5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

krayden
post Jan 18 2021, 03:26 PM

578 posts

To share a bit on what little experience I have, here's my comment on 3 different silent switches of varying pricing.
Ttc silent red v2 (usd.0.41} on a tecware phantom elite
Cherry mx silent red {usd0. 54} on a YMDK wood case
Zeal Sakurios {usd1. 20} on a Mojo75

I like silent keyboards. Having built 3 different keyboards with these 3 types, in terms of sound, there's very little appreciable difference between them. They all work well for their primary objective which is to be quiet.
Sure the sakurios might be smother, but the cheapo ttc does not irk me at all.
Also an expensive machine cnc aluminum case will only look and feel better than a plastic one. When you type its about the same.
What you should really spend your money on are the stabs. At least Durocks.
Moral of the story - - > diminishing returns
Disclaimer : High tolerance to scratchiness. No experience on tactiles, so there's no thock sound I'm after.

This post has been edited by krayden: Jan 18 2021, 03:30 PM

krayden
post Jan 25 2021, 05:27 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(hiroka88 @ Jan 25 2021, 10:54 AM)
So I curious that, these professional KB suitable for gaming? Wireless have delay? Low profile KB is okay for gaming?
Mech kb are extremely suitable for gamers. Most if not all pro gamers use mech kb.
Bluetooth kb is not suitable for fps. If you want wireless, you need to get the logitech ones that uses RF but they're more expensive.
Low profile has no bearing for gaming other than being lower which is a personal comfort thing.

If you can go to a shop to feel a clicky vs tactile vs linear switch, it'll help you in your switch choive.
krayden
post Jan 27 2021, 03:38 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jan 26 2021, 08:05 PM)
laugh.gif how u do print screen with the keyboard?  laugh.gif
Windows+shift+S

Built into windows and will work on all keyboards.
krayden
post Jan 29 2021, 10:09 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jan 29 2021, 08:12 PM)
Anyone here using tecware phantom elite 104? I saw market price is now rm330.. for the gateron yellow.. reasonable?

How is this compared to gateron red?
I have a phantom elite tkl gat browns rm209.
Cant comment much about the price but if you foam the case, lube the switches and maybe change the stabs, it sounds good and performs very well for the money.
krayden
post Jan 30 2021, 01:28 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jan 30 2021, 10:11 AM)
.. and I like how juju cable looks like...
I dunno about the 104, but my tkl cable is fixed. You'll have to juju something else.
krayden
post Apr 28 2021, 02:48 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Apr 28 2021, 12:54 AM)
been trying to get my hands on a unit of tecware phantom elite.
Noticed that most of them are dead items on lazada and shopee.
No plans to restock from reseller and items continued to stay listed..  doh.gif
The only availables are sold directly from oversea. rclxub.gif
I have one TKL modded with lubed TTC silent reds. Or stock Gat browns. If you're interested.

This post has been edited by krayden: Apr 28 2021, 02:50 AM
krayden
post May 9 2021, 09:32 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(DonutZai @ May 9 2021, 06:33 PM)
So called warranty is life-time switch warranty.
Was shipped 10 pieces of newer switches.
Unfortunately there's more than 15 bad switches (both old and newer switches) by now and this thing is going to trash.
I doubt this is the only lemon unit that exist.
Might as well start replacing with Gat yellows
krayden
post May 10 2021, 01:42 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(Lucifer @ May 10 2021, 07:26 AM)
tecware with outemu hotswap rivet, can't fit most other switches.
need to modify pin leg or desoldering.
ah so sorry. I thought the elite version with Gat hotswaps.
krayden
post Jul 17 2021, 10:32 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 16 2021, 07:50 PM)
where can i get a keyboard with left handed numpad?

example:
Epomaker GK96S
This is one option. Southpaw very rare.
https://epomaker.com/collections/keyboards/products/gk96s
krayden
post Aug 7 2021, 11:36 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(pixelrider @ Aug 7 2021, 11:18 PM)
The 60% keyboard seems like the best for ergonomic, however I'm unsure about the lack of print screen key and other nav bar key since I do use those a lot. How do you guys deal with this problem?

Suggest you go for a 65. That will give you the nav keys. Print screen with a Fn key shouldn't be a problem. Also make sure your games dun use F keys, otherwise you'll need at least a 75.

