FKLI , Futures

TSdarenohh
post Jul 26 2007, 11:20 AM, updated 17y ago

307 posts

any expert in this area?? I buy back 3 contract today @ 1383 ..

wonder how come the klci (1387 up 7.x) move a lot but the fkli still remain 1382 (only 2 point..) @ 11:19am .... I thought usually quite similar with the klci when month end ...

cherroy
post Jul 26 2007, 01:33 PM

25,802 posts

Mainly because recently the market volatility is high and also the index is facing huge resistance at 1390 level, has tried several time but not succeed, so discount a bit if anything goes wrong in overseas market. But a few point only, not significant, nothing to shout about. If market can stablise or creep a bit higher then the FKLI will close the gap eventually, still got 3 days to go for the JUL contract, anything can happen in this 3 days especially nowadays, market volatility is so high.

Current in KLSE, the shinning stars are those second and third liners and 'goreng' stock. Big cap like TNB, TM, Genting hardly move much nowadays.

TSdarenohh
post Jul 26 2007, 05:28 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 26 2007, 01:33 PM)
Mainly because recently the market volatility is high and also the index is facing huge resistance at 1390 level, has tried several time but not succeed, so discount a bit if anything goes wrong in overseas market. But a few point only, not significant, nothing to shout about. If market can stablise or creep a bit higher then the FKLI will close the gap eventually, still got 3 days to go for the JUL contract, anything can happen in this 3 days especially nowadays, market volatility is so high.

Current in KLSE, the shinning stars are those second and third liners and 'goreng' stock. Big cap like TNB, TM, Genting hardly move much nowadays.
my goodness.. just need to wait after lunch then I can make @1369 ..... 14*3*50 = rm 2100 ... cry.gif

sell too early ...

This post has been edited by darenohh: Jul 26 2007, 05:32 PM
laguna1811
post Jul 26 2007, 06:44 PM

476 posts

if tonight dow jones down again, tmr sure koyak...
the short term chart turning down liau... better stay out for the moment, very volatile during month end
consider to short a bit

Added on July 27, 2007, 10:16 amanyone else here trading futures?

This post has been edited by laguna1811: Jul 27 2007, 10:16 AM
TSdarenohh
post Jul 27 2007, 11:19 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Jul 26 2007, 06:44 PM)
if tonight dow jones down again, tmr sure koyak...
the short term chart turning down liau... better stay out for the moment,  very volatile during month end
consider to short a bit

Added on July 27, 2007, 10:16 amanyone else here trading futures?
too late .. too late .......... I already long buy for august 2 @ 1362 and 1@ 1359 before the market close ...

now gone 4k ... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif cry.gif
laguna1811
post Jul 27 2007, 11:23 AM

476 posts

haha... regret didn short yesterday... got client come open account... no time to watch market... !@$#% kanasai...

erm... aug if dun rebound more then very jia lat lor... possible resistance area around 1350 level bah... boh pian cut losses short safer haha...

btw... y still buy yesterday... the chart turning down wor...

Added on July 27, 2007, 11:57 amif break low... better sell... =,=
can earn back losses later 1... just dun lose all capital then can liau

Added on July 27, 2007, 4:56 pmif today july can break 1345 then maybe hav chance to bound back to 1360 level...
good luck wer

This post has been edited by laguna1811: Jul 27 2007, 04:56 PM
TSdarenohh
post Jul 28 2007, 12:10 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Jul 27 2007, 11:23 AM)
haha... regret didn short yesterday... got client come open account... no time to watch market... !@$#% kanasai...

erm... aug if dun rebound more then very jia lat lor... possible resistance area around 1350 level bah... boh pian cut losses short safer haha...

btw... y still buy yesterday... the chart turning down wor...

Added on July 27, 2007, 11:57 amif break low... better sell... =,=
can earn back losses later 1... just dun lose all capital then can liau

Added on July 27, 2007, 4:56 pmif today july can break 1345 then maybe hav chance to bound back to 1360 level...
good luck wer
i think monday also gone ...... dj and europe all in red !!! sweat.gif sweat.gif cry.gif cry.gif

need to cut to min loses ...

KingRichard
post Jul 28 2007, 08:18 AM

1,015 posts

any suggestions on where to read up for investing in the futures market...online or books?
zombie
post Jul 29 2007, 05:49 AM

Died
685 posts

Ah.. futures - where all the gamblers gather.
KingRichard
post Jul 29 2007, 08:43 AM

1,015 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Jul 29 2007, 05:49 AM)
Ah.. futures - where all the gamblers gather.
in a way, but only if you liken the stock market as a gambling den! well, it's just another form of investment with leveraged returns, thus only for the risk takers (and deep pockets!)

zombie
post Jul 29 2007, 03:14 PM

Died
685 posts

QUOTE(KingRichard @ Jul 29 2007, 08:43 AM)
in a way, but only if you liken the stock market as a gambling den! well, it's just another form of investment with leveraged returns, thus only for the risk takers (and deep pockets!)
Well, there is more of an investment factor when we buy stocksvas it involves R&D on the stocks.

However, the futures market is very close to gambling for small players like me. wink.gif
cherroy
post Jul 29 2007, 03:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Jul 29 2007, 03:14 PM)
Well, there is more of an investment factor when we buy stocksvas it involves R&D on the stocks.

However, the futures market is very close to gambling for small players like me.  wink.gif
I don't denied it somehow like gambling also but it depends how you treat it. Also, trading with FKLI, you need to make some study, not blindly sell or buy into it, otherwise, surely lose one. You need to monitor the index linked counters performance, not simply look at the index alone. See the counters like TNB, Maybank, MISC (index linked) etc are expensive or not. If too expensive, you can short the market since there is not much room for the upside, high probablity will have some correction. If the particular stocks are cheap and lot of fund are buying it, then you go long for the market. It is not simply trading with one day, hope when you bought then tomorrow goes up. You look for the bigger pictures and others factor like overseas market, interest rate issues etc. Also TA can be applied when trading with FKLI, at least you have some idea before trading, not simply buying or selling blindly.

Also when you bullish about the market and overall market is cheap (aka most stocks are cheap) and don't have any idea which stock to choose then you can opt to buy the futures, even when expired, roll it to next month (even roll for several yeras) then you basically are buying the index instead of buying stock, you still achieve the effect of buying stocks, gain from the market bullishness.

You can also use it tp hedge against the market, like you have plenty of index-linked counters, instead selling the shares, you opt to sell in the futures to protect your portfolio, this is more applicable to fund managers and big retailers who has plenty of shares across the index-linked counters.

Basically when you buy or sell in FKLI, you are basically buying/selling 100 stocks of the index linked stocks based on the weight ratio respectively.

It depends how you treat it. Even for stock, a lot of people treat like gambling instead of investment, just people not realised or admit it. Typically a lot of retailers heard some rumour of ABC 'goreng' stock will go up next week, without any research about the company just look at the price quote of the computer and daily price movement, they also bought the shares already, hope it will go up tomorrow or next then can make quick gain/contra gain from it. This also quite similar to gambling already, may be speculation is more suitable word.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jul 29 2007, 03:48 PM
KingRichard
post Jul 29 2007, 03:48 PM

1,015 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Jul 29 2007, 03:14 PM)

However, the futures market is very close to gambling for small players like me.  wink.gif
with our see-saw markets nowadays you probably need a whole lot of luck too biggrin.gif

laguna1811
post Jul 30 2007, 09:12 AM

476 posts

u r gambling if u dun have any plan and just get into the game...

trading is not that easy man... go do some research b4 posting anything lar bro...
TSdarenohh
post Jul 30 2007, 11:20 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Jul 30 2007, 09:12 AM)
u r gambling if u dun have any plan and just get into the game...

trading is not that easy man... go do some research b4 posting anything lar bro...
true .. besides .. also need the dare to take risk... as the study just a help be not always true ...
laguna1811
post Jul 30 2007, 11:26 AM

476 posts

investing or trading all are taking risk
you need to plan ur strategy
it's a probability game
the odds are higher than normal gambling

trading is 10% skill, 30% money management and 60% psychology

cherroy
post Jul 30 2007, 01:31 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(darenohh @ Jul 30 2007, 11:20 AM)
true .. besides .. also need the dare to take risk... as the study just a help be not always  true ...
But study is a must, it increases the chance of winning though not 100% or 90%. At least you know what are you doing rather blindly jump into it.

Just like sport, you need plenty of training, although doesn't mean necessary winning but without training, your have no chance or less chance of winning even you are talented.
laguna1811
post Jul 30 2007, 02:23 PM

476 posts

there's no 100% chances to make money
u just take risk on higher probability with proper lot size
it's actually not so complicated, just many ppl make it so complicated tongue.gif
zombie
post Jul 30 2007, 03:18 PM

Died
685 posts

So how lar today? Shortie?
laguna1811
post Jul 30 2007, 03:30 PM

476 posts

dunno lar
not clear so stay out loh ah haha
too late to short la...
now waiting for chance to long
TSdarenohh
post Jul 31 2007, 03:06 AM

307 posts

i think today can go for long for aug contract ..
laguna1811
post Jul 31 2007, 08:24 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(darenohh @ Jul 31 2007, 03:06 AM)
i think today can go for long for aug contract ..
y do you think so?
bcos yesterday dow jones go up?
TSdarenohh
post Jul 31 2007, 10:58 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Jul 31 2007, 08:24 AM)
y do you think so?
bcos yesterday dow jones go up?
becos malaysia have lots of positive news , also going to election, also celebrate merdeka soon ... ( and malaysia boleh ... )

I already long 2 contract on last friday ... total make me have 5 contact on hand .. the average buying @ 1340 ... now dow is doing fine .. hopefully tomorrow up agian ...I will sell 2@ 1375 and rest @ 1380 for aughust fkli ..
shih
post Jul 31 2007, 11:51 PM

1,148 posts

Hope your futures are doing well, because you good means I am good also. Lets hope KLCI rise tomorrow.
TSdarenohh
post Aug 1 2007, 03:33 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Jul 31 2007, 11:51 PM)
Hope your futures are doing well, because you good means I am good also. Lets hope KLCI rise tomorrow.
dj ... negative news again... wtf ... currently down 18 points..

