8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

E6x50 overclocking warning, Possible wrong core temperature reading!

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 26 2007, 10:14 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Aug 26 2007, 08:19 PM)
cannot lah. the pic size 1280*1024, will distort the forum.. tongue.gif and pity them 56k users lah.. laugh.gif
i mean thumbernailing la... no need to put the full pic here but at least when ppl click ur pic it will open another page/tab wif ur full pic... icon_idea.gif
Vtec(Rock)
post Aug 27 2007, 05:00 PM

500 posts

max superpi at air cool rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 27 2007, 05:39 PM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Aug 26 2007, 10:14 PM)
i mean thumbernailing la... no need to put the full pic here but at least when ppl click ur pic it will open another page/tab wif ur full pic... icon_idea.gif

oh. thumbnails. okok. tongue.gif

kmarc, any news? unsure.gif

haih.. school started anyways, not much time to OC now.. sad.gif life's gonna be boring.. laugh.gif
TSkmarc
post Aug 27 2007, 07:35 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Aug 27 2007, 05:39 PM)

kmarc, any news? unsure.gif
Unfortunately no..... sad.gif

I'm using the easytune5 CPU temp and speedfan temp2 for the core temperature. This is because they show the same temperature readings.... smile.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 27 2007, 09:48 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 27 2007, 07:35 PM)
Unfortunately no.....  sad.gif

I'm using the easytune5 CPU temp and speedfan temp2 for the core temperature. This is because they show the same temperature readings....  smile.gif

well if you have faith in EasyTune then i would. afterall, you're up at 3.5ghz stable, no? tongue.gif

and what's up with CPU-Z showing my clock at 2ghz when Everest and EasyTune are reporting 2.66ghz? blink.gif

help? icon_question.gif

click on the thumbnail to enlarge. smile.gif
TSkmarc
post Aug 27 2007, 10:56 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Aug 27 2007, 09:48 PM)
well if you have faith in EasyTune then i would. afterall, you're up at 3.5ghz stable, no? tongue.gif

and what's up with CPU-Z showing my clock at 2ghz when Everest and EasyTune are reporting 2.66ghz? blink.gif

help? icon_question.gif
Hmm... that's weird. Did you enable EIST and C1E in BIOS? Your multipler is at 6x so this means that your rig is idling in EIST mode. However, not too sure why easytuner is not showing it.

Run an orthos program and see whether the multiplier becomes 8x and the speed becomes 2.66Ghz. If it does, then the EIST is functioning.

Yeah, 3.5Ghz stable, and running EIST too!!! laugh.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 28 2007, 07:09 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 27 2007, 11:56 PM)
Hmm... that's weird. Did you enable EIST and C1E in BIOS? Your multipler is at 6x so this means that your rig is idling in EIST mode. However, not too sure why easytuner is not showing it.

Run an orthos program and see whether the multiplier becomes 8x and the speed becomes 2.66Ghz. If it does, then the EIST is functioning.

Yeah, 3.5Ghz stable, and running EIST too!!!  laugh.gif
can't ur FSB go higher...? hmm.gif I reached 500(499.99999) already... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSkmarc
post Aug 29 2007, 07:30 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Aug 28 2007, 07:09 PM)
can't ur FSB go higher...? hmm.gif  I reached 500(499.99999) already... icon_rolleyes.gif
Don't want to run my bus speed that high. Anyway, my CPU fsb wall is apparently at 480mhz. At 8x multiplier, I can't even reach that speed without increasing my vcore.

Anyway, not planning to OC my CPU higher than that 24/7 as I want my rig to last longer.... wink.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 29 2007, 08:11 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 29 2007, 08:30 AM)
Don't want to run my bus speed that high. Anyway, my CPU fsb wall is apparently at 480mhz. At 8x multiplier, I can't even reach that speed without increasing my vcore.

Anyway, not planning to OC my CPU higher than that 24/7 as I want my rig to last longer....  wink.gif
my vCore is around 1.4something only... not 1.5 yet... no guts to venture tat high on air-cooling... not prepared for WC also... tongue.gif
SlayerXT
post Aug 29 2007, 11:55 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

AIr cooling under 1.5V consider safe for 24/7... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSkmarc
post Aug 30 2007, 03:48 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(layerXT @ Aug 29 2007, 11:55 PM)
AIr cooling under 1.5V consider safe for 24/7... icon_rolleyes.gif
Any reliable reference for this statement? hmm.gif
SlayerXT
post Aug 30 2007, 04:36 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Only my previous experience for my E4300 at 1.485v and stable orthos more than 8 hours on my Big Typhoon VX. Gaming not gave me problem too. So I might think 1.5v should be ok.
TSkmarc
post Aug 30 2007, 04:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(layerXT @ Aug 30 2007, 04:36 PM)
Only my previous experience for my E4300 at 1.485v and stable orthos more than 8 hours on my Big Typhoon VX. Gaming not gave me problem too. So I might think 1.5v should be ok.
OIC. In general, the understanding is that for good air-cooling, you can safely OC the CPU +0.10v to +0.15v for 24/7 usage. So, for a 1.35v stock vcore, that would be 1.45v-1.50v.

However, for me, I usually run at a bit lower than the recommended value. Hence, my CPU is at 1.425v (BIOS setting) and my rams are at 2.1v...... smile.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 30 2007, 07:03 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 30 2007, 05:44 PM)
OIC. In general, the understanding is that for good air-cooling, you can safely OC the CPU +0.10v to +0.15v for 24/7 usage. So, for a 1.35v stock vcore, that would be 1.45v-1.50v.

However, for me, I usually run at a bit lower than the recommended value. Hence, my CPU is at 1.425v (BIOS setting) and my rams are at 2.1v......  smile.gif
ooo... for me i keep my RAM 2V and below... laugh.gif
AceCombat
post Aug 31 2007, 07:55 PM

5,434 posts

then i think i'm killing my hardwares rclxms.gif

anyway,i set air cooling below 1.6vcore and ram below 2.5vdimm,for extreme performance
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 31 2007, 11:04 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 27 2007, 10:56 PM)

Yeah, 3.5Ghz stable, and running EIST too!!!  laugh.gif

yeah.. EIST was enabled. tongue.gif scared the crap outta me when i saw my roc running at 2ghz. laugh.gif
TSkmarc
post Aug 31 2007, 11:27 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Aug 31 2007, 07:55 PM)

anyway,i set air cooling below 1.6vcore and ram below 2.5vdimm,for extreme performance
So how high is your vcore 24/7?

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Aug 31 2007, 11:04 PM)
yeah.. EIST was enabled. tongue.gif scared the crap outta me when i saw my roc running at 2ghz. laugh.gif
Got a near heart attack huh? wink.gif Now everything is ok? hmm.gif
SlayerXT
post Sep 1 2007, 03:09 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Aug 31 2007, 07:55 PM)

Does ur Xigmatek and MX-2 allowed u to run 1.6V for 24/7? unsure.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 1 2007, 11:33 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 31 2007, 11:27 PM)
So how high is your vcore 24/7?
Got a near heart attack huh? wink.gif Now everything is ok? hmm.gif

yeah.. gonna try OC it now.. brows.gif will post results here later. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by -vip3rleon9-: Sep 2 2007, 10:17 AM
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 2 2007, 10:18 AM

7,516 posts

so far managed to push it to 3.6ghz stable. i'd bet it still can be pushed. brows.gif wondering if i should try again today. rolleyes.gif

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0238sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:29 AM