Problem with upstairs neighbor condo, Dragging chair

SUSPitiuran
post May 28 2020, 09:21 AM, updated 6y ago

335 posts

During mco time I hear chair dragging sound in middle of night
Every time I call the guard to sound this fella. this fella will drag one more time then stop
But recently this fella getting more malicious
Drag chair late at night 1 am
I confronted the fella but the wife denied say they never drag any chair
Then got new sound they purposely drop something very heavy on the floor
I really marah I take big stick and hit the Ceiling
I am thinking of buying a basketball and hit the ceiling too

But in mean times what can I do ?
I lodge report with maintenance office
But they sort of deaf ear now
Should I be more aggressive ?
Would this provoke the upstairs to drag chair even more ?
I have some chair felt gliders bought from ace hardware
Thinking of passing to MO to pass to this fella
But they not 100% stop chair drag noise
PrincZe
post May 28 2020, 09:35 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 28 2020, 09:21 AM)
Every time I call the guard to sound this fella. this fella will drag one more time then stop

probably have to move out. ignore them until u get used to it, or they dont do it.

or confront everyone, say is there something wrong? no one do it, then is ghost? hmm.gif
loserguy
post May 28 2020, 09:40 AM

500 posts

Not much you can do. This is what living in a condo is like.

Wait till you have bathroom leaks coming from upstairs. You will have to beg them to quickly fix the problem. Some cases, if cannot tahan, you need to pay for the repairs.
post May 28 2020, 09:41 AM

837 posts

https://www.scmp.com/news/china/article/208...airs-neighbours

here you gooooooo
djboycalvin
post May 28 2020, 09:41 AM

282 posts

OMG i have the same problem with you ..
the aunty up stair dont sleep at night one ..
10pm till 3am 4am still drag chair, knock knock drill drill installing furniture ...
my baby been wake up by the sound many times already ..
already complaint to management and security guard and follow them to visit the unit then sound stop and tell is not her (with innocent face somemore) ..

really feel want punch her face one ..
management advice, the unit still doing so then they will proceed report to police.. ranting.gif

QUOTE(812799 @ May 28 2020, 09:41 AM)
i really thinking of buy this thing one ...
when search at taobao, the item like not longer selling already .. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by djboycalvin: May 28 2020, 09:42 AM
geelim77
post May 28 2020, 09:44 AM

181 posts

Constantly knock on the master bedroom ceiling at 2am every night till they come confront you, then you tell them no, you didn't do it.
Repeat it till they understand how irritating it is.
Make sure you record the noise they make, cause they might record yours.
matrix88
post May 28 2020, 09:48 AM

2,236 posts

maybe something paranormal living there. very difficult to find out, but might be true because you said you confronted the wife, the wife claim not dragging the chair.

I know it might not make sense, but have heard of this type of stories before.

please dont be angry with me, just sharing because one of my friends unit have sound at night, at first thought piping contraction sound, but after checking, found got some dirty things disturbing. not easy to get rid of it so they moved out within short period. landlord accepted and did not forefeit his rental deposit, he believe most likely the landlord knows and just accepted.
Chrix
post May 28 2020, 09:52 AM

1,187 posts

in a high rise like your case, the sound in which you think is coming directly from above, may not actually originate from there, or even is the sound you think of.

Expanding materials (infra) within the walls, water moving thru the pipes, etc etc can generate noise. Another unit who has a water pump hard mounted to wall can generate vibration, etc etc.

I once had downstairs neighbor complaint I was dragging furniture across living room... i let him come in & drag each & every furniture he can pickup up to prove there is no such activity or even such furniture which can generate the noise he accused me of. Even condo management told me to not care what he complaint (but I feel to prove a point more useful). No complaints after that, also the hours in which he accused of such activity, physically impossible due to no one in my unit at those hours.

Part n parcel of living in condo/apartment/close quarters.

This post has been edited by Chrix: May 28 2020, 09:53 AM
mushigen
post May 28 2020, 09:59 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ May 28 2020, 09:40 AM)
Not much you can do. This is what living in a condo is like.

Wait till you have bathroom leaks coming from upstairs. You will have to beg them to quickly fix the problem. Some cases, if cannot tahan, you need to pay for the repairs.
This is really the main disadvantage of high rise dwellings.
SUSPitiuran

335 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ May 28 2020, 09:52 AM)
in a high rise like your case, the sound in which you think is coming directly from above, may not actually originate from there, or even is the sound you think of.

Expanding materials (infra) within the walls, water moving thru the pipes, etc etc can generate noise. Another unit who has a water pump hard mounted to wall can generate vibration, etc etc.

I once had downstairs neighbor complaint I was dragging furniture across living room... i let him come in & drag each & every furniture he can pickup up to prove there is no such activity or even such furniture which can generate the noise he accused me of. Even condo management told me to not care what he complaint (but I feel to prove a point more useful). No complaints after that, also the hours in which he accused of such activity, physically impossible due to no one in my unit at those hours.

Part n parcel of living in condo/apartment/close quarters.
I personally went up that floor and listen and found the asshole dragging the chair

Turtlez84

170 posts

Me also experience the same. It doesnt necessarily come from above. What annoys me is the heavy footsteps. I know my neighbour above walks like a giant fridge eater but what annoys me more is running sounds which sounded like pounding. At first i thought was my neighbour above, after some observations, turns out to be the middle east family 2 floors below. Reason i think is because 3-5am in the morning its very quiet so you hear everything... Damnnn annoying sial...

Again nothing you can do. Can complain but it wont stop. What i read is that you can place carpet on the floor to absorb sounds from below and drape on ceiling to absorb sounds from above. Hope this helps.

anakkk
post May 28 2020, 10:01 AM

2,115 posts

build plaster ceiling, it will reduce some noise
SUSPitiuran
post May 28 2020, 10:03 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ May 28 2020, 09:41 AM)
OMG i have the same problem with you ..
the aunty up stair dont sleep at night one ..
10pm till 3am 4am still drag chair, knock knock drill drill installing furniture ...
my baby been wake up by the sound many times already ..
already complaint to management and security guard and follow them to visit the unit then sound stop and tell is not her (with innocent face somemore) ..

really feel want punch her face one ..
management advice, the unit still doing so then they will proceed report to police..  ranting.gif
i really thinking of buy this thing one ...
when search at taobao, the item like not longer selling already ..  rclxub.gif
I have a baby coming soon too
I am really pissed with this upstairs neighbor
I also feel like punching her face
In fact I feel like barge into her apartment and overturn all her furniture and put her into one of them then roll her out
Or take on her chairs then put on top of her and I sit on t he chair on top of her and drag it while she is a still below it

Yeah I was looking for this thing in ta bao also
If u found it let me know ya

This post has been edited by Pitiuran: May 28 2020, 10:04 AM
SUSPitiuran
post May 28 2020, 10:05 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Turtlez84 @ May 28 2020, 09:59 AM)
Me also experience the same. It doesnt necessarily come from above. What annoys me is the heavy footsteps. I know my neighbour above walks like a giant fridge eater but what annoys me more is running sounds which sounded like pounding. At first i thought was my neighbour above, after some observations, turns out to be the middle east family 2 floors below. Reason i think is because 3-5am in the morning its very quiet so you hear everything... Damnnn annoying sial...

Again nothing you can do. Can complain but it wont stop. What i read is that you can place carpet on the floor to absorb sounds from below and drape on ceiling to absorb sounds from above. Hope this helps.
It’s actually two sources 2 floors above me and 4 floors above me
After I complain the 2 floors above me become malicious and purposely drag chair at 1230
Nanti Sekejap
post May 28 2020, 10:07 AM

411 posts

Buy a bucket of fruits, pay them a visit, talk nicely, make friend.
Then only 'ask for help' from this 'friend' to reduce noise. This way always works pretty effective.
alanyuppie
post May 28 2020, 10:09 AM

2,834 posts

TS so ignorant . some noise are caused by water hammer.. a phenomenon in piping system inside our walls. The noise may sound like dragging chairs and coin /marble dropping .

Aparaa
post May 28 2020, 10:10 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 28 2020, 10:05 AM)
After I complain the 2 floors above me become malicious and purposely drag chair at 1230
Wtf.
pillage2001
post May 28 2020, 10:15 AM

1,991 posts

Wow..and I thought of starting a thread for this.........same problem fro ma neighbor upstairs...I dropped a note to them, they threaten to go to police with my note saying i was trespassing ( was like wtf? ) and the note was nicely written mind you.....assholes walk like elephants...keep dropping things and dunno doing what upstairs and worst part, they don't sleep till 4-5 am.....Neighbors downstairs I know how to deal with by doing what they did to me back to them but upstairs, I can't knock on the ceiling given that I have plaster ceiling installed but there are still part of the ceilings which I can poke but I am not resorting to that yet.

