27 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

lifebalance
post Aug 10 2020, 11:31 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 10 2020, 11:18 PM)
30% guaranteed income per year, premium pay for 6 yrs plan......as per image in post 17

Wealth Booster Plan, Investment Scheme
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4977858/all

As I've already replied in that topic itself, it is important to understand whether 30% is based on account value or based on the sum assured.

In this case, it's clearly showing 30% of the sum assured 200,000. As the guaranteed yearly payout is RM60,000 consistently.

IRR on the low assuming RM1,332,768 = 0.638%

IRR on the high assuming RM3,032,586 = 5.750%

IRR on the mid assuming RM2,182,677 = 3.680%

if you're buying the plan for the purpose of capital / wealth preservation, yes it seems okay but won't do well against inflation.

if you're looking for higher returns and not lock in for the next 20 years, this is not the plan for you.

if you hold it less than 20 years, you will definitely lose money.
lifebalance
post Aug 10 2020, 11:44 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 10 2020, 11:34 PM)
Yes, all those are examples of risk taking...they are not needed to maintain FI...they might be needed to achieve FI...there’s a difference ya...and do not equate buying 4D with buying props ya....

Huh? Since when I say I go YOLO? Don’t simply say ah... I clearly said sometimes insurance needed, sometimes not needed... only hardcore salesman like u keep selling insurance using fear...never buy insurance means YOLO? Lol

Of course, prudence is needed to achieve FI.... how else do you think it is achieved? Buying Ferrari? Lol
Hello ? can you please quote a text that says I am selling insurance using fear ? if you're going to quote me on using assumptions earlier.

Did I say you? I was referring to "the person", if that "person" you think refers to "You" then I guess siapa makan chilly, dia rasa pedas lo. I didn't point anyone in my previous post on who is that person btw.

Assumptions are necessary What-If especially it happen in real life, just because a situation doesn't happen to you doesn't mean it doesn't happen to someone else out there. If you think you are in luck and God given, you live till 80 without getting sick, accident, died of old age. All is well for you. Good job saving those years of premium, too bad for insurance company ay? I don't think the insurance company cried about it though IMO.

I am still waiting for you to provide me with the answer on my earlier question on the 3k passive income guy, hopefully you don't change anything in the question and answer accordingly without adding on any other factors.

lifebalance
post Aug 10 2020, 11:46 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 10 2020, 11:37 PM)
well, that is provided you know how to calculate and what to look for to calcul;ates...
a layman on the street will only be captivated by the 20 or 30% returns....not know what actually happens between the lines....
thus for an agent that start with "buy now as this plan will gives you 20% return of your annual premium and just pay 6 yrs only then no need to pay more" was yklooi's worst encounter
Hence my advise is, seek a good agent to do all the necessary reviews before they proceed to take any action or risk losing money / opportunities.

Not every human has next 20 years ahead of them.
lifebalance
post Aug 10 2020, 11:52 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 10 2020, 11:45 PM)
I dunno what is this $6 and $10 leh... forgive me.. I just jumped into this thread randomly posting as nothing to do... lol

Ya... I was just “agreeing” with another poster (I think he sells insurance too - Holocene?) that CI not needed when one has achieved FI .... just a simple statement and I agreed and someone else got triggered ...sad.gif... the lifebalance guy
alamak, pose you a question then you think I got triggered.

You mean you think you're allowed to ask questions and advisors can't ask questions ? mega_shok.gif

Fair abit la, I ask you a question you clown about saying unethical to ask doh.gif

Mind you, I was asking the question properly instead of trolling and asking you nonsense, but seems to me that you either don't want to answer or just ignorant to only want to listen to what you want to listen.
lifebalance
post Aug 11 2020, 12:04 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 11 2020, 12:02 AM)
thumbup.gif  thumbsup.gif
i guess that is why yklooi asked about it earlier so as to try to pass some knowledge to his sons
biggrin.gif yea hopefully they can pick up some financial knowledge, though it can be dry and boring sometimes. But it's quite interesting once you get a hang of it.
lifebalance
post Aug 11 2020, 08:38 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 11 2020, 08:28 AM)
i guess that depends on from which angle you looked at?
as mentioned earlier, TS has already got company medical insurance.....
thus does he/she needed another medical insurance?

some would deem that is not necessary but others would say it is.
some would put in "What IF",
if that is to be taken into considerations, then the possibility are just endless.

some would argue that there are financial opportunity cost to bear in mind if one is getting a wider coverage just for the "What IF".
thus there are also some basic rules to consider the "What IF" scenario abit more holistically
example, do you have dependents?
do you have members of direct family members (brothers/sisters/parents) having history of medical problems (like, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, etc, etc)?
is your BMI number above average?
is your lifestyle sedated?
is your worklife exposed to 2nd hand smoke? or do you smoke?
do you have consume alcohol most of the days in a week of at least 2 glasses each out thing, or something like that....
etc, etc

well that is just my layman on the street take,...not sure of what those real insurance sifus think.
Thanks bro, this is a good exposure for the agents out there that there are more perspective look into than just looking at one angle which is just selling insurance blindly.

