14,576 posts

QUOTE(xen0 @ Mar 17 2008, 12:02 PM)
bro kmarc,

i set the bios 1.2v +37.5mV..

cpuz idle = 1.344
      load = 1.296

VID = 1.3250v

so, wut is the real voltage of the bios for the cpu?
How come 1.2v? VID is 1.3250v ma.... so should be 1.325v + 0.0375 = 1.3625v actual......

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Mar 17 2008, 12:49 PM)
I think the 8800GT 512amp is not power hunger compare to the old 8800GTS and the GTX series... so i think this should be pretty safe. correct me if i am wrong..
yeah, my psu is CM450Matt true power. no much hard ware, only 1 DVD writer, 1 HDD, 1 GFX, 2 casis fan and one blow out fan for the GFX.

If mine can hit 450MHz X 9 is the best lo but if 450MHz X 8 also ok... 3.6G already...
Cutting it a bit close but should be OK if you don't OC your graphic card too..... your PSU will kaput faster also if it is working near max all the time....

Wah! Can reach 3.6Ghz aaa? You would need lots of vcore for that though.....
kmarc
post Mar 17 2008, 01:17 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(xen0 @ Mar 17 2008, 01:01 PM)
that's why this is really confusing me.. rclxub.gif

i'm 100% sure i set the voltage 1.2v...
Your DFI mobo can set the actual vcore meh? I thought it is like mine, when you can only set +0.025v, +0.050v etc....

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Mar 17 2008, 01:10 PM)
yeah... actually i think i should feel satisfy to OC till 3.2G... I prime95 yesterday over night... running stable..
I see whether can do 3.4 or not with 1.4vcore...

3Dmark06 hit 14k+....a bit greedy because i was trying to hit 15k benchmark..

my card is already OC by factory default... ke ke ke
Push higher! thumbup.gif
kmarc
post Mar 17 2008, 03:14 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(xen0 @ Mar 17 2008, 02:10 PM)
i do know i cant change the VID. but i hv no idea about the link between VTT and VID..

so thats mean, i cant change the VTT value in the bios?? even i increase it, the value will not change?

all i hv to do is increasing the VID special add..?

so thats the idea, isnt it? smile.gif

lol..first time intel user here... tongue.gif before this i used AMD Barton doh.gif
Alamak! The VTT is the FSB termination voltage la (default at 1.2V). It is NOT the CPU vcore.....

You only need to increase that if very high FSB!!!

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 17 2008, 03:15 PM
kmarc
post Mar 28 2008, 11:38 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 28 2008, 04:36 AM)
hello..

i oso gatal2 to oc my proc..

here is the result...

urm..
load temp is around 65-67°..
is it ok?

how about my ram timing..need advise..
thx..
Don't use Intel TAT as it only stresses 2 cores instead of 4. Unless you have the Intel TAT quad-core version which is not supposed to be used anyway...... try prime95 to stress all 4 cores....

Keep for core temp around 60-65'c....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 28 2008, 11:38 AM
kmarc
post Mar 28 2008, 05:23 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 28 2008, 12:23 PM)
now running prime95 for 4hrs...and everythings is fine...wait another 3-4hrs...

and my load temp is 50-55..

i have google about TAT..it's seem that TAT is lack around 15° and same as core temp..
Don't use easytune5 to look at your core temperature. Most people would use core temp....
kmarc
post Apr 4 2008, 06:51 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Apr 3 2008, 07:42 PM)
On something like gaming,surfing,benching.
Which is more better Q6600 or E8400?
TQ.

Cheers.
Go for the E8400 then unless you really need 4 cores for CPU-intensive-multithreaded applications....
kmarc
post Apr 18 2008, 02:57 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Apr 18 2008, 01:42 PM)
Hi guys. Finally got my Red Scorpion last nite. Thx to ckhoong... Quickly fix it onto my mobo with S&S kits... And OC my Q6600 to 3.2ghz (400x8). The temp for idle is 40-42 while for load is 58-61.... Is this ok? Btw I 1 to ask. If i set the vcore too high, wat will happen?  I'm d proud owner of GIGABYTE EP35C-DS3R....