Added on August 1, 2007, 4:18 amgone loh!!!! DJ - 145 ++ rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by darenohh: Aug 1 2007, 04:18 AM
laguna1811
post Aug 1 2007, 08:57 AM

476 posts

for long term i think the market is still up
but this time correction maybe will be deep... that's y i dun wan to long yet
somemore yesterday the chart bounce back to the resistance level... so... so dun dare to long also tongue.gif

cannot just look at news 1 lar... those hedge funds control market 1 lol... just follow the market...

good luck ya

p.s wah seh... u always post at 3am de wor...
zombie
post Aug 1 2007, 10:56 AM

Died
685 posts

OMG, yesterday up 20 pts today down 20 pts. Very voilatile!!
ejleemy
post Aug 1 2007, 10:58 AM

435 posts

I wonder anyone here plays CPO futures ?
laguna1811
post Aug 1 2007, 11:05 AM

476 posts

lol
damn yesterday gone up so much made me dun dare to short
now too late lor~
but now conform it will go down more le... but boh hua la short now
#@$%#@^
zombie
post Aug 1 2007, 01:59 PM

Died
685 posts

FKLI down 57 pts!!!!
shih
post Aug 1 2007, 02:10 PM

1,148 posts

Means how much to lose from the opening today? 1 point = rm50?
cherroy
post Aug 1 2007, 02:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Aug 1 2007, 02:10 PM)
Means how much to lose from the opening today? 1 point = rm50?
Yes, 1 point = RM50

so one contract mean gain/loss = 2,850

It is hard to play in this market now, it is not up to the KLSE alone, the world market is influenced by the US market. With subprime issues keep on popping up and surfacing, you don't know when it will stop. Today the an Australian Macquire issue warning about fund loss and the near collapse of The American Home added salt in the wound.

Europe is expecting to open with significant loss after yesterday sharp rise and for time being, DJ futures is expected to trade down more than 100 points loss.

laguna1811
post Aug 1 2007, 02:23 PM

476 posts

lol...
trust the chart
damn gap up gap down made me scare to short lol

no make money shorting, then wait chance to long lor lol
cherroy
post Aug 1 2007, 02:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Aug 1 2007, 02:23 PM)
lol...
trust the chart
damn gap up gap down made me scare to short lol

no make money shorting, then wait chance to long lor lol
Now the most important is you have enough 'bullet'

That's why I keep on mentioning on previos posts, always keep enough cash to prepare for the worst.
laguna1811
post Aug 1 2007, 02:57 PM

476 posts

money management
TSdarenohh
post Aug 1 2007, 05:21 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Aug 1 2007, 08:57 AM)
for long term i think the market is still up
but this time correction maybe will be deep... that's y i dun wan to long yet
somemore yesterday the chart bounce back to the resistance level... so... so dun dare to long also tongue.gif

cannot just look at news 1 lar... those hedge funds control market 1 lol... just follow the market...

good luck ya

p.s wah seh... u always post at 3am de wor...
damn.. i cut and stop the blood .. now no more contract on hand .... loss 15k.... cry.gif cry.gif

laguna1811
post Aug 1 2007, 06:04 PM

476 posts

lol
it's better to stop loss than to letting loss run
proper money management is the key
shih
post Aug 1 2007, 07:02 PM

1,148 posts

cherroy is correct, save your bullets, dont let it run out. Wait to the right timing to enter.
TSdarenohh
post Aug 1 2007, 07:31 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Aug 1 2007, 07:02 PM)
cherroy is correct, save your bullets, dont let it run out. Wait to the right timing to enter.
yup .. I cut and save the bullet .. with lots of negative news .. i think dj will down again to night ... hope i am wrong .. else this might begin of the crisis ... this year is 07 ...
laguna1811
post Aug 1 2007, 08:13 PM

476 posts

i dun think crisis will come so soon, those hedge funds wont just play so little 1
1st rule in trading is to survive, once u lose ur capital then is game over liau biggrin.gif profit later
TSdarenohh
post Aug 1 2007, 11:29 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Aug 1 2007, 08:13 PM)
i dun think crisis will come so soon, those hedge funds wont just play so little 1
1st rule in trading is to survive, once u lose ur capital then is game over liau biggrin.gif profit later
I think i can't participle in fkli .... cause going to work in China end of this month.... cry.gif cry.gif .. dun know when will back to malaysia again...
shih
post Aug 1 2007, 11:44 PM

1,148 posts

Never mind, you can take the opportunity to know more about the China market and maybe you can register an account there and trade their shares ler?...

Anyway, good luck!
TSdarenohh
post Aug 2 2007, 01:20 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Aug 1 2007, 11:44 PM)
Never mind, you can take the opportunity to know more about the China market and maybe you can register an account there and trade their shares ler?...

Anyway, good luck!
china market is crazy ... dun dare to go it as it is already very high .. but still ..people keep go in !!

Added on August 2, 2007, 4:59 amDJ up 150++ klse sure green ..

This post has been edited by darenohh: Aug 2 2007, 04:59 AM
cherroy
post Aug 2 2007, 09:17 AM

25,802 posts

I won't play in this market currently, too risky, each day is different now, it all depends on US market now. No news, market goes up, got subprime or credit crunch issues stock plunge.

If you notice careful of last night DJ, the 150points is only occured at last 20 minutes of the session, prior 30 minutes before the close, the DJ is hovering at neutral point to slightly red. So it is pre-mature to say the whole market is stablise already.
Lcsx
post Aug 2 2007, 09:48 AM

1,016 posts

Actually fkli can be used as a hedging tool for your portfolio. If your portfolio is huge and your average beta is very close to KLSE's you could actually use it to lock your portfolio from fluctuations. It isn't a perfect hedge but is an alternative for you if you do not want to liquidate your entire portfolio because of fluctuations. However you have to balance the number of short contract positions to your portfolio.

Singh_Kalan
post Aug 2 2007, 10:09 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(Lcsx @ Aug 2 2007, 09:48 AM)
Actually fkli can be used as a hedging tool for your portfolio. If your portfolio is huge and your average beta is very close to KLSE's you could actually use it to lock your portfolio from fluctuations. It isn't a perfect hedge but is an alternative for you if you do not want to liquidate your entire portfolio because of fluctuations. However you have to balance the number of short contract positions to your portfolio.
yup, that's the purpose of FKLI anyway as hedging tool. nod.gif But for most retail investor, it's used as speculation tool.
zombie
post Aug 2 2007, 11:15 AM

Died
685 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Aug 2 2007, 10:09 AM)
yup, that's the purpose of FKLI anyway as hedging tool.  nod.gif But for most retail investor, it's used as speculation tool.
Yeah, most will liquidate all their stocks to speculate in the futures market. brows.gif
Lcsx
post Aug 2 2007, 11:29 AM

1,016 posts

Actually FLKI is also used to create a market neutral position whereby you make the stock neutral to market influences but open only to the stock's strenghts, prospects and weakneses.

Another use for FLKI is for exiting very huge positions in the KLCI. If a fund wants to exit a position huge enough to influence the market, the fund could have short position and exit their funds. This is because if you exit huge positions your sale orders will not all be taken at a good price. The shortcoming is made up by your short positions in the FLKI.

Another use is by simmilar means as the above but purely for market manipulation. I am not elaborating on this.

Singh_Kalan
post Aug 2 2007, 11:40 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(Lcsx @ Aug 2 2007, 11:29 AM)
Actually FLKI is also used to create a market neutral position whereby you make the stock neutral to market influences but open only to the stock's strenghts, prospects and weakneses.

Another use for FLKI is for exiting very huge positions in the KLCI. If a fund wants to exit a position huge enough to influence the market, the fund could have short position and exit their funds. This is because if you exit huge positions your sale orders will not all be taken at a good price. The shortcoming is made up by your short positions in the FLKI.

Another use is by simmilar means as the above but purely for market manipulation. I am not elaborating on this.
Yup that's why those foreign investor, manipulator, jaws whatever u called it, will always win when exiting. Capital appreciation from the stock and gain from FKLI.
cherroy
post Aug 2 2007, 01:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Lcsx @ Aug 2 2007, 11:29 AM)

This had been done back 1997 financial crisis, hedge fund short the equities and respectively country currency simultaneously since they know they exit the market in big way as well as short the market which increase the currency downward pressure.

That's why until now KLSE is not permitting openly short selling of stock, only regulated short-selling allowed. The market is simple too small compared to the hedge fund size.

Currently, when market tumble, ringgit goes down as well so may be it is the sign of some 'hot' money moving out currently.
TSdarenohh
post Aug 3 2007, 06:10 PM

307 posts

so any1 go in recently? the indicator show short for short term...
mtsen
post Aug 7 2007, 01:17 PM

1,473 posts

where n how can I sign up account to do this FKLI thing ?

can I do put/call options there ?
TSdarenohh
post Aug 10 2007, 09:52 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(mtsen @ Aug 7 2007, 01:17 PM)
where n how can I sign up account to do this FKLI thing ?

can I do put/call options there ?
sorry for the late reply..

u can check with all the securities firm .. usually they have future a/c
bulkbiz
post May 28 2008, 11:40 AM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

Newbie here, where you guys trade FKLI...cimb i-trade can?
cherroy
post May 28 2008, 12:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ May 28 2008, 11:40 AM)
Newbie here, where you guys trade FKLI...cimb i-trade can?
As far as I knew, there is no online portal can trade FKLI yet.
bulkbiz
post May 28 2008, 01:24 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 28 2008, 12:54 PM)
As far as I knew, there is no online portal can trade FKLI yet.
ic, then where to trade?
babylabbit
post May 28 2008, 02:10 PM

4,339 posts

go find a future broker lo smile.gif

open on account n goreng.....but very easy win n drop tongue.gif
bulkbiz
post May 28 2008, 02:14 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(babylabbit @ May 28 2008, 02:10 PM)
go find a future broker lo smile.gif

open on account n goreng.....but very easy win n drop tongue.gif
Where to find one?
ethanfoo
post May 28 2008, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ May 28 2008, 02:14 PM)
Where to find one?
hi, my name is ethan i'm a futures broker from osk anything i can assit u? can email me, ethanfoo@yahoo.com or 012-9668830
Elvisatm
post Jun 8 2008, 10:45 AM

20 posts

Hey guy , can u teach me invest in KLCI. Need register? where to register?
Which website provide the latest update for KLCI? Need how much capital?
Any fUTURE BROKER recommand?

Kindly reply!

THANK!

This post has been edited by Elvisatm: Jun 8 2008, 10:47 AM
spammenotspam
post Nov 12 2008, 10:41 AM

72 posts

hello all..

attended 1 seminar..selling softwares that provides indicator when to short or long at certain point in KLCI..
so.. it wasn't too expensive, around 5k.. wonder any1 of u tried it?
how realiable are those? haha... maybe they sell us software and cabut immediately.. hehe

carngigan
post Dec 4 2008, 10:56 AM

20 posts

Hmmm, FKLI market is a total volatile market, anybody is a full time trader here?
aurora97
post Dec 4 2008, 12:59 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

FKLI market requires alot of bling bling and amunition ...

unlike stock market ur ammo need only be a shot gun or rifle...

for FKLI u need to have a machine gun just in case ur ammo must be at least close to infinite.

How?

if the inital margin is Rm 5000 u must have at least Rm 10,000 to cover the IM, and the ability to lose Rm 5000 without being financially affected.

Thats the rule of thumb 2x the initial margin.

Daily margin call, another Rm 2500 to cover daily margin losses for top up purposes.

Per contract basis
Rm 5000 initial Margin paid per contract
Rm 10,000 reserve per contract (x2 of the initial margin)
Rm 2,500 daily top up margin call (50% of the margin sum)
Total Rm 17,500 per contract.

