E6x50 overclocking warning, Possible wrong core temperature reading!

TSkmarc
post Sep 2 2007, 10:40 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Nice. What's the vcore at that speed?

No need to wonder la, OC it higher!!! thumbup.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 2 2007, 10:47 AM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Sep 2 2007, 10:40 AM)
Nice. What's the vcore at that speed?

No need to wonder la, OC it higher!!!  thumbup.gif
1.344V according to CPU-Z.. but if my memory doesn't fail me, i had set it @ 1.425v, just like your's.. tongue.gif

quite true.. the most just reset BIOS right? laugh.gif

aiming for 4ghz, but then that's too ambitious. haha.. on factory heatsink leh.. rolleyes.gif
Vtec(Rock)
post Sep 2 2007, 10:56 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Sep 2 2007, 10:47 AM)
1.344V according to CPU-Z.. but if my memory doesn't fail me, i had set it @ 1.425v, just like your's.. tongue.gif

quite true.. the most just reset BIOS right? laugh.gif

aiming for 4ghz, but then that's too ambitious. haha.. on factory heatsink leh.. rolleyes.gif
very very hard to push 4ghz with stock cooling since 4ghz need min 1.575 vcore to reach.stable almost 1.6vcore brother....water cooling is more suatable.my noctua with ac fan mod can make it.full load will nop over 68c now.nice work.kekeke
will go in WC soon to more oc later

This post has been edited by Vtec(Rock): Sep 2 2007, 10:57 AM
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 2 2007, 11:02 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(Vtec(Rock) @ Sep 2 2007, 10:56 AM)
very very hard to push 4ghz with stock cooling since 4ghz need min 1.575 vcore to reach.stable almost 1.6vcore brother....water cooling is more suatable.my noctua with ac fan mod can make it.full load will nop over 68c now.nice work.kekeke
will go in WC soon to more oc later

hehe.. i'm not a hardcore OC-er so i won't go to the extreme.. tongue.gif doing this just for fun.. laugh.gif saw you reached 13.xxxs for SuperPI.. i only managed 14.xxxs.. haha.. will try pushing it a lil more. maybe, say.. 3.8ghz? rolleyes.gif

WC is nice but the maintainence.. doh.gif
Vtec(Rock)
post Sep 2 2007, 11:06 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Sep 2 2007, 11:02 AM)
hehe.. i'm not a hardcore OC-er so i won't go to the extreme.. tongue.gif doing this just for fun.. laugh.gif saw you reached 13.xxxs for SuperPI.. i only managed 14.xxxs.. haha.. will try pushing it a lil more. maybe, say.. 3.8ghz? rolleyes.gif

WC is nice but the maintainence.. doh.gif
i already reach 12.409.kekekeke....at 515x8.
-vip3rleon9-
post Sep 2 2007, 11:14 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(Vtec(Rock) @ Sep 2 2007, 11:06 AM)
i already reach 12.409.kekekeke....at 515x8.

wah gila sial. doh.gif i could only dream. laugh.gif my only wish is to reach 13.xxx, after that i'm happy liao.. tongue.gif
Vtec(Rock)
post Sep 2 2007, 11:22 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Sep 2 2007, 11:14 AM)
wah gila sial. doh.gif i could only dream. laugh.gif my only wish is to reach 13.xxx, after that i'm happy liao.. tongue.gif
check my pass screen shoot.1.6vcore.515x8......
SlayerXT
post Sep 6 2007, 09:53 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

With the most value mobo on market sweat.gif good luck thumbup.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Sep 12 2007, 05:53 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(layerXT @ Sep 6 2007, 10:53 PM)
With the most value mobo on market sweat.gif good luck thumbup.gif
goldfries seem to get good results wif his Biostar... hope he won goldfry his mobo... laugh.gif
SlayerXT
post Sep 13 2007, 04:28 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Next time when new generation cpu come will get cheap powerful mobo than expensive one.
Prince of Andalus
post Nov 1 2007, 07:36 PM

365 posts

my proc is 20'C using coretemp 0.95 at idle and 22'C using intel TAT....
using ttbt vx....
TSkmarc
post Nov 1 2007, 07:41 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Andalus @ Nov 1 2007, 07:36 PM)
my proc is 20'C using coretemp 0.95 at idle and 22'C using intel TAT....
using ttbt vx....
Wah, so long didn't see this thread.

Anyway, I don't think the problem was ever corrected. Never looked into it anymore.

Most apps (I think) has corrected the Tjunction to 100'c (dunnot correct or not).

Try coretemp 0.95.4...... it's better to believe the higher temperature rather than the lower one if you're overclocking, I guess..... smile.gif
SlayerXT
post Nov 1 2007, 08:44 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

This thread will be heat up again with new wolfdale later tongue.gif
Prince of Andalus
post Nov 1 2007, 11:35 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 1 2007, 07:41 PM)
Try coretemp 0.95.4...... it's better to believe the higher temperature rather than the lower one if you're overclocking, I guess.....  smile.gif
when i use coretemp 0.95.4, it shows 35-36'C at idle....
maybe it has been corrected the Tjunction to 100'c... rclxms.gif
wodenus
post Nov 4 2007, 09:48 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Sep 12 2007, 05:53 PM)
goldfries seem to get good results wif his Biostar... hope he won goldfry his mobo... laugh.gif
LOL.. his model is sold out all over LYP... I guess the LYN effect strikes again smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 4 2007, 10:14 PM
skymyxe
post Nov 23 2007, 06:27 AM

1,047 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Andalus @ Nov 1 2007, 11:35 PM)
when i use coretemp 0.95.4, it shows 35-36'C at idle....
maybe it has been corrected the Tjunction to 100'c...  rclxms.gif
Core Temp 0.95.4 Beta shows the real temp for your CPU cores as far as I'm concern. It has the same value when using Everest Ultimate for the cores. The 0.95 version have to add 15C to the cores' temperature to get a real reading. The bad thing is the 0.95.4 version is still a Beta version and is not stable for some system. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSkmarc
post Nov 23 2007, 06:31 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(skymyxe @ Nov 23 2007, 06:27 AM)
Core Temp 0.95.4 Beta shows the real temp for your CPU cores as far as I'm concern. It has the same value when using Everest Ultimate for the cores. The 0.95 version have to add 15C to the cores' temperature to get a real reading. The bad thing is the 0.95.4 version is still a Beta version and is not stable for some system.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I actually pmed the author of Core Temp. He told me that the Tjunction of these E6x50 series is actually not known. It was assumed that it was 100'c. No hard info from Intel.

Anyway, since everybody is following this, I guess we have to follow this value too i.e. Tjunction of 100'c. Currently, I'm also using core temp 0.95.4 to measure the core temperature..... smile.gif
skymyxe
post Nov 23 2007, 08:53 AM

1,047 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 23 2007, 06:31 AM)
I actually pmed the author of Core Temp. He told me that the Tjunction of these E6x50 series is actually not known. It was assumed that it was 100'c. No hard info from Intel.

Anyway, since everybody is following this, I guess we have to follow this value too i.e. Tjunction of 100'c. Currently, I'm also using core temp 0.95.4 to measure the core temperature.....  smile.gif
Yeah, although it crashes sometimes when I run it on my system. But, it does provide readings same as Everest Ultimate. icon_rolleyes.gif

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0181sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:03 AM