QUOTE(happy_berry @ May 12 2024, 09:28 AM)
When is a good time to visit Japan where the country is not infested with tourists and weather is good?
Any day, as long not Golden Week.Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!
May 12 2024, 12:12 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
May 12 2024, 04:52 PM
May 21 2024, 11:32 AM
May 21 2024, 11:56 AM
May 23 2024, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(Wira Hikari @ May 22 2024, 08:00 PM) any recommendation for onsen/sento that is gaijin friendly in central tokyo? esp those that would allow tattoos or provide tattoo cover patches. Tokyo no. Most even private bath also not allow. Few can but will cost you a fortune. Willling to pay? Thanks in advance Kinosaki yes. Tattoo friendly. 90% Onsen house allow tattoo customers as long you choose private onsen. Wira Hikari liked this post
May 27 2024, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ May 27 2024, 09:02 AM) just completed my 10 day trip to Japan from Nagoya to Shirakawago/Takayama to Kanazawa to Kurobe Gorge to Matsumoto to Magome and back to Nagoya. Glad you like it. very special thanks to RegentCid for recommending the Oito Line from Itoigawa to Matsumoto. indeed very nice scenic ride. |
May 29 2024, 10:11 PM
Flew 5204Km for Library
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jun 2 2024, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(quadcube @ Jun 2 2024, 10:23 AM) Yokohama walk2 around the bay, Chinatown. I live in Yokohama city and I usually like to walk around the bay side, big and breezy. Not cram and much more walking friendly than Tokyo. Been that Starbucks 5 times...Last Toyama visit will be the 6th times. I love to walk from Toyama Station to Park. Main road crossing Canal are beautiful. |
Jun 9 2024, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(minizian @ Jun 8 2024, 11:36 PM) Just wanna ask, anyone had experience renting car there? Rent the car online. Rented site normally need to input arrived time. So the Staff will sent Toyota Alphard to pick you up at Airport. Japan law, Car rental are not allow operated inside Airport & Train Station . That why they are located at places that is hard to access by public transportation.Thinking rent one day just to go certain places that is hard to access by public transportation. From my understanding i need to get intl driving lesen right to be able to drive there? I need surrender driving lesen at JPJ when I pick up my IDP? Yes. you need IDP to rent car in Japan, just go JPJ apply it, Rm150 for 1 year. Noted: If got any flight delay, you need to inform the car rental thru Line, message inside flight (Japanese not using Whatapp, must be Line). You need to buy Wifi plan form airlines no matter what cost....more than 30 minute consider no show, all your car rental deposit will be confiscated and your name will be blacklisted in Japan for 5 years. All Japan car rental will not rent any car to you. This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 9 2024, 08:01 AM minizian liked this post
Jun 9 2024, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(minizian @ Jun 9 2024, 11:08 AM) Thank you for the reply, flight wise not be a problem because the time when I am going to pick up the car I would be in Japan for few days already. Standard procedure, they need to photocopy your Passport & IDR. Deposit only can be pay thru Credit Card. It will be written off when you return the car in piece. NO Cash. If accident, Insurance will coved, It won't charge from deposit. If you are the one causing accident, you only need to be pay summon ticket issued by Japan Police as reckless driving. Car repaired part all will be taken cared by Car rental.Any rental company that is recommended? I only kind of know that the legecy company like Nissan/Toyota/Honda/Times/Orix is pricier but chances of shit happens would not be an issue. Read something about must share with them the ID or Passport photocopy if I were to pay by cash just in case anything happen? Also, I tried to understand the insurance coverage but seem like you would still be penalized in a way or so outside of insurance coverage (assuming i choose the most comprehensive) This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 10 2024, 03:44 PM minizian liked this post
Jun 10 2024, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jun 10 2024, 02:09 PM) I wonder if I happen to not own any credit card, will debit card get the job done for paying deposit purpose? It had to be Credit Card. Debit Card cannot temporarily hold the money, it will direct minus from your account into Japan Car Rental Account. It will be difficuit for Japanese side withdrawn money out again and transfer back to you. They usually just accept Credit Card, easy to write off.This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 10 2024, 03:42 PM |
Jun 11 2024, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jun 11 2024, 02:10 AM) Is it possible to use other ppl credit card to pay the deposit? Because I’m the only one with international driving license. Car Rental don't care who's credit card, as long it got deposit the credit in-case you didnt return the car on specific time, or didn't re-fuel as it should be so they can used that deposit fund.This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 11 2024, 09:22 AM DS_Legacy liked this post