Talked to the fucking management, they asked me to record down as evidence but if you guys know it, it's not gonna be loud through recordings, it's not drilling sound which is obvious, it's all those knocking sound and walking that annoys the hell out of me. And how the hell am i suppose to time when to record.......dumb fuck managements....

Blofeld
post May 28 2020, 10:17 AM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 28 2020, 10:05 AM)
that means it's not the person directly above you?
ry8128
post May 28 2020, 10:18 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

U hit your own ceiling just to show u are angry? Lol.

Btw, how frequent is the chair dragging? 1-2 times per night?
Exoflare
post May 28 2020, 10:35 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 28 2020, 10:15 AM)
Wow..and I thought of starting a thread for this.........same problem fro ma neighbor upstairs...I dropped a note to them, they threaten to go to police with my note saying i was trespassing ( was like wtf? ) and the note was nicely written mind you.....assholes walk like elephants...keep dropping things and dunno doing what upstairs and worst part, they don't sleep till 4-5 am.....Neighbors downstairs I know how to deal with by doing what they did to me back to them but upstairs, I can't knock on the ceiling given that I have plaster ceiling installed but there are still part of the ceilings which I can poke but I am not resorting to that yet.

Talked to the fucking management, they asked me to record down as evidence but if you guys know it, it's not gonna be loud through recordings, it's not drilling sound which is obvious, it's all those knocking sound and walking that annoys the hell out of me. And how the hell am i suppose to time when to record.......dumb fuck managements....
Just set to record audio for the entire day and store it in an external hard drive or on the cloud or something, then isolate the baseline noise level waveform from the chair dragging waveform (at the time when your neighbor is making noise). If you have some audio processing software it should be pretty easy to isolate the time when they're making noise, though idk if management will actually do anything lol

waghyu
post May 28 2020, 10:37 AM

3,389 posts

move into unit above them
amir.asyraf
post May 28 2020, 10:38 AM

504 posts

How is it people still don't know this?

The sound of dragging chair, marble dropping, door slamming, running footsteps, all those aren't what you think they are.

It's the sound of various parts of the building contracting and water pipes.

But talk to a superstitious and they'll say it's 👻
taiping...
post May 28 2020, 10:40 AM

1,056 posts

Tat's why landed is better
Exoflare
post May 28 2020, 10:45 AM

869 posts

Or if you want and you have somewhere else you can sleep (preferable) or can sufficiently soundproof your room, set up a CCTV outside your house that sends a feed to your phone, then play music as loudly and obnoxiously as possible while you occupy yourself with other things. Do this for three days to a week, and if they try to bang on your door to get you to stop, use the CCTV footage and send it to the police or to management office.

But before you do that, hope that it's actually your neighbors dragging chairs and not some other thing happening lol.
maxsteel
post May 28 2020, 10:46 AM

371 posts

Aiyo most of the sound coming from utilities install inside the wall. The obvious sound comes from water hammer happening inside the water pipe running up and down. Material expands is also one of the culprits.
Some are echo sounds from the mechanical room.

elloy
post May 28 2020, 10:46 AM

23 posts

May 28 2020, 11:17 AM
This post has been deleted by Pitiuran because: Logical reasoning and no more bs

pokchik
post May 28 2020, 10:49 AM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ May 28 2020, 10:09 AM)
TS so ignorant . some noise are caused by water hammer.. a phenomenon in piping system  inside our walls.  The noise may sound like dragging chairs  and coin /marble dropping .
bukan 4th dimensional beings ka?
aspartame
post May 28 2020, 10:52 AM

3,165 posts

Are you annoyed because u can’t sleep or what? Maybe u should play some white noise to mask the sound?

aspartame
post May 28 2020, 10:55 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(amir.asyraf @ May 28 2020, 10:38 AM)
How is it people still don't know this?

The sound of dragging chair, marble dropping, door slamming, running footsteps, all those aren't what you think they are.

It's the sound of various parts of the building contracting and water pipes.

But talk to a superstitious  and they'll say it's 👻
QUOTE(maxsteel @ May 28 2020, 10:46 AM)
Aiyo most of the sound coming from utilities install inside the wall. The obvious sound comes from water hammer happening inside the water pipe running up and down. Material expands is also one of the culprits.
Some are echo sounds from the mechanical room.
Then how to solve the problem?

tekkaus
post May 28 2020, 10:56 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ May 28 2020, 09:35 AM)
probably have to move out. ignore them until u get used to it, or they dont do it.

or confront everyone, say is there something wrong? no one do it, then is ghost?  hmm.gif
TRUE STORY: Happened to me earlier this year.

I live in landed property. Terrace house.

One day my neighbour suddenly approached me and asked why I kept on banging on the wall adjacent to her room every night at around 11pm.

There are 4 rooms in my house and that room is empty.

Everyone is asleep at that hour.

I explained to her that the room is vacant and she was adamant . She kept on insisting that I or one of my family members deliberately banged the wall every night.

My take on this: most probably she has been disturbed my ghosts or something.

I honestly feel sorry for her but I could not do anything.

pillage2001
post May 28 2020, 10:57 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Exoflare @ May 28 2020, 10:35 AM)
Just set to record audio for the entire day and store it in an external hard drive or on the cloud or something, then isolate the baseline noise level waveform from the chair dragging waveform (at the time when your neighbor is making noise). If you have some audio processing software it should be pretty easy to isolate the time when they're making noise, though idk if management will actually do anything lol
Chair dragging is obvious so it's okie.....things like...stomping maybe is not that obvious but if you hear it enough ,it gets damn annoying. And dropping of things in the wee hours of the night, not once, not twice but every 5-10 mins, you know when you're about to fall asleep and suddenly something wake you up.....?
pillage2001
post May 28 2020, 10:58 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 28 2020, 10:52 AM)
Are you annoyed because u can’t sleep or what? Maybe u should play some white noise to mask the sound?
Most of all, I am annoyed cause I can't sleep. Can't help it that I am a light sleeper.

Secondly, what kinda human beings run around and make so much noise till 4 am every other night?
amir.asyraf
post May 28 2020, 11:09 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 28 2020, 10:55 AM)
Then how to solve the problem?
Move out I guess. These things are normal when it comes to highrise.

Unless you want to sound-proof your enter house, ceiling, walls, floors etc.
SUSPitiuran
post May 28 2020, 11:11 AM

335 posts

How the heck can you be treaspass when you haven’t entered their unit ? Your upstairs neighbor must be retarded

I never believe in plastering my ceiling, what for ? I knew there be noise upstairs and this shows I don’t own my ceiling

Yeah my MO is just as retarded as yours. They drag like every 2 hours and MO expect me to sit there in middle of the night holding on to my hand phone recording
Even then my phone got storage limitation
The guard and MO are stupid dumb fack

I managed to record but I have issue to paste on gmail and send it out even have issue to compress the giant file. As you said lah after recording also sounded very soft.

SUSPitiuran
post May 28 2020, 11:13 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 28 2020, 10:58 AM)
Most of all, I am annoyed cause I can't sleep. Can't help it that I am a light sleeper.

Secondly, what kinda human beings run around and make so much noise till 4 am every other night?
When was it ?
Before raya ?
Well I hint to you
Probably cooking before day time come

Try take 1mg melatonin
Don’t take those slow release ones
Or more than 1 mg else you feel drowsy
And expose urself to car accident
Or you can cut the pill into half

SUSPitiuran
post May 28 2020, 11:14 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 28 2020, 10:57 AM)
Chair dragging is obvious so it's okie.....things like...stomping maybe is not that obvious but if you hear it enough ,it gets damn annoying. And dropping of things in the wee hours of the night, not once, not twice but every 5-10 mins, you know when you're about to fall asleep and suddenly something wake you up.....?
Toilet sound
When they are brushing teeth and use ceramic cup put on your toilet granite tiles
Yeah I hate those sounds too

Ppl who say dropping things sound is water pipe movement must be taking weed because they never live in condo before

I know a water pipe sound banging when I hear one

This post has been edited by Pitiuran: May 28 2020, 11:16 AM
morbo
post May 28 2020, 11:17 AM

51 posts

Perhaps you could invest in some ear plugs to drown out the loud sounds in the meantime while you figure out a more permanent solution? Can buy from Lazada.
SUSPitiuran
post May 28 2020, 11:20 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(morbo @ May 28 2020, 11:17 AM)
Perhaps you could invest in some ear plugs to drown out the loud sounds in the meantime while you figure out a more permanent solution? Can buy from Lazada.
Then when my phone alarm ring how am I gonna hear ?
I need to wake up go to work
And my baby’s cry how I know ?
yeeck
post May 28 2020, 11:28 AM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 28 2020, 11:20 AM)
Then when my phone alarm ring how am I gonna hear ?
I need to wake up go to work
And my baby’s cry how I know ?
Maybe try soundproofing your bedroom walls and ceilings.

https://aquietrefuge.com/soundproof-wall-between-apartments/

Egg cartons can be used for DIY soundproofing projects too.
Turtlez84
post May 28 2020, 11:46 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 28 2020, 10:58 AM)

