12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Apple Homekit Discussion Thread, Your Home At Your Command

Xaphier
post Jul 8 2020, 11:28 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Apr 18 2020, 04:30 AM)
Hello everyone, there is no thread to talk about Apple Homekit so I started one.
I almost completed my Apple Homekit connected home that I wanted to do since a while (pending parents approval haha).
This is the post to thank you people who shared their previous experience here as a reference for me.
My house is about 4000sqft and for the Homekit Accessories I have about 30 Terncy Wall switches in the house, 25+ Philips Hue Lightings...and multiple Terncy Door Sensors, 3 Yeelight bedside lamps, 4 Apple HomePods, 1 LG B9 OLED TV.
Good thread, plenty of information that is relevant to Malaysian market. I am impressed by your lighting response time, what are the contributing factor? Is it from the Terncy switch + Philips hue combination? Or its just the Zigbee 3.0 that achieve this? Do you think I can achieve the same thing with Aqara switch which also use Zigbee 3.0 protocol? (Assuming WiFi connection is perfect).

I was thinking of using just the normal dumb light bulb + Terncy/Aqara Switch, was wondering if I can get the same responsiveness like what you just showcased.

Thanks!
kaizoku30
post Jul 8 2020, 07:40 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Xaphier @ Jul 8 2020, 11:28 AM)
Good thread, plenty of information that is relevant to Malaysian market. I am impressed by your lighting response time, what are the contributing factor? Is it from the Terncy switch + Philips hue combination? Or its just the Zigbee 3.0 that achieve this? Do you think I can achieve the same thing with Aqara switch which also use Zigbee 3.0 protocol? (Assuming WiFi connection is perfect).

I was thinking of using just the normal dumb light bulb + Terncy/Aqara Switch, was wondering if I can get the same responsiveness like what you just showcased.

Thanks!
haha its because of TS, i have installed homekit compatible smart switches at home as well. currently using lifesmart switches and its hub. have not got my self an apple TV or homepod. laugh.gif

for fast response, the the logic need to be execute locally and not via internet which in this case the logic is stored in the terncy and philips hue hub itself.
INGfusion
post Jul 9 2020, 10:18 AM

iPong Oren Leh
7,497 posts

any one here using home kit secure router ?
TSkokhoong0624
post Jul 10 2020, 11:08 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(razr_sped @ Jul 8 2020, 08:25 AM)
i suppose if purely on HKSV its abit lacking, but tat is also due to wifi strength (i recall u mention u have a big house and crappy wifi) and auto quality selection by default. i have force it to full 1080 as i dont hav icloud package that support recording therefore rely on local SD plus local SD support continuous recording. The aqara app allow much more selection. i guess you can try set it there and review on HKSV again. would appreciate ur feedback cos thats a RM40 monthly subscription since i have 4 units. the only issue i had was it working as a hub as i couldnt add child device to it, nor it work in xiaomi app the siren automation rely purely on the G2H motion sensor and not the rest of house sensor. could be my setup but i have tried many times with different device but still in vain
one thing to add, the aqara app also allow area of recording/mask and adusting the sensitivity of motion/noise detection

I don't want to install the Xiaomi App if possible because it forces me to create an account. A little bit paranoid about Xiaomi Privacy after saw this... The sole reason I got the G2H is for its HSV capability. The signal strength is actually quite good as the camera is kinda close to the router and from the app there's not much interference - the wifi experience is 100%. I believe it might be a limitation of Homekit.
https://www.lowyat.net/2020/203029/google-c...mi-integration/
QUOTE(INGfusion @ Jul 8 2020, 09:44 AM)
Ok lo the detection , so far don’t have false detection yet
What I feel like is not false detection, it's that they check for motion every few seconds so in between the few seconds if something happen, the Aqara or Homekit would not record it. I think it's probably HSV that is not polished. Will see how it's like after iOS 14.

Thanks!
The responsiveness you seen is DUMB light + Terncy Switch. I think the contribution factor is there is no compromise of connection between the hub and my home network - via ethernet. And Terncy optimisation. I don't have Aqara switches at my place, so I can't really speak for Aqara but before I bought Terncy I had tested the Aqara ones at my friend house - and Terncy is significantly faster, as my friend just bought 2 of the Terncy ones to replace his broken Aqara switches. Aqara uses the 2.4Ghz spectrum so I think it depends on your area whether there is a lot of interference or not - if there's no interference I believe it would be quite responsive as well.