I guarantee u sleep peacefully at night without worries.
Naked.Tom
post Dec 4 2008, 09:11 PM

QUOTE(spammenotspam @ Nov 12 2008, 10:41 AM)
hello all..

attended 1 seminar..selling softwares that provides indicator when to short or long at certain point in KLCI..
so.. it wasn't too expensive, around 5k.. wonder any1 of u tried it?
how realiable are those? haha... maybe they sell us software and cabut immediately.. hehe
I never attended one and never used one. If they are so good, they would keep the secret weapon themselves instead of selling them.
Whatever indicators are based on price actions and trends.
I think to use the 5K as capital to try out the mkt oneself is a better deal, but at least one needs to know some basic Technical Analysis and trading knowledge lah. whistling.gif
feralee
post Dec 5 2008, 12:40 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

now the margin is 4K

it will change depending on market situation
aurora97
post Dec 5 2008, 09:25 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Naked.Tom @ Dec 4 2008, 09:11 PM)
I never attended one and never used one.  If they are so good, they would keep the secret weapon themselves instead of selling them.
Whatever indicators are based on price actions and trends.
I think to use the 5K as capital to try out the mkt oneself is a better deal, but at least one needs to know some basic Technical Analysis and trading knowledge lah.  whistling.gif
assuming Inital Margin is 4K (i havent updated myself lately so on assumption)

4K isn't ur capital, its equivalent to a deposit for the broker.
u will need another 4K - this will be ur capital because u ned to top up for margin losses everyday depending if ur winning or lossing of course.
Naked.Tom
post Dec 5 2008, 11:38 AM

yup, eg. one longs at 850, and decides o/nite, closing 825. so end of day unrealised loss = 25pt x 50 = rm1250.

If you one has only RM5000 in the acc, then RM5000 - Margin RM4000 - Unrealised Loss RM1250 = negative RM250.

So one will receive Margin Call RM250 to top up the acc.

Please correct me if my calculation not correct, as I have never had margin call experience, my deposit amount is 2x of margin normally.
carngigan
post Dec 5 2008, 11:42 AM

20 posts

TIll now who is earning?
Sleepy^Speculator
post Dec 16 2008, 03:42 PM

lets discuss more on the outlook of the FKLI market... the market has been like sleeping for few days... and expects to "hibernate" for the coming few days unless something big haapens in the U.S again ><

Added on December 17, 2008, 3:12 pmThe market seems to be quite weak given the reduction of interest as much as 75BPS...

Good things about this is that the policymaker is intact to save the economy....

Bad things about this is that the room for the policymaker to save the market will be lesser due to current U.S interest rate which is currently as low as 0~0.25%... in order for the policymaker to further boost consumption or liquidity into the market, the policymaker have to put interest rate into the negative territory...

any comments from anyone else?? pls advise tongue.gif

Added on December 17, 2008, 3:44 pmU.S reduced the interest rate of as high as 75BPS to 0% of 0.25%....

Good thing about this is the policymakers is policymakers are willing to save the economy from being worsen...

Bad thing about this is there is very less room for the policymakers to further boost consumption or liquidity into the market...

pls advice if there exist any other comments...

This post has been edited by Sleepy^Speculator: Dec 17 2008, 03:44 PM
DeniseLau
post Feb 7 2009, 04:47 PM

324 posts

Guys, I'm thinking of exploring the KLCI Futures but I'm not too familiar with the buying and selling rules in Futures contracts.

I have a few questions, I'll list them down:

1. Is there like a minimum I have to buy or something? Like in stocks, we have to purchase 1000 units at a time, is there any such thing in Futures?

2. In Crude Palm Oil Futures (FCPO), the underlying instrument is the Crude Palm Oil itself. So if I don't sell by the settlement date, I get a few tons of Crude Palm Oil shipped to my house. In KLCI Futures (FKLI), the underlying instrument is the KLCI Index. So if I don't sell the contract by the settlement date, what happens?

From what I read, FKLI is a Cash-Settled Futures Contract, but what I can't find is what happens if I don't sell an FKLI contract by the settlement date.

Would appreciate it very much if someone could help me understand this.

Edit:
I got the answer for question 2. Still no idea on Question 1.

QUOTE(OSK Investment Bank)
What is stock index futures contract?
Stock Index futures contract is an agreement between a seller and a buyer to respectively deliver and take delivery of a basket of shares which makes up the stock index, at predetermined price but at a specific future date. However, almost all Stock Index futures contracts (and similarly FKLI) provide for cash settlement in lieu of actual delivery of the basket of shares. The KLSE CI futures contract is a stock index futures contract that is based on the KLSE CI.

This post has been edited by DeniseLau: Feb 7 2009, 05:15 PM
hanzahar
post Feb 8 2009, 12:10 AM

why not try CFD to protect your money management
monday7
post Feb 11 2009, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(DeniseLau @ Feb 7 2009, 04:47 PM)
Guys, I'm thinking of exploring the KLCI Futures but I'm not too familiar with the buying and selling rules in Futures contracts.

I have a few questions, I'll list them down:

1. Is there like a minimum I have to buy or something? Like in stocks, we have to purchase 1000 units at a time, is there any such thing in Futures?

2. In Crude Palm Oil Futures (FCPO), the underlying instrument is the Crude Palm Oil itself. So if I don't sell by the settlement date, I get a few tons of Crude Palm Oil shipped to my house. In KLCI Futures (FKLI), the underlying instrument is the KLCI Index. So if I don't sell the contract by the settlement date, what happens?

From what I read, FKLI is a Cash-Settled Futures Contract, but what I can't find is what happens if I don't sell an FKLI contract by the settlement date.

Edit:

Stock Index futures contract is an agreement between a seller and a buyer to respectively deliver and take delivery of a basket of shares which makes up the stock index, at predetermined price but at a specific future date. However, almost all Stock Index futures contracts (and similarly FKLI) provide for cash settlement in lieu of actual delivery of the basket of shares. The KLSE CI futures contract is a stock index futures contract that is based on the KLSE CI.

Hi Denise,

Erm, there is no minimum buying or selling. you can buy or sell depends how much you debit in your account. 1 contract per now is RM3500.

cherroy
post Feb 11 2009, 03:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(DeniseLau @ Feb 7 2009, 04:47 PM)

Edit:

1. Min 1 contract. biggrin.gif

Initial margin varied from time to time, last time as low at Rm1,800 per contract, and as high as Rm6k+ at one time during market turbulence time.
asiatrader98
post Feb 26 2009, 07:46 AM

1,485 posts

Online Trading Futures-DMA (Direct Market Access) is coming soon! rclxms.gif drool.gif
So we will be able to keyin to long/short the FKLI/FCPO ourself............
Let's us talk about this hmm.gif

get more info about this DMA
or get the DMA_Handbook

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Feb 26 2009, 08:08 AM
TSdarenohh
post Feb 26 2009, 10:27 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Feb 26 2009, 07:46 AM)
Online Trading Futures-DMA (Direct Market Access)  is coming soon! rclxms.gif  drool.gif

or get the DMA_Handbook
DMA?? I am working in china GZ and currently only buy/sell share online in maybank2u... not in fkli ...now keep collecting bullet!!

This post has been edited by darenohh: Feb 26 2009, 10:27 PM
skiddtrader
post Feb 26 2009, 10:59 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Feb 26 2009, 07:46 AM)
Online Trading Futures-DMA (Direct Market Access)  is coming soon! rclxms.gif  drool.gif

or get the DMA_Handbook
Interesting, but do we need to pay for the software to have the direct access or is it freely downloadable.
asiatrader98
post Feb 27 2009, 07:26 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(darenohh @ Feb 26 2009, 10:27 PM)
DMA?? I am working in china GZ and currently only buy/sell share online in maybank2u... not in fkli ...now keep collecting bullet!!
pm me ur name & h/p number or e-mail if u r keen about this dma-online trading fkli/fcpo
I will send u the contact of person in charge

i think it includes real time charting & order execution

RM200++ mthly fee will waive if u have certain volume, so very obvious, this product is aim for those active trader (about 40~50+/- per round turn)....& the rate is a bit lower than current mkt rate (about 25% discount...)
unless u r keen to keyin urself rather than by call to ur fbr, even u r not active trader, & if u have subscribed to real time charting service, still have some rebate with ur light volume

not yet confirm, all the info above I got from the person in charge only ....I am also waiting for it.... drool.gif

Added on February 27, 2009, 7:32 am
QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Feb 26 2009, 10:59 PM)
Interesting, but do we need to pay for the software to have the direct access or is it freely downloadable.
no need, with the password protected pendrive we can keyin the order, according to person in charge
only mthly subscprtion fee (can be waived if u achieved certain vol or rebate with ur vol) but include real time charting icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Feb 27 2009, 07:33 AM
wyshin88
post Mar 11 2009, 09:11 PM

105 posts

Does any of you guys have FKLI intraday chart? I looked around and can't seems to find any provider. The only one I found was Teleqoute, which is RM2500 per year, which I think is way too expensive. Can you guys tell me where else can I get FKLI intraday chart?

Thanks!!
asiatrader98
post Mar 12 2009, 11:20 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(wyshin88 @ Mar 11 2009, 09:11 PM)
Does any of you guys have FKLI intraday chart? I looked around and can't seems to find any provider. The only one I found was Teleqoute, which is RM2500 per year, which I think is way too expensive. Can you guys tell me where else can I get FKLI intraday chart?

Thanks!!
maybe 1 or 2 mths later u can get the DMA then u will have the real time charting with the order excecution urself
currently, u may get the free real time charting from osk or rhb hmm.gif
alfredfx
post Apr 4 2009, 11:44 AM

715 posts

3/4/09 Sell 909.5
Justification: Gap up on 2/4/09, confirmation to test next resistance at 926-936, econ data not convincing, sentimental play
Concern: Yen weaken against Dollar, RM strengthen against Yen indicates money inflow, Jap is buying high yield assets, or carry trade in play. According to news, Jap has been net buyer for past few days.
Action: Prepare to buy stop @ 912.5 and wait for better opportunity to sell again.
wodenus
post Apr 11 2009, 06:12 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Dec 4 2008, 12:59 PM)

for FKLI u need to have a machine gun just in case ur ammo must be at least close to infinite.

How?

if the inital margin is Rm 5000 u must have at least Rm 10,000 to cover the IM, and the ability to lose Rm 5000 without being financially affected.

Daily margin call, another Rm 2500 to cover daily margin losses for top up purposes.

Per contract basis

If I made 2500 a day I would sleep peacefully with or w/o Futures lol smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Apr 11 2009, 06:12 PM
debbieyss
post Apr 12 2009, 12:54 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

hi all, few questions to ask about FUTURES:

1. Now is the month of April, but how come there are people buying contracts for month of May, June and even until September?

2. What does FCPO, FMG3, FMG5, FMGA mean?

3. Knowing that buying and selling's commissions are RM20 each, what if i'm buying 2 contracts and selling 2 contracts? Does it still RM40 total for commission fees?

That's for at the moment.... Thanks in advance.
debbieyss
post Apr 14 2009, 09:24 AM

4,458 posts

hi, i have one urgent question to ask:

Mr. A buys one contract at market's open price (900 point).