Haha. Kids mostly. The middle east family below me kids dont sleep after 12am. Running and screaming until 5am...tell me how to sleep la... Its definitely not pipes. This happen during puasa month. Now macam dont have already
SUSpundi
post May 28 2020, 11:50 AM

789 posts

highrise negative is like that
kamfoo
post May 28 2020, 12:35 PM

846 posts

landed also same problem
Lykpoogi
post May 28 2020, 12:50 PM

89 posts

That is the problem when staying in a condo, my upstairs, I don’t is upstairs or above, slamming the door at 1am, furniture dragging at the earlier morning, heavy footsteps sounds. One way I do is totally ignores the sounds, if you put all the attention to those sounds, you will hear the sounds every time,Because you are concentrating on its. If you cannot do that, you should move out, but if you still want to looking for condo, you cannot avoid that problem.
precept66
post May 28 2020, 01:04 PM

1,054 posts

TS is a very patient guy. If those shitholes faces with tougher guys, they will be miserable to remain there for another day.
pillage2001
post May 28 2020, 02:09 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 28 2020, 11:13 AM)
When was it ?
Before raya ?
Well I hint to you
Probably cooking before day time come

Try take  1mg melatonin
Don’t take those slow release ones
Or more than 1 mg else you feel drowsy
And expose urself to car accident
Or you can cut the pill into half
I don't wanna take any melatonin as I heard one can be dependent on it. Anyhow, I have to wake up at 7 am for meetings so I don't think I wanna wake up with a drowsy state. lol.

But if really need, I guess I would have to in time. I don't mind so much on the weekdays but when it comes to weekend, I really want to sleep in but they just can't stop....
pillage2001
post May 28 2020, 02:13 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 28 2020, 11:11 AM)
How the heck can you be treaspass when you haven’t entered their unit ? Your upstairs neighbor must be retarded

I never believe in plastering my ceiling, what for ? I knew there be noise upstairs and this shows I don’t own my ceiling

Yeah my MO is just as retarded as yours. They drag like every 2 hours and MO expect me to sit there in middle of the night holding on to my hand phone recording
Even then my phone got storage limitation
The guard and MO are stupid dumb fack

I managed to record but I have issue to paste on gmail and send it out even have issue to compress the giant file. As you said lah after recording also sounded very soft.
I don't know how I can be trespassing by pasting a note on his gate. he told the management that he felt threatened by me and will go to the police the next time. I told the management to remember to call me when that happens so I can fetch him to make the report.

I have this app that can record when there are sounds but for those one off sounds, you know the phone won't be able to react fast enough to capture anything. I tried to record a video when they had this motor ( which sounds like a pump ) turned on, it could hardly capture it but when the house is quiet in the wee hours of the night or 8am ish in the morning, it is very prominent. I'll try to see if i can do what the other forum member suggested; to filter and amplify.
Donchay
post May 28 2020, 02:15 PM

324 posts

How come this thread open at today, I thought I read this thread few days ago.
pillage2001
post May 28 2020, 02:16 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 28 2020, 11:14 AM)
Toilet sound
When they are brushing teeth and use ceramic cup put on your toilet granite tiles
Yeah I hate those sounds too

Ppl who say dropping things sound is water pipe movement must be taking weed because they never live in condo before

I know a water pipe sound banging when I hear one
You know what i mean......Like in the middle of the night, imagine things like your belt drop and the buckle goes on the floor first.......or easiest, marbles.....just drop a marble......or a pen or keys.......not once in a night....every 5-15 mins once......
pillage2001
post May 28 2020, 02:17 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Turtlez84 @ May 28 2020, 11:46 AM)
Haha. Kids mostly. The middle east family below me kids dont sleep after 12am. Running and screaming until 5am...tell me how to sleep la... Its definitely not pipes. This happen during puasa month. Now macam dont have already
Yeah, during puasa month, they did not sleep till 6-7am everyday, it was hell on earth literally. Now I heard they wanna buy the unit upstairs and the wife is expecting, I am trying to make them change their minds else it'll be the end of me.
audi90
post May 28 2020, 02:25 PM

96 posts

Basketball great idea too, throw on ceiling while baring2. Please give a try and post feedback here. If still didnt work then your upstairs neighbor really mcb one.
geekystef
post May 28 2020, 05:23 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

This post has been edited by geekystef: Nov 21 2020, 02:40 AM
geekystef
post May 28 2020, 05:35 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

This post has been edited by geekystef: Nov 21 2020, 02:40 AM
Noryume
post May 28 2020, 05:37 PM

931 posts

Can hear drilling, furniture dragging on top floor. But can't do anything because nobody live on units on top of mine.
vex
post May 28 2020, 06:42 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(rkggutbppct @ May 28 2020, 06:33 PM)
glad that i bought top floor. but have to deal with leaking ☹️
Top floor not HOT meh ?
sakuraboo
post May 28 2020, 06:53 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ May 28 2020, 12:35 PM)
landed also same problem
Yeah in terrace next door neighbor can definitely hear

Unless bungalow

So in conclusion and seriousness maybe ts need to consider bungalow
galkelly
post May 28 2020, 07:11 PM

752 posts

Thats why never buy condo no matter how they advertise or market it. U are practically giving up ur sanity.
Landed property is the best.
Ginny88
post May 29 2020, 12:03 AM

1,032 posts

landed also same problem
Landed does not have the same problem. There is nobody above you or below you.

If your neighbour is shouting and screaming in a terrace house you will be able to hear but normal conversations, no.

pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 07:42 AM

1,991 posts

I live in both landed and condo......

Problem with landed and condo are different when it comes to noise. Landed do have their own problems with noise. It doesn't come from above but it comes in the form out outside or just plainly neighbors playing music loud. It's not as bad as condo and in the grand scheme of things, I would say it's only 20% of what people staying in condo suffers.

Base on the suggestion from a member within here, I've got a recording through "smart recorder" and have captured ONE of the noise cases on my phone. It was surprisingly clear and loud at 2.15ish am and lucky the phone was able to capture it. Does anyone know how to enhance and filter it? I would want to use this as one of the evidence for the management to approach them.
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 08:50 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 07:42 AM)
I live in both landed and condo......

Problem with landed and condo are different when it comes to noise. Landed do have their own problems with noise. It doesn't come from above but it comes in the form out outside or just plainly neighbors playing music loud. It's not as bad as condo and in the grand scheme of things, I would say it's only 20% of what people staying in condo suffers.

Base on the suggestion from a member within here, I've got a recording through "smart recorder" and have captured ONE of the noise cases on my phone. It was surprisingly clear and loud at 2.15ish am and lucky the phone was able to capture it. Does anyone know how to enhance and filter it? I would want to use this as one of the evidence for the management to approach them.
You can either take a baseline waveform (meaning record your room at a time when these people are silent, say at perhaps 10am, so that you can compare it to the scenario where these people are being noisy) and then measure the distance from the peak of your noise case waveform to the baseline and use that as justification, or if you can measure the volume in db for both then you can argue about how there is elevated and sustained noise coming from this apartment.

The thing is, if you just use one noise case, your neighbors can maybe shoot back and say that you are being unreasonable and that it was a one time occurrence, so I recommend getting at least three or four across a few days if you can and listing the corresponding timestamps in your complaint to management.

If you wanna edit audio you can probably just do so within your app if it has audio editing capabilities, and if you wanna do something more fancy (I'm guessing you don't use Ableton or Logic Pro X though) you can try to use this Android app or the equivalent on iPhone, though if you do significantly edit the sound you should apply the same transformation(s) to your baseline waveform and document them so that the other party cannot say oh this person made the noise seem louder than it actually was.

This post has been edited by Exoflare: May 29 2020, 09:07 AM
pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 09:15 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Exoflare @ May 29 2020, 08:50 AM)
You can either take a baseline waveform (meaning record your room at a time when these people are silent, say at perhaps 10am, so that you can compare it to the scenario where these people are being noisy) and then measure the distance from the peak of your noise case waveform to the baseline and use that as justification, or if you can measure the volume in db for both then you can argue about how there is elevated and sustained noise coming from this apartment.

The thing is, if you just use one noise case, your neighbors can maybe shoot back and say that you are being unreasonable and that it was a one time occurrence, so I recommend getting at least three or four across a few days if you can and listing the corresponding timestamps in your complaint to management.

