[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club
danny_sp15
Aug 27 2021, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 27 2021, 03:33 PM) RM168 damage not including shipping. Also has blue keycaps as well, not included in that pic lol. Akko is actually on Shopee so you can get their official stuff cheaper than 3rd party local resellers: https://shopee.com.my/Akko-Midnight-178-Key...5202.9380734658Buying Akko switches from them directly is way cheaper. But the trade off is the 2 week waiting time. I'm thinking of getting some switches along with the cables next time. I really wanna try the Ocean Blue and Rose Reds. Yeah, I ordered from that Akko shopee store as well. Just wondered if sifu got lobang to find cheaper. Haha. But the price is very good already actually when compared to Akko US official price, which can be almost double. I'm really intrigued by SA profile. Very retro looking. The WoB like yours especially looks exactly like my old typewriter. Does it wobble like people usually say?
danny_sp15
Aug 27 2021, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 27 2021, 04:35 PM) Yeah AKKO keycaps on Amazon $59.99. They always like to ketuk whitey haha. ASA profile is slightly different from SA iirc. Best user comparison I've seen is that it's SA profile with OEM height. https://en.akkogear.com/faq/akko-keycaps-profile-comparison/ I haven't actually put them on yet since I got them yesterday. Thinking of doing the foam mod on my Keychron so might as well one shot everything. Might do it on Sunday assuming I don't just put it on my Filco tomorrow at work. Eh, I thought ASA is like SA. I was wrong. Just googled and realized they are very different indeed. And ASA looks damn good on 60% and 65% keyboards. Ish cannot change my order already. Haiz..
danny_sp15
Aug 29 2021, 01:20 PM
Hi guys, anyone here done the holee mod with good results?
Mine became mushy, some say might take time to break in, but i wonder if i did anything wrong instead. Plus it's still rattly.
danny_sp15
Aug 29 2021, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Aug 29 2021, 02:25 PM) it might be related to the material and thickness of the tape/foam that you use for the mod. mushiness can happen if the foams applied are relatively thick. i use eva foam, 0.5mm, compressed by force to make it relatively compact and thinner before use. the thickness after that should be around 0.3mm. to help reduce rattles, you should also tune the wire so that it's as straight as possible, with both tips pointing to the same angle. you might also need to apply some foams between wire and pcb, so as to support the wire. I used bandaid like hamajineo guide. In fact my bandaid seems thinner than his, and i even cut off the end instead of looping in the bandaid the other side to ensure minimal contact with the stab housing. My wire seems straight when placed on my desk. Both angled points also lying flat. Later i try remeasure again. I will try the foam between wire and pcb. I also havent actually assessed if my spacebar itself is flat or not. Hopefully it improves with new keycaps. This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Aug 29 2021, 03:42 PM
danny_sp15
Aug 29 2021, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Aug 29 2021, 04:31 PM) if that's the case, yours shouldn't have any mushiness. did you apply bandaid mod on pcb with the same tape? did you clip the slider tips? those might cause mushiness as well these days, i use epsi mod more with 0.5mm eva foam. epsi mod covers top and bottom parts of stab sliders, so the chance of having mushiness is higher if tape/foam used are too thick, or you don't trim the excess. however, usually it's ok after trimmed and with manual compression. (chewah macam canggih, but this just means i use a pen and roll it over the piece of tape for few times) for experimental and comparison purposes, some of my older builds do have mushiness (epsi mod), because i just used 0.5mm eva foam without manual compression. Havent done anything to the pcb yet. Also didnt clip anything on the stabs, since the legs also don't have those fangs protruding at the bottom. Is it possible i used too much lube? I used krytox since i don't have diaelectric grease. I will try to troubleshoot more tonight. I also have different bandaid types that i can try. The ones i used currently is the fabric type.
danny_sp15
Aug 29 2021, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Aug 29 2021, 05:15 PM) ok. yes, excess of lube can cause mushiness also. however it's usually temporary. the effects should be gone after regular use for a week or two. fyi, krytox grease is also dielectric. i assumed you were referring to permatex dielectric grease when you said 'dielectric grease' right, take your time to explore more. the experience is good for you for your future builds also. Ah sorry, didnt know krytox is also diaelectric grease. Still lots to learn
danny_sp15
Aug 30 2021, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Aug 29 2021, 07:57 PM) it's fine, a lot of people do not know that krytox gpl is dielectric also. some even created imaginary names like krytox gpl 105g0. the gX is the grade for krytox gpl grease (20x series). there is no such grading for their oil (10x series) you will pick up more stuff in the process of your mkb journey for sure. I've removed the bandaid and only reapplied lube, just to get a baseline feel before i attempt further mod. So far no more mushiness. I guess my bandaid was too thick.
danny_sp15
Aug 30 2021, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 30 2021, 01:26 PM) This is to be inserted in the stab housing?
danny_sp15
Aug 30 2021, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 30 2021, 02:57 PM) I noticed in one of the pics, the tape sticks out from one end of the hole. Did you trim it later or leave it like that?
danny_sp15
Aug 30 2021, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 30 2021, 06:36 PM) It's still there! Lol. Tried to stick it but I guess I had gotten lube on it at some point. [attachmentid=10962117] It doesn't get in the way of the sliding movements of the stabs?
danny_sp15
Aug 30 2021, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 30 2021, 07:52 PM) Not in any noticeable way. Video tutorials that came out after I built this keeb shows how you can tuck in the ends to the top hole. Just be careful not to get lube on it anywhere before doing this mod, otherwise the tape simply won't stick the the plastic. Alright, thanks for the tips. I try to find that tape.
danny_sp15
Aug 30 2021, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Aug 30 2021, 10:17 PM) My gf looking at me lubing hundred over switches, installing and removing stabs repeatedly was like 'How do you find this enjoyable?' I look at her and said 'you spent entire day cracking eggs, rolling dough, molding cookies, how do you find that enjoyable?' Tell her "you want me to lube something else instead?"
danny_sp15
Sep 3 2021, 11:51 PM
Hey guys. I have a few switches (gateron yellow) that's just scratchy no matter how much i lube it. It's just like 3-4 switches out of the whole keyboard, but no matter how i lube them they're just still scratchy. Any way to solve this apart from replacing the switch?
danny_sp15
Sep 4 2021, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(bansai @ Sep 4 2021, 08:12 AM) Between those 3 to 4 switches, swap the top shell, spring, and stem between them. You'll be able able to save some. Lube shell, stems and springs. That makes sense. So 1 switch will get all the worst parts. Guess I'll use that for the least used key. Thanks!