Jun 13 2024, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(ivzh @ Jun 12 2024, 06:03 PM) Hi to all sifu here. need some comment here. Travel with my wife and 2 girl (11 year /10 year). May be too early to plan - but winter accomodation seem selling out fast. will use public transportation. You can focus JR Sapporo-Noboribetsu Area Pass instead of JR Hokkaido Rail Pass. Save you alot of money. 11 Jan - Airasia overnight plane (i check the direct flight only resume this december 2024..) 12 Jan - hope reach Chitose airport on time -> 830am)-> Tomamu either by JR or bus - if let say there is blizzard - which one - JR or Bus prone to disruption? 13 Jan - Tomamu 14 Jan - Tomamu 15 Jan – Tomamu to Noboribetsu (either by JR/bus) 16 Jan – Noboribetsu -2 night stay - if it is too long? i consider split it to lake toya however concern is another shifting day. 17 Jan – Noboribetsu to Sapporo (JR) 18 Jan – Sapporo – Day trip to Otaru – For penguin parade – which one would be better ? the one in Otaru or Noboribetsu? Tentatively I plan to squeeze in as one of the attraction during stay in noboribetsu as has extra time there. Not going to do Asahikawa/Furano/Bier this time. (or worth to join a day trip from sapporo? but i concern about oo much time spend on transport) 19 Jan – Sapporo 20 Jan – Sapporo 21 Jan – Domestic flight 10am to Haneda – stay in Tokyo Bay 22 Jan - Tokyo Bay - Disneysea 23 Jan - depart from Narita 2200 pm https://www.jrhokkaido.co.jp/global/english/ticket/ New Chitose Airport got direct Resort Bus to Tomamu Resort. Bus Leave at 10:00 & 12:20 https://www.snowtomamu.jp/bus_23w/index_en.html 15 Jan from Tomamu to Noboribetsu can used same Resort Bus back to New Chitose Airport. From New Chitose Airport take Donan Bus direct to Noboibetsu Onsen Town. Bus Leave New Chitose Airport at 13:00 which is nice, You 100% can made it, if you leave Tomamu at morning 08:30 and reach new Chitose airport at 10:30 https://www.donanbus.co.jp/map/newchitose_a...ort/?hp_lang=en 17 & 18 Jan Start activate the JR Sapporo-Noboribetsu Area Pass. Penguin parade in Otaru & Noboribetsu suxk...so either also can....Asahikawa Zoo are the real sh!t.....Since you can't made it to Asahikawa...so, either both also can....still sh!t. This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 13 2024, 09:26 AM |
Jun 16 2024, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 16 2024, 02:39 PM) Avg 3 hours....If only man....30 minute because man always know what they wan, direct go into shop pick, pay...walk out jutamind liked this post
Jun 16 2024, 05:40 PM
Edited
This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 16 2024, 05:40 PM |
Jun 18 2024, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(ivzh @ Jun 18 2024, 10:02 PM) thanks boss for the suggestion. 8.30am arrived, 1 hour clear custom + take luggage + walking from International Terminal to Domestic Terminal. You should able to catch 10am Bus from Domestic Terminal. If can't make it then take 12:20 Bus...Reach Tomamu around 14:25. 15:00 Gam Gam check In time. i m still in dilemma whether to take JR or Bus during winter, which one is more reliable and less prone to disruption? i understand it's by luck and weather.. And usually how long to clear custom and take the luggage in chitose if reach by international flight. If you have to hang around New Chitose Airport for 12:20 bus. New Chitose Airport got Ramen Street at Food zone, It gather all Hokkaido famous ramen shop in one spot. Airport also got onsen for relax. https://www.new-chitose-airport.jp/en/spend/relax/spa/ * Malay then Ramen Street can forget about it. Hokkaido Ramen 99% using Pork Bone Broth. New Chitose Airport only got 2 halal restraurant - Donburi-chaya - Indian Curry Dining Cobara-Hetta Jan snow still ok, Normally Blizzard start from End of Jan - Feb - Early March. Bus more reliable than train, thick snow will cause train delay or cancel but Bus won't. It might delay but won't cancel. Hokkaido winter, snow cleaning are excellent specially on highway. They will sprinkle hot water on entire road This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 18 2024, 11:39 PM |
Jul 2 2024, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(sben525 @ Jul 2 2024, 03:32 PM) No more direct bus. Airport management make some changes, only allow long distant express bus. (Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Yanagawa, Oita, Kagoshima)You had to go Hakata Station first. From Hakata Station either take Shinkansen / Limited Express Train / Express Bus sben525 liked this post
Jul 24 2024, 03:23 PM
Jul 25 2024, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 24 2024, 02:40 PM) If you bring hair dryer or rice cooker..etc etc to Japan. it won't work as it should be. Because Malaysia device require 220V but Japan only got 110V. It only can produce half of it performance. If you buy ay electronic from Japan bring back to Malaysia. You need voltage converter. Without converter, Malaysia 220V will instant blow up the Japan electronic adapter. Silfer, 19 Degree South, and 1 other liked this post
Jul 30 2024, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(chienwei92 @ Jul 29 2024, 08:23 PM) Hello everyone, I will choose Asahikawa Zoo. World most famous penguin zoo. You can email zoo for arrangement. Used the cute penguin as your weapon. Sure Win and very memorable. I'm planning to propose to my partner during our trip to Hokkaido from September 18th to 29th, and I could use some advice on finding the perfect location. Here are some details about what I'm looking for: - I prefer a spot that doesn’t attract too much attention from crowds. We want it to be a special and intimate moment. - I have a friend who will be secretly taking photos and videos of the proposal, so a place where this can be done discreetly would be ideal. - We're driving from town to town, visiting places like Hakodate, Noboribetsu, Otaru, Sapporo, Biei, and Asahikawa. - I've researched a few potential locations such as Shikisai no Oka, Otaru Canal, and Mt. Moiwa. However, I'm not sure if these spots are suitable for a proposal without causing inconvenience to others. - Ideally, we'd love a romantic and scenic spot, or any place that locals in Hokkaido might recommend. I would love to hear any suggestions you might have for beautiful, relatively quiet locations in Hokkaido that would make for a memorable proposal. Any advice or personal experiences would be greatly appreciated! chienwei92 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0259sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:35 AM |