There are countless “what if” situation. If I may add, sometimes people buy into additional coverage or insurance rider which may not be necessary. It’s like that extra bling you can get in a new car if you pay slightly a little more for the higher model in the variant.

Or should I use the word /k, top up a it more get “something better”.

Again, spending for insurance is an opportunity cost, there must be a a balance to it so that you have the money to do other things I.e spend on yourself, invest, do something you want with the money for lifestyle, food, entertainment, self studies. Life is all about living it.

A proper agent should be able to advise the balance, if they can’t then they are probably just selling for the sake of selling.

However, if a person decides he wants to cover more of his personal risk by having more insurance, who are we to tell whether he is right or wrong with his decision ? Similar to the existing case where you mentioned he had group insurance, does he need a personal insurance ? Is akin to a parachute who has a main parachute, should he have a back up parachute as well ?

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Aug 11 2020, 09:10 AM
lifebalance
post Aug 15 2020, 02:07 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 15 2020, 02:02 PM)
Hi,  i had asthma when i was small, last attack was around 7-9 years old and it never happened until im 25 now, do i need to declare to insurance company? One agent told me if more than 10 years no need declare
Just declare as it is.
lifebalance
post Aug 18 2020, 11:38 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(doraemontan @ Aug 18 2020, 11:36 AM)
Hi I m undecided btw great eastern and Allianz medical card for my wife . Anyone here can share some advices ??
what's your current consideration ?

what are you looking for exactly ?
lifebalance
post Aug 18 2020, 11:47 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(doraemontan @ Aug 18 2020, 11:42 AM)
Well, i m looking for sth like investment link type so tat can give us some cash value at d end of d day, and ease of claiming process in case there is any emergency , Including emergency outpatient treatment at A&E ... so far those offered by Allianz sounds attractive to me n seems better if compare wif GE... but again I m not sure if I shd judge GE this way ...
This is a common mis-selling on Investment Linked Policies where agents do not explain the end-tail on policies that is attached with Medical Insurance.

You will accumulate cash value over the course of the years with the insurance company, however, as your age progress, the insurance cost on the medical insurance will eat up on the cash value accumulated until it is RM0. Hence when you look into the "end of the day" sales illustration, it will end at 70 years old (depends on the age that the agent set in the system to compute the proposal) with RM0.

In term of comprehensive coverage between these 2 companies, Allianz will be better than GE.

However, if you are more concern about overall benefit, then there are better alternatives.

If your purpose of buying the policy thinking you will make good investment return out of it. You are buying it for the wrong reason.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Aug 18 2020, 11:48 AM
lifebalance
post Aug 18 2020, 10:21 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Aug 18 2020, 10:06 PM)
I just received letter from my insurance company GE that my medical card annual premium will be increased (12%) due to the medical rider revised.
It did state that I can choose not to increase my current premium.
But does this happen frequently? Is it wise to choose not to increase and remain same?
I remember few years ago the agent told me the premium will never be increased.. but now only 3 years...

Insurance company have the right to revise the chargeable cost of insurance as often as they deem fit. Of course by notifying you in advance. Hence you are receiving this letter.

If you don't increase the recommended extra premium that you have to pay. Your policy may lapse earlier than previously.

You have the right to maintain the same premium as you're paying now. Not compulsory to follow the recommendation.

Your agent probably didn't disclose or explain to you how the policy works before inducing you to purchase the policy with him or her. Hence you are confused now.

Cheers.
lifebalance
post Aug 22 2020, 04:09 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(joe8489 @ Aug 22 2020, 04:01 PM)
any good 'ALL IN ONE FAMILY MEDICAL CARD PLAN'? is it advisable compared to individual plans?
1. Depends on how old are your current children
2. How many kids you have now
3. How many kids you plan to have in the near future

Do take note that a family plan would only mean the main policy holder (one of the parent) will only be entitled for death, disability or critical illness benefit while the medical rider is used to cover the other members of the family.

The premium maybe slightly cheaper than an individual policy if there is more than 3 children in your family.

Otherwise in terms of difference in premium is really negligible if your family has Less than 3 children.

