kmarc
post Jul 9 2008, 05:00 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Jul 9 2008, 04:14 PM)
I'll give it a look up but my issue is not that the q6600 needs high voltage but whether my particular mobo has issues since it's reported that the Asus P5K series has significant droop issues. Before the pencil mod I simply could not push up to 3.0ghz

Thanks and i'll get back to you once I get home.
Same with my Gigabyte P35-DS3 and DFI Blood Iron.....

Both has almost similar significant - vdrop/vdroop.... sad.gif

As in my sig, here's mine vdrop/vdroop:
Bios set vcore : 1.400v
Windows idle : 1.376v
Windows load : 1.328v sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 9 2008, 05:01 PM
kmarc
post Jul 9 2008, 06:34 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Jul 9 2008, 05:08 PM)
Did you see this as an issue in achieving stable overclocks?
Nope. Just that I have to set the vcore higher in BIOS.

Those figures are my current setting for the past errr.... 8 months? (ever since I got the Q6600)... no problems with stability so far.... that's after I stress with prime95 for 6 hours....

My rig is doing folding 16/7 to 24/7 all this time too... smile.gif

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jul 9 2008, 05:27 PM)
kmarc, almost 0.08V quite a lot, no wander why u need to set till 1.4v for 3.2G

i guess u need to do some pencil mod on ur gaygaybte lol........ hehe
Ya lor.... budget mobo ma...

Pencil mod? shocking.gif Me normal overclocker only la.... smile.gif

Added on July 9, 2008, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Jul 9 2008, 05:29 PM)
Q6600 already good enough ady la....
still need to overclock meh!
Yes. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 9 2008, 06:35 PM
kmarc
post Jul 9 2008, 08:25 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Jul 9 2008, 06:37 PM)
Good news I reapplied thermal paste. After 20 minutes on priming temperatures is at 52-56 C. Is that more in the correct range?

I'll try retesting stability again on a higher overclock.
That's better..... on my rig with my xigmatek S1283... I get max 65'c on prime95 "smallFFT" stress test (on a hot day)....

Usual folding results in a 60-62'c core temperature....
kmarc
post Jul 9 2008, 09:09 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jul 9 2008, 08:29 PM)
My new P5E vdroop is scary. BIOS set 1.435, full load 1.36v. Used to be stable @ 3.5Ghz with 1.36 load. Now can't even boot @ 3.5Ghz. Running only @ 3.2Ghz now. Seriously need some pencil modding done.
You mean you were previously running the same mobo and now the vdroop is more? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Jul 10 2008, 10:48 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Jul 10 2008, 07:18 PM)
Hi guys, I've had a Q6600 for quite some time now and today I just did my first overclock (OC noob  sweat.gif ) and OCed my Q6600 to 3GHz for starters. Everything seemed to be fine and all and went into windows. And then I started up Prime95 to stress test. What I got was the first time I stressed test it after just 4 mins there is an error in one of the Cores. But I restarted Prime 95 then after 1 hour only an error showed up. Restarted again then this time it took 4 hours ++ for an error to show up. I restarted my PC and this time 4 hours and still no error. Is this normal ? and does this mean my system can be considered "stable" ? Oh yea btw my rig specs is as shown in my sig. Temperature on full load with no air conditioning at all on a very hot day after 4 hours highest for Core 1 66 degrees, Core 2 66 degrees, Core 3 62 degrees and Core 4 also 62 degrees.  nod.gif
That means your rig is not stable. If you get random errors like that, then you will probably get those random errors in the future, especially when you rig is at full load.

You need to test for stability..... Increase your OC slowly and check for stability each time.... wink.gif

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jul 10 2008, 10:17 PM)
my Q6600 OC.. thanks to Kmarc's guide to OCing Q6600..

OC to 3.2GHz (400x8), 1.38v...  rclxm9.gif  stable with temp from 60~67'c  sweat.gif ... cooling with Tt Silent Tower with dual 80mm fans.. flex.gif
had problems OCing to 3.5Ghz... wasn't sure wat voltage to use...  hmm.gif but so far so good... ran Prime95 twice on this temp...

if anyone can give me some suggestion on how to OC further, please do tell.. thanks  thumbup.gif
Hey, your proc's VID is the same as mine (1.325v) but you get better vcore then mine. Mine need 1.328v (load) at 3.2 Ghz....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 10 2008, 10:48 PM
kmarc
post Aug 13 2008, 05:29 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 13 2008, 09:14 AM)
not sure if it's vdroop or vdrop... hehehe... still new with these lingo... hehehe..

at 3.2GHz, temps are just nice... idle is around 32~35'c and at load is around 55~57'c

vcore i set to 1.4v la... but in cpuz is 1.242v during load.. the xigmatek is really damn good... hahaha.. changed the fan to Nidec Beta V.. so, highly recomend it.. if with stock fan, load temp is around 56~59'c la... it's good also...
Vdrop is the difference from bios vcore and windows vcore at idle.

Vdroop is the difference from windows vcore at idle and windows vcore at load.