daisiesdontdoit92
post Jul 11 2020, 12:03 AM

580 posts

I been considering some smart home equip for my home (not luxury as you), but safety/security cause me worry. Terncy is Chinese company and China may access any info that process thru Chinese company, right? Don't you worry for your voice, videos and more info going to wrong people?

https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/opini...enter-security/
INGfusion
post Jul 11 2020, 12:49 AM

iPong Oren Leh
7,497 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Jul 10 2020, 11:08 PM)
I don't want to install the Xiaomi App if possible because it forces me to create an account. A little bit paranoid about Xiaomi Privacy after saw this... The sole reason I got the G2H is for its HSV capability. The signal strength is actually quite good as the camera is kinda close to the router and from the app there's not much interference - the wifi experience is 100%. I believe it might be a limitation of Homekit.
https://www.lowyat.net/2020/203029/google-c...mi-integration/

What I feel like is not false detection, it's that they check for motion every few seconds so in between the few seconds if something happen, the Aqara or Homekit would not record it. I think it's probably HSV that is not polished. Will see how it's like after iOS 14.
The responsiveness you seen is DUMB light + Terncy Switch. I think the contribution factor is there is no compromise of connection between the hub and my home network - via ethernet. And Terncy optimisation. I don't have Aqara switches at my place, so I can't really speak for Aqara but before I bought Terncy I had tested the Aqara ones at my friend house - and Terncy is significantly faster, as my friend just bought 2 of the Terncy ones to replace his broken Aqara switches. Aqara uses the 2.4Ghz spectrum so I think it depends on your area whether there is a lot of interference or not - if there's no interference I believe it would be quite responsive as well.
hope ios14 fix your issue,so far all my motion detect record very accurate never facing any issue yet
TSkokhoong0624
post Jul 11 2020, 02:33 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(daisiesdontdoit92 @ Jul 11 2020, 12:03 AM)
I been considering some smart home equip for my home (not luxury as you), but safety/security cause me worry. Terncy is Chinese company and China may access any info that process thru Chinese company, right? Don't you worry for your voice, videos and more info going to wrong people?

https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/opini...enter-security/
Terncy works without signing up an account , if want to create account can use Sign in with Apple, works locally and the beta version has an option to disable all outgoing connection calling home and only turn on when you want to update something. Recently they established a server in Singapore (but I hadn't update to switch to that yet). And yes China can force any company to comply and give up its data so I just use the Terncy switches locally and for remote access, use Homekit.

QUOTE(INGfusion @ Jul 11 2020, 12:49 AM)
hope ios14 fix your issue,so far all my motion detect record very accurate never facing any issue yet
Yeah but do you find the video quality in Homekit worse compared to the one in Aqara app? Because I'm trying to avoid creating an account if possible

This post has been edited by kokhoong0624: Jul 11 2020, 02:36 AM
INGfusion
post Jul 11 2020, 03:10 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,497 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Jul 11 2020, 02:33 AM)
Terncy works without signing up an account ,  if want to create account can use Sign in with Apple, works locally and the beta version has an option to disable all outgoing connection calling home and only turn on when you want to update something. Recently they established a server in Singapore (but I hadn't update to switch to that yet). And yes China can force any company to comply and give up its data so I just use the Terncy switches locally and for remote access, use Homekit.
Yeah but do you find the video quality in Homekit worse compared to the one in Aqara app? Because I'm trying to avoid creating an account if possible
I just print screen and compare , I don’t see any different lol , now testing with my eufy , just arrived yesterday
INGfusion
post Jul 11 2020, 10:52 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,497 posts

alright finally ceiling dried and got my eufy pan and tilt camera mounted , now playing on it XD
Xaphier
post Jul 12 2020, 02:44 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Jul 10 2020, 11:08 PM)
That's great to know. You mentioned the Phillips Hue a lots, so I thought you were using Philips Hue for the demo. Thanks for the info. Will buy a couple of Aqara and Terncy switch to compare.
tcwan
post Jul 20 2020, 08:58 AM

151 posts

Thanks!
I find that one of the contributing factors is how close you are from the device to the hub. Zigbee is a multihop forwarding protocol, and obviously if you need to go through some additional forwarders (line-powered device) it will take a bit longer.
If your signal is weak, it may also take longer due to retransmission of lost signals.

However, I am very happy with the Terncy system and support. They integrate fully into HomeKit so all the devices don't need to depend on the App (except for the rotary dial rotation feature which is not directly supported by HomeKit so you will need to create the automations within the Terncy Home app).