Added on April 18, 2008, 1:43 pmI'm using tuniq tx2. And i found tat my temp had risen 2day. risen ab 2-3C during idlle. Why is this happening? Is it becos i din apply the thermalpaste properly? Full speed fan.

Added on April 18, 2008, 1:45 pmBtw, my vcore is set at 1.375 now at 3.2ghz.

Added on April 18, 2008, 2:01 pmHehehe... Sorry, I forgot that I din close my casing last nite.... I closed it just now. And stress using OCCT. the temperature shoots to 65 which is the temp i set for OCCT as max temp. Is this over too hot? I'm using Lian-LI PC007 with 2 stock 12cm fans and i add a 8cm fan at the top.... Can anybody teach me wat to do to reduce my temP? I'm not feeling so comfortable with it.....
If too high vcore, worst case scenario, kaput lor...... wink.gif

For Q6600, recommended not to go higher than 1.5v for 24/7 usage..... of course, the lower, the better....

65'c at 100% load is still ok, as the general recommendation is not more than 60-65'c.

You can read my guide on "CPU core temperature" (in my sig). There's a section on how to reduce the CPU temperature too.... smile.gif

kmarc
post Apr 18 2008, 06:17 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Apr 18 2008, 04:23 PM)
but that one is 3.2G at 65c la bro...imagine if he goes higher...will his q6600 stay below 65c hmm.gif
It will be hotter lor.... cool2.gif

Was replying based on the questions he asked in each paragraph...... blush.gif
kmarc
post Apr 18 2008, 06:38 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Apr 18 2008, 06:23 PM)
wats kaput?
Errr..... had to google that for you..... from the German word meaning out of order, not working, broken, utterly finished, destroyed, hopelessly outmoded (hmmm... good word for modders.... laugh.gif)

Next time google it yourself tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 18 2008, 06:39 PM
kmarc
post Apr 18 2008, 09:18 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Apr 18 2008, 07:51 PM)
Haha. I tot its a local slang..... Thx.... Is my temp counted normal under xigmatek red scorpion and open casing?

Added on April 18, 2008, 7:52 pmanybody with the same setting?

Added on April 18, 2008, 7:52 pmBtw, 3.2ghz on air cooling is counted high onot?

Added on April 18, 2008, 7:56 pmI c your setting is almost d same as mine.... your stock vcore is? my stock vcore is quite high. 1.325v

Added on April 18, 2008, 8:00 pm

Kmarc, I c you are a Sarawakian? I'm a S brows.gif arawakian too.. haha, jz living in Kota kinabalu now...
That temperature is ok. I'm getting the same temperature for my setup.

However, I need to set 1.400v in BIOS to get to 3.2Ghz. Looks like your CPU is better. Yeah, my stock vcore is also 1.325v..... smile.gif

I've settled down in Kuching but am not a local here...... wink.gif (provided the government don't throw me some where else... sweat.gif )
kmarc
post Apr 19 2008, 12:00 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Apr 18 2008, 11:53 PM)
What department are you in? Would it be tat high vcore=higher temperature?
Secret. tongue.gif

Yup, the higher the vcore, the more heat is generated..... hence higher temperature.... smile.gif
kmarc
post Apr 19 2008, 12:07 AM

