipping cost is like RM 50+  sweat.gif
the price for the switch is ok but plus shipping crazy already
well, it's better to include shipping costs as part of the switch cost then make up your mind lol

horns
post Aug 27 2022, 01:01 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Aug 27 2022, 08:48 AM)
yes ... but tempted already sweat.gif  whistling.gif
haha

tecsee previously released full-nylon switches. however i'm not sure if they used the same housing material as this tofu r2

QUOTE(No Eyedea @ Aug 27 2022, 09:18 AM)
Hello all,

Need some advice, Im looking at a super entry level mech kibod. I saw this Aula brand and seems to be within my under rm 100 budget. Anyone has experience with this brand?

Also any other recommendation for mech kibod under rm100?

Thanks ya'll
as a generic input device, it works. well, it's a good start i think. you can use it to earn and save more to get better stuff.

horns
post Aug 27 2022, 05:02 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Aug 27 2022, 01:05 PM)
i think it is made by tecsee .. read it somewhere hahaha
yes tofu r2 is from tecsee. i just cannot confirm whether tecsee is using the same PA666 as housing material or not for their previous full-nylon switches.
horns
post Aug 28 2022, 02:10 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Aug 27 2022, 09:26 PM)
what is their previous full nylon switch called?

i couldn't remember. there is a sample kit at kbdfans, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=678964685121

edit: note that that tecsee sample kit let you do 192 combinations between slider, switch top, switch bottom housing, and switch type (linear and tactile). it will get you busy for a while lol

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 28 2022, 03:36 PM
horns
post Sep 4 2022, 10:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Sep 3 2022, 02:01 PM)
Anyone having issues with tecware-outemu switches (old brown outemu) failing after some time?
Some switches failed after some months and then after about a year+, another few switches are starting to fail. Thinking of changing all the switches to Akko or outemu dust proof. Are the dust proof outemu's long lasting or?
in real life, not sure about the relative shelf life of dust-proof switches, compared to mx style switches. i don't experience switch failures that are due to usage. however i mainly use cherry mx, gateron, jwk/jwick, and kailh.

you have a hotswap board so you can replace them anytime.

horns
post Sep 5 2022, 11:02 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Sep 5 2022, 10:06 AM)
I'm think that the problem could be due to poor contact on the hotswap socket. Switches failing after a while is a problem on popular hotswap keyboards like Tecware/Kumara.
afaik tecware boards with outemu switches uses outemu-made switch sockets. that means they are relatively tight because outemu switches have thin pins. if this is the case, you can bend either pins a little of a switch, so that they can make contact with the switch socket walls.

this is a common fix for other switch sockets also, especially when these sockets have aged due to frequent switch swapping, and cannot grab the pins like they used to.

31 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 >Top

0.1010sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:13 AM