/K Official Paranormal Activity Thread, The Energy That Left Behind

SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 21 2020, 06:31 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Apr 21 2020, 05:59 PM)
Really old spirits can take 1 of 2 path, become an enlightened being (hence becoming a guardian of a place) or become an evil being. And it takes them a long time to reach the state. if anyone has been to the Inari Shrine in Kyoto, if you walk up the path of the Tori gates, further until you reach behind the hill, where there is a grave yard, for people that has the 3rd eye, can go see there. the Giant Fox guardian of that place. The Chinese call these Guardian "山神" or "Mountain Gods". I'm been a chubby guy all my life, so I went there with my sister, my sister is on the track and field team, so you know, she likes mountani-trekking, me being on the fat-chubby side, hated any activity that has "walking up an incline" in it. My sis just happily jogging up the path while I already kaki sakit, waist sakit, and not enough breath. Then she ran down again ask me to faster come, (my sis can smell spirits when they are around but can't see them) she said got a very sweet calming smell coming from a graveyard, so I just go and take a look, lo and behold, a giant fox guardian.
I've been there before, didn't know about it. Damn. Nice one!

Now I wonder whether here in Hong Kong, all those mountain trails I go up to have some guardian entity around or not....

I used to run around some trails at night with a group, was originally planning to do some solo runs at night before the virus hit. Hopefully, Hong Kong forest don't have bunian folks who do not like human intrusion or something like that.....
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 21 2020, 06:43 PM

70 posts

I was doing a bit more reading on tree spirits. Its a fairly widely spread belief around the world:

Wikipedia: Tree deities

Now I know where GRRM got his Tree spirit inspiration for GoT from.....
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 21 2020, 07:31 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Apr 21 2020, 06:55 PM)
Next time when the Covid 19 hu hah is over, I go Hong Kong find you Yam Cha, normally I like to go have my fave congee at Mui Kee, on top of Fa Yuen Street Market in Mong Kok.
Come come!
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 22 2020, 10:26 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Apr 22 2020, 08:45 AM)
Normies can't smell spirits, my sister was born with the ability. I think normally people will not venture that far up the path of the Inari Shrine, as the place where we met the Fox Guardian there was only the 2 of us.
Muggles like us miss out all the good (and bad) of the spirit world.

Which is good because I have a feeling A LOT of us would abuse or find despicable ways to utilize the benefits that world can offer if a big proportion of us have our eyes opened to it. Human greed and fear can have to bounds anyway.....
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 22 2020, 11:02 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Apr 22 2020, 10:32 AM)
Every morning there is a BCP (Business Continuity Plan) meeting among the Senior Leadership of the Co...Malaysia started the MCO on the 18th March and Singapore started the CB on 7th April..first week was getting the Miti approval for all our plants to run then after that was helping all our supplier to get approval for meeting...even busier than normal work day...but now mostly all settle, the morning meeting that use to take 1 hrs to report update now only take 15 mins. That is why now got more time to write here.

Today I want to write about why certain "beings" exist in certain race's folklore but not other races. I would appreciate any feedback here. The "being" I want to talk about is the "Banana Spirit". I've seen 2-3 Banana spirits before, and it's also one of the spirits that we kinda handle by "extreme measures". So I would just like to put a disclaimer first...ladies and gentlemen, please do not try this at home. Banana Spirits are generated when the female flowers of a Banana tree accidentally come into contact with male human blood. This can happen during harvesting of banana and such lar. But one of the things I don't understand, one of the other races that uses the Banana tree plant a lot are Indians. I've never heard of any Indian friends talking about Banana spirits. By logic and statistic, they should have higher possibility just due to the fact that the frequency of interacting with a Banana tree is higher.
Looking forward to your stories!

Found this on wikipedia as well...

Nang Tani - Thai Banana Spirit
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 22 2020, 05:05 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Apr 22 2020, 04:33 PM)
not all are bad, but quite fierce if you disturb them. They can cast terrifying images to chase you away.

Chaotic neutral - AD&D right?
Yup, AD&D classification.

Nachtsider used to say that Chinese Hell deities are Lawful Good while some Thai deities can be Chaotic neutral. I presume some Tree Demons are Neutral Evil and Wendigo and demons are Chaotic Evil.
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 22 2020, 05:07 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Apr 22 2020, 01:17 PM)
A few people who I know that have this ability prefer not talking about it, or having it at all due to obvious reasons.
I can imagine.

Nevermind the labels other humans will call them.... having to see gore sights all day long is not something I would enjoy for the long term.....
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 22 2020, 05:32 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Apr 22 2020, 05:17 PM)
Humans got all good ?

Some of them are helpful especially to virtuous humans, but some of them are not so good and could attack humans.

