WAN Login ID problem

TSlan00
post Mar 17 2020, 01:32 AM, updated 6y ago

20 posts

Hello all,

2 days ago, my internet suddenly went out (Maxis Fibre 30mbps). I am using a third-party router by the way. After hours of troubleshooting, I found out, the issue was with my Maxis Fibre account WAN login ID. When I tried with my brother's WAN ID (he's using Maxis Fibre too), I am able to login in the , and the internet connection back to normal. Hence, rule out any issue with my hardware.

I called their support tech, and they are unable to assist me, due to I am on a third-party router, even I've stated clearly, it's a clear issue with my login ID, nothing to do with my hardware, by they insist to not be able to assist due to me using a third-party router. Unfortunately, I've thrown away their router as it broke due to lightning long ago, and I don't have time to wait for their tech to come and replace it at the time as I was super busy.

So basically, I am out of options now. The only solution they gave me is to make a police report about my router, and to report is as missing, so they can issue me a new one. Which is, for me sounds stupid, and I don't think police allow faking a police report?

Hence, I gave up with Maxis' support. They are supposed to be giving me a solution since I am a paying customer, never miss my payment not even once. They are not even provided a temp WAN login ID, etc, to minimize service disruption, straight-up bad user experience and customer service.

I need to know the following:

1. What's the penalty fee for not returning the router upon termination?

2. I am planning to go for Unifi. Advisable? What's their best plan now?

3. Has anyone ever experienced the same issue I am facing now with WAN login problem? Kindly note I tried on 2 different routers, the same result. My brother's WAN account login works fine.

Thanks!

YoungMan
post Mar 17 2020, 10:41 AM

6,785 posts

I think the CS you spoke to knows nothing about wan ID. You should demand speaking to higher level tech support or report to MCMC for refusing to give you service. Also demand bill rebate for the days of downtime.
By right there is no penalty for not returning the router if you already pass the 2 years contract. You only need to return the BTU because BTU is TM's property.
For Unifi it depends. You could go as low as 30mbps for RM89 or up to 300mbps for RM199 depending on your preference.
#Hotlink
post Mar 18 2020, 10:23 AM

2,354 posts

QUOTE(lan00 @ Mar 17 2020, 01:32 AM)
Hello all,
2 days ago, my internet suddenly went out (Maxis Fibre 30mbps). I am using a third-party router by the way. After hours of troubleshooting, I found out, the issue was with my Maxis Fibre account WAN login ID. When I tried with my brother's WAN ID (he's using Maxis Fibre too), I am able to login in the , and the internet connection back to normal. Hence, rule out any issue with my hardware.

I called their support tech, and they are unable to assist me, due to I am on a third-party router, even I've stated clearly, it's a clear issue with my login ID, nothing to do with my hardware, by they insist to not be able to assist due to me using a third-party router. Unfortunately, I've thrown away their router as it broke due to lightning long ago, and I don't have time to wait for their tech to come and replace it at the time as I was super busy.

So basically, I am out of options now. The only solution they gave me is to make a police report about my router, and to report is as missing, so they can issue me a new one. Which is, for me sounds stupid, and I don't think police allow faking a police report?

Hence, I gave up with Maxis' support. They are supposed to be giving me a solution since I am a paying customer, never miss my payment not even once. They are not even provided a temp WAN login ID, etc, to minimize service disruption, straight-up bad user experience and customer service.

3. Has anyone ever experienced the same issue I am facing now with WAN login problem? Kindly note I tried on 2 different routers, the same result. My brother's WAN account login works fine.

Thanks!
Hi lan00,

Sorry to hear about this and we understand your frustration.
Can you PM us your account details, contact number and the router model for further assistance.

TQ-Fin
Maxis
post Mar 18 2020, 10:27 AM

2,707 posts

Hello all,

Thanks!
Hi lan00,

Can you PM us your account details, contact number and the router model for further assistance.

TQ-Fin
SUSCandy12
post Mar 19 2020, 02:25 PM

1,878 posts

Hello all,

Thanks!
Probably Maxis support detected suspicious activity with your request.
Why?

1) It is highly unlikely that you can forget your modem ID which is clearly listed on your monthly bill statement. It is clearly listed on your Maxis app when you log in on your phone.That is your WAN login ID. Should you fail to provide this during your call, the operator will already start suspecting you.