If you wanna edit audio you can probably just do so within your app if it has audio editing capabilities, and if you wanna do something more fancy (I'm guessing you don't use Ableton or Logic Pro X though) you can try to use this Android app or the equivalent on iPhone, though if you do significantly edit the sound you should apply the same transformation(s) to your baseline waveform and document them so that the other party cannot say oh this person made the noise seem louder than it actually was.
Thanks for the feedback. I am planning to do multiple days to record the other noises but the fact that he's running a motor/pump upstairs and it's on every now and then ( not fixed timing )is disturbing to us given that we are working from home now. I actually had the guard come into my house and sit for an hour but so happen that night he was relatively quiet so we did not get much but noise usually comes later so I did not hold the guard longer than the 1 hour he was already in my house. If they can dedicate an audience from 11pm to 2am daily for a week, I am sure they will capture all my pain points.
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 09:38 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 09:15 AM)
Thanks for the feedback. I am planning to do multiple days to record the other noises but the fact that he's running a motor/pump upstairs and it's on every now and then ( not fixed timing )is disturbing to us given that we are working from home now. I actually had the guard come into my house and sit for an hour but so happen that night he was relatively quiet so we did not get much but noise usually comes later so I did not hold the guard longer than the 1 hour he was already in my house. If they can dedicate an audience from 11pm to 2am daily for a week, I am sure they will capture all my pain points.
Np. I mean, the lowest cost option for you seems to be to just record your house during the hours that you described. 21 hours of audio is about 10ish GB uncompressed and about 4-5GB compressed if you don't use a super high end mic so unless you're really raring for space and it is really impossible, go ahead and record.

Another option is to pay management to pop up at your apartment. Negotiate with a security guard? Negotiate with management? Your call. In practice, it's not likely that someone will sit in your apartment for 21 hours for free and if they have other responsibilities it's also not likely that management will approve unless there's a prospective financial advantage involved. In practice, I think someone working as a security guard would be quite happy if you paid them say 20 ringgit per hour to sit down and do nothing while you offer them tea or something and then continue with your work and occasionally nod at them and say "SEE HOW I AM SUFFERING?". It's a good deal, win-win, and if it doesn't work after two or three days then just call it off.

On the other hand, your neighbor may see the guard and be silent for a week and then start up again or something, but if they do then just think of what you're paying as the price for silence.

This post has been edited by Exoflare: May 29 2020, 09:44 AM
pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 09:46 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Exoflare @ May 29 2020, 09:38 AM)
Np. I mean, the lowest cost option for you seems to be to just record your house during the hours that you described. 21 hours of audio is about 10ish GB uncompressed and about 4-5GB compressed if you don't use a super high end mic so unless you're really raring for space and it is really impossible, go ahead and record.

Another option is to pay management to pop up at your apartment. Negotiate with a security guard? Negotiate with management? Your call. In practice, it's not likely that someone will sit in your apartment for 21 hours for free and if they have other responsibilities it's also not likely that management will approve unless there's a prospective financial advantage involved.

Your neighbor may see the guard and be silent for a week and then start up again or something, but if they do then just think of what you're paying as the price for silence.
Thanks for the advice. As of now, I am just using the phone mic as I don't think I should need any professional devices to really capture the problem, if I do, it might not be a problem for many. biggrin.gif.......the phone records whenever it detects an elevated level in noise hence it's not always recording but it does record some static now and then which can be used for baseline ( if you're interested, I can WA you what I recorded last night )

I don't need them to be in my house during the day. Although there are noises during the day but I am not inconsiderate like that. I am okie with noise during the day as I might be guilty for some as well ( my GF walks like an elephant at times and sometimes when I lift the chair and put it on the floor, there will be some sound but keyword is lift and not drag ). I don't mind offering them some money for 3 hours a night for a week but then again I am paying Rm400 for maintenance already so shouldn't that be something they would need to help me if there are complaints?

There's no way the neighbor can see the guard cause he's upstairs though I have a sneaking suspicion that someone does let the neighbor know if I ask the guard in charge come to my unit; then again, it's just my suspicion and hold no basis so I won't ride on that for now.

This post has been edited by pillage2001: May 29 2020, 09:47 AM
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 10:04 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 09:46 AM)
Thanks for the advice. As of now, I am just using the phone mic as I don't think I should need any professional devices to really capture the problem, if I do, it might not be a problem for many. biggrin.gif.......the phone records whenever it detects an elevated level in noise hence it's not always recording but it does record some static now and then which can be used for baseline ( if you're interested, I can WA you what I recorded last night )

I don't need them to be in my house during the day. Although there are noises during the day but I am not inconsiderate like that. I am okie with noise during the day as I might be guilty for some as well ( my GF walks like an elephant at times and sometimes when I lift the chair and put it on the floor, there will be some sound but keyword is lift and not drag ). I don't mind offering them some money for 3 hours a night for a week but then again I am paying Rm400 for maintenance already so shouldn't that be something they would need to help me if there are complaints?

There's no way the neighbor can see the guard cause he's upstairs though I have a sneaking suspicion that someone does let the neighbor know if I ask the guard in charge come to my unit; then again, it's just my suspicion and hold no basis so I won't ride on that for now.
Not a problem! I'll pass on the WhatsApp thanks, but let us know how it goes! 👌

May be better to record duration of audio that you described (3 hours) to defend against the selection bias argument (This downstairs neighbor just went and recorded us at specific times when we were making noise and is trying to persecute us!!! type of thing)
SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:14 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 28 2020, 11:28 AM)
Maybe try soundproofing your bedroom walls and ceilings.

https://aquietrefuge.com/soundproof-wall-between-apartments/

Egg cartons can be used for DIY soundproofing projects too.
My wife will kill me
She says will be very ugly
jacktay94
post May 29 2020, 10:17 AM

6 stars only? :(
1,334 posts

Usually condo have plaster ceiling. If you knock on it they won't hear it at all. worse still, you may punch a hole in the ceiling which you have to fix. It happened to me :X
SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:17 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Exoflare @ May 29 2020, 09:38 AM)

Another option is to pay management to pop up at your apartment. Negotiate with a security guard? Negotiate with management? Your call. In practice, it's not likely that someone will sit in your apartment for 21 hours for free and if they have other responsibilities it's also not likely that management will approve unless there's a prospective financial advantage involved. In practice, I think someone working as a security guard would be quite happy if you paid them say 20 ringgit per hour to sit down and do nothing while you offer them tea or something and then continue with your work and occasionally nod at them and say "SEE HOW I AM SUFFERING?". It's a good deal, win-win, and if it doesn't work after two or three days then just call it off.

On the other hand, your neighbor may see the guard and be silent for a week and then start up again or something, but if they do then just think of what you're paying as the price for silence.
If upstairs how?
You prop up a guard there
Chances are the neighbors on that floor will complain their privacy is affected
And would you let a complete stranger sit in ur living room ? While you sleep
I suppose he is single
But for Married person your wife would surely oppose to security guard see her in pyjamas

SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:20 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(audi90 @ May 28 2020, 02:25 PM)
Basketball great idea too,  throw on ceiling while baring2. Please give a try and post feedback here. If still didnt work then your upstairs neighbor really mcb one.
I tried
In morning wife and kid nag at me for disturbing Their sleep
SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:21 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Donchay @ May 28 2020, 02:15 PM)
How come this thread open at today, I thought I read this thread few days ago.
Yeah I saw that thread
It was from another guy with footstep problem
Mine is more from dropping item and drag furniture
SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:23 AM

335 posts

landed also same problem
Not as bad
Condo you got noise coming from all sides up down left right heck even diagonal left and right

Sound from above is the most trickiest to detect
You can blame the floor above you
But in actual fact it came from 5 floors above you
I had to take the stair case see who is above me
Some units are empty
Then 5 floors I hear chair dragging
Bingo

Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 10:23 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 29 2020, 10:17 AM)
If upstairs how?
You prop up a guard there
Chances are the neighbors on that floor will complain their privacy is affected
And would you let a complete stranger sit in ur living room ? While you sleep
I suppose he is single
But for Married person your wife would surely oppose to security guard see her in pyjamas
Not rly prop up a guard outside. Pillage has a problem I think with the ambient noise in his room/home office?

So in practice it would be like ok, pay you to come in and sit in my house for about three hours (probably not while you sleep - Pillage said 11am-2pm? Unless he meant 11pm-2am, then that's a different story lol he will have to be awake with the guard together for that duration of time) and maybe provide makan. Then you work in the same room as the guard, which makes sense because otherwise how would you know whether he is doing his job to pay attention to the noise, lol.

If it's 11am-2pm, that's an ok time to have someone in your house I think, but then of course most of us are concerned about pandemic and having people pop into our houses so some people may dial back but mileage may vary.

Can't really claim violation of privacy if you can hear the noise in the apartment and you can say your neighbors are violating your privacy for intruding on your having a guard come for tea, lol.

This post has been edited by Exoflare: May 29 2020, 10:27 AM
KennyKB
post May 29 2020, 10:37 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Exoflare @ May 29 2020, 10:23 AM)
Not rly prop up a guard outside. Pillage has a problem I think with the ambient noise in his room/home office?

So in practice it would be like ok, pay you to come in and sit in my house for about three hours (probably not while you sleep - Pillage said 11am-2pm? Unless he meant 11pm-2am, then that's a different story lol he will have to be awake with the guard together for that duration of time) and maybe provide makan. Then you work in the same room as the guard, which makes sense because otherwise how would you know whether he is doing his job to pay attention to the noise, lol.