As for linears, maybe you can look for Gazew thocky linears. I'm not sure if they're out yet though.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nc1BCtw0zN0..._channel=Shoobs

I dunno. All my boards are silent.
Good luck.
krayden
post Aug 28 2021, 03:28 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(Insanity_Jerr @ Aug 28 2021, 03:07 AM)
Hallo everyone, sharing my first board ever built.
Anyone have any recommendations for a budget 65 - 75% with a knob.
Your TM680 looks good man. I just saw a soundtest that was super thocky.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ahex7LuYv6Y

Something to look at. Just watch ah..........
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAyGClVb80s

Keydous NJ80
Opening the bottom looks like a disaster waiting to happen.

Or wait for Keychron to sell the Q1 with knob. Should give you plenty of time to self consume racun in the meantime.
krayden
post Aug 28 2021, 11:23 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(Insanity_Jerr @ Aug 28 2021, 04:06 AM)
Wallet says cannot.

Take it slow man. Take a few months to see whats in the market. Enjoy your new board and dun buy anything for a few months. Except gmk gb. If you really like the colorway, just join one gb first. Otherwise you'll end up with so many parts, you'll start giving away boards to your family.

Yeah the Q1 will be off the shelf ready. So you can wait for the knob and see what the reviews are like for v2 next year.
Just ask yourself, how many keyboards do you need anyway.
(It din work for me, I have double kb for each pc) lol
krayden
post Aug 29 2021, 03:56 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Aug 29 2021, 11:18 AM)
How so though?  :confused: unsure.gif
Need to pry the top case tabs off the bottom case holes. If I do Im sure I would break something.

You on the other hand, being the pro that you are, its prolly wet wet water for you lol.
krayden
post Aug 30 2021, 11:49 PM

578 posts

Lol buying lube not for reproductive purposes
~HamajiNeo 2020~
krayden
post Aug 31 2021, 09:28 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 31 2021, 05:10 PM)
Just did the foam mod on my Keychron after sitting on my fat ass for awhile. Was easier than I thought to take this apart and put it back together. At least it still works  laugh.gif Managed to improve the sound while typing. rclxm9.gif Now the only question is what keyboard to buy next?  hmm.gif
K
e
y
c
u
l
t
krayden
post Aug 31 2021, 09:31 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(MrTrip @ Aug 31 2021, 07:49 PM)
Does anyone here knows if there is any shop/individuals who repairs mechanical keyboard in Gombak/Batu Caves?

This fella.
I dunno where he's located though.

https://forum.lowyat.net/user/GRexer
krayden
post Sep 1 2021, 12:05 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 31 2021, 11:41 PM)
Lol no thanks.
hmm.gif
Lol, I thought you were bangsawan too. Sorry, silly pipit me.
Yeah them akko 1800s look good.
I'm waiting for my Q1 too. Wanna do this for my son and wait for my endgame board sometime this year and then retire gracefully.

krayden
post Sep 11 2021, 11:16 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 11 2021, 10:27 PM)
Drop so expensive.
At Idabao site USD259 only
https://www.idobao.net/collections/75-layou...80-keyboard-kit

I just ordered this. Looks so old school.

https://en.zfrontier.com/collections/in-sto...=39444685652046

Was still in stock yesterday.

+

https://shopee.com.my/Akko-9009-PBT-Double-...6009?position=0

+

https://shopee.com.my/%F0%9F%94%A5Coiled-Da...1799.9080990383

+

Boba U4S

+

Durock V2 stabs

And then think about this

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=111973.0

Got relegendables some more.

What you think?
krayden
post Sep 12 2021, 11:38 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 12 2021, 09:31 AM)
Drop price includes Holy Panda switches, BoW keycaps and matching wristrest. Not buying it anyway. I jut thought it was a super cool idea. Everything in gold and transparent plastic.

That keyboard and cable and keycaps really suits man. Very retro.
Ah, my bad. Din read properly.
I'll post a shot of the retro build after I'm done.
krayden
post Sep 12 2021, 06:35 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Sep 12 2021, 12:16 PM)
That actually sounds like a sweet setup.
Btw, how much you charge to solder 3 led?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:31 PM