The moving status drops at 890 point at 10am.

However, the market closes at 910 point.

I just wonder, if Mr. A earnsor loses?
cherroy
post Apr 14 2009, 09:38 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 14 2009, 09:24 AM)
hi, i have one urgent question to ask:

Mr. A buys one contract at market's open price (900 point).

The moving status drops at 890 point at 10am.

However, the market closes at 910 point.

I just wonder, if Mr. A earnsor loses?
Mr A earn nothing from it, as he didn't close the open interest aka he didn't sell the long contract at all.

Price movement doesn't dictate your loss or gain. It i your transaction aka buy and sell price aka a closed transaction sell-buy price that is your final result.
debbieyss
post Apr 14 2009, 09:42 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 14 2009, 09:38 AM)
Mr A earn nothing from it, as he didn't close the open interest aka he didn't sell the long contract at all.

Price movement doesn't dictate your loss or gain. It i your transaction aka buy and sell price aka a closed transaction sell-buy price that is your final result.
noted with thanks.

Got it. smile.gif
debbieyss
post Apr 20 2009, 02:43 PM

4,458 posts

I have one question again, regarding FUTURES.

It doesn't have to buy a contract at a low price then only sell it at high price, right?
A successful contract can be done at first sell it at a high price, then buy it at low price when the status meet the low price, am I getting it right?
cherroy
post Apr 20 2009, 04:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 20 2009, 02:43 PM)
I have one question again, regarding FUTURES.

It doesn't have to buy a contract at a low price then only sell it at high price, right?
A successful contract can be done at first sell it at a high price, then buy it at low price when the status meet the low price, am I getting it right?
Yup

Buy first -> long
Sell first -> short
cute_boboi
post Apr 21 2009, 02:53 PM

° å¿ Â°
6,462 posts

Any website to view FKLI ? hmm.gif
debbieyss
post Apr 21 2009, 10:08 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 21 2009, 02:53 PM)
Any website to view FKLI ?  hmm.gif
http://www.klse.com.my/website/bm/
cute_boboi
post Apr 22 2009, 10:05 AM

° å¿ Â°
6,462 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 21 2009, 10:08 PM)
Prices are delayed by 15 mins doh.gif

Lithos
post Apr 22 2009, 11:47 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Dec 4 2008, 12:59 PM)

How?

Per contract basis

Aurora97 is very right, although I disagree about the "sleeping without worries" part.

Feb 26, 2007.....the Shanghai Composite Index plunged 10% in a day, and the next day our own KLCI plunged more than 100 pts at the opening bell. You may be able to cushion the blow with that massive RM17,500 per contract, but you'll sure as hell won't be able to sleep soundly during such turbulent times, because you're staring at thousands in paper losses per contract. Buy more contracts and you'll either save yourself or dig a deeper hole. The only measure that can save you (not without some "injuries", of course) are stop-loss points.

How do I know this? Because I was there, holding not one but 5 contracts at the time. And WITHOUT the aforementioned stop-loss points. Painful doesn't even begin to describe it. sad.gif

For all the beginners who wish to venture into FKLI trading, I have one advice to all of you. You have to make sure you damn well know what you're doing. This instrument, together with other derivatives such as warrants and options, not to mention Forex (even more so), are about as close to gambling as you can get. Leverage is a double-edged sword, sure you can earn a lot quickly if things go your way, but if they don't, tough luck. With these FKLI contracts, you are always fighting against time, and that time is 30 days or less if you buy the spot month contract. And as aurora97 put it, your biggest weapon is CAPITALISATION, and you'll need tonnes of it.

And a last tip: Never meet a margin call. You may have heard that saying before, but I have experienced the truth of it. Trust me, you don't want to go through that. The sayings are there for a reason. nod.gif
debbieyss
post Apr 22 2009, 09:06 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 22 2009, 10:05 AM)
Prices are delayed by 15 mins  doh.gif
If you want instant price, you need to open a Futures account and register at their website sleep.gif
aretla
post Apr 23 2009, 12:16 AM

o\n_n/o
713 posts

if wanna trade futures.. better to trade emini
aurora97
post Apr 23 2009, 10:02 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Lithos @ Apr 22 2009, 11:47 AM)
Aurora97 is very right, although I disagree about the "sleeping without worries" part.

Feb 26, 2007.....the Shanghai Composite Index plunged 10% in a day, and the next day our own KLCI plunged more than 100 pts at the opening bell. You may be able to cushion the blow with that massive RM17,500 per contract, but you'll sure as hell won't be able to sleep soundly during such turbulent times, because you're staring at thousands in paper losses per contract. Buy more contracts and you'll either save yourself or dig a deeper hole. The only measure that can save you (not without some "injuries", of course) are stop-loss points.

How do I know this? Because I was there, holding not one but 5 contracts at the time. And WITHOUT the aforementioned stop-loss points. Painful doesn't even begin to describe it.  sad.gif

For all the beginners who wish to venture into FKLI trading, I have one advice to all of you. You have to make sure you damn well know what you're doing. This instrument, together with other derivatives such as warrants and options, not to mention Forex (even more so), are about as close to gambling as you can get. Leverage is a double-edged sword, sure you can earn a lot quickly if things go your way, but if they don't, tough luck. With these FKLI contracts, you are always fighting against time, and that time is 30 days or less if you buy the spot month contract. And as aurora97 put it, your biggest weapon is CAPITALISATION, and you'll need tonnes of it.

And a last tip: Never meet a margin call. You may have heard that saying before, but I have experienced the truth of it. Trust me, you don't want to go through that. The sayings are there for a reason.  nod.gif
I need to highlight further...

"the stop loss mechanism" may not even work at times because of sudden volatile price flactuations that may not trigger it. The drop in the price is so rapid that stop loss trigger forgone totally.

I heard about the theory part, the actual workings i don't really know.

So trade with caution

This post has been edited by aurora97: Apr 23 2009, 10:03 AM
debbieyss
post Apr 23 2009, 03:32 PM

4,458 posts

hi, i have 2 questions:

1. Let's say, Mr. A sell 1 contract at 970 point on 29 April 2009, he means to buy 1 contract at 960 point but the moving status has not triggered 960 point.

What happened with Mr. A if until 30 April 2009, he still doesn't manage to buy the contract at any point lower than 970 point? Will he loss for the April contract?

2. What does MO mean? What are the purposes to buy or sell at MO?

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Apr 23 2009, 03:45 PM
cute_boboi
post Apr 23 2009, 11:14 PM

° å¿ Â°
6,462 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 23 2009, 03:32 PM)
hi, i have 2 questions:

1. Let's say, Mr. A sell 1 contract at 970 point on 29 April 2009, he means to buy 1 contract at 960 point but the moving status has not triggered 960 point.

What happened with Mr. A if until 30 April 2009, he still doesn't manage to buy the contract at any point lower than 970 point? Will he loss for the April contract?
2. What does MO mean? What are the purposes to buy or sell at MO?
1. Assume Mr. A sell 1 contract at 970 on 29 Apr 2009 for Spot Month. On 30th Apr 2009 ending day, the system will auto match and initiate a buy on whatever the price is. If below 970, still profit. Otherwise, margin call if insufficient balance.

I think can negotiate to bring the contract over to next month with the broker.

2. MO = Matching Order before opening. Similiar like trading shares now. You can buy/sell at the price listed.

MP = Matching Price before closing for the day. e.g. If yesterday I buy at 967 during MP, today I can sell at 986.50 during MP. 19.5 pts minus fees for ~RM400 profit per contract.

cherroy
post Apr 23 2009, 11:46 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 23 2009, 11:14 PM)
1. Assume Mr. A sell 1 contract at 970 on 29 Apr 2009 for Spot Month. On 30th Apr 2009 ending day, the system will auto match and initiate a buy on whatever the price is. If below 970, still profit. Otherwise, margin call if insufficient balance.

I think can negotiate to bring the contract over to next month with the broker.

2. MO = Matching Order before opening. Similiar like trading shares now. You can buy/sell at the price listed.

MP = Matching Price before closing for the day. e.g. If yesterday I buy at 967 during MP, today I can sell at 986.50 during MP. 19.5 pts minus fees for ~RM400 profit per contract.
1. Not like that. On the end of the month, contract will be settled if your have open contract not close, by using the settlement price of the last trading half hours, aka they will take average price of the last hour to determine the settlement price.

If you continue to have interest on short side, you can short the May contract, aka roll over your April contract to May.
debbieyss
post Apr 24 2009, 12:32 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 23 2009, 11:46 PM)
1. Not like that. On the end of the month, contract will be settled if your have open contract not close, by using the settlement price of the last trading half hours, aka they will take average price of the last hour to determine the settlement price.

If you continue to have interest on short side, you can short the May contract, aka roll over your April contract to May.
Cherroy, so does it mean if i already sold 1 contract and I don't manage to buy it at a lower price on the last trading day, this contract can be rolled over to May and I won't gain any loss?

Also, I still don't understand what is MO.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Apr 24 2009, 01:18 AM
aurora97
post Apr 24 2009, 09:18 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 24 2009, 12:32 AM)
Cherroy, so does it mean if i already sold 1 contract and I don't manage to buy it at a lower price on the last trading day, this contract can be rolled over to May and I won't gain any loss?

Also, I still don't understand what is MO.
Rollover doesn't mean its free your just exchanging the same contract just different months to avoid a cash settlement, from what i see how its done... its very rare to see Retail clients to roll over their contracts unless they are high networth people (& know what they r doing).

For those ikan bilis they normally stay out at the end of the month, because the price flactuations tend to be extremely volatile because the big boys (Foreign Funds) are moving the market (i.e. rolling over their contract).

Oh by the way, if you roll over u still have to pay for price differences.

debbieyss
post Apr 24 2009, 09:36 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Apr 24 2009, 09:18 AM)
Rollover doesn't mean its free your just exchanging the same contract just different months to avoid a cash settlement, from what i see how its done... its very rare to see Retail clients to roll over their contracts unless they are high networth people (& know what they r doing).

For those ikan bilis they normally stay out at the end of the month, because the price flactuations tend to be extremely volatile because the big boys (Foreign Funds) are moving the market (i.e. rolling over their contract).

Oh by the way, if you roll over u still have to pay for price differences.
Thanks for letting me know.

Do you mind to explain further on MO?
aurora97
post Apr 24 2009, 10:00 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

Matching Order...

1. Say you long one contract

2. than 5 mins later you short the same contract you bought

3. this is known as a close out = matching order.

5. the difference will be your profit or loss (in equity terms contra loss/gain)

debbieyss
post Apr 24 2009, 10:36 AM

4,458 posts

aurora97, thanks a lot~!
cute_boboi
post Apr 27 2009, 11:33 AM

° å¿ Â°
6,462 posts

Last Fri when touch 1000 pts, scramble to short 1 contract. Now paper net profit already sweat.gif
debbieyss
post Apr 27 2009, 06:50 PM

4,458 posts

Actually I have bought the software from a financial institution for around RM5K. We students are to just follow the signals the software shows each day and from there earn money.