The above is just some of the discussion on features of family plan, it is not suitable for all circumstances or ideal for all families, other perspective such as coverage on both parents depending on their financial need.

lifebalance
post Aug 22 2020, 06:25 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ Aug 22 2020, 06:08 PM)
I posted here a few months ago, was looking for a standalone medical card, and also term life insurance. but after doing some reading, i think now i prefer an ilp. Is it true that for ilp,the payment will not increase that much over the years because the savings would cover the increase in premium? is this true for all ilp from different companies? I don't care how much money i will get from the investment part at the end of the day, i just don't want to pay so much when i get older.

I also mentioned that i prefer AIA, but their life insurance is quite expensive. When i checked, for a coverage of !mil, my premium is about 1300 a month or 16k a year. It's the legasi policy. That's over budget for me. Been looking for a medical card + life + CI/TPD.

Another question i would like to ask is, how much is enough for a life/tpd/ci insurance? Some people say it's at least 3 times your annual salary,some say 10 times your annual salary. But if i get that much coverage it would be super expensive. Some people also say that you don't need so much as you can also include your epf. Any opinion on this? Can i factor in epf, and also loan insurance for my car which is like mrta?

btw i am 32yo, male, pilot, smoker, not married yet.
If you’re buying a ILP attached with a medical rider, the premium will not remain the same over the years as it may be subject to additional top up to maintain the sustainability as insurance cost for the medical rider increases.

I don’t know much about you personally so I won’t be able to advise.

There is no fixed rule of thumb when it comes to buying insurance other than what is used by other advisors.

If you want to make sure you are covered well. Get a proper advisor to understand your financial background.

lifebalance
post Aug 23 2020, 12:51 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ Aug 23 2020, 12:53 AM)
Hi.
I have got questions.
My company offer unlimited coverage. So i need to know which medical card can compliment me. I will start using it once i retired or resign from the company.

1. Is there any medical card that will reduce my annual payment if I dont claim/use medical card at all?

2. Outpatient without hospitalization - specialist visits. Most i find out only cover hospitalization. I believe non-hospitalization specialist visits is important too.

3. I was thinking GP (clinic) but i guess it will increase my premium?

Thank youuu!
1. You can, but instead of doing so, I would recommend convertible medical plan which can potentially save almost 80% cost up front

2. Don't think insurance got cover for personal insurance but it's covered under company insurance

3. GP visits are only applicable for company insurance. There were pet projects for personal insurance but was subsequently dropped

QUOTE(anwa @ Aug 23 2020, 09:40 AM)
Hi, been thinking of gettng a standalone medical card for wife and 3yo kid. I'm in government service and was thinking a low cost medical card for elective surgeries and emergency backup. Can suggest 3-5 recommended / highly regarded standalone card? When I do a search, axa emedic seems to come up a lot. A friend suggested MXM (underwritten by lonpac). Just too many choices. Hoping for a few suggestions that I can zoom in to do further research. Thanks sifus.
There are a few companies that provides comprehensive coverage for standalone.

The AXA emedic is a good choice if you're on a budget but the annual limit may not be very high. However if it fulfills your current need. Not too bad.

Example for room 500 with annual limit 1m and no lifetime will cost only 800 yearly

QUOTE(anwa @ Aug 23 2020, 10:04 AM)
Excellent comment. I've been thinking for years why should I buy an investment linked medical card. Rather invest myself.
Is it possible to buy standalone medical card with a payout for critical illness or tpd? Or for that matter standing ci/tpd without life insurance? I would buy life insurance, co/tpd on myself so anything happen to be my family is ok. But as my wife is not working, I'm thinking medical card + ci/tpd is enough, no need life insurance? Any comments?
Depends on you if you feel strongly on your own finances and know what you're doing, otherwise having a better overall analysis on your finances by a financial planner will help you to find out loop holes in your financial plan that you may need to address.

lifebalance
post Aug 25 2020, 04:12 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Walzor @ Aug 25 2020, 04:05 PM)
Hi, i am deciding between AIA A Life Link 2 vs Prudential PruWithYou, can someone assist on which to opt with??

AIA A Life Link 2 Plan: (80 yrs)

A-LifeLink 2 (ALL 2@80)
A-Plus Disability Care (APDC)

Rider(s)
A-Plus Health (APH@80)
A-Plus Early CriticalCare (APECC)
A-Plus AccidentShield (APAS)
Riot and Civil Commotion (RCC) on APAS (APAS/RCC)
A-Plus Venus (APV)

Premium: RM360 P/M
VS
Prudential PruWithYou (Basic) Plan: (80yrs)

Total Multi Crisis Care 51 100,000
Acci Guard Plus 41 100,000
Acci Med Plus 41 10,000
PRUMillion Med

Premium: RM410 P/M

So, why is Prudential more expensive with less coverage in terms of riders?? is it better to go with AIA?
What is the amount covered for AIA benefits?

