wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 08:58 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Bros, Sis & Sifus,
any good books to recommend for KLCI Index Futures trading, for a greenhorn in KLCI Index Futures but experience "longing" stocks?

FYI - the reason i'm getting into KLCI Index Futures is for "shorting" but somehow, i still cant get the gist and calculations
eg.
4 types of contracts we can long or short
a. Current month aka Spot (right?)
b. Next Month
c. 3 months
d. 6 months

IF say KLCi is now 100 and i expect it to go down to 80 in 3 months
I'd SELL 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 90 ie. above 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR

I'd BUY 1 or more
3 MONTHS contracts
for say 70 ie. below 80 and my target profit of 10 per contract?

OR totally something else?
My apologies for my blurness - just getting started and no books to refer to. Thanks in advance to all sifus and kind souls in leading me out of the fog notworthy.gif
BTW, i've signed signed up for Hong Leong's KLCI Futures platform - looks a bit alien to me but i heard that it can to trailing stop losses and stuff which normal stocks platform dont have (in MY lar).

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 18 2011, 08:58 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 10:09 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(json0324 @ Sep 18 2011, 10:06 AM)
Hong Leong Futures? i was thinking to sign up as well since im using hle-broking.
BUt they still don't have online buy-sell features for futures right ? still need to call up the broker right?
Btw, whta's the initial margin desposit required per contact now ?
Hey bro Json0324.
Hheheh - i thought as U did too since i was officially signed up with them when they started several years ago. However they now have an online platform (phew) thus, that's the thing i just signed up for. My apologies for my earlier miscommunication on "sign-up".

Per contract-wise, it's $6K if i remember (3 weeks back made a call to them) BUT me being a worry-wart, i asked them TECHNICALLY, how much should i apportion per contract to be on the safe side and i heard about $10K. Mind U, i'm getting on in my years (and ears tongue.gif), U better counter-check just in case.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 18 2011, 10:10 AM

0.0191sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:15 PM