Wealth Booster Plan, Investment Scheme

TSMr.Docter
post Jun 14 2020, 12:03 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 13 2020, 11:59 PM)
Did you end up committing to the purchase?
Nope.
Ramjade
post Jun 14 2020, 12:51 AM

24,353 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 12 2020, 06:47 AM)

Received this offer from one of the bank. Details as below.
- A fixed deposit (similar amount) per annum whereby one-off for the 1st year and multiple deposits for the subsequent year.
- Counted by the date of 1st deposit as a year for the dividend.
- The principle is compulsory to be deposit annually for six years before being able to withdraw.
- After the 6th year, if you haven't withdrawn the accumulated principle - you can enjoy continuous dividends for a maximum of 20 years.
- Dividends for frontliner - 30% p.a (!!!) - limited time & quota for selected group of individual.
- Minimum of RM10k/year. Don't overcommit as you need to deposit a similar amount every year for six years.
- If you haven't withdrawn the dividends, it will be compound for the next year with an average of 5-8%. However, you are free to withdraw the dividends as you like.
- Possible to open more than one policy.
- Policy approval is based on overall financial status.
- Limited quota.
- Insured by PIDM.

The guaranteed of 30% p.a for maximum of 20 years was in black & white on my form from the bank, not agent's lips.

Most likely going to open for both of my kids if all okay.
Thanks in advance for all the input and insight!
If you really want 30% returns yearly there's only one way I can think of. Buy LSE plc stock. Wait 30-40 years. By then the dividends received will be 30% p.a and growing.

This is the world of dividend growth investing which I am doing.
afif737
post Jun 14 2020, 12:56 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 12 2020, 09:59 AM)
I don't know what plan you are posting.

But based on above limited info, it is more like a saving plan or endowment plan. It is not a fixed deposit with 30% or whatever % dividend/interest.

Saving plan guaranteed cash back is not your earned interest or dividend. It is not like you placed 100K with 30% cash back, then you you have 100K + 30K. It doesn't work that way.
Once you get the 30%, then surrender value drops.

A portion of cash back came from your own capital.

Normally saving plan return rate or IRR is more and less comparable to FD rate if held until maturity.
You need to count entire amount guaranteed cash back you are getting + maturity amount you are getting to determine the "real" dividend you are getting.
It is not like every year you get guaranteed 30% or 20%, then you still get back your own origin principal amount.

Saving plan is long term commitment, any premature withdraw may affect the principal amount, it is not a fixed deposit.

It is irresponsible for anyone to promote saving plan as fixed deposit.
It is also irresponsible to say guaranteed cash back is an interest or dividend earned.
QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 12 2020, 10:15 AM)
Some of my family members fell into the same traps before (the wealth booster plan by HLB), and they can't withdraw thereafter (hefty penalty). (My parents bought for me and regretted).

I calculated the IRR thereafter and it's somewhat like 4-5%. Even worse than your EPF return and can easily be on par with the current ASNB FP fund returns.

Many insurance agents (at least in Malaysia) like to promote saving insurance (or saving plans) and treat them as FD products, cheating customers' money.

The agents just sweeten the deal by manipulating the numbers as shown by some members above. Look before you leap.
maybank has a similar plan called Smartcash Xtra. They gave me the same sales pitch. Did my calculation and it came to around 4% PA.
ckdenion
post Jun 14 2020, 02:46 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 13 2020, 10:22 AM)
Offer ends by 12pm+ today.
where is it stated that this offer ends by 12pm+? hmm.gif
kidmad
post Jun 14 2020, 05:50 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ Jun 14 2020, 12:56 AM)
maybank has a similar plan called Smartcash Xtra. They gave me the same sales pitch. Did my calculation and it came to around 4% PA.
Maybank is guaranteed right? While HLB is not.
MUM
post Jun 15 2020, 08:52 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 14 2020, 05:50 PM)
Maybank is guaranteed right? While HLB is not.
read post 17,....there is this word "Guaranteed Income per year (RM)", in title heading of the 5th column of the image

the main different between this 2 plans, looks like; one is guaranteed % of yearly payment based on premium paid and the other is based on sum insured.

in the end both will have their final cash value greatly impacted when compared with other "normal" plans

like in post 9 mentioned...."cash back came from your own capital."