Anyway, there are too many uncertainties nowadays, it seems this software doesn't really work.

I'm thinking to quit after earned RM5K to cover the purchase of the software.
cherroy
post Apr 28 2009, 10:43 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 27 2009, 06:50 PM)
Actually I have bought the software from a financial institution for around RM5K. We students are to just follow the signals the software shows each day and from there earn money.

Anyway, there are too many uncertainties nowadays, it seems this software doesn't really work.

I'm thinking to quit after earned RM5K to cover the purchase of the software.
Software doesn't work a lot of the time especially in current environment.

Because software is designed based on pattern and TA input which if market behave accordingly, then it will be correct, aka software is rigid, not flexible when sending signal.

But you and me also know market always tend to behave unpredictably.

Lalaman
post Apr 28 2009, 12:52 PM

1,111 posts

yes i strongly agree with cherroy... like this morning i thought would rally high since us market not that bad hit by stupid swine flu.. but instead.... market start dropping. so the market is really unpredictable and has it's way of it's own.
heaven_gary
post May 3 2009, 12:30 PM

the market close at 994~
and i seem s to be break 1000 easily in monday~
but it just my own opinion~
hope can got reply from ur guy soon~
thx alot
debbieyss
post May 5 2009, 04:47 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(heaven_gary @ May 3 2009, 12:30 PM)
the market close at 994~
and i seem s to be break 1000 easily in monday~
but it just my own opinion~
hope can got reply from ur guy soon~
thx alot
1 "si fu" spotted laugh.gif
heaven_gary
post May 10 2009, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 5 2009, 05:47 PM)
1 "si fu" spotted  laugh.gif
well~
call me da pao xian~ rclxms.gif
just on my luck~
but i feel the market is too hot~
so i change my fund to hold some ticket~
i wonder how u guy opinion in KURASIA(5097)~
pls kindy give me some reply~ notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by heaven_gary: May 10 2009, 02:24 PM
debbieyss
post May 14 2009, 11:03 PM

4,458 posts

Today's so suck...

Regret didn't sell the contracts earlier...
debbieyss
post May 16 2009, 12:05 PM

4,458 posts

i got a bad feeling, Monday's stock will go down as there is an AH1N1 case in malaysia....
alfredfx
post May 16 2009, 12:58 PM

715 posts

burnt.
shit
debbieyss
post May 18 2009, 01:09 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(alfredfx @ May 16 2009, 12:58 PM)
burnt.
shit
hm....still have 2 more weeks to go..

hopefully could cover up the loss
aurora97
post May 18 2009, 02:07 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 18 2009, 01:09 PM)
hm....still have 2 more weeks to go..

hopefully could cover up the loss
lol dont hope too much...

or later really smell like bunt sh.it than u know ...

debbieyss
post May 18 2009, 11:41 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ May 18 2009, 02:07 PM)
lol dont hope too much...

or later really smell like bunt sh.it than u know ...
if like that then die lah......

Added on May 20, 2009, 4:50 pmit seems like a gambling.......

not again... i got burnt~!

This post has been edited by debbieyss: May 20 2009, 04:50 PM
alfredfx
post May 24 2009, 12:32 PM

715 posts

to whom who are interested in futures trading, i have shared my experience in my blog after burning few k.

i believe you will get invaluable experience from my blog

http://passion-for-trading.blogspot.com

Passion for Trading

what have i shared in my blog ?

- discipline
- day trading
- thinking process
debbieyss
post May 25 2009, 09:17 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(alfredfx @ May 24 2009, 12:32 PM)
to whom who are interested in futures trading, i have shared my experience in my blog after burning few k.

i believe you will get invaluable experience from my blog

http://passion-for-trading.blogspot.com

Passion for Trading

what have i shared in my blog ?

- discipline
- day trading
- thinking process
discipline is no doubt an important issue, but finding out the technique is more important than controlling yourselves at this point of time.
aurora97
post May 26 2009, 10:22 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

thats why i prefer to focus on investing in the stock market and slowly grow to other products like warrant, call warrant than to futures market ...

still taking those baby steps to understand more of the product...

currently doing research on margin facility tongue.gif ...

next will be CW.
ise
post Aug 26 2009, 10:16 AM

206 posts

Hi guys,
still trading FKLI? market today move in a tight range. could be accumulating for bigger trend smile.gif just speculating

Added on September 8, 2009, 12:14 pmI guess FKLi not popular then..

This post has been edited by ise: Sep 8 2009, 12:14 PM
tblee88
post Sep 21 2009, 02:12 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(ise @ Aug 26 2009, 10:16 AM)
Hi guys,
still trading FKLI? market today move in a tight range. could be accumulating for bigger trend smile.gif just speculating

Added on September 8, 2009, 12:14 pmI guess FKLi not popular then..
I agree with u . i already stop trading FKLI for nearly a year now the gold mine so small .i also stop CPO same problem . no big money liao. better go for overseas market . Malaysia tak boleh ,everthing tak boleh. last time one day can earn RM500 for one FKLI now RM100 CPO last time RM500 to RM700 now big move only RM500 every day move not more than RM200 .terrible.
Mikey268
post Sep 23 2009, 07:15 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(tblee88 @ Sep 21 2009, 02:12 AM)
I agree with u . i already stop trading FKLI for nearly a year  now the gold mine so small .i also stop CPO same problem . no big money liao. better go for overseas market . Malaysia tak boleh ,everthing tak boleh. last time one day can earn RM500 for one FKLI now RM100 CPO last time RM500 to RM700 now big move only RM500 every day move not more than RM200 .terrible.
If eveyday earn RM200.... one month can earn RM4k ... ok what.
tblee88
post Sep 24 2009, 12:55 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(Mikey268 @ Sep 23 2009, 07:15 PM)
u think like working , everyday earn money so easy . this is trading ok got risk malaysia market growing smaller & smaller everyday.
debbieyss
post Sep 24 2009, 08:56 AM

4,458 posts

I agree with u . i already stop trading FKLI for nearly a year  now the gold mine so small .i also stop CPO same problem . no big money liao. better go for overseas market . Malaysia tak boleh ,everthing tak boleh. last time one day can earn RM500 for one FKLI now RM100 CPO last time RM500 to RM700 now big move only RM500 every day move not more than RM200 .terrible.
The last time you went was when?
During recession period?

In fact if you go 2 contracts each time you trade, earn RM500 shouldn't be a problem, no?
moody5
post Sep 24 2009, 12:19 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 24 2009, 08:56 AM)
During recession period?

In fact if you go 2 contracts each time you trade, earn RM500 shouldn't be a problem, no?
it sounds easy to make RM500 per day with two lots but in fact it isn't

Rm500 / 2 = Rm250 per lots

Rm250 / Rm50 = 5 points

in ranging markets, not easy to make NET 5 points per day

must prepare for the losses.. where got 100% everyday winning? any system or method can achieve 100% winning?

after losing for more than 3 rounds, muka sudah pecat la..

rclxm9.gif

Added on September 24, 2009, 12:21 pm
2007 and 2008 were good years for FKLI and FCPO, no matter u trade position or scalp or whatever

but this year it aren't for scalpers or short term trading..most of the years will be the same with 2009

Added on September 24, 2009, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(Mikey268 @ Sep 23 2009, 07:15 PM)
there is no 100% winning for 20days method

pls let me know if u got! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by moody5: Sep 24 2009, 12:22 PM
tblee88
post Sep 24 2009, 07:32 PM

152 posts

During recession period?

2 lots for fkli not enough at least 5 - 10 lots but i don't like bcos at last broker who will be the winner . risk & rewards ratio no good. collecting small money is hard work.

Added on September 24, 2009, 8:01 pm
During recession period?

Do u know why malaysia small market bec`ome smaller no energy. this is bcos bursa set the limit for stock like RM1.00 stock can move 1 sen RM10 can move 5 sen . this way is to turn m market to become little .where got overseas pro come to play . no big player no game lor .
I don't know what the bn goverment thinking want the stock market to turn smaller . i think is bcos they have no experience to manage the market
u see now bursa have too sell its own share 25% to CME hope they can help to attract big boy from overseas to come in the malaysia derivatives market .
i feel sad as a malaysian

This post has been edited by tblee88: Sep 24 2009, 08:01 PM
debbieyss
post Sep 24 2009, 11:24 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(tblee88 @ Sep 24 2009, 07:32 PM)
2 lots for fkli not enough at least 5 - 10 lots but i don't like bcos at last broker who will be the winner . risk & rewards ratio no good. collecting small money is hard work.

Do u know why malaysia small market bec`ome smaller no energy. this is bcos bursa set the limit for stock like RM1.00 stock can move 1 sen RM10 can move 5 sen . this way is to turn m market to become little .where got overseas pro come to play . no big player no game lor .
I don't know what the bn goverment thinking want the stock market to turn smaller . i think is bcos they have no experience to manage the market
u see now bursa have too sell its own share 25% to CME hope they can help to attract big boy from overseas to come in the malaysia derivatives market .
Experienced the difference in August '09, the sudden downfall caused by Shang Hai.
When Shang Hai down 200 points, during lunch time, I was so worried how many points CI will fall.
When market reopened at 2.30pm, CI down only 20 points.
Don't know if this is good or bad...

Medufsaid
post Sep 24 2009, 11:34 PM

3,491 posts

HSI down 500 points today but FKLI only down 2.5 sweat.gif
SSE crash 3% last friday but we are green.

Very unpredictable.
moody5
post Sep 25 2009, 09:00 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 24 2009, 11:24 PM)
Experienced the difference in August '09, the sudden downfall caused by Shang Hai.
When Shang Hai down 200 points, during lunch time, I was so worried how many points CI will fall.
When market reopened at 2.30pm, CI down only 20 points.
Don't know if this is good or bad...
haha it show MALAYSIA BOLEH

Added on September 25, 2009, 9:01 am
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 24 2009, 11:34 PM)

Very unpredictable.
This kind of 'unpredictable' always happened

Anyhow the trading range of FKLI is getting smaller and smaller.. how to survive? haiz

trading in tight range for short term only feed the brokers while we suffer the emo

This post has been edited by moody5: Sep 25 2009, 09:01 AM
aurora97
post Sep 25 2009, 09:06 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(tblee88 @ Sep 24 2009, 07:32 PM)

the highlighted part is very true, since some broker (if u mean the futures broker and not the futures broker) tend to churn commission from clients trades.. exiting 4-5pts without receiving the full value.

My perception is...

Brokers who do churning (even to some extent traders - u n me) merely gain in the short term, we merely see the immediate profit.

Simple comparison, would be a get rich quick scheme. if u are one of the early investors, u'd probably see high returns 30-50%.

The unfortunate truth is, it only takes one event to wipe out all gains made, the only winners are the Futures Broker House and the Broker.

debbieyss
post Sep 25 2009, 09:35 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 25 2009, 09:06 AM)
the highlighted part is very true, since some broker (if u mean the futures broker and not the futures broker) tend to churn commission from clients trades.. exiting 4-5pts without receiving the full value.

My perception is...

Brokers who do churning (even to some extent traders - u n me) merely gain in the short term, we merely see the immediate profit.