If it's 11am-2pm, that's an ok time to have someone in your house I think, but then of course most of us are concerned about pandemic and having people pop into our houses so some people may dial back but mileage may vary.

Can't really claim violation of privacy if you can hear the noise in the apartment and you can say your neighbors are violating your privacy for intruding on your having a guard come for tea, lol.
What do you expect the security guard to do when the noise starts? Is he going to be able to force the neighbour to quieten down? Even police can't do much and I don't think the neighbour will be intimidated by a lowly paid security guard with no enforcement power.

SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:37 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 28 2020, 02:13 PM)
I don't know how I can be trespassing by pasting a note on his gate. he told the management that he felt threatened by me and will go to the police the next time. I told the management to remember to call me when that happens so I can fetch him to make the report.

I have this app that can record when there are sounds but for those one off sounds, you know the phone won't be able to react fast enough to capture anything. I tried to record a video when they had this motor ( which sounds like a pump ) turned on, it could hardly capture it but when the house is quiet in the wee hours of the night or 8am ish in the morning, it is very prominent. I'll try to see if i can do what the other forum member suggested; to filter and amplify.
I think they should have a curfew for people not to keep awake between 12 midnight to 7 am. Ban people who work in graveyard shifts from staying in middle class condo. Haha if only this can happen.

KHunterz
post May 29 2020, 10:39 AM

31 posts

ops. forgot serious kopitiam. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KHunterz: May 29 2020, 10:41 AM
SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:40 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Exoflare @ May 29 2020, 10:23 AM)

But can you trust the guard not to steal anything ?
While y r asleep
Also security co And MO may not agree
Resident committee also may oppose to the proposal
For the reason they don’t want to be sued
If anything untoward happens
I would feel very uncomfortable having a complete stranger sit in my living room while I am asleep

SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:42 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 29 2020, 10:37 AM)
What do you expect the security guard to do when the noise starts? Is he going to be able to force the neighbour to quieten down? Even police can't do much and I don't think the neighbour will be intimidated by a lowly paid security guard with no enforcement power.
I can tell you
For sure
When a security guard come knocking at ur door
Or ring ur intercom
Telling u to stop the sound
It can feel very uncomfortable
Then next day MO call you in response to a complain
If they keep doing it
You would feel some frustration

pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 10:43 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Exoflare @ May 29 2020, 10:04 AM)
Not a problem! I'll pass on the WhatsApp thanks, but let us know how it goes! 👌

May be better to record duration of audio that you described (3 hours) to defend against the selection bias argument (This downstairs neighbor just went and recorded us at specific times when we were making noise and is trying to persecute us!!! type of thing)
No biggy, I'll check on the feasibility of recording for 3 hours which means I have to be out of the house during the MCO time which can be challenging as I don't know where to go. lol.

I'll let you know how things go. I am planning to ask for an audience with the JMB to check with them on how we can sort this out. Upstairs is just a rental tenant for now and not an owner so not sure if it makes things easier.
SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 10:46 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 10:43 AM)
No biggy, I'll check on the feasibility of recording for 3 hours which means I have to be out of the house during the MCO time which can be challenging as I don't know where to go. lol.

I'll let you know how things go. I am planning to ask for an audience with the JMB to check with them on how we can sort this out. Upstairs is just a rental tenant for now and not an owner so not sure if it makes things easier.
Definitely easier if it’s a tenant
They may move out after their contract expire
But owner is another different ballgame altogether

But you have to make sure if it’s really from that tenant
I can bet you
Sound can come up to 5 floors above you

You don’t have to on your mic the whole night
Sometimes there is a consistent pattern
If they make noise at 4 am
Then chances are it could repeat again
Unless it’s a tit for tat revenge

This post has been edited by Pitiuran: May 29 2020, 10:47 AM
archinkent
post May 29 2020, 11:05 AM

285 posts

Same problem I'm having. Kids running around, heavy furniture dragging, door slamming etc.

The problem is the upstairs neighbour is Iraqi who can't speak a lick of english. Impossible to communicate with them. Complain to MO, and they will just call the owner, who will just inform the agent, that's it.

I'm just waiting day by day for them to move out.

This post has been edited by archinkent: May 29 2020, 11:06 AM
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 11:06 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 29 2020, 10:37 AM)
Haha not force the neighbor to quieten down. I'd just say write a report as a piece of (slightly more expensive) eyewitness or rather earwitness evidence in this case lmao.

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 29 2020, 10:40 AM)
But can you trust the guard not to steal anything ?
While y r asleep
Also security co And MO may not agree
Resident committee also may oppose to the proposal
For the reason they don’t want to be sued
If anything untoward happens
I would feel very uncomfortable having a complete stranger sit in my living room while I am asleep
Well not while you're asleep, which is why I said (if you could read what I wrote carefully) that if the hours are 11pmish, then pillage needs to be there lol.

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 10:43 AM)

Lol sure.

SUSPitiuran
post May 29 2020, 11:25 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(archinkent @ May 29 2020, 11:05 AM)
Same problem I'm having. Kids running around, heavy furniture dragging, door slamming etc.

The problem is the upstairs neighbour is Iraqi who can't speak a lick of english. Impossible to communicate with them. Complain to MO, and they will just call the owner, who will just inform the agent, that's it.

I'm just waiting day by day for them to move out.
Then forward complain to owner
Let owner handle
pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 11:58 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 29 2020, 10:46 AM)
Definitely easier if it’s a tenant
They may move out after their contract expire
But owner is another different ballgame altogether

But you have to make sure if it’s really from that tenant
I can bet you
Sound can come up to 5 floors above you

You don’t have to on your mic the whole night
Sometimes there is a consistent pattern
If they make noise at 4 am
Then chances are it could repeat again
Unless it’s a tit for tat revenge
Staying here for 6 years, I roughly know where the sound can come from. I've been wrong before and from the mistake, I learn to correlate sounds better each time after a failed assumption. Problem with this neighbor started from day one when they moved in. They were unpacking and stuffs till like 2-3 am where I had to call the guard to stop them. Then it was puasa month where they stayed awake most nights. Nothing wrong with that but one would have to be more careful at night if that's the case. You can't just pretend that it's the day time and go about your business.

There's no consistent pattern but normally, they are move active the later it gets. Like now, there's no sound, nothing zip...I am sure they are still asleep given the time they spend staying awake..I can do a tit for tat and put an alarm in the room( those type that physically rings a bell and pulse it every 10 minutes ) or just a hammer against the wall or use a broom stick to poke the ceiling but I am not doing it.

I would love to stay up and run all sorts of experiments to get the sounds recorded but I have to be awake at 7 or 8 am for work daily and this is really impacting my focus at work as I can't get enough sleep to last the day.
yeeck
post May 29 2020, 12:12 PM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 29 2020, 10:14 AM)
My wife will kill me
She says will be very ugly
The egg cartons can be the intermediate layer, you can still do something to cover the cartons completely. If you want nicer look, get professional help, at a cost of course.
geekystef
post May 29 2020, 02:22 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

This post has been edited by geekystef: Nov 21 2020, 02:34 AM
geekystef
post May 29 2020, 02:26 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

geekystef
post May 29 2020, 02:39 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 02:58 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 29 2020, 02:39 PM)
I'm tempted to encourage you to retaliate during the day. Who knows -- it might work on teaching them the good ol' lesson of "an eye for an eye". But, it might backfire on you. It depends on whether you have reached the stage where you have nothing left to lose. Check out what this guy did to "retrain" his upstairs neighbour:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JDpX2mvNpvU
I believe that we are all civilized people and resorting to unconventional ways would be the lsat resort. To his credit, after I left the note on his door, he has toned down a little so I would give him the benefit of a doubt that he isn't aware of the distress caused to me still. Just that since he threatened to report me to police, I did not want to interact with him directly and go through the management. Management is telling me to record all the incidents but I can't keep having the phone on my hand to record and how am I to record incidents where things fall and what not which requires split second timing, hence, I want to solve it by talking it out.

if my gf is not staying with me, I have everything to retaliate. I am okie sleeping little, I am more than okie to rent somewhere else to stay for the month as I torture him as well with what I have in mind but I am not going to do that......yet........

This post has been edited by pillage2001: May 29 2020, 03:02 PM
geekystef
post May 29 2020, 03:11 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 04:33 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 29 2020, 03:11 PM)
Yeah, I understand. There were times when I was in very deep distress, I was so close to retaliating against the neighbor. But, I always hold myself back until I'm in a calmer state of mind. As for me, I've tried all ethical and reasonable ways to try to get the upstairs neighbour to understand and cooperate but nothing worked. Shrugs. I'm moving out because I had enough. I always try to live peaceably with others and I don't want to do anything to go against this principle.
It's sad but I do think they are people whom I can talk to so I'll still try before going the extreme. As others had mentioned in other threads, it's hard to sell now and I need to get rid of my place for 1m and above to not lose money so it'll be kinda hard.