2) Also how can your original Maxis router be thrown away just like that? You mean lightning strike until it melted the entire thing down or blow to bits?Are you telling the truth here?

3) Maxis will attempt to arrange a Maxpert technician to visit your REGISTERED address to have a look at your line, if this last chance is turned down, they already know something is not right.

You are not attempting to use a "ROGUE" 3rd party router to connect from somewhere else other than your registered address are you? Like buying a 3rd party router and try to use is at some other TM Unifi HSBB fibre modem/VDSL modem at other places? Your account will be locked if duplicated logins are detected after several attempts to prevent account thieves.

You're a paying customer that's fine, but what you're requesting allows a person to establish rogue connections elsewhere on their network which is against their ToS. They might not entertain you on this, unless you request for their technician to pay a visit to your REGISTERED address for confirmation of your report.
TSlan00
post Mar 19 2020, 08:02 PM

20 posts

1) It is highly unlikely that you can forget your modem ID which is clearly listed on your monthly bill statement. It is clearly listed on your Maxis app when you log in on your phone.That is your WAN login ID. Should you fail to provide this during your call, the operator will already start suspecting you.

>> My ID suddenly not working. No changes made to the router, and all logins I have with me. The credential has never been changed and I believe even I want to change my WAN login, that's not possible on my end. The credential is not an issue here. The third-party router I am using has been for months, I believe more than 6 months, was working fine since then.

2) Also, how can your original Maxis router be thrown away just like that? You mean lightning strike until it melted the entire thing down or blow to bits?Are you telling the truth here?

>> Yes, I am telling the truth. I was told long ago that a router is not covered after some years of use, and I throw it because it's cheap to replace. I have in total of 3 working routers with me. There's no point in me keeping the broken one. As I said, it's cheap to replace. What I am not aware of, is that they keep getting back to the router I am using, while clearly, the issue was with my WAN ID of which they can troubleshoot on their end without sending any technical person to my place. That's all I am asking. Not even once I am requesting for router replacement. A router is a router. That's it.

3) Maxis will attempt to arrange a Maxpert technician to visit your REGISTERED address to have a look at your line, if this last chance is turned down, they already know something is not right.

>> They turned me down simply because I wasn't using their router. Like I mentioned, the hardware is not an issue here as it works with other WAN ID. They mentioned that on their end, my account is online and should be working fine while clearly it isn't. They tried to reset it once tho, however, the same result.

You are not attempting to use a "ROGUE" 3rd party router to connect from somewhere else other than your registered address are you? Like buying a 3rd party router and try to use is at some other TM Unifi HSBB fibre modem/VDSL modem at other places? Your account will be locked if duplicated logins are detected after several attempts to prevent account thieves.

You're a paying customer that's fine, but what you're requesting allows a person to establish rogue connections elsewhere on their network which is against their ToS. They might not entertain you on this, unless you request for their technician to pay a visit to your REGISTERED address for confirmation of your report.

>> Why would I want to do that. Lol. Everything is at my REGISTERED address. There are zero reasons why I would want to go try using my ID to log in at other places. I was using my own internet, at my registered address, where suddenly my internet stop working. Until I found out it's an issue with my WAN ID.

My point is, if they really block my access on their end, they could've have known it since it's their own action. In this case, they don't. My account status is Online on their end. I am not able to use my internet which I've paid for until today. Which is sad. I am a server administrator, doing remote work accessing servers of my client so having internet connection up and running 24/7 is a must for me. Maxis disappoint me. The reason I chose them over Unifi is for their support. They failed me this time. All the people I talked to don't seem to know anything about technicality and all of them trying to push it to the router while clearly that isn't the issue.

This post has been edited by lan00: Mar 19 2020, 08:02 PM
TSlan00
post Mar 19 2020, 10:43 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Maxis @ Mar 18 2020, 10:27 AM)
Hi lan00,

TQ-Fin
I've pm'ed you with the details.
yongtjunkit
post Mar 20 2020, 09:12 AM

2,516 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Mar 20 2020, 09:23 AM
TSlan00
post Mar 20 2020, 10:09 PM

20 posts

My issue has been resolved by Mr. Faizal, Maxis technical staff which has given me a call and I've walked him through the problem.