For example:

BIOS set vcore : 1.400v
Windows vcore at idle : 1.360v (so vdrop is 1.400v - 1.360v = 0.040v)
Windows vcore at load : 1.330v (so vdroop is 1.360v - 1.330v = 0.030v)

I have a simple explanation of the vdroop/vdrop "phenomenon" in my C2D/C2Q overclocking guide wink.gif

Note : Remember that software monitoring of voltages are not that accurate....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Aug 13 2008, 05:29 PM
kmarc
post Sep 4 2008, 04:32 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 4 2008, 04:29 PM)
At last managed to get it to run at 3.7ghz  sweat.gif
That's a nice OC for the Q6600 thumbup.gif ..... but the temperature is sweat.gif

What's the temperature in core temp? And what vcore did you set in bios? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Oct 30 2008, 07:28 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Oct 30 2008, 05:19 AM)
what is push + pull config? =.="
One fan to push (blow) air through the heatsink, one fan to pull (suck) air from the heatsink..... wink.gif
kmarc
post Mar 31 2009, 08:55 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(pl4tinum @ Mar 31 2009, 01:54 AM)
When i enter Bios it says that the stock core for my q6600 is 1.325. Is this normal or does it indicate a weaker processor. I can't hit even 3.0 wif a core of 1.216.
That means your cpu VID is higher. My old trusty Q6600's stock vcore is also 1.325v. Not good for overclocking. Needs 1.400v to run at 3.2Ghz.... sweat.gif
kmarc
post Mar 31 2009, 11:06 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(pl4tinum @ Mar 31 2009, 12:08 PM)
Yeah, and i don't think i can hit 3.2 with my current setup as at 9X330 im getting a max temp of 72 when i stress with p95. Stable but i think if i want to hit 3.2 i may need to change my zalman CNP9700 NT. Kmarc may i ask for your load temps at 3.2 Ghz?
My setup is 8 x 400mhz = 3.2Ghz at 1.400v set in bios.

Load temp max around 65'c on Prime95 small FFTs. I'm using the xigmatek S1283......
kmarc
post Apr 11 2009, 12:54 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(DaCruzz @ Apr 11 2009, 08:17 AM)
allur.....my rig as stated below.... biggrin.gif

can somebody plez teach me how can i o/c my q6600 untill 3.2GHz.... icon_question.gif
since i'm using CM V8.....
coz it's a waste if i just use it at 2.4GHz....

plus i dunnot use Easy Tune6..... (GA-EP45-UD3R)
i want 2 use MIT ( Motherboard Intelligent Tweaker ) only...so where should i begin? notworthy.gif
plez help me aaa icon_rolleyes.gif
Can take a look at my simple guide on overclocking the Q6600.... wink.gif

QUOTE(hong1380 @ Apr 11 2009, 12:47 PM)
hmm...yesterday night im trying to set my q6600 to  425X8 to make it 3.4ghz  by vcore 1.375

but when it reach vista load screen, blue screen came out

is it need to add more vcore on it or the FSB for my proc alr?
current setup 400X8  vcore 1.34
Probably not enough vcore.....
kmarc
post Apr 29 2009, 09:15 PM

14,576 posts

Damn. My Q6600 is getting more frequent reboot nowadays. Already 2 reboots this month with BIOS going back to default. Downclocking to 3.12Ghz to see whether the problem persist...... lazy to tinker with bios nowadays.... blush.gif
kmarc
post May 2 2009, 07:01 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ May 2 2009, 06:20 PM)
Hi all. I got some question for ask.

Yesterday i buy 2x 2GB Corsair Ram (CGM2X2G800) plan to play more about overclock =X sorry i tight of budget so buy this value ram

Okie here the problem i face.
My Q6600 VID is 1.2875
previously I can get 3Ghz at Vcore 1.29375 stable in prime95 (15minits only:P)

Today, A rainning day. I try to hit 3.15Ghz with Vore 1.300. I see something blue page came out few second and pc turn off @@. is this what you guys call BSOD? is so, I first time see this thing. Ha Ha.

So i guess Vcore no enough. add to 1.35... result= fail. pc restart when load window logo. Nvm.. try add to 1.38. The pc went to black screen while going to window logo. no sound. wait 3 minits still no response.  blink.gif

At the end i give up. set back to 3Ghz. no problem so far =="

Q: Why cannot start? is it Vcore ?

Q2: If yes, why 2.4 to 3.0 only need increase so little while 3.15 need so much? Big jump @@
15 minutes of stress testing is not enough ler.... tongue.gif

That's the way overclocking is. The higher the frequency you overclock, the more vcore you need. You'll come to a point where you need to increase a lot of vcore to gain only a few mhz.....

Make sure your ram and northbridge are not holding you back. Try downclocking the rams first....
kmarc
post May 3 2009, 07:39 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ May 2 2009, 07:34 PM)
15minits no enough i know. Don care, CPU no always full load =X no shut down ok ler happy.gif

by the way about ram and northbridge... I never touch that before  hmm.gif

Need take time refer your guide again. Hehe all learn from you leh.