I was told they live inside the trees, which are mini-universe on its own. So if you chop the trees, sometimes can hurt them, and they responded by attacking you.
Hah, I think personally humans are the best representation of the D&D scale biggrin.gif

I would actually like to think that most humans are good in general, but being constantly proven wrong on a regular basis causes me to "temper" my faith in humanity more often than not .... sad.gif

I think those who are helpful to virtuous humans also know that their (the spirit's) actions can bring good karma towards them. Even spirits are not free of the karmic cycle.

The mini-universe within a tree thing would actually be VERY fascinating to view or explore - like a pocket dimension separate from our primary dimension. Maybe we can even cooperate with a tree spirit or two to make Faraway Tree type theme park tongue.gif laugh.gif
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 23 2020, 06:19 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Apr 23 2020, 01:29 AM)

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. That must have taken a few hours of your time to type, refine and edit. Much appreciated!

You are probably one of the most "spiritually exposed" folks I have ever read, especially one without a third eye. Wonder if that is a good thing or a bad thing sweat.gif , but it a life full of rich experiences, that's for certain!

Speaking about crocs, it made me recall the story of the Costan Rican fisherman, Chito, and his old pet crocodile, Pocho, and how the relationship between the two was built. I wonder whether that crocodile had a spirit inside it, and that's why it could form a "relationship" with a human being.

Actually, over the years, I have heard stories of man / woman and spirit protecting one another than actively being on opposite sides. Those villages with tree deities / guardians or animal spirit guardians? The villagers protect the tree or animal from being destroyed by ignorant or malicious humans or kept it fed and healthy, and the spirit spiritually guards / protects the village boundaries in return. There are actually a lot of stories of benevolent spirits out there, and the flip side of the coin is that where benevolent spirits can be found, one generally finds benevolent human beings as well! And the latter can be pretty hard to find in modern society today.... biggrin.gif sweat.gif tongue.gif

Re: modern day energy vampires.... are they supernatural beings or are they humans with "supernatural" or "spirit granted" abilities? Are they actively malignant or sometimes, they just do not know their own nature?

SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 23 2020, 06:29 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Apr 23 2020, 03:16 PM)

That's a great share. Another example of an "inter-faith" battle between beings in addition to the ones shared by ladytarot and BillCollector.

Not to judge or make sweeping assumptions, but honestly, certain religions have probably made quite a few "spiritual enemies" with the very black and white way they view things. The way you described the Aztec / Incan deity's revenge against followers of the Abrahamic religions? Textbook example. One actually wonders whether these deities / beings were even originally evil in the first place, or whether their current form now has been "shaped" by the process and history they have been viewed by others and how their followers have been treated.

What I am trying to say is that if you treat me as a demonic being, and you wipe out my followers and devotees because you think they are devil worshipers or not following the "correct" religion, why wouldn't that corrupt me and turn me into something that I originally wasn't?! Even demigods / semi-divine beings are not fully free of the karmic cycle just yet.

But meh, honestly, between the demon who take possession of one or two lives at a time, and conquistadors who wiped out millions of souls "just because".... I know who are the true devils in this case.....
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 24 2020, 12:42 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(ladytarot99 @ Apr 24 2020, 12:28 AM)

Yes, you correct regarding the modern day vampire.. I personally don’t like to touch or to get touched from anyone that I’m not close with. When I was pregnat with my son.. I never let anyone ever touch my tummy(Except my hubby, immediate family and doctors/nurse) Lol. I only brought him out after 40days and I receive no visitors after he was born.. then till now, I never let anyone except family touch or hug him, hygiene reason and spiritual reason. Real hamsa quite good to ward these peoples.. 98% of them just low leveler only but annoying AF biggrin.gif.. I saw one who sell really good hamsa last time, Iranian seller at bukit bintang roadside..
Ladytarot, are modern day vampires spiritual entities or humans with some spiritual powers?
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 24 2020, 02:00 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(ladytarot99 @ Apr 24 2020, 01:21 AM)
Yes
Human with spiritual powers or following some dark sect.. sometimes born with those negative traits as well..
Sigh. So the former are attempting a fountain of youth type operation by draining it from other human beings.

Usual....
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 25 2020, 12:58 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Apr 24 2020, 07:10 PM)
I think what the Bros and Sis here would all agree, the realm of Supernatural actually not that scary because only minority of people are privy to this world, where else the Human realm is much scarier, and what is the scariest? That would have to be Humans using supernatural means to get what they want.
Humans using the entire spectrum of science, technology and human emotions to get what they want.

Bullets, tanks, battleships, napalm, MOABs and nukes kill and destroy far more than any spirit can do......
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 26 2020, 08:03 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Janejan @ Apr 26 2020, 06:18 PM)
Only legit heir can keep ancestral tablets. He must be son of male line descendants. Ancestral tablet can't be duplicated. Take it or leave it. Please show respect when you're into it. If you are avid ancestors worshipper how come you don't know this rule? Why you call your father old man?

