6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here

elwwmatrix
post Jun 29 2008, 08:06 PM

295 posts

IMHO, i dont really need a touch sensitive buttons, the media buttons for 1520 is very good enough,plus the supplied remote control works a treat.other jingles offered are extras which i personally would not use much.. Well would not hurt if u got the extra cash. smile.gif

hardware physX processing? wow! really good news. what r the benefits?

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Jun 29 2008, 08:11 PM
elwwmatrix
post Jul 1 2008, 04:31 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 1 2008, 05:55 AM)
that's right im happy! arent u feeling the same? lol!

it's all about depreciation. i hate it when gadgets i own become obsolete, so the longer it can last, the better it is! less depreciation, means less $ investment down the drain. as in this case, even though dell released 2 new models after the 1520, non of them are actually better than 1520, they are more or less equal (or lousier if we take GF card into consideration). 1520 has stood against the test of time!  rclxm9.gif
yes.i do feel the same way too.cos i took quite some time to consider on purchasing Dell 1520 or other brand.Cos my previous lappy Twinhead got very2 lousy GF Intel GMA 910. Not capable of running vista aero. So, i now realise a good GF would at least lasts for few years bfore Microsoft introduce new OS and require hardware upgrading.

So, the new Windows 7 will be out on 2010,hopefully need not another hardware upgrade. rclxm9.gif

Added on July 1, 2008, 6:57 pmOMG!!!!! the Dell Studio line price in dell malaysia website from RM4199.00 . Thats Crazy!!!!. plus this and that almost RM5K maa.......aiyooooo... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Jul 1 2008, 06:57 PM
elwwmatrix
post Jul 3 2008, 10:23 PM

295 posts

had re-update my WEI Score and got back the previous base score of 4.8. what a relief.... biggrin.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 5 2008, 11:35 AM

295 posts

I saw this new GPU Nvidia 9500M GS configured with the Acer Aspire GEM. Most blog i've visited says this GPU is equivalent to our 8600M GT. Is this true, do you guys has any more information of it. Could our 1520 be upgraded to this 9500M GS. drool.gif

Added on July 5, 2008, 11:58 amHAH! i got this one from a forum. any comment?

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Jul 5 2008, 11:59 AM

elwwmatrix
post Jul 6 2008, 08:59 PM

295 posts

This is my 3rd months using this Inspiron 1520 . When i ran a software Notebook Hardware Control. it shows that my battery wear is 5%.
Is this normal? and do you have suggestion how to calibrate our battery so that the life can be extended. I'm using a normal 6 Cell battery and usually get 2 hours on Max performance, 2.5 hours on Dell Recommended power setting, 3 hours on Power saver. cool2.gif

elwwmatrix
post Jul 7 2008, 09:54 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 7 2008, 09:50 AM)
oO..it can check battery wear how many %??
i duno tht
Using Notebook hardware Control.Try to google it and download.good software i think. nod.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 8 2008, 06:09 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 8 2008, 12:31 AM)
got "kantao" where to find one? i also want one.. 1520 deserves better than just 2 standard stickers. btw, my centrino sticker is red in colour, not blue. how bout u guys?
My Intel Centrino sticker also RED one. seems not convincing over the previous Blue INtel COre 2 DUO sticker.i also surveying where got the Nvidia sticker. How come other brand such as Acer or ASUS got Nvidia sticker and ours not ah? DELL was not provided with it ka?.at least can differentiate between the integrated graphics and the dedicated GPU.also make it more cantik. My friends think that my 1520 too simple looking and not so sofistikated with all the plain silver, less button if compared to the new ACER> geram. mad.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 8 2008, 07:23 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(lchan @ Jul 8 2008, 06:25 PM)
haha...oooookkkkkkkk........i would love it if they just didn't stick any blooming thing to the laptop.
LOL.... true also. dont put flowerish thing on my lappy, lost all the ruggedness
rclxm9.gif