Simple comparison, would be a get rich quick scheme. if u are one of the early investors, u'd probably see high returns 30-50%.

The unfortunate truth is, it only takes one event to wipe out all gains made, the only winners are the Futures Broker House and the Broker.
Sorry aurora, mind to explain what does the highlighted part mean?
aurora97
post Sep 25 2009, 09:41 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 25 2009, 09:35 AM)
Sorry aurora, mind to explain what does the highlighted part mean?
the highlighted portion actually trying to say "if one is not referring futures broker and not the futures broking house"

i had my coffee 5 mins ago just realised the mistake, thanks for pting out.

Futures Broker = same like remisier
Futures Broking House = CIMB Futures, OSK Futures etc...

debbieyss
post Sep 25 2009, 09:52 AM

4,458 posts

aurora, got it!

Now i understand

dannyooi_84
post Sep 25 2009, 11:20 AM

312 posts

debbieyss, you still trading futures?
debbieyss
post Sep 25 2009, 11:43 AM

4,458 posts

dannyooi_84, yes i'm still trading futures, still learning...
dannyooi_84
post Sep 25 2009, 01:59 PM

312 posts

I though you're going to quit already. lolz. more to learn from you and other sifus!!
moody5
post Sep 25 2009, 03:27 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 25 2009, 09:06 AM)

My perception is...

biggrin.gif taking premature profits and holding losing position without stop loss = suicide

there are winners in the market. It is a zero sum games. 10% of the players make their profits out of the 90% players.

the reality is cruel but very true..

Good FBR will only take orders from clients and they won't comment so much about your positions..
debbieyss
post Sep 25 2009, 03:29 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Sep 25 2009, 03:27 PM)
biggrin.gif  taking premature profits and holding losing position without stop loss = suicide

there are winners in the market. It is a zero sum games. 10% of the players make their profits out of the 90% players.

the reality is cruel but very true..

Good FBR will only take orders from clients and they won't comment so much about your positions..
i expect "FBR" that you mean = Futures Broker?

Seems like you've been through hardships in Futures trading.... laugh.gif
moody5
post Sep 25 2009, 04:31 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 25 2009, 03:29 PM)
i expect "FBR" that you mean = Futures Broker?

Seems like you've been through hardships in Futures trading....  laugh.gif
rclxm9.gif

hardships are good for futures

FBR = futures broker representatives
kaixiang
post Mar 1 2010, 12:09 AM

No Pain, No Gain
741 posts

hi all sifu,
I am new to FKLI. I had few question that i would like to ask.
1) Where can I get the FKLI chart? Can't find it on Bursamalaysia
2) Is the event like political, US Market, IPO, bluechip, affect the FKLI market. Would appreciate if you would share more.

Would really appreciate it for reply! =)
Medufsaid
post Mar 1 2010, 11:08 AM

3,491 posts

http://www.hlebroking.com.my/derivatives/

The value of FKLI is sentiments based. If market sentiments bullish its several points above the current value of FBM KLCI. If bearish then will be at a discount compared to KLCI. This makes it very unpredictable.

The only predictable thing is, all contracts will have a final value based on the last hour of the last trading day for that particular contract. So, if you have enough holding power and you are sure market will go up, you can buy(long) a contract that will expire on 31 march, you could actually choose to not look at FKLI and just look at our KLCI index instead. And if you think market will go down, you can choose to sell(short) a contract instead.

Bear in mind the words that are bolded tongue.gif . If you overleverage you'll find yourself broke, or cutting loss at the worst possible price.

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Mar 1 2010, 11:13 AM
happy_ending
post Mar 22 2010, 02:39 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kaixiang @ Mar 1 2010, 12:09 AM)
hi all sifu,
I am new to FKLI. I had few question that i would like to ask.
1) Where can I get the FKLI chart? Can't find it on Bursamalaysia
2) Is the event like political, US Market, IPO, bluechip, affect the FKLI market. Would appreciate if you would share more.

Would really appreciate it for reply! =)
1)FKLI chart u can get from newspaper or u go to any stock broker website to apply for free edition (limited function), such as osk188.com

2) FKLI is market sentiment as mentioned by Medufsaid but it is for to go for FKLI when u think is going up but u are not sure that which stock is going up.
Example, Dow Jones Industry Average dropped 200 points, u will expect KLCI and FKLI to drop but u dun noe which stock is gonna drop.

Added on March 22, 2010, 2:44 pm
QUOTE(tblee88 @ Sep 24 2009, 12:55 AM)
u think like working , everyday earn money so easy . this is trading ok got risk malaysia market growing smaller & smaller everyday.
eventually, the FCPO is growing..

Added on March 22, 2010, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 24 2009, 11:34 PM)

Very unpredictable.
malaysia gonna be independent stock market instead of follower.. haha..

is it possible?

This post has been edited by happy_ending: Mar 22 2010, 02:47 PM
epalbee3
post Apr 18 2010, 10:34 AM

1,345 posts

Hey guys, I need information from you to trade KLCI.. I am in the process of applying AmFutures.

Please let me know the followings:

1) How much is the brokerage fee? Can we trade online?
2) Do they charge monthly fee?
3) Where to get the chart?

Added on April 18, 2010, 10:42 amAccording to this website, Amfutures is free of monthly charges:

http://74.125.153.132/search?q=cache:y5rCU...n&ct=clnk&gl=my

Added on April 18, 2010, 11:25 amOne more question, let's say you are given RM36 per round trip.

If you trade 2 contracts, will you have to pay double = Rm72 brokerage fee?

Added on April 18, 2010, 1:12 pmAfter reading for a day.. still cannot find out how to play futures..

Is it mostly based on guessing?

I saw many traders are just guessing..

The only way that is important is to set the stop loss point always..

And of course must have very strong heart.

ANY sifus there is available to give advice? (especially those who becomes rich after trading futures.. ) smile.gif

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Apr 18 2010, 01:12 PM
chubbyken
post Apr 23 2010, 03:18 PM

213 posts

Hi I am also new to this.

I read this thread and saw someone commented that even the stoploss that we put sometimes will not be triggered due to very volatile of market?

Is it true? this is scary...
yhzell
post Apr 29 2010, 12:56 PM

88 posts

Hi Chubbyken,
I think I have reply to your inquiry on this Post.

To epalbee3,
If you are quoted for RM36 round trip, it will mean that your cost per side is RM18. So if you trade 2 contracts it will be RM36 only not RM72. Money management is key for you to stay long enough to see the real picture in Futures market. You can visit Malaysia Futures to learn more. If you have any inquiry about your futures trading you can write to me at oomanhoong@gmail.com
Cheers.

This post has been edited by yhzell: Apr 29 2010, 01:03 PM
yhzell
post May 28 2010, 09:51 AM

88 posts

Hi Guys,

I aware that we can Short sell Futures market when the market is bearish without any uptick rules. There was a huge sell off for this month alone and it was known as the very beginning of down trend. Anyone been riding the recent sell off on our index Futures ?

*Now market is recovering, go Long again because it is likely to fill the 2nd gap ? So confusing rclxub.gif !
epalbee3
post May 28 2010, 10:19 AM

1,345 posts

yes and no.. it depends.. no one know the futures, so it can be up and down.

volumn and price can be controlled by momo, when it seems to go up, it might end up the other direction..

after all, it depends on your judgement..
yhzell
post May 28 2010, 01:44 PM

88 posts

I see, thank you for reply.
othello83
post May 28 2010, 01:45 PM

can anyone kindly enuf to provide me the list of FTSE Bursa Malaysia 100 Index constituent?
yhzell
post May 28 2010, 05:06 PM

88 posts

othello83,
PM me your email address, I can send it to you.
Polaris
post Jun 8 2010, 10:35 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

This macd divergence looks menacing to me hmm.gif
faceless
post Jun 8 2010, 12:56 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Lets see how is the support at 1220 level where you bigger moving average is at. It bounce when it reaches there the last time. If it falls through this time, you scarry divergence will happen.
yhzell
post Jun 8 2010, 08:34 PM

88 posts

If you look deeper on weekly chart, it appear to be a head and shoulder formation end of this month ?
danmooncake
post Jun 10 2010, 01:54 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(yhzell @ Jun 8 2010, 08:34 PM)
If you look deeper on weekly chart, it appear to be a head and shoulder formation end of this month ?
That's right. This is prime for shorting.
faceless
post Jun 10 2010, 12:17 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(yhzell @ Jun 8 2010, 08:34 PM)
Attempting to see your recent chart as a weekly chart, I can see a H&S. What I cant see is, "is the neckline broken?"
veryjialat
post Jun 10 2010, 01:24 PM

yes, i agree, good time to short, upside limited
yhzell
post Jun 11 2010, 03:16 PM

88 posts

Neckline is yet break, each has it own taste when it come to risk & reward and also money management. Its easy to say Short now, upside limited, if market go against you 20 points, you already shiver. Think when you have about 20 lots Shorting in the market @ 1,289. Just my 2 cents.
faceless
post Jun 11 2010, 04:51 PM

4,515 posts

That being the case, it can go either way. Yeah 20 point against you may squeeze you out.
veryjialat
post Jun 11 2010, 05:11 PM

why would you go in 20 lots at one go? never heard of averaging your entry?
yhzell
post Jun 13 2010, 09:46 PM

88 posts

Its just a hypothetical case. Talk is easy, doing is the other part of story. You can read and heard all you can, when it come to you who execute the trades live in the market, you will know what am I talking about.
faceless
post Jun 14 2010, 10:15 AM

4,515 posts

yhzell,

Did you know it is easy to tell the traders and the theorists. I had meet many good fund managers in the equity markets. They think they can go into index futures as they is no conflict of interest with equity. Many of them are a nervous werck and failed when they traded on their own money. When they call the shots base on guidelines set by their companies, they seem to have a nerve of steel.
Medufsaid
post Jun 18 2010, 12:01 PM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jun 11 2010, 04:51 PM)
That being the case, it can go either way. Yeah 20 point against you may squeeze you out.

