Problem with upstairs neighbor condo, Dragging chair

Exoflare
post May 28 2020, 10:35 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 28 2020, 10:15 AM)
Wow..and I thought of starting a thread for this.........same problem fro ma neighbor upstairs...I dropped a note to them, they threaten to go to police with my note saying i was trespassing ( was like wtf? ) and the note was nicely written mind you.....assholes walk like elephants...keep dropping things and dunno doing what upstairs and worst part, they don't sleep till 4-5 am.....Neighbors downstairs I know how to deal with by doing what they did to me back to them but upstairs, I can't knock on the ceiling given that I have plaster ceiling installed but there are still part of the ceilings which I can poke but I am not resorting to that yet.

Talked to the fucking management, they asked me to record down as evidence but if you guys know it, it's not gonna be loud through recordings, it's not drilling sound which is obvious, it's all those knocking sound and walking that annoys the hell out of me. And how the hell am i suppose to time when to record.......dumb fuck managements....
Just set to record audio for the entire day and store it in an external hard drive or on the cloud or something, then isolate the baseline noise level waveform from the chair dragging waveform (at the time when your neighbor is making noise). If you have some audio processing software it should be pretty easy to isolate the time when they're making noise, though idk if management will actually do anything lol

Exoflare
post May 28 2020, 10:45 AM

869 posts

Or if you want and you have somewhere else you can sleep (preferable) or can sufficiently soundproof your room, set up a CCTV outside your house that sends a feed to your phone, then play music as loudly and obnoxiously as possible while you occupy yourself with other things. Do this for three days to a week, and if they try to bang on your door to get you to stop, use the CCTV footage and send it to the police or to management office.

But before you do that, hope that it's actually your neighbors dragging chairs and not some other thing happening lol.
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 08:50 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 07:42 AM)
I live in both landed and condo......

Problem with landed and condo are different when it comes to noise. Landed do have their own problems with noise. It doesn't come from above but it comes in the form out outside or just plainly neighbors playing music loud. It's not as bad as condo and in the grand scheme of things, I would say it's only 20% of what people staying in condo suffers.

Base on the suggestion from a member within here, I've got a recording through "smart recorder" and have captured ONE of the noise cases on my phone. It was surprisingly clear and loud at 2.15ish am and lucky the phone was able to capture it. Does anyone know how to enhance and filter it? I would want to use this as one of the evidence for the management to approach them.
You can either take a baseline waveform (meaning record your room at a time when these people are silent, say at perhaps 10am, so that you can compare it to the scenario where these people are being noisy) and then measure the distance from the peak of your noise case waveform to the baseline and use that as justification, or if you can measure the volume in db for both then you can argue about how there is elevated and sustained noise coming from this apartment.

The thing is, if you just use one noise case, your neighbors can maybe shoot back and say that you are being unreasonable and that it was a one time occurrence, so I recommend getting at least three or four across a few days if you can and listing the corresponding timestamps in your complaint to management.

If you wanna edit audio you can probably just do so within your app if it has audio editing capabilities, and if you wanna do something more fancy (I'm guessing you don't use Ableton or Logic Pro X though) you can try to use this Android app or the equivalent on iPhone, though if you do significantly edit the sound you should apply the same transformation(s) to your baseline waveform and document them so that the other party cannot say oh this person made the noise seem louder than it actually was.

This post has been edited by Exoflare: May 29 2020, 09:07 AM
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 09:38 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 09:15 AM)
Thanks for the feedback. I am planning to do multiple days to record the other noises but the fact that he's running a motor/pump upstairs and it's on every now and then ( not fixed timing )is disturbing to us given that we are working from home now. I actually had the guard come into my house and sit for an hour but so happen that night he was relatively quiet so we did not get much but noise usually comes later so I did not hold the guard longer than the 1 hour he was already in my house. If they can dedicate an audience from 11pm to 2am daily for a week, I am sure they will capture all my pain points.
Np. I mean, the lowest cost option for you seems to be to just record your house during the hours that you described. 21 hours of audio is about 10ish GB uncompressed and about 4-5GB compressed if you don't use a super high end mic so unless you're really raring for space and it is really impossible, go ahead and record.

Another option is to pay management to pop up at your apartment. Negotiate with a security guard? Negotiate with management? Your call. In practice, it's not likely that someone will sit in your apartment for 21 hours for free and if they have other responsibilities it's also not likely that management will approve unless there's a prospective financial advantage involved. In practice, I think someone working as a security guard would be quite happy if you paid them say 20 ringgit per hour to sit down and do nothing while you offer them tea or something and then continue with your work and occasionally nod at them and say "SEE HOW I AM SUFFERING?". It's a good deal, win-win, and if it doesn't work after two or three days then just call it off.