14,576 posts

You need to know whether it is stable or not. You can use stress programs like prime95. Take a look at my CPU overclocking guide..... wink.gif
kmarc
post Apr 26 2008, 12:26 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Apr 26 2008, 01:57 AM)
Temperatures
Motherboard 41 °C  (106 °F)
CPU 34 °C  (93 °F)
CPU #1 / Core #1 63 °C  (145 °F)
CPU #1 / Core #2 70 °C  (158 °F)
CPU #1 / Core #3 63 °C  (145 °F)
CPU #1 / Core #4 70 °C  (158 °F)
GPU1: GPU Diode 44 °C  (111 °F)
GPU1: GPU VRM 53 °C  (127 °F)
GPU2: GPU Diode 50 °C  (122 °F)
GPU2: GPU VRM 57 °C  (135 °F)

i know this is q6600 but mine is actually q9300 @ 3.45ghz
which temp is actual?
im new using everest..how come cpu shows 34 degree
the bottom all very high ><
i using zalman 9700nt : fan
normal or hot?
Most people usually use the app "Core Temp" to look at the temps.....
kmarc
post Apr 26 2008, 11:36 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Apr 26 2008, 08:21 PM)
Maybe now got new tool called RealTemp by XS. Anyway, anyone here using Xeon X3220? Similar to Q6600. If no one maybe I can share with everyone here coz im gonna get one very soon. brows.gif
Realtemp is more or less the same as core temp, just a few differences like showing more info on the same page and having different Tjunctions as compared to Core temp.... smile.gif
kmarc
post Apr 27 2008, 07:39 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Apr 27 2008, 02:06 AM)
what is tjunctions btw?
Can read all about CPU core temperature in my guide (see my sig below).

Alternatively, you can google also.... smile.gif
kmarc
post Apr 27 2008, 10:02 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Apr 27 2008, 10:49 AM)
U would also say the same as thermal envelope?
Errr..... no leh....

As far as I know, thermal envelope or better known as TDP (Thermal Design Power) is expressed in watts e.g. 95 watts.... seems like Intel and AMD have different definition of TDP.....
kmarc
post May 5 2008, 10:52 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 2 2008, 01:09 AM)
nope, not many, take kmarc's quad for example, probably craps out at 3.4ghz due to either voltage or wall or heat  rclxub.gif

no offence ya, bro kmarc  icon_rolleyes.gif
Non taken. My quad's is only a normal one, with a VID of 1.325v sad.gif ..... lazy to find gem procs which is usually more expensive anyways...... smile.gif
kmarc
post May 6 2008, 01:02 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 6 2008, 10:01 AM)
bryanyeo87, i was refering to 3.2Ghz only........... and the voltage is just merely for reference. Most G0 Q6600 can do this, but it also depends on mobo too. some older chipset p965 has difficulty handling 400mhz fsb.

btw kmarc, hows the folding result from ur Quad ? thinking of making a folding rig with micro -ATX board
Yeah, my mobo also bad vdrop/vdroop....

Folding aaa? You can check out the database here : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/591961

In general, for x2 SMP client folding the p2653 WU, it takes about 13+ minutes per frame. If only x1 SMP client, about 9 minutes per frame...

Folding rig using quad? Cool! thumbup.gif
kmarc
post May 6 2008, 05:23 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 6 2008, 02:57 PM)
icic thx for the link........ , suddenly i discover i have some interest in making a fold rig haha.....

now still consider optimize my selection, whether to go for CPU or GPU folding.....but all micro-atx casing so small cannot fit in full size graphic card. headache again
I've never folded using a GC so I can't comment on that. However, considering the price of GPU vs Q6600, the quad would probably be a better option. More points generated per day too....

If your quad is limited by the micro-atx casing, you can do like what phunkydude does, he down-volt his quad so that it runs within the limits of the casing (in terms of temperature).... something like stock speed at 0.98volts vcore... smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 6 2008, 05:24 PM
kmarc
post May 10 2008, 07:31 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ May 10 2008, 01:00 AM)
i really wanna oc my proc
but atm no 1 wanna show it to me...
pls anybody from wangsa maju area can help to teach me a bit ^^
my VID quite low 1.1625 ^^
Like shawty said, the VID would not be accurate if the EIST/C1E is turned on.

You can check out my simple guide on how to OC a Q6600 (in my sig).... smile.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:10 PM