Added on July 8, 2008, 7:31 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 8 2008, 06:49 PM)
lol..which acer??6920g gemstone??
then u ask him gif me the price of tht acer n configure on ins1520..c how tongue.gif
Yalor. I'm not against ACER, because i also owned one, 2 year old Aspire, but very instable.i bought another laptop Twinhead, which is 9 months ago.But the integrated graphics is sooooo lauya.... So , i look for another reliable brand such as DELL and good GPU. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Jul 8 2008, 07:34 PM
elwwmatrix
post Jul 8 2008, 09:06 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 8 2008, 08:17 PM)
lol..acer make me got bad expression on it de especially the service..it need takes more than half years to fix my acer pc..i was like wtf doh.gif
then i promise wont buy any pc which got acer name on it
LOL.... I saw one video on YOUTUBE, the boys were destroying an ACER ASPIRE>.. OMG>.. so GRUESOME. I almost cringed everytime that poor thing got knock and being driven over. They hate it soooooo much....... rclxub.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 9 2008, 03:36 PM

295 posts

Just installed CRYSIS on my lappy. using the optimal settings, all are automatically set to medium setting. quite happy with the graphics and framerate. biggrin.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 10 2008, 02:04 PM

295 posts

I AGREE I AGREE!!! after i bought this laptop, some other friends of mine saw it at the PC fair, and thought it looks nice, cos got colours option, not the boring usual BLACK colour such ACER( De ja vu ?), HP Compaq,Lenovo. However since they all are not the techie type, and just buy cash and carry fromt the shop. MOST of them bought ACER cos very2 much cheaper .... well...
blush.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 10 2008, 06:47 PM

295 posts

Indeed. They dont know what they re missing. They did come to me and ask why cannot play some newer games, so i scold them back , you bought an entry level laptop and expect it can do EVERYTHING? Cos most of them did'nt understand why i spend RM3.8K on a laptop while theirs cost only less than RM2K.

BTW, i installed FRAPS and took some shots of CRYSIS..lame... only 9-11fps. any tips how to improve the FPS? This on medium setting, upon automatic optimal setting by the software itself.

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Jul 10 2008, 06:48 PM

elwwmatrix
post Jul 10 2008, 08:23 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 10 2008, 07:08 PM)
i dont think your friends can play any (modern) games (with 3D) at all with intel GMA x3100 graphics. we made the right choice to get a 1520.

well, OC will boost fps by a good margin, other tweaks u can do is set all settings to low, then increase your resolution. for eg, i set all settings to low and resolution to max 1440x900 when i exit the alien world/cave, and still gets a solid 30-40fps average. all missions before the alien cave are played with partial medium, partial low settings. for eg, shadow, texture, etc are set to low, including resolution set to 1280x800, and AA disabled. i still get about 25-30fps on average, so pretty playable.
Thank YOU! Thank YOU!! will give it a tweak then. icon_rolleyes.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 10 2008, 09:04 PM

295 posts

well i did what u suggest and improve the FPS. Thanks!!!! biggrin.gif

elwwmatrix
post Jul 10 2008, 09:56 PM

295 posts

I tweak again the settings so that the video looks nicer.

elwwmatrix
post Jul 11 2008, 09:46 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 11 2008, 02:47 AM)
nolah, this one im very sure. T8300 has only 3MB cache. T7500 Merom core has 4MB cache. T9300 onwards, however, has 6MB cache. i guess you cay say T8000 series is the "cheaper" penryn core processor.
Can 1520 be upgraded with new processor? is it possible? hmm.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 11 2008, 03:04 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 11 2008, 02:16 PM)
YES! it definately can. the CPU is removable and replacable. it can be done quite easily. just buy a compatible merom or penryn chip (since A07 BIOS supports penryn) and u r good to go! not a problem. good thing about 1520 is, major components are not integrated to the mobo, even the GPU is removable module, unlike the xps and studio series
WOW! Really.This is a music to my ears.So, surely the new Processor got manual to replace the old processor. The new batch of Penryn processor looks very tempting. drool.gif

No need to change other hardware right?
elwwmatrix
post Jul 11 2008, 07:39 PM

295 posts

no no no. i don't have kantau. just merely asking whether it is possible or not. but if i do have that kantau i will share with u guys the source. nod.gif
elwwmatrix
post Jul 12 2008, 01:05 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 12 2008, 11:40 AM)
question guys : do u upgrade the nvidia driver using the file from DELL website or the nvidia website?
From Dell website. The nvidia website does not seem to have the driver for laptops. For beta drivers , i usually google it, mostly from GURU3D site. blink.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Jul 12 2008, 01:07 PM
elwwmatrix
post Jul 15 2008, 07:35 PM

295 posts

I just DL it and install new BIOS A09. dont know how to differentiate between the new BIOS and "the not so old" BIOS A08. Any specific things that is obvious? blink.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:35 PM