5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Just upgraded to 300mbps unifi, Need sifus advise on best router to get

TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:36 PM, updated 6y ago

319 posts

Hi dear sifus, so I just upgraded to 300mbps, any recommendation for which router to get in the market besides this 2 for best gaming experience with minimum lag or dc..

Currently I’m using this 2 router which is given to me by Abang tm, one is when I’m using 100mbps, another is when I upgraded to 300mpbs.

Thanks sifus!

This post has been edited by Grayson: Feb 19 2020, 12:56 PM
GOPI56
post Feb 19 2020, 12:41 PM

1,494 posts

Use the Tp-Link one, the Unifi one sucks.
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:43 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Feb 19 2020, 12:41 PM)
Use the Tp-Link one, the Unifi one sucks.
Besides this 2 modem any other good modem you recommended? I saw in the market keep advertising this Asus rog gt- ax11000 but too expensive for me...
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:43 PM

319 posts

Sorry double post

This post has been edited by Grayson: Feb 19 2020, 12:44 PM
slaveone
post Feb 19 2020, 12:44 PM

1,230 posts

read this thread

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096
GOPI56
post Feb 19 2020, 12:47 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 01:43 PM)
Sorry double post
I would recommend Asus brand personally, their firmware is stable and they provides firmware updates for years. The model depends on your budget.

For 300Mbps I would recommend, Asus RT-AC58U and Asus RT-AC1300UHP
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:50 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Feb 19 2020, 12:44 PM)
Thanks bro
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 19 2020, 12:50 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

thats a router not modem.

go for Asus AC68 or AC86 or AC88
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:58 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 19 2020, 12:50 PM)
thats a router not modem.

go for Asus AC68 or AC86 or AC8
Ahh my mistake, just edited.. cuz My room is far. That’s why would prefer something with good beamforming.
Auentura
post Feb 19 2020, 01:02 PM

33 posts

TL-WR941HP

i use this , stable yes. But still not reach my expectation of range. Attached toilet in room still not enough strong signal
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 01:21 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Auentura @ Feb 19 2020, 01:02 PM)
TL-WR941HP

i use this , stable yes. But still not reach my expectation of range. Attached toilet in room still not enough strong signal
Hmm.. hmm.gif gaming wise acceptable?
blacktubi
post Feb 19 2020, 01:48 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(Auentura @ Feb 19 2020, 01:02 PM)
TL-WR941HP

sweat.gif

Are you suggesting a Wireless N router for a 300Mbps user?
zwanvedder
post Feb 19 2020, 02:25 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

how much u pay for 300mbps now TS?

1mr3tard3d
post Feb 19 2020, 02:33 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 12:58 PM)
Ahh my mistake, just edited.. cuz My room is far. That’s why would prefer something with good beamforming.
well, the archer c1200 also supports beamforming
no comment without speed test result
if long distance/hard penetration, you will end up using 2.4GHz anyway

what are you using on the other end (network adapter/pcie)?

you should also mention your budget cause you could try Asus AiMesh, etc
sHawTY
post Feb 19 2020, 02:34 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

ASUS RT-AC86U or ASUS RT-AX88U
Jjuggler
post Feb 19 2020, 03:04 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,340 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 12:36 PM)
Hi dear sifus, so I just upgraded to 300mbps, any recommendation for which router to get in the market besides this 2 for best gaming experience with minimum lag or dc..

Currently I’m using this 2 router which is given to me by Abang tm, one is when I’m using 100mbps, another is when I upgraded to 300mpbs.
Thanks sifus!

The archer c1200 certainly better than the Netis but not good enough, yet. If you're committed to use a router for long term, pick ASUS. Their routers may be pricey locally, but it is worth because you can always get firmware upgrades (if you don't familiar with firmware word, firmware = software in general term for non-tech enthusiasts). If you're following the trend, lets say migrating from Wi-Fi 5 (AC) routers to Wi-Fi 6 (AX) routers then after four years switch to Wi-Fi 7 (BE) routers, then pick TP-LINK. They're famous for giving a good farewell to their premium models after two years of launch. Some even lasted until a year. Example, C3150v1 & v2. TP-LINK focusing more on their new ax line-up models, comparing to ASUS, their AC routers still getting firmware upgrades. Well, you get for what you paid for.
misspinky
post Feb 19 2020, 04:22 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 01:43 PM)
Besides this 2 modem any other good modem you recommended? I saw in the market keep advertising this Asus rog gt- ax11000 but too expensive for me...
If you are running out of budget right now and still collecting the money, you can use that tp-link, all of us suggest not recommended you to use that router for permanent or long terms usage. Bare in mind if that router not come with tm logo, you can directly upgrade the firmware. First, just make sure check your router version, if V1 just upgrade with V1 only. If come with tm logo, you can try to upgrade directly, if failed you need to make recovery mode first then you can upgrade the firmware. Indeed, Asus are the best so far when it's come for consumer router, even though it's expensive but its come many features given and long term support especially firmware whether you use back dated router or latest model of router. if you not considering warranty one, you can get asus router from someone that don't want use that router anymore with good price given because some of them really like upgrading to latest router.

C1200 firmware V1-V3 Malaysia
tp-link recovery mode
junclj
post Feb 19 2020, 04:43 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 12:36 PM)

Thanks sifus!

TP-Link AC1200 is better because my office is here is using this router now. However, this router max only can reach 300mbps on wifi 5GHz (Unifi 500mbps). Coverage is not bad, probably office here all the wall are made by wood. That's why I still can get good reception even the router is placed in front of office.

Me myself sure won't use this TP-Link router, my home for me personal, I was upgraded mine to RT-AC86U.

This post has been edited by junclj: Feb 19 2020, 05:08 PM
QuantumEdge
post Feb 19 2020, 05:30 PM

1,592 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Feb 19 2020, 02:25 PM)
how much u pay for 300mbps now TS?
Now should be RM199+6%,basically RM210
Just asked authorized seller today, no more 159 with tv...
Only 199,189,129,89 are available
arefiq09
post Feb 19 2020, 05:33 PM

102 posts

Get ASUS RT-AC86U

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:57 PM