or see the % of reduction of the "Guaranteed Death Benefits" as in the same image in post 17

This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 15 2020, 09:11 AM
kidmad
post Jun 15 2020, 09:11 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 15 2020, 08:52 AM)
read post 17,....there is this word "Guaranteed Income per year (RM)", in title heading of the 5th column

the main different between this 2 plans, looks like; one is guaranteed % of yearly payment based on premium paid and the other is based on sum insured.

in the end both will have their final cash value greatly impacted when compared with other "normal" plans
that's super misleading. I'm always confused with these HLB plan they are trying to sell.. 6 years bla bla bla.. return da da da. Anyway i think few years back i did calculated before and the return of investment is just slightly better when compared to fixed deposit the caveat is, one i have to lock on donkey years while the other most likely a year.

IMO totally not worth it.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 15 2020, 12:59 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Simple rule of thumb - when see/hear HLA stuff, run other way
kok_pun
post Feb 24 2021, 01:24 AM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 15 2020, 12:59 PM)
Love this comment.
yoh2020 P
post Jun 24 2021, 12:01 AM

Probation

aaahh damn... already buy this plan in august 2020. If i cancel it now, wont probably my full capital. This year is hard because of covid.
adele123
post Jun 24 2021, 01:07 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(yoh2020 @ Jun 24 2021, 12:01 AM)
aaahh damn... already buy this plan in august 2020. If i cancel it now, wont probably my full capital. This year is hard because of covid.
If you cancel now, pretty much, poof gone. But at least no more pain of putting in more.
Mr.Weezy
post Jun 24 2021, 01:17 PM

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

QUOTE(yoh2020 @ Jun 24 2021, 12:01 AM)
Don't worry, it's still a good vehicle to park your money for long term, you can call it as a sort of wealth preservation, the money won't disappear for sure the next 20 years.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 24 2021, 02:35 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jun 24 2021, 01:17 PM)
Don't worry, it's still a good vehicle to park your money for long term, you can call it as a sort of wealth preservation, the money won't disappear for sure the next 20 years.
hmm.gif i would not call it wealth preservation though....
yes, the money will not disappear for sure in in the next 20 years....but i am just not sure it can "preserve" my wealth in the next 20 years.....will the returns be enough to covers the inflation cost? hmm.gif hmm.gif

Mr.Weezy
post Jun 24 2021, 03:50 PM

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 24 2021, 02:35 PM)
yes, the money will not disappear for sure in in the next 20 years....but i am just not sure it can "preserve" my wealth in the next 20 years.....will the returns be enough to covers the inflation cost?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
effective i/r around 4%~6% according to some calculations here, isn't that enough to cover?
lifebalance
post Jun 24 2021, 04:07 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 24 2021, 02:35 PM)
yes, the money will not disappear for sure in in the next 20 years....but i am just not sure it can "preserve" my wealth in the next 20 years.....will the returns be enough to covers the inflation cost?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
It's called Preservation when you still "see" your money in that account, but don't expect it to beat inflation.

If you're looking in growing your wealth, then this is not the right plan for you.

ideally this is the last place few places to put into your surplus funds otherwise, invest your money instead if you're not cash rich yet.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 24 2021, 05:09 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jun 24 2021, 03:50 PM)
effective i/r around 4%~6% according to some calculations here, isn't that enough to cover?
if can "legally promised" to be 4~6% pa investment returns for 20 yrs....then ok lah....for it has insurance coverage
epf gives abt 6, without insurance coverage
if it is like 3% pa like most other plans...then, cannot beat inflation liao....
cklimm
post Jun 24 2021, 06:00 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 15 2020, 12:59 PM)
QUOTE(kok_pun @ Feb 24 2021, 01:24 AM)
Love this comment.
Being a Hong Leong shareholder, I can confirm this. Love the dividend though.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 24 2021, 06:47 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 24 2021, 06:00 PM)
Being a Hong Leong shareholder, I can confirm this. Love the dividend though.
yup - what's good for the biz, may not be good for staff/customers smile.gif

own a piece of the biz XD
umboy
post Sep 23 2022, 05:13 PM

226 posts

HSBC Universal Treasure Plus is even worse
I signed up and instantly regret
It is a lie from the bank agent to earn commission
There is surrender value
And in the end your interest will be even worse than FD rate
Less than 1% per annum