Its all about money management. If you allocate big money and play a small amount of lot(s) you can still sleep peacefully.

faceless
post Jun 21 2010, 09:37 AM

4,515 posts

A losing position is a losing position. With a huge margin to back it up, you may sleep peacefully but not me.
jyx
post Dec 19 2010, 04:58 AM

45 posts

Anyone knows whats the price for 1 futures contract now? RM3k or RM5k?
teehk_tee
post Dec 19 2010, 09:32 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(jyx @ Dec 19 2010, 04:58 AM)
Anyone knows whats the price for 1 futures contract now? RM3k or RM5k?
FKLI?
margin is 2.5k
jyx
post Dec 19 2010, 08:43 PM

45 posts

RM2.5k for month spot or intra day a? initial margin less than 70% will kena margin call?
teehk_tee
post Dec 19 2010, 09:46 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(jyx @ Dec 19 2010, 08:43 PM)
RM2.5k for month spot or intra day a? initial margin less than 70% will kena margin call?
2.5k for every day you're in the position.
you can hold for however long u like, even spot+3 months, but the moment your margin dips below 2.5k will kena margin call. i'm not sure about the 70% thing, never heard of it before. my broker tells me i've got the next day to top up my margin..

correct me if i'm wrong. smile.gif
GregPG01
post Dec 19 2010, 09:52 PM

4,966 posts

anyone has constantly make money from futures here ?
jyx
post Dec 19 2010, 11:29 PM

45 posts

u mean 2.5k to hold the contract until the end of the month/last trade date in that month. and we will have to toptup to maintain the margin at RM2.5k
lskee0908
post Dec 26 2010, 10:21 PM

57 posts

What is the requirement to open future account?
I am just a student without pay slip? Can i open?
teehk_tee
post Dec 27 2010, 08:05 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Dec 19 2010, 09:52 PM)
anyone has constantly make money from futures here ?
im just on a slight gain after paying hefty tuition fees, now taking break from the pants wetting tongue.gif

QUOTE(jyx @ Dec 19 2010, 11:29 PM)
u mean 2.5k to hold the contract until the end of the month/last trade date in that month.  and we will have to toptup to maintain the margin at RM2.5k
yeah, exactly. sorry if my explanation was badly worded. sad.gif

QUOTE(lskee0908 @ Dec 26 2010, 10:21 PM)
imo, best to call up (brokers will chase u for business) and see what they can do about the collateral thing. for me I didn't have a salary slip, and just provided proof of my share trading account as financial backing/ collateral. i'm sure a healthy bank balance will do as well.
JOK1234
post Jan 6 2011, 03:51 PM

Hi all
I am a Futures Broker's Rep with CIMB.
If any of you interested in opening online futures account, do pm me. We provide attractive brokerage and online trading.
goolie
post Jan 17 2011, 11:44 AM

795 posts

anyone have tactics or formula how to play futures?
faceless
post Jan 21 2011, 10:37 AM

4,515 posts

Tactic and formula there are plenty but in the long run none of them works.
mwchong
post Jan 24 2011, 03:43 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Jan 17 2011, 11:44 AM)
anyone have tactics or formula how to play futures?
Different people different way to trade. It up to ur own personality. Some goes for longer term some goes for intraday. first thing u got to know is what suit u best. There are many answer to ur question.

Added on January 24, 2011, 3:49 pm
Yes u can open account.

This post has been edited by mwchong: Jan 24 2011, 03:49 PM
noswear
post Jan 24 2011, 06:23 PM

1,050 posts

other than the live quotes provided by the broker which we have an account.

where else can i look for live quotes for free?? any website??
faceless
post Jan 25 2011, 09:48 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(mwchong @ Jan 24 2011, 03:43 PM)
Yes u can open account.
I think there is an age requirement.
MikeWong
post May 6 2011, 06:16 PM

Hi All,

I have been in the FKLI market for a year. Usually, I will use the EOD data to decide the next step, however, from last few months result, EOD data is not sufficient, I have to go for intraday data. My biggest problem is no company is selling historical intrday data except Bursa and they price is extremely expensive.

Can any SIFU / MASTER shed some light on me ? Thank You !

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
pingster.x
post May 9 2011, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(MikeWong @ May 6 2011, 06:16 PM)
Hi All,

I have been in the FKLI market for a year. Usually, I will use the EOD data to decide the next step, however, from last few months result, EOD data is not sufficient, I have to go for intraday data. My biggest problem is no company is selling historical intrday data except Bursa and they price is extremely expensive.

Can any SIFU / MASTER shed some light on me ? Thank You !

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Mike,

You can try opening an account with AMFutures; it's free and no monthly commitment.

noswear
post May 9 2011, 10:44 AM

1,050 posts

future...

lol...

pay heavy tuition fees and having sleepless nite...

cause u be wondering wat happen in UK and US market...which will have an impact in tomorrow opening price.....

u really need constant monitoring as compare to buyin a stock...

staying at the sideline for sumtimes...

and waiting to re-enter the FKLI,....since now i can view real time thru my phone...easier...to monitor price fluctuation
CardToPlay
post May 9 2011, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(pingster.x @ May 9 2011, 12:05 AM)
Mike,

You can try opening an account with AMFutures; it's free and no monthly commitment.
Hi, does the intraday data recorded include years of data rather than just a few months ago?

This post has been edited by CardToPlay: May 9 2011, 03:20 PM
pingster.x
post May 9 2011, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(CardToPlay @ May 9 2011, 03:18 PM)
Hi, does the intraday data recorded include years of data rather than just a few months ago?
Sorry I'm not sure how far back does it go. Loading is a bit slow.
CutieAppLe
post May 13 2011, 04:28 PM

who have idea on fkli may coming up?

Icehart
post May 13 2011, 11:09 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(CutieAppLe @ May 13 2011, 04:28 PM)
who have idea on fkli may coming up?
I believe if KLCI is moving towards 155x level, it may have high chance to challenge the high 157x. hmm.gif
debbieyss
post May 13 2011, 11:16 PM

4,458 posts

If the buy sell volume is higher than the index, then it is ok to LONG.

By the way, it's been a long time I don't trade Futures liao...
Icehart
post May 13 2011, 11:23 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 13 2011, 11:16 PM)

Today having premium over the underlying CI already. hmm.gif
Lover
post May 14 2011, 02:00 PM

-H@TE FFKer-
1,852 posts

future quite like gamble for me... jz like plying big small.. haha
pingster.x
post May 14 2011, 02:53 PM

What's all your brokerage like for FKLI and FCPO? And also is anyone here using Interactive Futures Brokers here?

Added on May 14, 2011, 2:56 pm
QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 13 2011, 11:16 PM)

What is buy sell volume higher than index? Does not make sense. It's 2 separate thing all together.

This post has been edited by pingster.x: May 14 2011, 02:56 PM
Icehart
post May 14 2011, 08:37 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(pingster.x @ May 14 2011, 02:53 PM)
What's all your brokerage like for FKLI and FCPO? And also is anyone here using Interactive Futures Brokers here?

Added on May 14, 2011, 2:56 pm
What is buy sell volume higher than index? Does not make sense. It's 2 separate thing all together.
RM 25 day trade, RM 30 for normal. RM 130 for monthly software charges.
CutieAppLe
post May 15 2011, 01:15 AM

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 14 2011, 08:37 PM)
o.O yours is cheaper, which investment bank u taking? can intro?

seems like monday got chance to hit 155x.. i m finding chance to enter~

This post has been edited by CutieAppLe: May 15 2011, 01:16 AM
Icehart
post May 15 2011, 11:33 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(CutieAppLe @ May 15 2011, 01:15 AM)
o.O yours is cheaper, which investment bank u taking? can intro?

seems like monday got chance to hit 155x.. i m finding chance to enter~
Hong Leong Futures. smile.gif
pingster.x
post May 15 2011, 01:20 PM

Icehart,

Thanks for info. Interactive Futures charges are RM 20 round trip and if you do 20 lots (10 rounds) per month, the RM 100 is waive. If you need charting tools, can subscribe Nextview through them, additional RM 50. Will switch after this month.
teehk_tee
post May 15 2011, 06:57 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

eh since when hong leong got software charges? for nextview charting is it?
Icehart
post May 15 2011, 09:42 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ May 15 2011, 06:57 PM)
eh since when hong leong got software charges? for nextview charting is it?
If volume of transaction below 30 lots, they charge me RM 130. If more than that, then RM 130 is waived. hmm.gif
CutieAppLe
post May 16 2011, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 15 2011, 11:33 AM)
Hong Leong Futures.  smile.gif
Any condition needed? as i m low volumn trader.
debbieyss
post May 16 2011, 08:28 PM

4,458 posts

Hong Leong Futures' brokers not so pro. But if you really want Hong Leong Futures, I recommend you to appoint Simon Chin to be your broker.

Good luck.
teehk_tee
post May 16 2011, 11:01 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 16 2011, 08:28 PM)
Hong Leong Futures' brokers not so pro. But if you really want Hong Leong Futures, I recommend you to appoint Simon Chin to be your broker.

Good luck.
i appoint u as broker then. ? biggrin.gif

simon is the fcpo guy isnt he.

This post has been edited by teehk_tee: May 16 2011, 11:02 PM
debbieyss
post May 17 2011, 02:50 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ May 16 2011, 11:01 PM)
i appoint u as broker then. ? biggrin.gif

simon is the fcpo guy isnt he.
If you appoint me as your broker i will send you to Holland for free laugh.gif

Simon was the broker who handled my Futures trading last time, sometimes Lucy handled. But now Simon handled FCPO already...

p.s: How's your trade now? Earn a lot? brows.gif
SKY 1809
post May 17 2011, 02:59 PM

23,851 posts

Seems like very easy to make money from futures.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: May 17 2011, 03:36 PM
debbieyss
post May 19 2011, 12:01 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ May 17 2011, 02:59 PM)
Seems like very easy to make money from futures.
Eh.. you don't berpura-pura say futures is easy to make money lah, I know you are not into futures one... brows.gif
Futures' money easy come easy go lar.
Nowadays I can't trade futures, company blocks the website, can't jaga the index movement... sad.gif

This post has been edited by debbieyss: May 19 2011, 08:47 AM
weiho2902
post Jun 27 2011, 04:09 PM

19 posts

Great news folks , as my company have newly launched the Champion Trader Competition for those who are trade in FKLI & FCPO currently.
And attractive prizes to be win as following :-

1st Prize: “Champion Trader†Trophy + Cash Price of 100% of the profits made from trading during the competition period.

2nd Prize: “King Trader†Trophy + Cash Price of 100% of the profits made from trading during the competition period.

3rd Prize: “Top Trader†Trophy + Cash Price of 100% of the profits made from trading during the competition period.

Beside that, our company brokeage rate is almost cheap in the town

If your guys are interested please feel free to PM . Or you guys may find out more information regard compettion on the link as below
http://www.ifsbfutures.com/ctc.html

Thanks You.

Added on June 29, 2011, 8:28 amStock News Asia ,

Asian stocks will likely rise on Wednesday , as global market become increasingly confident the Greek parliament will pass harsh austerity measures and save euro zone member form debt default .

This post has been edited by weiho2902: Jun 29 2011, 08:28 AM
json0324
post Sep 17 2011, 10:58 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(pchan84 @ Jun 25 2011, 05:43 PM)
Anyone interested in online futures trading? Pm me for the rate!
HI All,

a noob question here. just to check, if let's say we buy short FKLI for a contract ( eg spot-month).
Does it mean we can not sell it off before the end of month just like shares ?
In other words, we have to wait till month-end to know whether we make or lose?
is there any forum/blog for us to learn more about it ?

TQ
Disciple
post Sep 18 2011, 08:34 AM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

QUOTE(json0324 @ Sep 17 2011, 10:58 PM)
HI All,

a noob question here. just to check,  if let's say we buy short FKLI for a contract ( eg spot-month).
Does it mean we can not sell it off before the end of month just like shares ?
In other words, we have to wait till month-end to know whether we make or lose?
is there any forum/blog for us to learn more about it  ?

