126 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here

Andy0625
post Sep 5 2008, 01:06 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Sep 5 2008, 12:51 AM)
it depends on the game you are playing, whether it supports physX or not. but you definately will have to compromise (loose fps) for higher quailty physics effect, and our 8600MGT (with 32 cores/stream processors) is just not powerful enough to handle both GPU+physx. i just disabled physX from the driver GUI and let my T7500 CPU handle the physX calculations. (i want a 8800M/9800M for 1520!!)

a note on 177.92, i've been using this for just over a week now, and i felt that this driver is a bit unstable (bluescreen, etc) especially when going into battery mode or waking up from sleep. anyone else notice these issues?
Before I update my driver to 199.92 , the official drivers does bluescreen aswell. Until now there's no bluescreen yet , will update you guys if anything else. biggrin.gif
What's your lowest score for the Windows Point yea ?

wilson : Does that happen when you're using original drivers ?
SUSwilsonjay
post Sep 5 2008, 01:27 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

nop..only occurs when i use 177.92

Added on September 5, 2008, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Sep 5 2008, 01:27 PM)
nop..only occurs when i use 177.92
another thing...i tried to put a cloth on the palm rest to protect it but i think the surface is starting to change compare to other inner area sad.gif

This post has been edited by wilsonjay: Sep 5 2008, 03:09 PM
elwwmatrix
post Sep 5 2008, 04:04 PM

295 posts

another thing...i tried to put a cloth on the palm rest to protect it but i think the surface is starting to change compare to other inner area sad.gif

[/quote]

Till now, my palm rest is ok.I've been using a car polishing cloth to cover it,and it does well. for the keyboard ,the silicon cover also works a charm..
The only thing that i'm worried now is the battery.the wear is increasing to 9% for 4 months use. I seldom use the battery now, only on AC power whenever there is AC outlet nearby.
hihihehe
post Sep 5 2008, 07:45 PM

13,791 posts

how to check battery life span?
TSalexnvidia
post Sep 5 2008, 08:05 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 5 2008, 12:45 PM)
how to check battery life span?
free software like RMCPU clock (advanced IT level required) can get you the info that you need, though u also need to do some calculations with the data provided to know many % your batt has worn out. here's the formula: wear level = [(designed capacity-fully charged capacity)/designed capacity x 100%]

everest ultimate edition can give u the wear level info directly without having to do any calculations, but it's not free.

my 9-cell batt wear level has reached 12% now from everyday use.

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: Sep 5 2008, 08:11 PM
SUSwilsonjay
post Sep 5 2008, 08:21 PM

1,605 posts

hmmm...but if i hardly use will my battery wear also?
eyez98
post Sep 5 2008, 08:35 PM

Isaactan.Net
1,521 posts

if hardly use, but always charging it, it may wear day by day
TSalexnvidia
post Sep 5 2008, 08:37 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Sep 5 2008, 01:21 PM)
hmmm...but if i hardly use will my battery wear also?
yes, if you dont store it properly. the best way to store a battery is to charge it to about 40% capacity and put it in a cool dry place. some suggest to freeze it. battery decay with time, there's no way to stop it, so might as well use it to the fullest before the life runs out. for me, keeping the battery in all the time act as a UPS for my laptop.
hihihehe
post Sep 5 2008, 10:44 PM

13,791 posts

btw after i upg my ram to 3gb,y my vista score still same with 2gb?b4 is 4.8 n now also same..

n from cpu-z, the trC from SPD tab for my 2gb is 11-15-18 while 1gb is 12-16-20
wats this meaning??is it normal tht 2gb will get lower than 1gb?
TSalexnvidia
post Sep 5 2008, 11:36 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 5 2008, 03:44 PM)
btw after i upg my ram to 3gb,y my vista score still same with 2gb?b4 is 4.8 n now also same..

n from cpu-z, the trC from SPD tab for my 2gb is 11-15-18 while 1gb is 12-16-20
wats this meaning??is it normal tht 2gb will get lower than 1gb?
vista WEI score does not depend on the size or capacity of your storage/RAM. it depends on the speed of the storage, in your case, RAM, when vista benchmarks the hardware. 4.8 is roughly the score of 667 RAM and FSB, so it's perfectly normal.

the info from CPU-z is interesting. it shows that your 2GB RAM is faster compared to the 1GB. i think your 2GB is DDR2 800 right? which also means that 1GB RAM is possibly dragging your RAM performance down. you *could* possibly try to remove the 1GB and re-bench WEI see if there's a difference. though i think there most likely will not be any difference, miracles might just happen. who knows.
hihihehe
post Sep 6 2008, 02:20 AM

13,791 posts

hmm...my 2gb ram is just corsair 667mhz..tht means the lower = the better for the trC?
Andy0625
post Sep 10 2008, 02:43 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Can I update the official patch from Nvidia which shows up in the windows update ?
I have installed 199.92 though.

Any idea buddy ?
elwwmatrix
post Sep 10 2008, 05:10 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Sep 10 2008, 02:43 PM)
Can I update the official patch from Nvidia which shows up in the windows update ?
I have installed 199.92 though.

Any idea buddy ?
I tried, but got an error returned.Don't know why. hmm.gif
Andy0625
post Sep 10 2008, 05:34 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Sep 10 2008, 05:10 PM)
I tried, but got an error returned.Don't know why. hmm.gif
I better skip the update then. biggrin.gif
So Did you able to overcome the problem ?
TSalexnvidia
post Sep 10 2008, 07:37 PM

351 posts

windows updated KB955302 on my machine is morning. everything seems fine till now. using driver 177.92. for those who are not aware of this patch, here's the info:

The update from microsoft has a number of improvments in Vista/Server 2008 (all flavours) which includes:

• Improvements to the performance of wireless adapters when you switch between preferred networks after the computer resumes from hibernation.
• New functionality to prevent a data loss scenario when certain registry keys are missing while the Microsoft Disk Cleanup tool is running.
• Improvements to system reliability when Group Policy settings and SMB signing are used.
• Improvements to the stability of systems on which Nvidia graphics cards are installed.

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: Sep 10 2008, 07:38 PM
Andy0625
post Sep 10 2008, 08:26 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

31/8 they released a Nvidia patch/driver , did you install it with 177.92 installed ?

Matrix is facing problem , not sure if I should install it.
hihihehe
post Sep 10 2008, 09:32 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Sep 10 2008, 07:37 PM)
windows updated KB955302 on my machine is morning. everything seems fine till now. using driver 177.92. for those who are not aware of this patch, here's the info:

The update from microsoft has a number of improvments in Vista/Server 2008 (all flavours) which includes:

• Improvements to the performance of wireless adapters when you switch between preferred networks after the computer resumes from hibernation.
• New functionality to prevent a data loss scenario when certain registry keys are missing while the Microsoft Disk Cleanup tool is running.
• Improvements to system reliability when Group Policy settings and SMB signing are used.
• Improvements to the stability of systems on which Nvidia graphics cards are installed.
what it mean stability?
SUSwilsonjay
post Sep 10 2008, 10:00 PM

1,605 posts

i think ur lappy wont get too much errors(bluescreen).....
hihihehe
post Sep 10 2008, 10:27 PM

13,791 posts

until now i havent get any single blue screen..just the ram resources prob only
eating too much when im not open many programs
SUSwilsonjay
post Sep 10 2008, 10:54 PM

1,605 posts

after i update to fw 177.92 bluescreen comes out often..after vista update nv de

126 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:00 AM