I'll see how much more evidence I can get and if the management is gonna respond to me.
geekystef
post May 29 2020, 05:22 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 05:26 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 29 2020, 05:22 PM)
Yep, there's no denying we're currently in a challenging market and higher valued properties will take much longer to sell. Sigh. I sincerely hope that you'll find a resolution to your problem.
Hope so.....Don't know how much I can take. Been having headaches and migraines almost daily. Even weekend I can't sleep in now.
geekystef
post May 29 2020, 05:44 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 05:51 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 29 2020, 05:44 PM)
Try using some good quality ear plugs. I've tried Moldex Pura-Fit (33db) ear plugs and they seem to somewhat drown out a lot of noise. Some deep noise vibrations, especially from hard stomping, will be dampened but not silenced. You'll still hear some but it's better than nothing.

The prolonged exposure to excessive noise from upstairs caused me a lot of anxiety and although I'm reluctant to use ear plugs, it was the only way for me to sleep -- at least, psychologically, I could tell myself that I wouldn't wake up in a shock.

Now, I'll admit to you that wearing them will hurt a little but my headaches hurt more -- so I tolerate wearing them at night.
Guess I'm alot like you. I go to bed with anxiety now....thinking when are they going to drop things or walk around or slam the door.......haven't been having quality sleep for a while now.

Will look into the ear plugs you recommended. only worry is that I can't hear my alarm for the morning. lol
geekystef
post May 29 2020, 06:06 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

This post has been edited by geekystef: Nov 21 2020, 02:33 AM
pillage2001
post May 29 2020, 06:13 PM

1,991 posts

I have a fitbit. I'll try to see if the vibration is sufficient to wake me up.

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/drift-to...uB5V05&search=1

These are the plugs right?
geekystef
post May 29 2020, 09:56 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

This post has been edited by geekystef: Nov 21 2020, 02:33 AM
pillage2001
post May 30 2020, 01:08 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 29 2020, 09:56 PM)
This one (200 pairs):

https://www.ubuy.com.my/en/search/index/vie...ugs/store/store

The shipping prices on Amazon skyrocketed recently, probably due to the pandemic. It was much cheaper before.
Awesome......

A twist in the whole saga.......the tenant decided to move out in 2 weeks time. Let's hope this is for real. Can't wait to sleep more than 4 hours a night again...
SUSnasiputih
post May 30 2020, 01:40 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ May 28 2020, 10:07 AM)
Buy a bucket of fruits, pay them a visit, talk nicely, make friend.
Then only 'ask for help' from this 'friend' to reduce noise. This way always works pretty effective.
include a sharp long knife in the fruit basket.
hmmhmm
post May 30 2020, 01:42 AM

30 posts

May 30 2020, 03:02 PM
This post has been deleted by Pitiuran because: This is serous k stop babbling rubbish

Exoflare
post May 30 2020, 07:11 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 30 2020, 01:08 AM)
Awesome......

A twist in the whole saga.......the tenant decided to move out in 2 weeks time. Let's hope this is for real. Can't wait to sleep more than 4 hours a night again...
Wow. Divine assistance? Lol
SUSPitiuran
post May 30 2020, 03:00 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 11:58 AM)
Staying here for 6 years, I roughly know where the sound can come from. I've been wrong before and from the mistake, I learn to correlate sounds better each time after a failed assumption. Problem with this neighbor started from day one when they moved in. They were unpacking and stuffs till like 2-3 am where I had to call the guard to stop them. Then it was puasa month where they stayed awake most nights. Nothing wrong with that but one would have to be more careful at night if that's the case. You can't just pretend that it's the day time and go about your business.

There's no consistent pattern but normally, they are move active the later it gets. Like now, there's no sound, nothing zip...I am sure they are still asleep given the time they spend staying awake..I can do a tit for tat and put an alarm in the room( those type that physically rings a bell and pulse it every 10 minutes ) or just a hammer against the wall or use a broom stick to poke the ceiling but I am not doing it.

I would love to stay up and run all sorts of experiments to get the sounds recorded but I have to be awake at 7 or 8 am for work daily and this is really impacting my focus at work as I can't get enough sleep to last the day.
You need to install a day time system while you are at work to wake the bugger in the day in case they fella sleeps in the day and become a night owl.

I hate night owls. In condo there is no way you can avoid noise in middle of the night
SUSPitiuran
post May 30 2020, 03:04 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 30 2020, 01:08 AM)
Awesome......

I think you should not rest on ur laurels
The next tenant upstairs come May again so the same noises
Do have a long term exit plan
You can rent out your property
While you look for better ones out there
geekystef
post May 30 2020, 03:17 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

This post has been edited by geekystef: Nov 21 2020, 02:25 AM
SUSPitiuran
post May 31 2020, 08:35 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 30 2020, 03:17 PM)
I'm really glad for you if the troublesome tenant finally moves out. But, for the sake of your sanity, I urge you to still consider getting those high quality ear plugs and plan your exit in the near future.

As I've mentioned before, living in a condo is only as good as your upstairs neighbour. There's always a potential for another bastard moving in. It's not a matter of "if", but "when".

Anyway, take the win and hang in there.
Now I have another problem
Downstairs there is a stupid tenant live below me
That slams the door
Been complaining but little action so far

borgeouisbella
post May 31 2020, 09:29 AM

148 posts

Unfortunately, high rise living is like that. I have neighbours who do all those, and also play music with bass turned up high at 3am in the morning. The feeling of being in a room with bass vibrating off your walls while you're trying to sleep can be extremely nauseating. Called the guards, guards tell the neighbours, neighbours stop for 5 minutes, and resume playing their music after. I hope there is a special place in hell for these people.

Anyway, best thing you can do is get a machine with white noise (I use a stand fan), it helps to cancel out all these other noises. As for babies, they can sleep through anything, their brains are quite simple that when they feel tired, they'll just sleep. I know, cause I was worried about my baby when I was extremely bothered with these noises.

Next thing you can do, if this doesn't help, is start planning to move. If this is a rented property, then you can move with no strings attached. Unfortunately for me, this condo is a personal property. However, fortunately for me, I am able to own another property, which I will be moving into next month, but do know that landed house also has their own set of noise issues.
SUSPitiuran
post May 31 2020, 10:11 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(borgeouisbella @ May 31 2020, 09:29 AM)
Unfortunately, high rise living is like that. I have neighbours who do all those, and also play music with bass turned up high at 3am in the morning. The feeling of being in a room with bass vibrating off your walls while you're trying to sleep can be extremely nauseating. Called the guards, guards tell the neighbours, neighbours stop for 5 minutes, and resume playing their music after. I hope there is a special place in hell for these people.

Anyway, best thing you can do is get a machine with white noise (I use a stand fan), it helps to cancel out all these other noises. As for babies, they can sleep through anything, their brains are quite simple that when they feel tired, they'll just sleep. I know, cause I was worried about my baby when I was extremely bothered with these noises.

Next thing you can do, if this doesn't help, is start planning to move. If this is a rented property, then you can move with no strings attached. Unfortunately for me, this condo is a personal property. However, fortunately for me, I am able to own another property, which I will be moving into next month, but do know that landed house also has their own set of noise issues.
Have to get the guards to keep pressing the fella. No choice

Hope your other property is not a condo

I want to move back to parents house.

The foot step, marble drop and furniture drag noise is one thing but irresponsible developer that install slamming doors these people deserve a special place in hell

JoeK
post May 31 2020, 10:38 AM

1,099 posts

Hmmm
borgeouisbella
post May 31 2020, 12:08 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 31 2020, 10:11 AM)
Have to get the guards to keep pressing the fella. No choice

Hope your other property is not a condo

I want to move back to parents house.

The foot step, marble drop and furniture drag noise is one thing but irresponsible developer that install slamming doors these people deserve a special place in hell
Press the guard until the guard tell me 'We also warn them many times, but if they don't want to listen, we also cannot do anything. You have to go management office and file complaint". Went management office and file complaint twice, management say will contact unit owner, but it's been 6 months, everything is still the same.

Management offices also can't do much, unless it's blatantly loud music that they can hear from outside the unit itself. The issue with bass vibrations is that, you won't be able to hear it but you can feel it. The problem with footsteps thumping and furniture dragging is that, you can't control how your neighbours live, they have the right to live however they want in their unit.

Also, sound is not only prevalent from upstairs or few units above, it can also come from downstairs or few units below (where the idiotic bass neighbour stays). It can also come from upstairs next door neighbour (the unit next to your upstairs neighbour), where they constantly argue and break things (you can hear multiple things dropping on the floor at 1am sometimes). It can also be from downstairs next door neighbour (the unit next to your downstairs neighbour), where they can be holding drinking parties with a bunch of friends over during MCO. As long as you share any piece of wall with anyone, you're essentially doomed to hear some sort of noise.