Aqara/Xiaomi works fine, but currently the number of HomeKit supported devices are still limited so it is not as smooth an experience as I'd like. E.g. the new BLE Mesh devices from Xiaomi are not visible in HomeKit, and have a much worse response time compared to Zigbee. Note: I'm using the Xiaomi v3 hub with CN server for Aqara and Xiaomi devices.
tcwan
post Jul 20 2020, 09:05 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Jul 7 2020, 04:02 PM)
Will probably resort to Homebridge and RTSP feed from my network cameras instead.
[attachmentid=10530823]
Since you're using Homebridge, I'm just wondering if you've tried joining Terncy devices to it? I tried to reset the Terncy Rotary Dial but I don't see any device join requests in Homebridge log. Not sure if I need to remove the device from the Terncy Home app first.

Reason being the rotary function of the dial is not available in HomeKit and I'd like to use it to control third party devices (not supported by Terncy Home App).

This post has been edited by tcwan: Jul 20 2020, 09:05 AM
TSkokhoong0624
post Jul 20 2020, 08:32 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Jul 20 2020, 09:05 AM)
Since you're using Homebridge, I'm just wondering if you've tried joining Terncy devices to it? I tried to reset the Terncy Rotary Dial but I don't see any device join requests in Homebridge log. Not sure if I need to remove the device from the Terncy Home app first.

Reason being the rotary function of the dial is not available in HomeKit and I'd like to use it to control third party devices (not supported by Terncy Home App).
I’ve been outstation for some time already and I believe that currently Terncy does not support Homebridge but they’re rolling out support for Home Assistant soon. Maybe it’s possible after that? Currently I’m using them to control my living room lights only.
simmarjit
post Jul 23 2020, 03:47 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Jul 7 2020, 04:02 PM)
I had a G2H for a couple weeks now and I would NOT recommend it for anyone if you plan to use it for real security - only speaking for Homekit Secure Video.
1. The motion sensor only triggers recording when motion is continuously detected. Sometimes there are movements and nothing is recorded.
2. The image quality of the camera OR whatever encoding Homekit Secure Video uses is terrible. You can't even distinguish faces when the person is >1.5 meters away. (You can recognise family members but useless for intruders).
3. The only awesome part is two way talking is supported (You can use the microphone and the speaker on the camera to talk). - but that's the only good thing I can say about this camera.
Will probably resort to Homebridge and RTSP feed from my network cameras instead.
[attachmentid=10530823]
You are currently using Hikvision? I have been cracking my head trying to get RTSP to homebridge working, not sure what settings I am supposed to mess with on my NVR. I have tested a sample RTSP feed and that works fine.
mONSTers
post Jul 30 2020, 10:47 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Jul 20 2020, 08:32 PM)
I’ve been outstation for some time already and I believe that currently Terncy does not support Homebridge but they’re rolling out support for Home Assistant soon. Maybe it’s possible after that? Currently I’m using them to control my living room lights only.
Where you obtained the info that Terncy can be supported by Home Assistant?

Currently this is the only cons I have with Terncy product. I would like to integrate into Home Assistant.
INGfusion
post Jul 30 2020, 11:30 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,497 posts

just added brightness sensor to my HomeKit , now can play more automation biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

TSkokhoong0624
post Jul 31 2020, 12:30 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(mONSTers @ Jul 30 2020, 10:47 PM)
Where you obtained the info that Terncy can be supported by Home Assistant?

Currently this is the only cons I have with Terncy product. I would like to integrate into Home Assistant.
I joined their wechat group for customers and asked their engineer personally. HomeAssistant support is on the roadmap.
https://youtu.be/JJgzS9UEadM

Recently someone had finally made it work even without support from the developer
TSkokhoong0624
post Jul 31 2020, 12:31 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ Jul 30 2020, 11:30 PM)
just added brightness sensor to my HomeKit , now can play more automation  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

I don’t think luminosity works natively as a trigger for automations unless you use other apps right
mONSTers
post Jul 31 2020, 12:40 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Jul 31 2020, 12:30 PM)
I joined their wechat group for customers and asked their engineer personally. HomeAssistant support is on the roadmap.
https://youtu.be/JJgzS9UEadM

Recently someone had finally made it work even without support from the developer
Got it...I struggle to get the wall switch works with HA...as it is not supported yet. Currently only 3 devices from Terncy are supported via zigbee2mqtt protocol (rotary dial, awareness switch and contact sensor).
INGfusion
post Jul 31 2020, 05:16 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,497 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Jul 31 2020, 12:31 PM)
I don’t think luminosity works natively as a trigger for automations unless you use other apps right
Yes , Sensor show in homekit , but automation need to use aqara app to set. See when HomeKit Automation will compatible

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:47 PM