He managed to find out the problem with my WAN login ID, where it's being used somewhere in Serdang. He shut that connection off, and then I am able to log in again, and my connection is restored. Thanks!

He suspected it's being used elsewhere either the other user really stole my ID, or that it was misconfigured by Maxis's staff. Meaning they mistakenly using my ID and configured it in someone else's modem

This is the kind of technical support I requested, which is to really look into the issue and got it solved, instead of trying to blame something that is totally unrelated and not even trying to understand the problem. I am a technical person myself, I've been providing technical support to my clients. Been doing it close to 10 years. I know how technical support should be delivered and worked on.

This is all resolved over a simple phone call, without the need for any technical person to come over. Again, special thanks to Mr. Faizal, who professionally resolved the problem. You deserve a pay rise!

Alpha_Tay
post Mar 24 2020, 08:48 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

hi, why your WAN Login ID used elsewhere by somebody and then it is blocked, but you can still use your brother Maxis WAN Login ID simultaneously without issue?
delaciox
post Mar 25 2020, 07:47 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Mar 24 2020, 08:48 PM)
hi, why your WAN Login ID used elsewhere by somebody and then it is blocked, but you can still use your brother Maxis WAN Login ID simultaneously without issue?
Only maxis fiber users known our password is damn easy guess

Not like unifi they got number and word together in password
Alpha_Tay
post Mar 25 2020, 10:36 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

QUOTE(delaciox @ Mar 25 2020, 07:47 AM)

i do know about the easy password, but why when you use your brother Maxis WAN Login ID simultaneously and it didnt get blocked.
SUSCandy12
post Mar 25 2020, 11:42 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(delaciox @ Mar 25 2020, 07:47 AM)

It is not easy unless the owner leak it himself, the installer risks losing his job exposing his worksheet or an outsider get his hands on your router/your handphone to access your app behind your back.

In fact, no one will steal password because upon detection of 2 devices connecting simultaneously your account will be temporarily locked and it's a matter of time the owner who pays for it will phone up complaining that he/she cannot connect from his place.

The investigation will ensue and the person who stole it will risk police knocking on his door because they can trace up to where the fibre modem/ONT is connecting from.This is not unlike you can hide behind a VPN/secured network to conceal your origin.

All routers must connect through a fibre modem/ONT so stolen accounts can be traced right till the TM HSBB port itself if needed.

I have a bad feeling there are many who have this BRIGHT idea of trying to use their Maxis fibre account to try connecting through a TM HSBB port back at their kampungs. Be careful because the ISP can detect change of your fibre modem/ONT ID and your account will be locked temporarily. The ISP makes it very troublesome for you to reset back the account to discourage you from attempting to move your account to somewhere else without their knowledge.

Despite being allowed to use different routers, you still connect out through the same ONT/fibre modem, that's where you can't LIE.This is what is known as a HSBB port, in which you still have to pass through to get connected.
yongtjunkit
post Mar 26 2020, 12:46 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Mar 25 2020, 11:42 PM)
It is not easy unless the owner leak it himself, the installer risks losing his job exposing his worksheet or an outsider get his hands on your router/your handphone to access your app behind your back.

In fact, no one will steal password because upon detection of 2 devices connecting simultaneously your account will be temporarily locked and it's a matter of time the owner who pays for it will phone up complaining that he/she cannot connect from his place.

The investigation will ensue and the person who stole it will risk police knocking on his door because they can trace up to where the fibre modem/ONT is connecting from.This is not unlike you can hide behind a VPN/secured network to conceal your origin.

All routers must connect through a fibre modem/ONT so stolen accounts can be traced right till the TM HSBB port itself if needed.

I have a bad feeling there are many who have this BRIGHT idea of trying to use their Maxis fibre account to try connecting through a TM HSBB port back at their kampungs. Be careful because the ISP can detect change of your fibre modem/ONT ID and your account will be locked temporarily. The ISP makes it very troublesomeĀ  for you to reset back the account to discourage you from attempting to move your account to somewhere else without their knowledge.