The issue with condos these days is, its less of own-stay and more of rental. When it comes to rental, the tenants generally do not care or is unaware of the amount of noises they make. Afterall, they are only going to be there for a year or two, maybe three, and they can leave anytime they want, with no strings attached. Only people who stay in their own unit cares, because they generally take more ownership of their own property.

Thankfully, my other house is a landed property. When times gets better, I'm going to sell both my condos. I've honestly had enough of living in enclosed spaces like condos or apartments.

geekystef
post May 31 2020, 12:33 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

This post has been edited by geekystef: Nov 21 2020, 02:24 AM
geekystef
post May 31 2020, 12:41 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

geekystef
post May 31 2020, 12:52 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

breekachu
post May 31 2020, 12:57 PM

1,053 posts

Are you sure got neighbor upstairs? Reminds me one of my neighbor. Complaint at WhatsApp group. Upstairs neighbor dragging chair,running,hump the floor. Make report to security. Security check . Nothing happen. All okay. After several report, Make complaint at Management office. MO office check tennent, there is no one living upstairs. LooooooooooooL.

This post has been edited by breekachu: May 31 2020, 12:58 PM
borgeouisbella
post May 31 2020, 03:22 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 31 2020, 12:41 PM)
I'm sorry about your horrible neighbours. Actually, you have the right to call the police on neighbours who play loud music past midnight. Some people have done it and it worked like a charm -- well, at least for a while.

Landed houses have their own issues but because I've lived in both before -- I can safely say that the problems with a landed house are much less than a condo. Anyway, to each their own. I'm glad you're moving out and so am I. After years of suffering in a condo, I've had enough.
Me too. I’ve lived in landed houses all my life, so i did not anticipate all these noise pollution. Wanted to get my very first property and got a condo instead, since they have less barrier to entry compared to landed houses, also with regards to renovations costing minimal to null. Immediately regretted after 6 months staying in a high rise. Lesson learned, stay first before you buy 😅
SUSPitiuran
post May 31 2020, 09:26 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(borgeouisbella @ May 31 2020, 12:08 PM)
Press the guard until the guard tell me 'We also warn them many times, but if they don't want to listen, we also cannot do anything. You have to go management office and file complaint". Went management office and file complaint twice, management say will contact unit owner, but it's been 6 months, everything is still the same.

Management offices also can't do much, unless it's blatantly loud music that they can hear from outside the unit itself. The issue with bass vibrations is that, you won't be able to hear it but you can feel it. The problem with footsteps thumping and furniture dragging is that, you can't control how your neighbours live, they have the right to live however they want in their unit.

Also, sound is not only prevalent from upstairs or few units above, it can also come from downstairs or few units below (where the idiotic bass neighbour stays). It can also come from upstairs next door neighbour (the unit next to your upstairs neighbour), where they constantly argue and break things (you can hear multiple things dropping on the floor at 1am sometimes). It can also be from downstairs next door neighbour (the unit next to your downstairs neighbour), where they can be holding drinking parties with a bunch of friends over during MCO. As long as you share any piece of wall with anyone, you're essentially doomed to hear some sort of noise.

The issue with condos these days is, its less of own-stay and more of rental. When it comes to rental, the tenants generally do not care or is unaware of the amount of noises they make. Afterall, they are only going to be there for a year or two, maybe three, and they can leave anytime they want, with no strings attached. Only people who stay in their own unit cares, because they generally take more ownership of their own property.

Thankfully, my other house is a landed property. When times gets better, I'm going to sell both my condos. I've honestly had enough of living in enclosed spaces like condos or apartments.
That’s because in msia our developers r useless and they build condo look nice on the fascade

To me condos are only good for renting out

I bought it as investment then argument with my wife want to live outside my parents house forced me to move into here

Houses are so farking expensive in klang valley

SUSPitiuran
post May 31 2020, 09:27 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 31 2020, 12:57 PM)
Are you sure got neighbor upstairs? Reminds me one of my neighbor. Complaint at WhatsApp group. Upstairs neighbor dragging chair,running,hump the floor. Make report to security. Security check . Nothing happen. All okay. After several report, Make complaint at Management office. MO office check tennent, there is no one living upstairs. LooooooooooooL.
Noise can travel 3 floors down

SUSPitiuran
post May 31 2020, 09:29 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 31 2020, 12:33 PM)
Those damn fire-resistant doors are giving these door-slamming bastards more reasons to do it. My previous upstairs neighbour who is just as hellish as the current one would slam the door about 3-4 times just to shut it. They would do whenever they felt like it -- day or night. Complaining did nothing but waste my breath and caused me more heartache.
My maintenance office are such liars
I asked them to get the owner to fix the door
They said they sent their technician to adjust the door
But to no avail the door still shuts the same
There should be a kpi for The MO staff
They lie 3 times out the door they go
pillage2001
post Jun 1 2020, 12:06 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ May 30 2020, 03:17 PM)
I'm really glad for you if the troublesome tenant finally moves out. But, for the sake of your sanity, I urge you to still consider getting those high quality ear plugs and plan your exit in the near future.

As I've mentioned before, living in a condo is only as good as your upstairs neighbour. There's always a potential for another bastard moving in. It's not a matter of "if", but "when".

Anyway, take the win and hang in there.
Yes, I am planning down on doubling down the stakes with those earplugs. I just hope that it won't be bothersome as i am a side sleeper.

But for now, will take what I can get and move on. I really can't just sell this place as it's suppose to be a " high end " condo. And with that in mind, I was hoping to avoid those idiots but what can I do, all units around me are bought for rental and I have to deal with changing of tenants every few years.
pillage2001
post Jun 1 2020, 12:07 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 30 2020, 03:00 PM)
You need to install a day time system while you are at work to wake the bugger in the day in case they fella sleeps in the day and become a night owl.

I hate night owls. In condo there is no way you can avoid noise in middle of the night
I would do that if I am staying alone but I am not so gotta make sure people staying with me does not get burn along the way too. lol
aspartame
post Jun 1 2020, 09:53 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 31 2020, 09:26 PM)
That’s because in msia our developers r useless and they build condo look nice on the fascade

To me condos are only good for renting out

I bought it as investment then argument with my wife want to live outside my parents house forced me to move into here

Houses are so farking expensive in klang valley
Condos rented out to tenants... but tenants can sleep? I wonder how many % of condo dwellers are affected by noise. There are so many condos around... it can’t be that so many ppl are affected by noise right? I have yet to see developers using sound proofing as a selling point.. I guess not that many people are affected cos the majority choose units based on facing, views, layouts, car park location but anybody ask, how is the sound proofing???

This post has been edited by aspartame: Jun 1 2020, 09:53 AM
nookie188
post Jun 1 2020, 10:26 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jun 1 2020, 09:53 AM)
Condos rented out to tenants... but tenants can sleep? I wonder how many % of condo dwellers are affected by noise. There are so many condos around... it can’t be that so many ppl are affected by noise right? I have yet to see developers using sound proofing as a selling point.. I guess not that many people are affected cos the majority choose units based on facing, views, layouts, car park location but anybody ask, how is the sound proofing???
seems to that noise from neighbours is a perpetual problem with staying in condos..well, i can relate to a lot of complaints being posted here as
i am facing the same issue..

Our local developers mostly are chapalang - outside look nice win awards here there and everywhere but the real issue only reveal when one stay
in as a resident then you can see a lot of crap happening!

I really dont think developers at large bother with interfloor noises for the very reason buyers do not focus on that at all!! they see the brochure , check
FS, check facilities, check this check that but interfloor sound proofing is never ever in the list...!

As long as buyers do NOT demand it, developers wont bother la...

A lot of the residents are inconsiderate to neighbours - they just cant be bothered and do not care about others ..unfortunately in this world we have
many such ignorant and moronic people - a lot of these noises from neighbours can be managed and controlled but when dealing with people ya, you know lah..

SUSPitiuran
post Jun 1 2020, 12:01 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jun 1 2020, 09:53 AM)
Well these people who buy are either heavy sleepers or they never lived in a condo before

Sometimes I cannot brain people paying 1.5 mil for a condo with no sound proofing. I would rather pay 1 mil for a landed house and pay 500k for renovations

I hope one day mind set is changed and ppl start asking these questions

That’s why I make it a point to do my own self campaign go around visit properties and launches and berate agents and developer for their lack of focus on these issues
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 1 2020, 12:04 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Jun 1 2020, 10:26 AM)
seems to that noise from neighbours is a perpetual problem with staying in condos..well, i can relate to a lot of complaints being posted here as
i am facing the same issue..

Our local developers mostly are chapalang - outside look nice win awards here there and everywhere but the real issue only reveal when one stay
in as a resident then you can see a lot of crap happening!

I really dont think developers at large bother with interfloor noises for the very reason buyers do not focus on that at all!! they see the brochure , check
FS, check facilities, check this check that but interfloor sound proofing is never ever in the list...!