TQ
of course you can sell it before the expiry... if you make a gain, you can sell it straight, even intra day, to realise profit.

or touch wood, incur some losses, and you would want to cut loss, you can also sell it to cut loss.

you can even roll it up to the next month, as in sell spot month, buy next month in this case, if you want to hold it to the next month.
wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 08:58 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Bros, Sis & Sifus,
any good books to recommend for KLCI Index Futures trading, for a greenhorn in KLCI Index Futures but experience "longing" stocks?

FYI - the reason i'm getting into KLCI Index Futures is for "shorting" but somehow, i still cant get the gist and calculations
eg.
4 types of contracts we can long or short
a. Current month aka Spot (right?)
b. Next Month
c. 3 months
d. 6 months

IF say KLCi is now 100 and i expect it to go down to 80 in 3 months
I'd SELL 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 90 ie. above 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR

I'd BUY 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 70 ie. below 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR totally something else?
My apologies for my blurness - just getting started and no books to refer to. Thanks in advance to all sifus and kind souls in leading me out of the fog notworthy.gif
BTW, i've signed signed up for Hong Leong's KLCI Futures platform - looks a bit alien to me but i heard that it can to trailing stop losses and stuff which normal stocks platform dont have (in MY lar).

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 18 2011, 08:58 AM
json0324
post Sep 18 2011, 10:06 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 18 2011, 08:58 AM)
Bros, Sis & Sifus,
any good books to recommend for KLCI Index Futures trading, for a greenhorn in KLCI Index Futures but experience "longing" stocks?

FYI - the reason i'm getting into KLCI Index Futures is for "shorting" but somehow, i still cant get the gist and calculations
eg.
4 types of contracts we can long or short
a. Current month aka Spot (right?)
b. Next Month
c. 3 months
d. 6 months

IF say KLCi is now 100 and i expect it to go down to 80 in 3 months
I'd SELL 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 90 ie. above 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR

I'd BUY 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 70 ie. below 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR totally something else?
My apologies for my blurness - just getting started and no books to refer to. Thanks in advance to all sifus and kind souls in leading me out of the fog notworthy.gif
BTW, i've signed signed up for Hong Leong's KLCI Futures platform - looks a bit alien to me but i heard that it can to trailing stop losses and stuff which normal stocks platform dont have (in MY lar).
Hong Leong Futures? i was thinking to sign up as well since im using hle-broking.
BUt they still don't have online buy-sell features for futures right ? still need to call up the broker right?
Btw, whta's the initial margin desposit required per contact now ?

wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 10:09 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(json0324 @ Sep 18 2011, 10:06 AM)
Hong Leong Futures? i was thinking to sign up as well since im using hle-broking.
BUt they still don't have online buy-sell features for futures right ? still need to call up the broker right?
Btw, whta's the initial margin desposit required per contact now ?
Hey bro Json0324.
Hheheh - i thought as U did too since i was officially signed up with them when they started several years ago. However they now have an online platform (phew) thus, that's the thing i just signed up for. My apologies for my earlier miscommunication on "sign-up".

Per contract-wise, it's $6K if i remember (3 weeks back made a call to them) BUT me being a worry-wart, i asked them TECHNICALLY, how much should i apportion per contract to be on the safe side and i heard about $10K. Mind U, i'm getting on in my years (and ears tongue.gif), U better counter-check just in case.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 18 2011, 10:10 AM
weiho2902
post Sep 23 2011, 11:44 AM

19 posts

Hi Guys,

There will be a seminar on tomorrow 24/09/2011. Detail as below:
Feel Free to attend . Thanks

Date : 24 Sept 2011
Venue : Seminar Room 1

Tentatively, the program flow will be as below :

12.30pm - 1.00pm : Registration
1.00pm - 1.10pm : Opening speech by Bursa
1.10pm - 1.20pm : Introduction to Futures - FKLI/FCPO
1.20pm - 1.40pm : Introduction to Options by Bursa
1.40pm - 2.00pm : Golden Rules in Futures Trading
2.00pm - 2.30pm : Technical Indicator
2.30pm - 3.30pm : Invited speaker - Master Choong from WealthNexus

Above seminar shall me commented in Mandarin. Kindly take notes.
ngaisteve1
post Oct 12 2011, 02:07 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Hi all, cheapest brokerage fee for online futures trading is from hong leong futures?

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Oct 12 2011, 02:08 PM
post Oct 24 2011, 07:57 AM

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 12 2011, 03:51 PM)
i have sent you an email. thanks.
Hi may I know what's your company name? do you have company in Penang? my email address gwisdom1378@gmail.com

Added on October 24, 2011, 8:03 amHi, Yesterday I watched news regarding on EURO crisis plan.
Do you think today waht is the support & resistance index will be reached.
It is good for study & brianstorming biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by 1378: Oct 24 2011, 08:03 AM
oksrich
post Jun 4 2012, 10:43 PM

FKLI, look big earning on it. Need some advise from all forum friend,thanks.
john123x
post Jun 4 2012, 11:06 PM

3,019 posts

not worth it....

because bursa will manipulate the index....

like sell down a lot, but u cant buy at that price.

last minute end of the day 100 unit sell down...

slampdung
post Jun 4 2012, 11:59 PM

84 posts

can you tell me more?
candlestar
post Jun 6 2012, 05:45 PM

42 posts

actually you can just combine Fundamental and Technical analysis to predict the price movement
kueyteowlou
post Jun 6 2012, 06:06 PM

4,093 posts

FKLI need TA...

do you know about TA?
anep
post May 2 2014, 10:10 AM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

QUOTE(yhzell @ May 28 2010, 09:51 AM)
Hi Guys,

I aware that we can Short sell Futures market when the market is bearish without any uptick rules. There was a huge sell off for this month alone and it was known as the very beginning of down trend. Anyone been riding the recent sell off on our index Futures ?

*Now market is recovering, go Long again because it is likely to fill the 2nd gap ? So confusing  rclxub.gif  !
sorry for posting in the archive thread. was looking for futures historical data. yhzell is this from Bloomberg?
yenboy
post May 8 2014, 11:53 PM

1,155 posts

QUOTE(anep @ May 2 2014, 10:10 AM)
sorry for posting in the archive thread. was looking for futures historical data. yhzell is this from Bloomberg?
ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
ohemmgee
post Aug 1 2014, 12:15 PM

144 posts

Can anybody help me clear my doubts here ?
If I buy RM2,000 contract for FKLI and then if the price drops to RM1,900. Do I need to cover back the RM100 ?

What is the minimum deposit required to trade futures ?
sayuriko
post Aug 1 2014, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ Aug 1 2014, 12:15 PM)
Can anybody help me clear my doubts here ?
If I buy RM2,000 contract for FKLI and then if the price drops to RM1,900. Do I need to cover back the RM100 ?

What is the minimum deposit required to trade futures ?

RM2000 contract for FKLI mean total contract value of RM2000 or 40 contracts?

If you have enough margin in your account, you don't need to pay extra.

The minimum required to trade futures depends on which product you trade, if FKLI mean RM4000, if not mistaken.

ohemmgee
post Aug 1 2014, 06:07 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(sayuriko @ Aug 1 2014, 01:23 PM)

RM2000 contract for FKLI mean total contract value of RM2000 or 40 contracts?

If you have enough margin in your account, you don't need to pay extra.

The minimum required to trade futures depends on which product you trade, if FKLI mean RM4000, if not mistaken.

Total contract value of RM2000.
If my account has exactly RM2000 and it drops to RM1900.
What if don't pay to cover the losses ? What's going to happen ?

Where can I learn from A-Z about futures trading in Malaysia ? Any books and so on ?

This post has been edited by ohemmgee: Aug 1 2014, 06:08 PM
sayuriko
post Aug 3 2014, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ Aug 1 2014, 06:07 PM)
Total contract value of RM2000.
If my account has exactly RM2000 and it drops to RM1900.
What if don't pay to cover the losses ? What's going to happen ?

Where can I learn from A-Z about futures trading in Malaysia ? Any books and so on ?

You have to maintain a minimum amount of margin (RM4000) in your account, so you won't get margin call, unless it drop below the minimum. If let say you have an amount of RM6000 in your account, it can have a maximum loss of RM2000.

Let put it in this way (example),

Let say now FKLI is 1880, and after awhile in drop 10 points to 1870.

You have Long the position at 1880 but it moves against you now.

Calculation: 10 points x RM50 x 5 contract (let say you bought 5 contracts)
=RM2500 (loss)

So which mean that you need to top up another RM500. *you will receive a margin call*
[RM6000 - RM2500 = RM3500 (which is not enough of margin in your account, thus you need to top up another RM500)]

smile.gif Cheers
Bonescythe
post Aug 3 2014, 04:37 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Now after hari raya, 1 contract is rm4000.

so you might want to put more than rm4000 to avoid margin call/force sell
ohemmgee
post Aug 3 2014, 05:49 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(sayuriko @ Aug 3 2014, 03:27 PM)

You have to maintain a minimum amount of margin (RM4000) in your account, so you won't get margin call, unless it drop below the minimum. If let say you have an amount of RM6000 in your account, it can have a maximum loss of RM2000.

Let put it in this way (example),

Let say now FKLI is 1880, and after awhile in drop 10 points to 1870.

You have Long the position at 1880 but it moves against you now.

Calculation:  10 points x RM50 x 5 contract (let say you bought 5 contracts)
                  =RM2500 (loss)

So which mean that you need to top up another RM500. *you will receive a margin call*
[RM6000 - RM2500 = RM3500 (which is not enough of margin in your account, thus you need to top up another RM500)]

smile.gif Cheers
Quite a good explanation. Thanks.
If I receive a margin call and I don't top up, will the bank force sell my contract ? Or what will happen ?
sayuriko
post Aug 3 2014, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ Aug 3 2014, 05:49 PM)
If I receive a margin call and I don't top up, will the bank force sell my contract ? Or what will happen ?
Of course if you didn't top up, they will force sell. smile.gif
1 contract is RM4000 though.

JamesPond
post Oct 6 2014, 02:17 AM

4,526 posts

Where can I get FKLI interactive chart for free?
KoChun
post Oct 8 2014, 12:13 AM

688 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 3 2014, 04:37 PM)
Now after hari raya, 1 contract is rm4000.

so you might want to put more than rm4000 to avoid margin call/force sell
QUOTE(ohemmgee @ Aug 3 2014, 05:49 PM)
QUOTE(sayuriko @ Aug 3 2014, 06:58 PM)
Of course if you didn't top up, they will force sell. smile.gif
1 contract is RM4000 though.
I am shopping for a futures broker in Klang Valley for online trading.

I asked around and only found out CIMB charge brokerage RM20+ per round
(+ is the exchange % which I believe is standard to all retail. )
But the dealer / manager was not competent to explain stuff accurately.

Can you share what kind of brokerage and service you experience?
For Malaysia (and US if any know)

Feel free to make recommendation. I am leaning towards Maybank-IB.

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by KoChun: Oct 8 2014, 12:14 AM

0.0919sec    3.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:34 PM