On the other hand, your neighbor may see the guard and be silent for a week and then start up again or something, but if they do then just think of what you're paying as the price for silence.

This post has been edited by Exoflare: May 29 2020, 09:44 AM
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 10:04 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 09:46 AM)
Thanks for the advice. As of now, I am just using the phone mic as I don't think I should need any professional devices to really capture the problem, if I do, it might not be a problem for many. biggrin.gif.......the phone records whenever it detects an elevated level in noise hence it's not always recording but it does record some static now and then which can be used for baseline ( if you're interested, I can WA you what I recorded last night )

I don't need them to be in my house during the day. Although there are noises during the day but I am not inconsiderate like that. I am okie with noise during the day as I might be guilty for some as well ( my GF walks like an elephant at times and sometimes when I lift the chair and put it on the floor, there will be some sound but keyword is lift and not drag ). I don't mind offering them some money for 3 hours a night for a week but then again I am paying Rm400 for maintenance already so shouldn't that be something they would need to help me if there are complaints?

There's no way the neighbor can see the guard cause he's upstairs though I have a sneaking suspicion that someone does let the neighbor know if I ask the guard in charge come to my unit; then again, it's just my suspicion and hold no basis so I won't ride on that for now.
Not a problem! I'll pass on the WhatsApp thanks, but let us know how it goes! 👌

May be better to record duration of audio that you described (3 hours) to defend against the selection bias argument (This downstairs neighbor just went and recorded us at specific times when we were making noise and is trying to persecute us!!! type of thing)
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 10:23 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 29 2020, 10:17 AM)
If upstairs how?
You prop up a guard there
Chances are the neighbors on that floor will complain their privacy is affected
And would you let a complete stranger sit in ur living room ? While you sleep
I suppose he is single
But for Married person your wife would surely oppose to security guard see her in pyjamas
Not rly prop up a guard outside. Pillage has a problem I think with the ambient noise in his room/home office?

So in practice it would be like ok, pay you to come in and sit in my house for about three hours (probably not while you sleep - Pillage said 11am-2pm? Unless he meant 11pm-2am, then that's a different story lol he will have to be awake with the guard together for that duration of time) and maybe provide makan. Then you work in the same room as the guard, which makes sense because otherwise how would you know whether he is doing his job to pay attention to the noise, lol.

If it's 11am-2pm, that's an ok time to have someone in your house I think, but then of course most of us are concerned about pandemic and having people pop into our houses so some people may dial back but mileage may vary.

Can't really claim violation of privacy if you can hear the noise in the apartment and you can say your neighbors are violating your privacy for intruding on your having a guard come for tea, lol.

This post has been edited by Exoflare: May 29 2020, 10:27 AM
Exoflare
post May 29 2020, 11:06 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 29 2020, 10:37 AM)
What do you expect the security guard to do when the noise starts? Is he going to be able to force the neighbour to quieten down? Even police can't do much and I don't think the neighbour will be intimidated by a lowly paid security guard with no enforcement power.
Haha not force the neighbor to quieten down. I'd just say write a report as a piece of (slightly more expensive) eyewitness or rather earwitness evidence in this case lmao.

QUOTE(Pitiuran @ May 29 2020, 10:40 AM)
But can you trust the guard not to steal anything ?
While y r asleep
Also security co And MO may not agree
Resident committee also may oppose to the proposal
For the reason they don’t want to be sued
If anything untoward happens
I would feel very uncomfortable having a complete stranger sit in my living room while I am asleep
Well not while you're asleep, which is why I said (if you could read what I wrote carefully) that if the hours are 11pmish, then pillage needs to be there lol.

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 29 2020, 10:43 AM)
No biggy, I'll check on the feasibility of recording for 3 hours which means I have to be out of the house during the MCO time which can be challenging as I don't know where to go. lol.

I'll let you know how things go. I am planning to ask for an audience with the JMB to check with them on how we can sort this out. Upstairs is just a rental tenant for now and not an owner so not sure if it makes things easier.
Lol sure.

Exoflare
post May 30 2020, 07:11 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 30 2020, 01:08 AM)
Awesome......

A twist in the whole saga.......the tenant decided to move out in 2 weeks time. Let's hope this is for real. Can't wait to sleep more than 4 hours a night again...
Wow. Divine assistance? Lol

0.0210sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:46 PM