Thanks you kmarc

Edit: Hi kmarc, I doing overclock by following your guide. the RAM multiplier is set to 2. do you mean downclock RAM is this? By the way what is northbridge =X

Edit 2: Hi kmarc, So far i tested 3Ghz with prima95 over 2hours still no error (still running.. but going turn off sleep soon smile.gif ) quite happy with it. But before this I try hit 3.06Ghz with vcore 1.32. BSOD and shut down again ==" it seems like need alot vcore after over 3Ghz.. or something have blocked me to over 3Ghz?
Glad to hear that. smile.gif

Yup, by setting the ram multipler to the lowest (which is 2.0), you'll ensure that the rams are not overclocked unless your FSB is very high.

Northbridge? Errr.... I have a guide that explains about NB (which I never completed blush.gif ) : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=633097&hl=

In the guide, it does explain and show what a NB is. wink.gif

You have to make sure that your northbridge strapping is not too tight. Google more on this information.... wonder whether your mobo's bios has this setting or not.... hmm.gif

kmarc
post May 3 2009, 07:36 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ May 3 2009, 05:46 PM)
Hi kmarc, thanks to you again. after reading your guide, I finally can boots into windows after increase Northbridge by +0.2v @@"
New knowledge learned.
Errr... as far as I know, you don't normally need to increase the NB voltages for mild overclock.... however, I guess different rig is different.... whatever makes your rig stable wink.gif

So, is your rig stable? hmm.gif
kmarc
post May 4 2009, 09:12 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ May 3 2009, 11:33 PM)
3.08Ghz with vcore 1.35 run prima95 25minits so far no problem now.
The Northbridge i set to +0.1v . full load temp is 60'c  shakehead.gif
My full load at 3.2Ghz @ 1.40v is 65'c. My Q6600 is not that good, VID is 1.325v.....

Anyway, I'm happy with 3.2Ghz.... althought I had to downclock to 3.12Ghz due to random reboots recently.... will try to increase slowly again....
kmarc
post May 4 2009, 11:15 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(valtai30 @ May 4 2009, 11:18 AM)
can anyone advise izzit my rig is ok or not? my idle 3.4ghz @ 1.44 is around 38'c and full load at around 60'c, VID is 1.325v. i use this setting daily and 4 my gaming. it's passed prime95 stress tested, izzit ok?

Added on May 4, 2009, 11:19 amedit...... actually the full load temperature is 54'c ~ 58'c.
How come your temperature is so low? My Q6600 is running at 3.2Ghz at 1.400v (In bios) and the temperature is 65'c load on prime95. And I'm using the xigmatek S1283 which is not a bad cooler....

Are you running 'blend test' or 'small FFTs'? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 4 2009, 11:15 PM
kmarc
post May 5 2009, 06:40 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ May 5 2009, 12:08 AM)
Hi kmarc, Currently now test 3.13Ghz with vcore 1.35 still no error with prima95 in 10minits (still running). Hope it stable  rclxms.gif

Anyway about power option at control panel. I set my power options to power saver mode. The processor power management state is Max 50% Min 5%. It quite alot difference compare with balanced mode which is power management state is 100%.
The CPU temp drop around 10'c in saver mode compare with balance mode. And I didn't found any trouble yet. Is there safe?  hmm.gif  it look nice  brows.gif
Errr... I don't have any experience with the power saver mode. If I remember correctly, that mode is available for your mobo, which is the newer gigabyte EP35DS3L. My mobo is the old one, gigabyte P35DS3, no power saving mode. wink.gif
kmarc
post May 5 2009, 01:02 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(pl4tinum @ May 5 2009, 12:44 PM)
Kmarc can i take my rig to ur place you help me get my Q6600 to 3.6 ma?  biggrin.gif
Alamak! Me beginner-average overclocker only la. Know how to push mhz and vcore only..... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 5 2009, 01:02 PM
kmarc
post May 6 2009, 10:10 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(pl4tinum @ May 5 2009, 04:06 PM)
Lol i learn how to push mhz and vcore from your guides oso one ler  tongue.gif
I'm just hoping that my new true 120 will perform a lot better then my Zalman 9700.  rclxms.gif
Another way is to tweak the GTLref/settings.... never had time to do the tweakings....

TRUE is probably the 2nd best cooler after the IFX-14......

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ May 5 2009, 06:36 PM)
hi pl4tinum, long time no see u post ler.

Where you going get ur true 120? So far i know that True black 120 selling RM300plus at kuching  moneyflies.gif  that look cool  cool2.gif
Hope to see your result soon.

Edit : WTH today... when i test for stable today. It direct BSOD and shut down... Even i try to downclock to 3.10Ghz. vmad.gif  Computer bad mood liao.

Er.. guys 8x375=3Ghz and 9x333=3Ghz the Vcore can remand same between this 2 right? 8x375 better?
Higher FSB/bus speed is generally better. However 333mhz and 375mhz won't make much difference in real world applications....

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0258sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:13 PM