E6x50 overclocking warning, Possible wrong core temperature reading!

-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 23 2007, 02:38 PM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

so has it been fixed? tongue.gif hands feeling itchy liao.. but takut.. motherboard monitoring software reposrts that my E6750 is roughly around 32C.. is this possible? blink.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 23 2007, 03:26 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 23 2007, 03:12 PM)
What's your rig's spec? 32'c at idle or load?

So far, no new updated software. I guess nobody knows what is the Tjunction for the E6x50 series yet. Seems like everybody is assuming that the Tjunction is 100'c which I don't think it is.....

umm..

C2D E6750 G0 Stepping @ 2.66ghz
P35C-DS3R

32C idle.. smile.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 23 2007, 03:58 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 23 2007, 03:44 PM)
Just found out that a new beta for core temp has been release. It's core temp 0.95.4 (beta). Apparently, the Tjunction has been adjusted to 100'c for the E6x50 series instead of 85'c.

I'm thinking of emailing the author to find out whether it is confirmed that the Tjunction for the E6x50 series is truly 100'c or just a guess. Even Intel is not telling!!!  rclxub.gif

ZOMG Rei and i wish to OC my E6750 before my hollidays end! icon_question.gif

-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 23 2007, 10:22 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 23 2007, 07:19 PM)
I've emailed the author of core temp and is in the process of clarification with him regarding the Tjunction.

Apparently, he said that the Tjunction was adjusted to 100'c based on observations that the idle temperature of these CPUs were too low. As such, he assumed that it is 100'c.

I'm still waiting for further clarification on a few other facts. Will inform you guys once I've confirmed these few facts....  smile.gif

alright dude. you remember to let us know. tongue.gif i need to clarify the temps before i make my move to OC it to >3.2ghz.. tongue.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 24 2007, 09:28 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Aug 24 2007, 01:07 AM)
yeah... i know... average temps for E4*00 & E6*00 series are 50-60... while E6*50 is around 30+... tat's juz 2 weird... i need to get a thermometer to confirm this... I've been playing wif these processors while assembling rigs for my shop's customers so I know it...
But i can tell u tat Celeron 420 is the coolest of all procs... the sink is so cute and fan seldom turns if u enable smart fan control... and the sinks are still not hot... brows.gif

hmm.. smart fan control reads temps from where ah? cause sometimes, my fan will stop, and when i look to see my temp on EasyTune (H/W monitoring software provided by Gigabyte), it's around 31C.. so, my question is, the fan spins according to the temps taken by? EasyTune or the motherboard itself? unsure.gif

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Aug 24 2007, 03:24 AM)

so final answer is, Gigabyte's temps are correct? smile.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 25 2007, 04:23 PM

7,516 posts

then this...

brows.gif

edit :

bigger pic here..

CODE
http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/7416/xdim6.jpg

This post has been edited by -vip3rleon9-: Aug 25 2007, 04:26 PM
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 26 2007, 07:19 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Aug 25 2007, 04:26 PM)
what mobo is that and heatsink...

also proc???

ambient temp??

Intel E6750 Stock G0 Stepping
Gigabyte P35C-DS3R

ambient temp around 24C lo.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 25 2007, 06:35 PM)
Wah! What's your ambient temp? You didn't take an aircon and direct the airflow through the casing, did you?  wink.gif
Nice OC. Don't tell me you wanna run that 24/7? CPU temp at 66'c is acceptable???  rclxub.gif

around 24C. the a/c was turned on though.. whistling.gif but the a/c was obviously on the wall lah, whereas my pc was under the cabinet. doh.gif i myself was shocked when i saw those temps.. touched the heatsink and macam sejuk sejuk sial.. rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Aug 26 2007, 01:46 PM)
so... ur system is hotter than ur CPU...? sweat.gif
i find tat hard to believe... rclxub.gif
and use ur pic as a link to the address u gave la... icon_idea.gif

cannot lah. the pic size 1280*1024, will distort the forum.. tongue.gif and pity them 56k users lah.. laugh.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 26 2007, 08:13 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(Volt @ Aug 26 2007, 08:01 PM)
wow 24C is really cool....mine is around 30C..what cooler are u using?