Don't tell me you are trying to steal other families' tablet and ancestors souls to feed your demon. Insap la, demon worshipper. Your avatar betrayed you.
LOL! You really need to spare or limit your claptrap against me. So many sweeping assumptions about me when you don't even know me in detail.

1) How do you know I am not the son of male line descendants? If it is according to your criteria, then not only am I qualified, but I am the MOST qualified in my family.

2) Whether or not the ancestral tablet can or cannot be duplicated is none of your fvcking business. I think it is more important to have someone who actually gives a shit about the ancestors than it is to follow traditions so strictly. I have seen enough eldest sons / sons / daughters who do not or stopped giving a shit about their ancestors, their graves or their tablets in these modern times. Don't even visit their ancestors during Qing Ming or even once a year to say hello at all! Don't even maintain a tablet at all in the family.

But hey, if a dumb fvck like you wants to strictly follow convention, by all means do it for YOUR end. I'll do what I think is reasonable and right on my side.

3) To me, while I do understand that tradition and convention needs to be maintained to a certain extent, I am also a non-traditionalist in the sense that I do not believe that an ancestral tablet can only be maintained by an eldest son, nor can daughters not maintain ancestral tablets, nor should there be ONLY ONE ancestral tablet. It just doesn't make as much sense as it should be..... if family members want to keep ancestral tablets so they can worship their ancestors, then why not allow them to do so? Why limit the right to maintain ancestral tablets to only a certain family member born of a certain order? Why differentiate stuff like surnames or who married into what family in modern times? Hell, with the small number of children we Chinese are popping out nowadays, and with how many folks prefer to go for religions with a lot more "after-life promise" to them than traditional folk religions, it is now quite uncommon for worship of ancestors or even visiting of graves to take place these years. I have seen enough unmaintained / unvisited graves in my lifetime at places like Jelutong, Malacca to come to an understanding, have spoken to enough people who give no shit of or believe in ancestral worship to ever venerate or pay their respects to those who came before them to know what the future development of traditional ancestral worship will be like.

If I should become deceased in the future, and if I have a daughter who wants to keep my ancestral tablet and sons who show no interest in maintaining a connection to me, you're god damned right I would prefer to stay with my daughter and accord her with as much blessings and protection as I could possibly muster. Regardless of who she marries or what freaking surname she carries.

I always thought human beings should be educated enough to the extent that they do not discriminate against family, whatever the order they were born in, or the gender they were born in. Maybe I am too far ahead of my time or your head is stuck too far up your own ass to consider that.

Honestly, when I enter the after-life after my time has come, I would love nothing more than to visit all my family members who have a tablet. A few days in this house, a few days in that house, visiting my children or nephews or nieces, regardless of their bloody surnames or how they look like. After-all, this is what FAMILY means to me.

4) I call my father whatever I want. Because at the end of the day, I bet I treat him far far better than how you treat YOUR own father (there, let me make a sweeping assumption on my end).

5) Who or what I worship is really none of your fvcking business.

On that note, I am putting you on my ignore list.
SUSTheBornLoser
post Apr 27 2020, 01:14 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Apr 27 2020, 08:00 AM)
My kampung people practice is as long the son has own family/married and own house then each can have their own ancestral tablet. Never heard this will weaken the power.
Never heard people keeping wife side. Imaging they behsong each other then fight and spoil fengshui. That’s the reason old people die die want to have male heir, so they have descendant to feed them when they dead.
In one side of my relative's family, the ancestral tablets are also split between the ancestral home and a "junior" son's home. Makes it so much more convenient to make prayers and offerings to them. Not like most of us can head back to the ancestral home even once a year nowadays, sigh..... shakehead.gif

Tradition and convention holds that it should always be a son / husband that holds the family ancestral tablet, but if we were so beholden to traditions and conventions, we would still be riding horse and bullock carts today. Conventions need to be updated or new traditions need to be made when the old ones cannot hold water anymore. I see no reason why the ancestral tablets of both the husband's and the wife's side cannot co-exist harmoniously in the same household as long as they have been properly activated and spoken to.... family is family is family. Heck, sometimes the distant family treats you even better in substance than close family biggrin.gif

It is honestly time to drop distinctions between sons and daughters in today's era. Well, that is my own personal belief lar anyway.... tongue.gif

Besides, in that relative's ancestral home, there are ancestral tablets from the grandfather's side AND the grandmother's side sitting side by side. Didn't see any clash of energies or huge disaster or dire times happening.

This post has been edited by TheBornLoser: Apr 27 2020, 01:14 PM
SUSTheBornLoser
post May 20 2020, 01:09 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 20 2020, 12:53 PM)
Well, if you think human sacrifice is not evil, there is no further discussion. Conquistadors could be evil in their greed, but human sacrifice is evil too.
In no where did I mention that I thought or think that human sacrifice is not evil

As a matter of fact, no one appointed you the arbiter of the standards of good or evil in this world.

No need to discuss further with me.

0.1120sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:50 AM