As long as buyers do NOT demand it, developers wont bother la...

A lot of the residents are inconsiderate to neighbours - they just cant be bothered and do not care about others ..unfortunately in this world we have
many such ignorant and moronic people - a lot of these noises from neighbours can be managed and controlled but when dealing with people ya, you know lah..
True at my condo a lot of idiots throw face mask in their own parking lot

I not sure if hk or uk has this inter floor proofing but I never get noise from upstairs in my stay in those places

Not even from toilet upstairs I never hear before but my uk condo had issues with pumbling that I can hear my upstairs on the tap then the pipes start slamming

SUSPitiuran
post Jun 1 2020, 12:06 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Jun 1 2020, 12:07 AM)
I would do that if I am staying alone but I am not so gotta make sure people staying with me does not get burn along the way too. lol
They don’t travel out while you work ?
Your kid sent to child care
You should install during the day time to prevent those asshole night owls from sleeping in the day

I complain so many times about noise that it reached to some resident committee and they give me the black face because some of them are in that noise making.

I don’t care I just complain anyways
pillage2001
post Jun 1 2020, 03:01 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ Jun 1 2020, 12:06 PM)
They don’t travel out while you work ?
Your kid sent to child care
You should install during the day time to prevent those asshole night owls from sleeping in the day

I complain so many times about noise that it reached to some resident committee and they give me the black face because some of them are in that noise making.

I don’t care I just complain anyways
Am not married. GF works from home while I go into the office so for her sanity, I will not stat anything like this.

Another sleepless nights.......why do people go laughing and talking loudly at 2.30 am is beyond me......

SUSPitiuran
post Jun 1 2020, 04:23 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Jun 1 2020, 03:01 PM)
Am not married. GF works from home while I go into the office so for her sanity, I will not stat anything like this.

Another sleepless nights.......why do people go laughing and talking loudly at 2.30 am is beyond me......
Your GF can tahan and stand the noise ?

Can you sleep after you gotten awaken ?

I have difficulty to sleep once I kena awaken maybe it’s the cortisol stress
I notice my wife has this ability to sleep back quickly when awaken
Unless of cuz I wake her up then she will stress nag me whole night
I did try to take melatonin it worked at first
But after a few weeks I had to stop because it gave me migraines
I realised I may have taken too much

pillage2001
post Jun 1 2020, 04:44 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ Jun 1 2020, 04:23 PM)
Your GF can tahan and stand the noise ?

Can you sleep after you gotten awaken ?

I have difficulty to sleep once I kena awaken maybe it’s the cortisol stress
I notice my wife has this ability to sleep back quickly when awaken
Unless of cuz I wake her up then she will stress nag me whole night
I did try to take melatonin it worked at first
But after a few weeks I had to stop because it gave me migraines
I realised I may have taken too much
She can sleep through sound but I am sure she wasn't having quality sleep given that she was toss and turning.

I am always in the midst of falling asleep whenever the sound happens, then i will be wide awake and once it passes 3-4 am, that's when my body gives up trying to sleep and proceed to be awake...that's the worst part.....when 5-6am comes, I pass out and have to wake up at 7 or 8 am......

I would not want to take melatonin or any sleep aid for the problems you mentioned.
pillage2001
post Jun 10 2020, 02:54 PM

1,991 posts

Quiet as hell now during the nights...think the neighbor upstairs is slowly staying in the new place already. biggrin.gif
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 10 2020, 04:06 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Jun 10 2020, 02:54 PM)
Quiet as hell now during the nights...think the neighbor upstairs is slowly staying in the new place already. biggrin.gif
Suggest you go upstairs to spy
Last time I complain a lot about upstairs
Then I go up n check
The shoe rack empty and at night cannot see light at below door
I call maintenance office
Turn out the tenant moved out
JoeK
post Jun 10 2020, 04:10 PM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ Jun 10 2020, 04:06 PM)
Then I go up n check
What did you do until they moved out?

Share your methods here
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 10 2020, 04:31 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jun 10 2020, 04:10 PM)
What did you do until they moved out?

Share your methods here
Complain complain complain
But luckily it was a soft person living upstairs
If psycho would be another story
Lim Wee Huat
post Jun 10 2020, 04:36 PM

262 posts

WiFi Hotspot your message? Residents few floors up/down all will know..smile.gif Example: Dear #xx-xx, please be considerate... ... Keep the message short and sharp.
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 10 2020, 05:32 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(Lim Wee Huat @ Jun 10 2020, 04:36 PM)
WiFi Hotspot your message? Residents few floors up/down all will know..smile.gif Example: Dear #xx-xx, please be considerate... ... Keep the message short and sharp.
This one willl provoke the fella to do even more
And if neighbor see message
They will gossip you
So better not do
Condo community is quite close
mousqy
post Jun 10 2020, 05:37 PM

758 posts

sure or not that's not the concrete affected by temp
pillage2001
post Jun 10 2020, 05:53 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ Jun 10 2020, 04:06 PM)
Then I go up n check
I know they are moving out by 15th...just did not expect them to move out that early.
Captain89
post Jun 10 2020, 07:28 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ Jun 10 2020, 04:31 PM)
Complain complain complain
But luckily it was a soft person living upstairs
If psycho would be another story
Weih don’t mess with wrong people, later have to find neighbourhood to live
LamboSama
post Jun 10 2020, 07:56 PM

769 posts

The problem with condo is that sometimes the sound is not coming from unit directly above you.

It could be the unit above but to the left, right, front, back.

P.S: white noise should help. Especially if you live near highway or mosque

This post has been edited by LamboSama: Jun 10 2020, 07:58 PM
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 10 2020, 11:55 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Jun 10 2020, 05:53 PM)
I know they are moving out by 15th...just did not expect them to move out that early.
Well next one that move in
May be just as noisy
pillage2001
post Jun 11 2020, 12:00 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ Jun 10 2020, 11:55 PM)
Well next one that move in
May be just as noisy
Will deal with it as it comes. Having a pair of ear plugs actually helped alot. lol
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 11 2020, 08:51 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Jun 11 2020, 12:00 AM)
Will deal with it as it comes. Having a pair of ear plugs actually helped alot. lol
I wanted to implement this
Until I realised I need to have my alarm ring to wake me up to work in morning
pillage2001
post Jun 11 2020, 08:54 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ Jun 11 2020, 08:51 AM)
I wanted to implement this
Until I realised I need to have my alarm ring to wake me up to work in morning
Get a health band. biggrin.gif

Pepatomato
post Jun 11 2020, 10:50 AM

23 posts

I'm about to move into a new condo soon and I see this thread...
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2020, 10:53 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Pepatomato @ Jun 11 2020, 10:50 AM)
Please don't let the experience of a few color your perception of reality. Perhaps, in reality, the vast majority of condo-dwellers don't face these problems - and they don't come online to share their happy circumstances, since they have better things to do with their time smile.gif
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 11 2020, 11:03 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Pepatomato @ Jun 11 2020, 10:50 AM)
There r good side of moving to condo
For eg you feel more like living in a well closely knitted community
You don’t get this feel if you live in landed property
They create a watsapp or telegram group where all residents chat up
You attend AGM
You can exercise at the gym, play badminton and swim with ur neighbors
They organise tai chi or some exercise session
Neighbors contact each other exchange parts and lend sugar or milk

Of course there is downside too
Once in while you get an unruly neighbor or tenant
Or u have retarded ppl who throw garbage everywhere
Or some idiot who smoke like chimney and you can smell from ur unit
Or brainless ppl who throw things that can’t be recycle at recycle bin
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 11 2020, 11:05 AM

335 posts

Condo living is not for light sleepers

If you are heavy sleeper this is for you
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2020, 11:18 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ Jun 11 2020, 11:03 AM)
There r good side of moving to condo
For eg you feel more like living in a well closely knitted community
You don’t get this feel if you live in landed property
They create a watsapp or telegram group where all residents chat up
You attend AGM
You can exercise at the gym, play badminton and swim with ur neighbors
They organise tai chi or some exercise session
Neighbors contact each other exchange parts and lend sugar or milk

Of course there is downside too
Once in while you get an unruly neighbor or tenant
Or u have retarded ppl who throw garbage everywhere
Or some idiot who smoke like chimney and you can smell from ur unit
Or brainless ppl who throw things that can’t be recycle at recycle bin
High density living has that risk. There are some boutique condos that have lower density living, and in the end, it feels like one big happy kampung, where everybody knows everybody and the community spirit is strong ... that's not a bad place to live in then.
SUSPitiuran
post Jun 11 2020, 11:38 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 11 2020, 11:18 AM)
High density living has that risk. There are some boutique condos that have lower density living, and in the end, it feels like one big happy kampung, where everybody knows everybody and the community spirit is strong ... that's not a bad place to live in then.
Depends not all condo community r the same
Lower density means could be more costlier
So u need to see ur affordable levels

0.0500sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:09 PM