stock Intel heatsink. tongue.gif

-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 26 2007, 08:21 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(Volt @ Aug 26 2007, 08:16 PM)
hhehe.. bet u can get even lower temp if u use a better cooler smile.gif

lol i certainly hope so. should be getting a ACFreezer7Pro soon. tongue.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 27 2007, 05:39 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Aug 26 2007, 10:14 PM)
i mean thumbernailing la... no need to put the full pic here but at least when ppl click ur pic it will open another page/tab wif ur full pic... icon_idea.gif

oh. thumbnails. okok. tongue.gif

kmarc, any news? unsure.gif

haih.. school started anyways, not much time to OC now.. sad.gif life's gonna be boring.. laugh.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 27 2007, 09:48 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 27 2007, 07:35 PM)
Unfortunately no.....  sad.gif

I'm using the easytune5 CPU temp and speedfan temp2 for the core temperature. This is because they show the same temperature readings....  smile.gif

well if you have faith in EasyTune then i would. afterall, you're up at 3.5ghz stable, no? tongue.gif

and what's up with CPU-Z showing my clock at 2ghz when Everest and EasyTune are reporting 2.66ghz? blink.gif

help? icon_question.gif

click on the thumbnail to enlarge. smile.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Aug 31 2007, 11:04 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 27 2007, 10:56 PM)
Hmm... that's weird. Did you enable EIST and C1E in BIOS? Your multipler is at 6x so this means that your rig is idling in EIST mode. However, not too sure why easytuner is not showing it.

Run an orthos program and see whether the multiplier becomes 8x and the speed becomes 2.66Ghz. If it does, then the EIST is functioning.

Yeah, 3.5Ghz stable, and running EIST too!!!  laugh.gif

yeah.. EIST was enabled. tongue.gif scared the crap outta me when i saw my roc running at 2ghz. laugh.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 1 2007, 11:33 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 31 2007, 11:27 PM)
So how high is your vcore 24/7?
Got a near heart attack huh? wink.gif Now everything is ok? hmm.gif

yeah.. gonna try OC it now.. brows.gif will post results here later. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by -vip3rleon9-: Sep 2 2007, 10:17 AM
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 2 2007, 10:18 AM

7,516 posts

so far managed to push it to 3.6ghz stable. i'd bet it still can be pushed. brows.gif wondering if i should try again today. rolleyes.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 2 2007, 10:47 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Sep 2 2007, 10:40 AM)
Nice. What's the vcore at that speed?

No need to wonder la, OC it higher!!!  thumbup.gif
1.344V according to CPU-Z.. but if my memory doesn't fail me, i had set it @ 1.425v, just like your's.. tongue.gif

quite true.. the most just reset BIOS right? laugh.gif

aiming for 4ghz, but then that's too ambitious. haha.. on factory heatsink leh.. rolleyes.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 2 2007, 11:02 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(Vtec(Rock) @ Sep 2 2007, 10:56 AM)
very very hard to push 4ghz with stock cooling since 4ghz need min 1.575 vcore to reach.stable almost 1.6vcore brother....water cooling is more suatable.my noctua with ac fan mod can make it.full load will nop over 68c now.nice work.kekeke
will go in WC soon to more oc later

hehe.. i'm not a hardcore OC-er so i won't go to the extreme.. tongue.gif doing this just for fun.. laugh.gif saw you reached 13.xxxs for SuperPI.. i only managed 14.xxxs.. haha.. will try pushing it a lil more. maybe, say.. 3.8ghz? rolleyes.gif

WC is nice but the maintainence.. doh.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 2 2007, 11:14 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(Vtec(Rock) @ Sep 2 2007, 11:06 AM)
i already reach 12.409.kekekeke....at 515x8.

wah gila sial. doh.gif i could only dream. laugh.gif my only wish is to reach 13.xxx, after that i'm happy liao.. tongue.gif

0.0255sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:22 AM