Despite being allowed to use different routers, you still connect out through the same ONT/fibre modem, that's where you can't LIE.This is what is known as a HSBB port, in which you still have to pass through to get connected.
Well actually for the maxis PPPOE as long as you got the PPPOE username, then you can log in already as there's a format for the password, the format is mentioned in the 1st post of this thread https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2384890

BTW, 2 routers logging in to 1 PPPOE account doesn't work, even if you spoof the MAC address of the router, only one of them will get internet( or will fight for it if you spoof the mac address)

I think for Unifi is a random password that is unique to every user( not sure about this ), still can retrieve if you know how to use inspect elements

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Mar 26 2020, 12:51 PM
SUSCandy12
post Mar 26 2020, 02:33 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 26 2020, 12:46 PM)
Well actually for the maxis PPPOE as long as you got the PPPOE username, then you can log in already as there's a format for the password, the format is mentioned in the 1st post of this thread https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2384890

BTW, 2 routers logging in to 1 PPPOE account doesn't work, even if you spoof the MAC address of the router, only one of them will get internet( or will fight for it if you spoof the mac address) 

I think for Unifi is a random password that is unique to every user( not sure about this ), still can retrieve if you know how to use inspect elements
The easy guess of the password is just an added security feature not really a dependable one to prevent spoofing.

If the account thief is smart, he won't be thinking of stealing the password because the ISP can still detect rouge routers attempting to connect using stolen accounts via the fibre modem/ONTs they're plugging them into which will flag them enough details to trace you directly. You'll be traced back till the OLT port of your area if needed to be.

Most of the subscribers are already turning their ONTs and routers on almost 24/7 so to attempt account stealing using other people's account to login is a dumb move because as soon as the account gets detected and locked for duplicated logins, the line owner will surely file complains to Maxis for investigation.
You won't survive long doing such attempt before the police comes knocking at your door.

My biggest guess is some people are trying to OUTSMART this by sharing their accounts or using them at multiple locations. They are the SAME users who might try to use the accounts at multiple locations and they think they can avoid getting detected with it because they have control over them such as having access to the plugs at POINT A and turning it off before attempting to head to POINT B and logging in with the accounts used at point B.

Some of them might be using Maxis Fibre at say KL and they intend to go back to their kampung and use a rogue Maxis configured router to attempt connecting it with a Unifi ONT to make use of it.
SUSCandy12
post Mar 26 2020, 02:39 PM

1,878 posts

Also if you all have noticed, you cannot simply SWAP fibre modems/ONTs as you like because they're area specific. The OLT or multiplexer in the area will only accept ONTs that are in its database.Similarly, like cable modems which the ISP needs to input their MAC IDs/device IDs into their whitelist to allow access.
TSlan00
post Apr 6 2020, 10:51 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Mar 24 2020, 08:48 PM)
I've been told that it's probably because me and my brother connected to the same call station. This is what the CS told me, which is why I am able to login using my brother's WAN ID and none of us got blocked. I believe from my understanding here, only when connecting to different call stations (i.e server) using the same login, only then they will be able to detect it.

My brother lives near to me, just the next section, hence why I can use his WAN ID, and none of us got blocked. From his explanation, it seems like that way, they are not seeing 2 connections from 1 WAN ID, as it's connected to the same call station.

The other person using my ID is in Serdang, hence they can detect it and the block takes place immediately. When they disconnect the other user, I am able to login immediately.

Alpha_Tay
post Apr 6 2020, 12:18 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

QUOTE(lan00 @ Apr 6 2020, 10:51 AM)
I've been told that it's probably because me and my brother connected to the same call station. This is what the CS told me, which is why I am able to login using my brother's WAN ID and none of us got blocked. I believe from my understanding here, only when connecting to different call stations (i.e server) using the same login, only then they will be able to detect it.

My brother lives near to me, just the next section, hence why I can use his WAN ID, and none of us got blocked. From his explanation, it seems like that way, they are not seeing 2 connections from 1 WAN ID, as it's connected to the same call station.

The other person using my ID is in Serdang, hence they can detect it and the block takes place immediately. When they disconnect the other user, I am able to login immediately.
oic. thx.
yongtjunkit
post Apr 6 2020, 03:48 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(lan00 @ Apr 6 2020, 10:51 AM)

šŸ¤”, mine on the same modem also cannot log in like 2 routers connected to the same modem

0.0190sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:13 AM