Pru covers multi CI vs AIA covers early CI but not multiple CI.

What's the R&B for Pru?

What's the age of this person? Smoker? Occupation?

@.@ so many missing details
lifebalance
post Aug 25 2020, 04:23 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Aug 25 2020, 04:20 PM)
AIA medical upgrade campaign (FOR SELECTED EXCELCARE, EXCELCARE PLUS AND MEDIPLUS CUSTOMERS ONLY).

Currently I'm 56+ now and I do have the 10 years old AIA excelcare & medic+ plan with yearly limit RM90K and life limit for cancer RM113K and Kidney dialysis treatment RM80K, beside this, my current company medical plan and CI limit is also RM500K yearly limit. Since the AIA upgrade campaign do not required medical checkup and If not due to the additional premium about RM100K (for 25 years) and I'm bit tempted to take the upgrade plan.

My question to all insurance expert here, should I take the upgrade offer with either N150 or N200 plan

new 150 plan - come with yearly RM500K and life limit of RM1 mil for Cancer and Kidney Dialysis treatment. Is 1 mil limit for cancer treatment enough?

new 200 plan - yearly RM1.2 mil for hospitalization, cancer and  Kidney Dialysis treatment. - RM1.2mil yearly too much?

TIA for any suggestions.
No right and right or wrong between Plan 150 or 200, subject to your personal preference to get a better / higher coverage by paying the additional differences or not.

if your budget allows you, get Plan 200. You can benefit from the Health Wallet which you can't get under Plan 150.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Aug 25 2020, 04:24 PM
lifebalance
post Aug 25 2020, 04:56 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Walzor @ Aug 25 2020, 04:39 PM)
both 100k sum assured

r&b for both is rm200

age - 28, non smoker, office job

what are your thoughts?? better to go with wich one?
AIA would have a more comprehensive coverage overall since it also includes Female disease coverage (I'm assuming you're a female since it can only be sold to females).

On top of that there is an early CI coverage. Though you have to take note the payout is 30% / 60% / 100% ratio (Low, Mild, Severe) CI.

For the claimable conditions, you may refer to the policy later on. You will get to enjoy Health Wallet from the medical card benefit as well under Plan 200.

For Pru wise, main difference would be the CI benefit which can be claimable multiple times. But that's about it.

Lastly, as for whether the insurance plan you are buying suits your needs or not (the sum covered and benefit rider that you're adding now now). Will not be able to comment on that since I don't know you personally to advise on that.
lifebalance
post Aug 25 2020, 05:04 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Aug 25 2020, 04:57 PM)
Hi Keith, Thanks for the quick feedback.

let say, If I keep the current hospitalization plan with yearly limit RM90K and plus the additional top up premium RM100K for new plan which make up of total RM190K is good enough for serious illness treatment at UMMC and HUKM private arm, because normally those govt hospital private arm charges is about 35%-45% cheaper than those tier one private medical center.
You can do so actually if you want to save cost by going for UMMC / HUKM.

If cost is your main concern to get a better benefit card.

Here is an alternative:
Room 550
Annual Limit 980k
No lifetime
Premium RM2,000 yearly
lifebalance
post Aug 25 2020, 05:37 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Aug 25 2020, 05:35 PM)
Cost is my main concern indeed as I going to retired 3.5 years from now. I can reserved about RM130K-RM150k in retirement fund for my future medical treatment expenses needs.

This alternative plan from AIA?  Or from others insurance co. My current plan this year premium is RM2000 too.
This is alternative to the AIA plan, not from AIA though.
lifebalance
post Aug 25 2020, 09:03 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(nicklim17 @ Aug 25 2020, 09:02 PM)
Hi all,

Wanna ask is it normal if hongleong asking for regular top up payment monthly double or more than my current monthly payment?

Means if I am paying 300 monthly now. I HV to pay 600 to sustain the insurance until age 100. Else it will lapse by age 61.

Bought at age 29 with full riders and paying for few years already.

Thanks in advance.
You want to sustain to age 100 ?

Then paying double of the existing premium is logical.
lifebalance
post Aug 26 2020, 11:54 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Walzor @ Aug 26 2020, 11:48 AM)
May I ask, what is APVX for APV? Also, which riders do you think is not needed?

appreciate it, thanks smile.gif
https://www.aia.com.my/content/dam/my/en/do...venus-extra.pdf

There is not much difference beside coverage on pregnancy complication, congenital abnormalies & death of foetus, unless you're planning to have a baby soon then getting the Venus Extra will be more beneficial in the near future.

That being said, I'm surprised your agent didn't explain to you between these 2 before it proposed to you

27 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.1340sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:21 PM