Intel Pentium Dual Core E2140/E2160/E2180 Thread, Discussion & Compilation

bryanyeo87
post Nov 17 2007, 01:12 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Nov 12 2007, 07:11 PM)
anyone experience the cold boot issue with gigabyte p35 mobos??
yeap smile.gif

QUOTE(volodstov @ Nov 15 2007, 02:39 PM)
im using E2160 with XFX nforce 650i mobo and 2GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM. Planning to overclock tat sucker but need advise on wat to adjust on the bios and also how high it can get using this mobo. am using stock cooling.
well, for intel, just pump the fsb up and thats it lor...but make sure ram divider is at 1:1 first
bryanyeo87
post Nov 22 2007, 04:17 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Nov 21 2007, 12:39 PM)
hi, what BIOS version is on you guys P35 DS3 motherboard? I faced a problem, I can only push my E2140 to 350*8. cant boot up with anything more than 360*8 even with 1.4vCore. I'm using Crucial value ram (D9) and I did set the ram timing to 5-5-5-15.  what is the problem? would updating the BIOS would solve my problem? currently F5 BIOS with my motherboard.
Try bios F4, because it seems to have better OCing capabilities, unless of course, you need the bios update to solve some bugs la biggrin.gif

If you set your ram timings to 5-5-5-15, did you set it in bios or via windows using memset?
bryanyeo87
post Nov 22 2007, 06:06 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Nov 22 2007, 05:27 PM)
F4? now latest is F9. or should I try the latest?  I set it in BIOS. any different if I set using memset?
What are the other sub timings you set? other then the ram timings

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Nov 22 2007, 05:40 PM)
i think trying diff bioses wouldnt help much in ur OCing. perhaps it will jus improve ur memory OCing, but not the CPU ocing itself
FSB ocing lor...F3 gives higher FSB ocing but has issues with rams laugh.gif
bryanyeo87
post Nov 23 2007, 02:32 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 23 2007, 10:34 AM)
Ok guys, suggest me a godly but cheap mobo. Fancy stuffs not important, as long as it has plenty of BIOS-based tweaking menu. I could care less about heatpipes on-board.

Gonna build a system for photo editing and video encoding, and of course with a healthy dose of OC.
P35 DS3
average chipset wall is 450 at stock volts
bryanyeo87
post Nov 23 2007, 07:41 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

as a really really last resort

take out the battery, cut off the power supply and go to sleep, when you wake up tomorrow, it might boot laugh.gif
bryanyeo87
post Nov 24 2007, 02:18 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Nov 23 2007, 09:51 PM)
erm... all other timing I leave it auto. Just now try x6, it same just can push up few FSB only.  cry.gif

Anyone tried update BIOS in windows b4?
Try this timings in bios, set ram divider 1:1 first

Cas Latency time 5
Dram Ras to Cas delay 6
Dram ras precahrge 5
precaharge delay 15
act to act delay 3
rank write to read delay 10
write to precharge delay 13
refresh to act delay 50
TRD auto
TRD precahrge delay auto

Try this settings

QUOTE(Are_keem @ Nov 24 2007, 12:02 AM)
dunt say lidat la..
me wanna cry oledi.. cry.gif
is it going to work? hmm.gif
wah liao..
CPU kong? weird...
on that time, vcore was set to normal (1.325v I guess),
how come it can KO.. sad.gif
many reason for it to KO, can be mobo...ram gc...and the list goes on...best you try the cpu on another mobo and another cpu in this mobo..

Try my suggestion, pop out the battery, turn off the power to the psu and go to sleep, tomorrow when you wake up, retry it, best of luck bro :3
bryanyeo87
post Nov 26 2007, 12:29 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

@Are_keem

btw, waht was your idle and load temps with the xigmatek and oced at 2.8ghz?

and what was the estimated ambient temps?

bryanyeo87
post Nov 26 2007, 01:47 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

hmm...using wut program?

my HDT-S1283 with bolt-through kit does 51c on load.. and that is undervolting it already...using lavalys :S
and that temp is at nite..when it is the coldest...am i doing something wrong?
bryanyeo87
post Nov 26 2007, 07:02 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Nov 26 2007, 11:14 AM)
are you suspecting my RAM holding my CPU back? because my RAM can do DDR1100 with 5-5-5-15 with all sub timing leave it to auto.  so, was hoping the update of BIOS would help.  sad.gif
im not suspecting your ram, but i am suspecting the TRFC as well as the sub timings from the NB tot he rams...

just try out the settings and see biggrin.gif
btw, you can save your old bios settings by pressing F11

bryanyeo87
post Nov 27 2007, 12:24 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Nov 26 2007, 09:30 PM)
okok. I will try it out later. but I still cant update my BIOS. This is the error. Anyone know what is the problem?
you have the bios write protect turned on in the bios, its somewhere inside..forgot which section, consult ur manual book biggrin.gif

and tick

- CLear DMI data pool
-Clear PnP data pool

but you will lose all your previous settigns saved. but tis safer to start fresh no? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Nov 27 2007, 12:26 AM
bryanyeo87
post Nov 28 2007, 10:07 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Nov 28 2007, 07:39 PM)
aiks. my previous post gone. oh ya, I did try these timing. but still no luck. cant pass 360 FSB.
I faced an issue when I try to update my BIOS using @BIOS in windows. Below are the screenshot. anyone can help?
YOu have the bios write protect on in the bios, you need to disable it first and then

Tick the following:
- Clear DMI Data Pool
- Clear PNP Data Pool
bryanyeo87
post Nov 29 2007, 06:38 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

drop the cpu multi by 1 and retry smile.gif
bryanyeo87
post Nov 29 2007, 08:49 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

drop the multi to either 8 or 9 and retry with 1:1 la >_>"
as well as use my timings posted (needs to be adjusted etc etc)
bryanyeo87
post Nov 30 2007, 12:49 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

hmm ok, so max is 310 fsb at multi 9

try 8 and then 7

from my testing, e2xxx series sort of like 8 multi on the average x__X?
bryanyeo87
post Dec 1 2007, 12:58 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

no wor...maybe ur unlucky thats why :S

mine still alive and kicking
bryanyeo87
post Dec 3 2007, 11:24 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

Sure its enough.....for how long that is the question brows.gif
bryanyeo87
post Dec 9 2007, 03:36 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

hmm, i found something interesting about these e2xxx series, the max voltage for it is 1.5v as stated on intels processor finder

Sauce:
http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLA93

and if you look at the datasheet of the E2xxx series, the max operating voltage is 1.55v

Sauce:
http://download.intel.com/design/processor...ts/31698104.pdf
Page 18, 19 and 20

-all of these are of course including the vdroop la..
- does this also mean that the processor is warrantied up to 1.5v?? thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

anyone can clarify these?

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Dec 9 2007, 03:46 AM
bryanyeo87
post Dec 9 2007, 12:39 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

@ clawhammer,

duno la bro, maybe use a mulimeter and probe the mobo itself for exact voltage? x_x

the specs says up to 1.5v...does it mean its warrantied up to 1.5v?
bryanyeo87
post Dec 10 2007, 12:44 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

Intel c2d chips contains a "blackbox" which records why and how the chip died, the "blackbox" is trigerred whn the processor reaches the specified over temp OR over volt. If it is below that conditions, then the black box will not be triggered.

IIAnm la... icon_rolleyes.gif
bryanyeo87
post Dec 10 2007, 01:43 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

like i said, the black box theory...

Colin, try to ask ur friend, how do they verify the cpu failure. laugh.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0456sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled